zcarz

Re: Stolen SEA laptop recovered

Postby zcarz » November 21st, 2010, 8:18 pm

Oh gorm accept yuh pwnage nah

Postby Monk BANzai » November 21st, 2010, 10:16 pm

^^^ unnerstan? he moving like he HADDA wait in the carpark until she finish room 18 to confront she....yuh get horn yuh get horn!!!

deal with it meng!!

Postby bushwakka » November 22nd, 2010, 9:22 am

RASC wrote:Laptop Contract: $83 Million
Cost per laptop: $Lord alone knows, because they did not ACTUALLY bring in enough for every single Form 1 Student.

The emotional state of a 12 your old child who's had a gun put to their head, yet told weeks after "Don't worry we got it back for you *smiley face-pats self on back*" : SCARRED FOR LIFE!

For everything else, there's a chopper, full of Cocaine being delivered safely!

so what was it that scarred YOU for life? since u obviously have so much attention problems?

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2010, 10:18 am

did the IT tech know it was stolen? technicians go had to ask for proof of purchase now b4 fixing laptops- unless of course it painted yellow

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/9_months_for_laptop-111016389.html

9 months for laptop
By Jensen LaVende jlavende@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Nov 29, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 29, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

KENRICK TELESFORD, one of two men charged with receiving a stolen Government-issued Hewlett-Packard (HP) laptop, was sentenced to nine months hard labour yesterday.

Telesford, 18, of Sixth Avenue, Malick, Barataria pleaded guilty to the charge when he first appeared in court on November 22 along with Santa Cruz resident, 27-year-old Tacey Johnson.

In passing sentence Magistrate Anna Ryan told Telesford that a "hands off attitude" must be taken when it comes to the stealing of the laptops, which were issued to Form One pupils having completed the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA).

"Persons should be deterred from going after their laptops," Ryan added as she ordered that Telesford be sent to jail and the computer returned to the 12-year-old First Form pupil of the Barataria South Secondary School.

Telesford, who represented himself, told the Magistrate that he was "truly sorry" adding that if given a second chance he would go out there and support his family and "mine my step-child".

In his statement read out to the Magistrate by Court Prosecutor Sgt Rawle Ramharrack, Telesford, a CD vendor said that he was approached by another man who asked for his help in selling the laptop. Telesford complied and was paid $200 out of the $900 he sold the black HP laptop for.

Telesford and Johnson, an Information Technology technician, were charged with receiving the computer on November 5 – one day after the pupil was robbed in San Juan as he made his way home from school. Johnson, who pleaded not guilty, would return to court on December 6.

The men were charged by PC Ralph Ramroop of the Barataria CID who was commended by Ryan for his diligence and good work in arresting the men and recovering the laptop.

Another man is expected to appear in court later this week charged with receiving the laptop after he surrendered to the police yesterday. The 17-year-old from the San Juan area would be placed on several identification parades before he is charged.

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2010, 10:43 am

not so much proof of purchase, but don't accept any equipment, unless they can scan a valid form of ID. (d.p. / passport / id card), because of how theft is on the decline nah.
At least that way if the boops show up, and find you in possession of, you can say, this is the person who bought it to be repaired.

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2010, 3:59 pm

you can purchase your own computrace license
assuming your laptop's bios supports it or whatever

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 1st, 2010, 8:14 am

Cost per laptop: $Lord alone knows, because they did not ACTUALLY bring in enough for every single Form 1 Student.

The emotional state of a 12 your old child who's had a gun put to their head, yet told weeks after "Don't worry we got it back for you *smiley face-pats self on back*" : SCARRED FOR LIFE!

Didn't the child have the laptop in his backpack, then a man unzip it, and take it out and run? how gun to child head reach in this?

waaay sah, u eh play u sour since the pp win elections yes...

Postby RASC » December 1st, 2010, 8:17 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:

Didn't the child have the laptop in his backpack, then a man unzip it, and take it out and run? how gun to child head reach in this?

waaay sah, u eh play u sour since the pp win elections yes...

I was not referring to this particular case. I'm referring to in general.
Pick sense outta "nonsense" nah :roll:

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » December 1st, 2010, 11:30 am

pioneer wrote:nice work...however what about recovering/helping/protecting citizens who actually BOUGHT their own laptops?

X 100!!!

