What is it with workers and wanting to rob their employers?

geodude

Re: What is it with workers and wanting to rob their employe

Postby geodude » March 15th, 2011, 6:29 am

everybody hafi eat ah food yo,

Postby r3iXmann » March 15th, 2011, 8:05 am

homeboy wrote:Well "some" business owners rub somebody to get their business going, so d worker trying the same to get theirs going also........can't blame them.....Where do you know and how many people actually get paid for what they are worth in the private sector?

Big boss pulls in car park at work everyday with differant vehicles no less than 2 mil and then have his workers strugling to buy a cheap car, they can't even get a loan.....can't blame them is the hard work of the boss that got him/herself rich.... :D :D

ent!

I've heard a ton of these horror stories from employees,so I wasnt the least bit surprised by this thread

in one case in this "small" company, a few of the employees were asking for a simple $500 salary increase for the month and the boss kept crying "boy ah cyah afford dat :(" yet he was ALWAYS up in some fete, flying out for 'vacation' or boasting about how much house/land/car he was buying :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » March 15th, 2011, 8:21 am

^^^ I playing devils advocate here:-

one of my employees was working for at least $500.00 per day and has a vehicle to carry home. We would normally work him between 4 - 6 days a week. When he works late he get compensated properly and get anything he wants. What we were told he was using the vehicle for his private Jobs once he was not working. I still did not have a problem with this and told the guy to ensure our vehicle was safe and ensure it was maintained.
The dude hit the vehicle in December and did not lift a finger to repair it. We spent all the money to have it repaired and gave it back to him saying thing does happen is a business we running and we can't afford to have the vehicle down.

Between December and January the vehicle racked up something like 4000 KM so we needed to service the vehicle I spent the money to have a full service and do other mechanical repairs. When we finished the repairs on this we started to keep the vehicle as it was costing to much for us operate when he has it.

So in essence we treated him well but he thought it was not in his best interested what we did and decided to leave

you know what sometimes you cannot treat an employee good

Postby r3iXmann » March 15th, 2011, 8:52 am

ronsin1 wrote:^^^ I playing devils advocate here:-

one of my employees was working for at least $500.00 per day and has a vehicle to carry home. We would normally work him between 4 - 6 days a week. When he works late he get compensated properly and get anything he wants. What we were told he was using the vehicle for his private Jobs once he was not working. I still did not have a problem with this and told the guy to ensure our vehicle was safe and ensure it was maintained.
The dude hit the vehicle in December and did not lift a finger to repair it. We spent all the money to have it repaired and gave it back to him saying thing does happen is a business we running and we can't afford to have the vehicle down.

Between December and January the vehicle racked up something like 4000 KM so we needed to service the vehicle I spent the money to have a full service and do other mechanical repairs. When we finished the repairs on this we started to keep the vehicle as it was costing to much for us operate when he has it.

So in essence we treated him well but he thought it was not in his best interested what we did and decided to leave

you know what sometimes you cannot treat an employee good

well you were spoiling him..i wasn't saying to do that

it's just that some of the horror stories i've heard (and partly experienced at one point) are things that happen to people that just want to be treated fairly

and what compounds it is the (seemingly) doh care/dohgiveafck attitude from some of the employers

i personally know a small business owner that makes tens of thousands in profit off of the HARD work of her employees,yet underpays them and gives them a few hundred dollars in hilo food vouchers as 'bonus' for christmas

put yourself in their shoes..you WILL become an opportunist

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2011, 8:59 am

one of my former supervisors, started a small business. he treats his workers very well, performance incentives, holidays, even stands security for loans. but, he keeps good tabs on them. it is small enough for him to keep proper inventory, of stocks and sales. he puts cameras on them so they know it hard to do any thing.

he treats them well to not give them reason to steal, and is cautious enough to not give them opportunity.

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2011, 9:02 am

well devils advocate though
if you are a store clerk and making 10/hr that is what you deserve why you think i should give you more when i as the owner worked hard and created this for me to reap the benefits
its not up to u to try to benefit from my hard work if u have a problem make something better of yourself and move on dont be a store clerk all your life education is free!

Postby AllTrac » March 15th, 2011, 9:35 am

r3iXmann wrote:
homeboy wrote:Well "some" business owners rub somebody to get their business going, so d worker trying the same to get theirs going also........can't blame them.....Where do you know and how many people actually get paid for what they are worth in the private sector?

Big boss pulls in car park at work everyday with differant vehicles no less than 2 mil and then have his workers strugling to buy a cheap car, they can't even get a loan.....can't blame them is the hard work of the boss that got him/herself rich.... :D :D

ent!

