which is better Legacy or Audi A4 ?

Re: which is better Legacy or Audi A4 ?

Postby Monk BANzai » December 30th, 2010, 2:11 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:The legacy wins with aftermarket support and parts availability locally.
The Audi will be higher maintenance and parts will be harder to get.
Own a lgt, and drove a a4, ride quality is amazing on both, sound deadening is top notch on both. The LGT actually surprised me in this regard. Cant give a fair review on handling, because I never got to push the a4. The symmetrical awd on the LGT is awesome, although a tad heavy. it tends to understeer, but I've found it to oversteer/powerslide when I power it out through the bends (I'm not stock). Stock for stock, power levels are similar, although I find the boost response a little more agressive on the legacy. I find the turbo on the a4 feels like it isnt really there....

stock for stock i've blown the doors off a A4 (PCH model).....and you right......the turbo's on the A4's seem non existent....but good review....

diplomate

Postby diplomate » December 30th, 2010, 8:00 am

thanks @ BANzai Rastafarai

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 8:29 am

Used an audi 2.0T...it is fast and very luxarious....but....it is not aggressively tuned. If u looking for top end numbers..yea...but if u wana get to 0-100kmhr^-1 then the legacy gt is the best bet..

Got the legacy 1.5 yrs now and it handles well...very fast....however..it is expensive to maintain wrt to fluids and other maintenence parts. Also the jdm's have to be tuned to handle the local premium gas here...some get 400Km plus per tank full but with city driving and normal boosting u'll prolly get 300-320km.
lots of vendors w/ oem subaru parts so u wont have a prob getting stuff...they are vendors for the audi parts but u hada rel look..and since they r few, the price is abit hot

resale on both cars are poor..so jus cut ur losses.i highly doubt u'd wana go with a B6 audi...its jus too old...B7 and B8 are much better but VERY expensive

and to the men who bawl legacy go get thief...are u aware that it has an immobilizer system with electronic coded key? So if anyone tries to start without key it wud shut down the entire system...so how exactly ah man gonna steal it eh????

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 8:32 am

^^ any car can be stolen bud

Postby cinco » December 30th, 2010, 8:44 am

hehe
men still using that encoded key arguement i thought i shut that up last year with a quick ebay search and 40 usd later
honestly jap>german in terms of longevity and parts availability in trinidad
maintenance is not even a question
pull up by a mech in an audi he go say get out pull up wid a legacy he will still take a look

Postby bushwakka » December 30th, 2010, 9:08 am

jadakiss wrote:Used an audi 2.0T...it is fast and very luxarious....but....it is not aggressively tuned. If u looking for top end numbers..yea...but if u wana get to 0-100kmhr^-1 then the legacy gt is the best bet..

Got the legacy 1.5 yrs now and it handles well...very fast....however..it is expensive to maintain wrt to fluids and other maintenence parts. Also the jdm's have to be tuned to handle the local premium gas here...some get 400Km plus per tank full but with city driving and normal boosting u'll prolly get 300-320km.
lots of vendors w/ oem subaru parts so u wont have a prob getting stuff...they are vendors for the audi parts but u hada rel look..and since they r few, the price is abit hot

resale on both cars are poor..so jus cut ur losses.i highly doubt u'd wana go with a B6 audi...its jus too old...B7 and B8 are much better but VERY expensive

and to the men who bawl legacy go get thief...are u aware that it has an immobilizer system with electronic coded key? So if anyone tries to start without key it wud shut down the entire system...so how exactly ah man gonna steal it eh????

been discussed sometime aback....involves flashing the ECU...but too much trouble IMO for trinidad thieves atm

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 30th, 2010, 9:14 am

people keep saying the A4 is executive/luxury

yeah, they come very well appointed with some attractive cabins, but the ride they give leans more toward sport...the suspension is stiffer, the car is somewhat low to the ground, the steering is tight. It really handles like a sporty sedan. Fun enough to drive, but a luxury ride gives a lot more shock absorption, isolates the driver (and passengers) from the driving experience. They definitely look like a nice mix of sporty and classy

my biggest prob with audi is the resale value.

