Dookeran: New $12.50 minimum wage from January

Re: Dookeran: New $12.50 minimum wage from January

Postby RASC » December 10th, 2010, 9:44 am

nismoid wrote:so dis kant ( dooks) raise the min wage to 12.50 thats a 25% increase. thats gonna translate very soon to a 25% increase in inflation watch and see.
Fakin PP doin nothing to stimulate the near backward economy but yet increasing the inflation rate by 25%.
STAGFLATION here we come.
Kamla only posin for pictures and eating she own foot salad.WTF goin on I gettin ready to change my vote

Moti said to give them at least a YEAR to turn things around before you start complaining.

Postby bushwakka » December 10th, 2010, 5:28 pm

we like eeeet

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » December 10th, 2010, 7:11 pm

Hoping for an intelligent response to this..

janfar wrote:She added, "My grouse is not with the proposed minimum wage. My grouse is with employers refusing to pay their employees overtime and double pay for holidays."

"Employers are stealing workers' time, overtime and holidays," she said.

This is the most important part of the article for me. Countless workers are being made to work on holidays, and beyond 40/hrs a week for fixed "salary." Are there any laws in place protecting employees from being taken advantage of in this way?

I'm not a fan of any political party, because politics doesn't really interest me very much, but I think that this is pushing Trinidad in the right direction in terms of becoming a "first world" country. People hear prices are going up, and the first thing the average, ignorant Trinidadian can think of is "YOU KNOW HOW MUCH DOUBLES GO BE?"

Stop and think for a second -- You can get two doubles for, let's say for arguments sake $10tt. For some people, two is enough to fill you for the morning. You know how LUCKY we are to get a breakfast for $1.50 US? Think about how raising the minimum wage of the country affects our lower class on a global economic scale.

Just because our minimum wage increases, some prices will go up for obvious reasons, but think about the purchasing power of the people now. For a country that relies heavily on imported goods, think about how much more possible it becomes for the lower-end of the spectrum to purchase things outside of Trinidad and Tobago. It opens a world of new possibilities for them. To me it's simple utilitarianism.

Think of it this way, the poor get slightly poorer, but the rich ultimately get richer, because the poor has more money to buy YOUR goods now.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 10th, 2010, 8:31 pm

i am not going to get much into the economics but isnt raising the min wage open up the lower classes

which would u guys prefer a raise in taxes or a further slump in the economy because of a slowdown in spending

Postby Monk BANzai » December 10th, 2010, 10:17 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
nismoid wrote:so dis kant ( dooks) raise the min wage to 12.50 thats a 25% increase. thats gonna translate very soon to a 25% increase in inflation watch and see.
Fakin PP doin nothing to stimulate the near backward economy but yet increasing the inflation rate by 25%.
STAGFLATION here we come.
Kamla only posin for pictures and eating she own foot salad.WTF goin on I gettin ready to change my vote

:shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: :faint: :faint: :faint: :faint: :faint:

who hack dis man account

follow the fowl...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 11th, 2010, 4:01 am

I see nothing wrong with raising the minimum wage. Let them raise everything else, if you smart and you know how to shop and buy what you need. There are a LOT of things that we waste money on in life that we can do without.

If the poor man gets a better standard of living then so be it. And this ain't all that big neither because its still less than $2 US an hour

You all know whats the problem? its us as consumers who continue to support the rise in everything.
KFC went up again and more people buying now more than ever.

I sure this minimum wage will raise the price of KFC AGAIN. But guess what? I go buy JAPS and if JAPS raise their price I won't buy but guess what???

Japs pays their workers $15 an hour MINIMUM. SO this is way past the minimum wage yet they can still somehow afford to sell at less than half the price of KFC and offer same service like Air Condition etc. And the owner still affords a BMW. Just look at that eh?

This just goes to show that everybody could afford $15 an hour.
So I do not expect to see anybody complaining about $12.50 an hour.

Postby pete » December 11th, 2010, 6:57 am

WRT Japs.. Yuh don't find it weird that a company with 5 or 6 outlets there are no cash registers? How do they know how much VAT to pay? or do they pay VAT? If they don't have a paper trail then who knows what's going on behind the scenes to allow the prices to be so low.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 11th, 2010, 7:35 pm

Well me ain't know how JAPS does manage to sell for less than half the price of KFC but they do.

I mean you could literally get a BOX of fries for $7. Seriously it makes more sense to buy a box of fries than to make it yourself.

In KFC you pay $10 for a tiny pack of fries. Its so cheap and tastes so good its ridiculous.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 11th, 2010, 8:41 pm

You have to remember that KFC and other food outlets under Prestige Holdings have to satisfy their shareholders, if everyone was paid based on their actual work then the world would be a better place.