I've heard a ton of these horror stories from employees,so I wasnt the least bit surprised by this thread

in one case in this "small" company, a few of the employees were asking for a simple $500 salary increase for the month and the boss kept crying "boy ah cyah afford dat :(" yet he was ALWAYS up in some fete, flying out for 'vacation' or boasting about how much house/land/car he was buying :lol:

so why didnt they just leave? no they watching what the boss has and want the same?
They wont leave because they know they wont get hired, this same boss who always in fete and vacationing all over is the reason why those workers have food to pack in their children bag in the morning. I have been in such a situation and asked for a raise not because the boss drives the latest model high end audi and always at the beach its cause I was not being paid my worth and had been holding down 2 portfolios for the longest while. I was refused the raise and told to hold strain basically, I just took it as my reason to leave, started to apply else where, when i got another job i resigned the one i was presently working it. It was done in good faith and i gave them 2 weeks notice, when it comes to past employers, I never try to burn bridges.

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 10:05 am

I dunno if it's just me, but I find it extremely alarming that a employee should base their salary on what their boss is driving.(Good thing I have a b15 yes)

You are paid what you are worth and what you are qualified to work for.
And then some of you justifying stealing from the employers because the boss have a new car or does go fete? Most of us were in the same position as the employee years ago but we didn't steal or take from others what we thought we deserved. What's the difference between you and a common criminal? You even worse than a everyday thief, you biting the hand that feeds you.
If you have a problem with what the boss is paying you either ask for a raise, get better qualifications or leave.

Homeboy, how much have you stolen from your boss so far?I mean taken what's rightly yours in your opinion?

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 10:11 am

r3iXmann wrote:
put yourself in their shoes..you WILL become a thief who should be shot

fixed

kevin8453

Postby kevin8453 » March 15th, 2011, 10:23 am

have you seen this first hand in tile warehouse in lime head road?
what did the guy look like or his name....I am the manager over there

Postby r3iXmann » March 15th, 2011, 10:25 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:I dunno if it's just me, but I find it extremely alarming that a employee should base their salary on what their boss is driving.(Good thing I have a b15 yes)

You are paid what you are worth and what you are qualified to work for.
And then some of you justifying stealing from the employers because the boss have a new car or does go fete? Most of us were in the same position as the employee years ago but we didn't steal or take from others what we thought we deserved. What's the difference between you and a common criminal? You even worse than a everyday thief, you biting the hand that feeds you.
If you have a problem with what the boss is paying you either ask for a raise, get better qualifications or leave.

Homeboy, how much have you stolen from your boss so far?I mean taken what's rightly yours in your opinion?

I've never stolen from anywhere that I worked before

but thanks for missing my point completely..it's arrogance like yours that causes your employees to steal from you 8-)

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 10:30 am

umm reixxman, i wasnt calling you homeboy eh, theres a tuner name homeboy who commented in the thread

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 10:35 am

and my only two employees who have access to stock without me being there are my rott and my pot, i eh to worried about them stealing.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » March 15th, 2011, 11:25 am

Some employees just think of it as an easy way to make extra money. It does not necessarily have anything to do with the employer.....most cases the justification is that " he aint guh miss that, he could afford it". Their thinking is that what they are taking away, has no effect on the owner.

There is a well known book store owner who recently had a "Machel" signing...........where u think he got money to build his stores....where was he employed before?? It doesnt have to be "small men" doing the stealing all the time too.....

Postby r3iXmann » March 15th, 2011, 11:52 am

drunkenscorpion wrote:Some employees just think of it as an easy way to make extra money. It does not necessarily have anything to do with the employer.....most cases the justification is that " he aint guh miss that, he could afford it". Their thinking is that what they are taking away, has no effect on the owner.

There is a well known book store owner who recently had a "Machel" signing...........where u think he got money to build his stores....where was he employed before?? It doesnt have to be "small men" doing the stealing all the time too.....

well yes,like all things, there are always the two sides of the coin

Postby crazybalhead » March 15th, 2011, 12:11 pm

AllTrac wrote:wtf?!?!?! and u tell me u just working there boy aba!? hard luck dey on that scene last month eh, ah did want ah ease up cause ah did now take out ah loan for meh costume and meh chile modda was beating up

Postby 16 cycles » March 15th, 2011, 12:11 pm

Q: photocopying / printing something in the office not work related is stealing too???

kevin8453

Postby kevin8453 » March 15th, 2011, 12:20 pm

did anyone had anything like this happened to them at tile warehouse in chase village??

Postby Hook » March 15th, 2011, 12:23 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:What's the difference between you and a common criminal?

I pondered this some months ago when I was coasting slow on a back road going home one Sunday afternoon. I spotted this dude who was meticulously cleaning his Civic to the point he had the car up on jackstands to clean the rims and tyres off the car. It was a REALLY nice set of rims, Enkei RPF1...4x100 too..and I thought "wow, that's a really nice set of wheels" and I just rolled on by.

Then, as homeboy answered his cell phone and walked inside briskly, it occurred to me the difference between myself and a thief.
In quite the same way I'd simply think he has nice rims and go my way, a thief would see opportunity and act upon it.
Four gun-metal Enkei rims just leaning up against a wall, while the owner walks inside on his phone is a piper's wet dream!

