Will you accept your new Sign?

snowman

Re: Will you accept your new Sign?

Postby snowman » January 14th, 2011, 9:39 am

Virgo from birth.

Even though I'm a leo now according to this.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » January 14th, 2011, 10:23 am

scorpio till ah dead.
Last edited by Sheriff on January 14th, 2011, 12:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby wagon r » January 14th, 2011, 10:29 am

AllTrac wrote:scorpio till ah dead!!!!

.... 8-)

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 14th, 2011, 10:30 am

wais da one sheriff? :? :?

Postby bushwakka » January 14th, 2011, 11:29 am

fack no

Yeo

Postby Yeo » January 14th, 2011, 11:41 am

No, your zodiac sign hasn't changed
Tattoo parlor owners must be salivating. An assertion in a Minneapolis Star Tribune article that our understanding of the zodiac is off by about a month - and that therefore people have been identifying themselves with the wrong sign - caught fire on the internet Thursday, and many folks are in an absolute panic on social media.

"If my zodiac symbol has been changed to a Libra, what am I supposed to do with my Scorpio tattoo?!?!," read one tweet Thursday.

Some vowed to get their tats removed. Others groaned about losing the sign with which they’ve identified themselves for years. The zodiac and related terms - including Ophiuchus, said to be a 13th and neglected sign - were trending Twitter topics much of Thursday.

But before astrology fans scrape the ink from their arms because they think they're now a Virgo instead of a Libra, they should consider this: If they adhered to the tropical zodiac - which, if they're a Westerner, they probably did – absolutely nothing has changed for them.

That's worth rephrasing: If you considered yourself a Cancer under the tropical zodiac last week, you're still a Cancer under the same zodiac this week.

That's because the tropical zodiac – which is fixed to seasons, and which Western astrology adheres to – differs from the sidereal zodiac – which is fixed to constellations and is followed more in the East, and is the type of zodiac to which the Star Tribune article ultimately refers.

Two zodiacs. That's nothing new.

"This story is born periodically as if someone has discovered some truth. It's not news," said Jeff Jawer, astrologer with Tarot.com.

The hubbub started with Sunday's Star Tribune article, which said the following: "The ancient Babylonians based zodiac signs on the constellation the sun was 'in' on the day a person was born. During the ensuing millenniums, the moon’s gravitational pull has made the Earth 'wobble' around its axis, creating about a one-month bump in the stars' alignment."

"When [astrologers] say that the sun is in Pisces, it’s really not in Pisces," Parke Kunkle, a board member of the Minnesota Planetarium Society, told the Star Tribune.

"Indeed," the article continued, "most horoscope readers who consider themselves Pisces are actually Aquarians." The article also asserts Scorpio's window lasts only seven days, and that a 13th constellation, Ophiuchus, used to be counted between Scorpio and Sagittarius but was discarded by the Babylonians because they wanted 12 signs per year.

True enough, Jawer says, the sun doesn't align with constellations at the same time of year that it did millennia ago. But that’s irrelevant for the tropical zodiac, codified for Western astrology by Ptolemy in the second century, he says.

In the tropical zodiac, the start of Aries is fixed to one equinox, and Libra the other.

"When we look at the astrology used in the Western world, the seasonally based astrology has not changed, was never oriented to the constellations, and stands as … has been stated for two millenniums," Jawer said.

People who put stock in astrology can ask whether they should adhere to the tropical zodiac or the sidereal zodiac. Jawer argues for the tropical.

"Astrology is geocentric. It relates life on Earth to the Earth’s environment, and seasons are the most dramatic effect, which is why we use the tropical zodiac," he said.

http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2011/01/13/no ... t-changed/

altec

Postby altec » January 14th, 2011, 11:42 am

Apprently the only thing move was "all fools day". "damn fool day" for you back water trinis.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » January 14th, 2011, 12:05 pm

Ok na sorry I change it :roll:

hottgyul - wais da one sheriff?

Postby rollingstock » January 14th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Sheriff wrote:Ok na sorry I change it :roll:

hottgyul - wais da one sheriff?

I think she meant you spoiled the quote, like above :lol:

Tetramiel

Postby Tetramiel » January 14th, 2011, 3:28 pm

soooooooooooooooo.............how this change the price ah dhal again?

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2011, 8:17 pm

"the moon's gravitational pull on the Earth has caused the alignment of the stars to be pushed by about a month."

whut???????????????

luke skywalker

Postby luke skywalker » January 14th, 2011, 9:45 pm

hottgyul wrote:

what she said.......................................

nere

Postby nere » January 15th, 2011, 9:44 am

and no i ent accepting meh new sign

Postby TRAE » January 28th, 2011, 12:46 pm

i doh wanna be a virgo--- i lost my viginity already

Postby Bizzare » January 28th, 2011, 12:50 pm

Still a Scorpio anyhow !!!!

Postby K74T » January 28th, 2011, 1:21 pm

TRAE wrote:i doh wanna be a virgo--- i lost my viginity already

well at least yuh still a virgin :|

Postby TRAE » January 28th, 2011, 1:29 pm

Marsh_TT wrote:
TRAE wrote:i doh wanna be a virgo--- i lost my viginity already

well at least yuh still a virgin :|

Allyuh doh miss a thing eh

cphider

Postby cphider » January 28th, 2011, 1:30 pm

luke skywalker wrote:
hottgyul wrote:

what she said.......................................

x999999999999999999999999

Postby TRAE » January 28th, 2011, 2:24 pm

flap that i was born a scorpio flap dem

Postby equipped2ripp » January 28th, 2011, 8:19 pm

foss wrote:who gives a flying fack

my sentiments exactly.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 28th, 2011, 10:58 pm

damn the evil twin shall be back!!!!!!!!!!

apple

Postby apple » January 28th, 2011, 11:17 pm

this is ah scorpio thread?