Postby cinco » December 30th, 2010, 9:16 am

bushwakka wrote:
jadakiss wrote:Used an audi 2.0T...it is fast and very luxarious....but....it is not aggressively tuned. If u looking for top end numbers..yea...but if u wana get to 0-100kmhr^-1 then the legacy gt is the best bet..

been discussed sometime aback....involves flashing the ECU...but too much trouble IMO for trinidad thieves atm

emmmm no
all you need is a code scanner and key programmer
btw a wrecker tiefin any car normel normel so if they want your car they will go with it
even easier btw
buss yuh glass plug in the legacy ecu i have with the key matching it drive off with your car

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 9:21 am

leff d experts nah

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 9:32 am

^^^ duh...even a bugatti can be wrecked by 800-4tow..so the wreckin arguement is rather obvious as a means to steal a car..i'm talking about breaking in etc..plug in ecu u say???

the immobilizer has its own control module that is a seprate entity from the ecu...soo really ur arguement is null.

From an article i read :

It is theoretically possible to for a very determined thief armed with the right technology and the ability to manipulate it correctly to snatch keycodes from the air.However, the complexity and length of time involved in that process means that your average crook simple can't grab an RKE code in a parking lot and open up a corresponding car within a minute or two: the thief would need special knowledge and equipment and spend hours (if not days) crunching data and replicating a device to produce the correct entry code then hope to locate the same vehicle once all the steps have been completed."

So while it is "theoretically" possible it is very difficult and time consuming...i doubt u'd be gone trincity for a 15hr movie
Last edited by jadakiss on December 30th, 2010, 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 9:34 am

tr1ad wrote:leff d experts nah

^^ Maybe u shud read abit more...u obviously lacking in certain areas :mrgreen:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 30th, 2010, 9:43 am

performance wise..lts a 2.0 Turbo. Not an "off the line" mover (stock...though i can put you against a few local tiptronics that will beat you light to light) but once up to speed...it moves. i've gotten the car to 240Kph (on a 260kph dash)....no worries. Handling? a DREAM! Boxing day i took full car load (4 persons) two coolers in the trunk (massive trunk space as well) and went up Toco to a cook, and was giving turbo civis and an evo 6 pressure......its a joy to drive..effortless and its dependable.

I remember trying to (objectively) compare the WRX to my dad's Legacy....and it seemed both handled the same way IMHO.

Front heavy, with "lack of precision". What makes these Subarus corner well, is the loads of grip. They literally "stick" to the corner....for want of a better description (probably explains the gross understeer as well).

Get into something more balanced (like a Miata for example), you'll see a different side of "handling" (or what "handling" should be in my humble view). A more neutral feel, more direct.

A Miata is like a carving knife cutting through a corner, a Legacy/Impreza is like a sledgehammer - they beat the corner into submission :lol:

No I don't own a Miata.

That said, the BL/'BP is a fantastic platofrm, with the capability to do many things well (comfort yet good corner grip, relaxed yet fast).

Honestly, I'd have gone with teh Audi just for bragging rights :lol: . BUT....if it's going to be a daily driver, I have to agree with Unkle Banzai that the Legacy IS going to be the better choice.

people keep saying the A4 is executive/luxury

yeah, they come very well appointed with some attractive cabins, but the ride they give leans more toward sport...the suspension is stiffer, the car is somewhat low to the ground, the steering is tight. It really handles like a sporty sedan. Fun enough to drive, but a luxury ride gives a lot more shock absorption, isolates the driver (and passengers) from the driving experience. They definitely look like a nice mix of sporty and classy

my biggest prob with audi is the resale value.

Excellent summary!
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on December 30th, 2010, 9:52 am, edited 3 times in total.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 30th, 2010, 9:48 am

Meh bais what i saying is YES any car can be stolen....
we talkin probability here!!!

A bandit is MORE LIKELY to grab at a legacy for all those nice availability parts etc resale value etc stuff mentioned before.

When yuh grab that Audi...then what..joyride...show you bredren...then what....

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 9:48 am

jadakiss
take win yes
in your world you know everything about legacy

Postby cinco » December 30th, 2010, 9:49 am

ent boy
ah well google doh work on dem computers apparently

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 9:52 am

^^ I don't need any pseudo compliments from you to feel better....weren't u the one whose forester's auto tranny 'shattered' while u was coasting at 80kmhr^-1 ???

I guess u studied hard at Fuji Heavy Industries to come up with that diagnosis eh subaru guru??

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 9:53 am

the tranny shattered because of a fracture in the centre diff....what's your point?

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 9:55 am

...u see how much men on a $8K salary or less buying the older audi's and ting??? obviously they can afford a tranny or engine or turbo if they had to go thru southern sales...soo its more attractive to steal such a car for parts as the demand would be much greater

im not saying the legacy like any other 'chipped' car is fool proof but its not as easy as some men make it out to be

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 10:00 am

tr1ad wrote:the tranny shattered because of a fracture in the centre diff....what's your point?