But, if the owner is not aware of his surroundings and where he has his stuff just lying about then a passing thief would've simply given him what he was asking for - a jackstand surprise.

It's the same in any business...just don't give them opportunity.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 15th, 2011, 12:41 pm

This thread speaks a lot about the morality of our fellow citizens.
Such things are commonplace and as some are indicating...culture.

Postby Rooki3 » March 15th, 2011, 6:16 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:and my only two employees who have access to stock without me being there are my rott and my pot, i eh to worried about them stealing.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 15th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:Hmmm, well yes this is true, I know of some popular businesses in Trinidad now, where the worker was working in a store, stole from his boss and sold on the side, made enough money back then to start buying wholesale and selling on the side still while working for his boss. Eventually got his own store. He now has two branches and two warehouses in Trinidad, recently passed away though (about 2 years ago) now his family are the ones handing the business. I'm not justifying him stealing, but it is just interesting to see how some of the thieves turn over.

i think i know exactly who u talking about - not calling names but d word sneakers , right ? ... :|

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2011, 8:32 pm

i say all the tuners who support workers who steal from their bosses,open a business,empoly workers.pay them a descent salary,see what you get a few years after,,,workers feel their bosses get things free,,,

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2011, 8:50 pm

geodude wrote:everybody hafi eat ah food yo,

^^^^^^ if u know how much i HATE that saying

and whose responsibility is it to put the food there for you to eat...??? just asking

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2011, 8:59 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Turkish wrote: Agreed that some employers treat their employees bad,

so how about they just leave? If you know you are worth more than what you are being paid then find someone who is willing to pay you your worth or work how you are being paid. The is absolutely no excuse to thief. Those who are caught stealing should have their hands chopped off. Im sick and tired of all these technicalities and de single mother with 3 mouths to feed sheit. A thief is a thief and should be treated as such, like scum, doesnt matter how much years you have been working for the company as long as you steal something, you are a no good wretch.
Im sure if they had a good working relationship with their boss and they have been honest if they do end up in a jam and talk to their employer genuinely the boss would probably help them, might give them a month in advance, but no, they like it free.

cuz work hard to get. the part I dont understand is that work hard to get, you get one & you fcuking up.

I never watch what my boss dem was driving & I still dont. at the end of the day I still getting a salary, learning something & getting time off to go to school.
I was working for small $$$ back then (started with $250.00 a week & later on $450.00 a week) & never shafted my employer.
Had one time the boss lady siddown breezing where the customers breeze & I mopping the floor. some guntas come in, they wanted a light up gear shifter knob, wanted to pay me half the price & play like I ant know where it gone cuz it had plenty. the boss lady board dem MC :lol:
sadly there was an employee before me who used to steal stuff & sell on the outside, quite a few people who he used to supply approached me when I started working there. I couldnt believe it had people like that out here nah.
I know real gas station owners get shaft when I work there & plenty companies that took fuel on credit.

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2011, 8:59 pm

we always have to fell sorry for bastard children in trinidad,who will never learn values because they don't even know who are their parents,plus they learn to steal from others from a early age,learn to hate others who are not like them and end up being killed or be a murderer,plus we have to feel sorry for them or their lazy parents who don't want to work,but have money to play themselves,,we live in sweet trinbago,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2011, 9:01 pm

your opinion on this....it happened to me a few yrs back.

i used to work in a aluminum factory in central by the highway making and assembling louveres sliding windows and door frames and stuff..now this company employs mostly muslims and pays them well. i'm not of that faith.

so anyways, i had to work monday to friday 8am to 10pm and on saturday it was 7:30 to 4:30.. my weekly pay for that week was like $350....is that right.....???and they always looking for workers.....wonder why...???

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2011, 9:08 pm

where to pass to get there,i want to see where the tunnel goes,oh if you were of their ilk you might be more lucky and their religion encourages advantage,one question did you learn anything?it may be an asset to you,just kidding about the advantage,but most business owners of that ilk does that,not true?

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2011, 9:28 pm

brams112 wrote:where to pass to get there,i want to see where the tunnel goes,oh if you were of their ilk you might be more lucky and their religion encourages advantage,one question did you learn anything?it may be an asset to you,just kidding about the advantage,but most business owners of that ilk does that,not true?

you sir ...you know things....things no other tuner knows...lol....yes you kno the place of which i speak of. and honestly i DID learn.....how to run the machines and how to oil it...as to using such knowledge in everyday life...havent found a use for it....

but facts are facts you dont pay someone based on faith. you pay someone what theyre worth and work and QUALITY of such work. nevertheless....i now work somewhere else....

what still bothering me is that they used to pay me like $400 for a 6 day week.....other muslim workers get close to $1000 ( a week) and they sell their finished product for close to $2500!!!

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 9:31 pm

how long you work there under those deplorable conditions and unfair pay skylinechild?