:!: Opinions on Cylinder Block machine work :!:

Re: :!: Opinions on Cylinder Block machine work :!:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 8th, 2011, 5:20 pm

buh you from dey too,,,,,,wah you laughin for....

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 9th, 2011, 12:54 am

uh.... i guess? :? :lol:

noynek

Postby noynek » August 17th, 2011, 12:43 pm

Sinister ? Did you ever get to boring the s15 block locally. I too need a recommendation for precision local work

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » August 17th, 2011, 1:15 pm

My recommendations, purchase a used block and matching girdle with crank from the US and send it over to Mazworx and then ship it down here. Get machine work for 19mm bearings, machine work for oil lubrication via bearing oil groove, bore and hone job with proper torque plate, sleeving if needed, it is not a matter of pressing in a sleeve, step sleeves are needed and they need to be locked properly into place so they don't shift, line honing for proper crank clearances and balancing and if the money permits, have them throwin in their pistons and rods and have them deck the setup with the oil pump and balance everything with the flywheel and clutch setup and palette and ship that sucker down here. Do not cut costs if you are not confident locally and settle for sub-par workmanship and guesstimates, go by a proper machinists who is seasoned in this type of work. Imagine to date there isn't a machine shop locally to carryout line boring for camshafts in the event that you have cam cap damage, the entire head needs to be dumped and replaced. Good luck.

noynek

Postby noynek » August 18th, 2011, 10:54 am

Noted TriniGT. Maybe for my second build. I already have a spare block (Blown #3) with BNIB 87mm CP Pistons Engine Gasket Kit and Oil Pump. BNIB Head Fasteners. I even have the Nissan OEM sr20 valve shim Measurement Kit with Bolt on reference plate and Dial indicator. I just need to size / buy bearings Hence the reason for looking at a good local machine shop this time around.

Drag Express

Postby Drag Express » August 19th, 2011, 10:34 pm

i've being doing some research as to who has the more updated machines and does better work and have narrowed it down to baldwins, zig and MIC
have heard of too many instances of a block after its been bored and honed the cylinders are conical ,ie. the top of the cylinder being perfect sizing and as you go down to the bottom of the block it becomes smaller
bad work can sometimes cost a complete new engine
if anyone care to elaborate and give a clear cut winner then it'll be beneficial to all of our engines and pockets

noynek

Postby noynek » August 20th, 2011, 9:23 pm

^^^^^ Ditto