^^ my point is that noone here is an expert nor claims to be...even u were incorrect at first when u postulated as to what really went wrong in the tranny, before taking it to full traction auto.

So don't throw remarks about me being a subaru know it all in my 'world'

jus like u, i'm going on what facts there are in the public domain. ur assesment of ur car was incorrect but ur entitled to make one, and noone critized u for it

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 10:03 am

i was incorrect because i did not see the internals of the transmission, due to time etc, hence my asking as to what could have gone wrong

you can do what i did (and look more into it) so that you can come to a informed conclusion
key programming can be done in less than 30 mins these days

none withstanding, we digress
the mentality of car thieves is that they would tend to shy away from the audi/bmw route and go for the jdm/sdm route

at the end of the day any car can be stolen, some more quicker than others

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 10:09 am

Well u see tr1ad, most of u guys here are overtly cynnical and have ur theories that u all cud disprove anything and it usually originates from a whim or 'gut feeling' inside ya'll that makes u tink that watever u say is right

me however, im a realist...there are bodies of information and based on readings and analysis i'm simply making a deduction based on the presented facts. i may be wrong but as the article i quoted suggested, it is very difficult than just goin on ebay on ebay and getting a DME scanner etc

I agree with the key cutting and programming...hi tech in st augustine can do it in 30mins..but again...u'd need the origional key with the same cut pattern as well as the coding device to programme the transponder in the key FOB

but a theif not goin to get ur key and cut it and programme a spare....so???

Postby S_2NR » December 30th, 2010, 10:14 am

why cant we all just get along? :-|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 30th, 2010, 10:43 am

I would go with the Audi without a question!!!!

The Audi is class. Its like comparing with say BMW etc.

Sure the Legacy parts may be a little cheaper but you can buy A4 parts online.
I mean very few people in the world will look at the legacy with amazement.

But when they look at Audi, BMW, Mercedes Benz etc they think thats a class of car.
There really is no comparison when looked at it this way.

My dream ride is a Benz over anyother car on the planet. I hope to one day own one.
But if I cannot then perhaps I can own atleast a BMW or a Audi.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 10:48 am

i think the legacy was ment to compete with the 3series bmw..not so much the 2.0T audi....the audi uses more high end materials and technology to say the least..the USDM legacy's for example have the leather, sun roof, nav and other luxary trims that are similar to the mid spec 3 series

so the two cars should not be compared side by side...would u compare a b14 to a teana? no

legacy wins on peformance and its tune ability etc.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 30th, 2010, 10:51 am

to jakakiss and tr1ad.
last year i was doing some "work" on my legacy and for whatever reason the battery was not charging after numerous repairs to the alternator.
I eventually changed the alternatorto a brand new one from massey. problem solved.
but allow me to share my experience with subaru's anti theft system.
at one time i thought the 'ecu' was fooling around so i got a friend to come over and we swapped ecus.
the car would not start because the 'ecu' didn't get an 'authentication' from the immobilizer.
so i swapped the immobilizer module and tried again.
the car would not start because the immobilizer couldn't authenticate the correct key code being transmitted from my key.
i then had to use the key and lock from the donor car to get the car to tumble.
so its not as easy as having a key coded to bypass or authenticate the immobilizer, the immobilizer has to authenticate with the ecu as well.
the audi anti theft is exactly as the subaru.
so while the thieves will steal your car if they really wanted it, i believe that the common trinidadian bandit may not have the intellectual capacity to have or understand the system or programs to steal those cars as they do in say the US.
chances are they may quicker point a knife or gun at you and demand the keys and then take the car, which leads me to believe that someone driving an Audi and someone driving a Legacy are viewed as 'having money' but an Audi driver is perceived as 'more affluencial' than a subaru driver.

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 10:51 am

but it would depend on the OP preference...

be it tuning ability or just start and drive

Postby Monk BANzai » December 30th, 2010, 11:11 am

poor OP.....now de man go go into Massy and get this...

Postby cinco » December 30th, 2010, 11:13 am

now dat is a ride

Postby ronsin1 » December 30th, 2010, 11:29 am

sonata FTW

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » December 30th, 2010, 11:52 am

nismoid my name is jadakiss..

Anyways great post nismoid...as i was saying earlier...these guys here thinks its jus a case of goin on ebay and voila....this is not a ford ranger u trying to steal eh...most high end JDM and euro cars have much more sophisticated immobilizer systems.

unless its a highly coordinated and specialized group of bandits...this kinda work would not even be attempted locally..u'd quicker geh car jack

2010 sonata FTW tho