Imagine my personal laptop was stolen by a form 5 student of (boys school with the homo video in April this year) in mid-October on the compound.. and I am a staff member

School did nothing but say is my fault even though it was in a secure room with lots of other expensive equipment (I will explain that nonsense a next time) and Police of no help as school will block police attempts to interview staff/students.

Had to buy a brand new laptop which put me in more financial stress.

I got LoJack for it. It may not be foolproof, but it is nice to have better than zero protection. Is no different from having a decent car alarm for your car. Meanwhile I hunting down the lil punk who did it.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » March 17th, 2011, 2:34 am

Education Ministry to investigate laptop porn
Wednesday 16th March, 2011

Education Minister Dr. Tim Gopeesingh is vowing to investigate a report that pornography and social networking sites are easily accessible on a government-issued school laptop.

The Minister made the promise to investigate the matter after the parents of a 13 year old schoolgirl complained that she has full access to social networking sites and pornograpic images on her government-donated computer.

Dr. Gopeesingh says the child's laptop and those at her school will be examined by the Ministry's administrative department.

He has also expressed his deep concern over the matter and maintains that unsafe access should not be occurring.

The Minister is now urging all parents to check their children's laptops and contact the Education Ministry immediately if there are any issues.

His call follows a visit to CNEWS by Janelle Charles, an Arima mother who complained about her child's exposure to certain adult websites.

Both Mrs. Charles and her husband expressed anger over the matter, especially as they say government had promised that the laptops would come equipped with blocking software.

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2011, 7:40 am

while we on the topic, is there a way to acess youtube from them laptops? if anyone knows how plz post it here or pm me :oops:

& yes, they have access to facebook but strange enough they cant download attachments from hotmail. :?

Postby RASC » March 17th, 2011, 7:45 am

Shango_13 wrote:Education Ministry to investigate laptop porn
Wednesday 16th March, 2011

Education Minister Dr. Tim Gopeesingh is vowing to investigate a report that pornography and social networking sites are easily accessible on a government-issued school laptop.

The Minister made the promise to investigate the matter after the parents of a 13 year old schoolgirl complained that she has full access to social networking sites and pornograpic images on her government-donated computer.

Dr. Gopeesingh says the child's laptop and those at her school will be examined by the Ministry's administrative department.

He has also expressed his deep concern over the matter and maintains that unsafe access should not be occurring.

The Minister is now urging all parents to check their children's laptops and contact the Education Ministry immediately if there are any issues.

His call follows a visit to CNEWS by Janelle Charles, an Arima mother who complained about her child's exposure to certain adult websites.

Both Mrs. Charles and her husband expressed anger over the matter, especially as they say government had promised that the laptops would come equipped with blocking software.

Here we go...wonder what excuse the sheep will formulate now :?

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2011, 7:52 am

PNM put she up to it. which 13 year old girl is gonna cry & complain that she has access to facebook? thats like 5 year olds crying when the lolly man gives dem a likka stick.

porn, psssst! so it cant be moved from one laptop to the next via flashdrive? I demand a copy of this porn as evidence or to make me believe.

Postby K74T » March 17th, 2011, 8:58 am

iz PP fault

once again, why d firetruck dey give dem laptops in de first place?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 17th, 2011, 9:02 am

oh wow we didn't see this coming :roll: :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2011, 9:21 am

slacker_jack wrote:while we on the topic, is there a way to acess youtube from them laptops? if anyone knows how plz post it here or pm me :oops:

& yes, they have access to facebook but strange enough they cant download attachments from hotmail. :?

anyone?

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » March 17th, 2011, 9:32 am

ray_S.T.R.A_man wrote:Computrace activated their ‘watch’, and within a couple hours the stolen computer was spotted when it was used to log-on to the internet.

Oh.. Great Info There.. Now Whenever They Steal It They Know To Scrap It And Theif De Parts Instead Of Going On The Internet... :|

Postby RBphoto » March 17th, 2011, 10:38 am

I think they should jail he parents for bringing up their child to go on them kinda websites.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » March 17th, 2011, 10:41 am

slacker_jack wrote:
slacker_jack wrote:while we on the topic, is there a way to acess youtube from them laptops? if anyone knows how plz post it here or pm me :oops:

anyone?

www.Youtube.com

It not blocked... unless you connect to the school's network.

Postby RBphoto » March 17th, 2011, 10:56 am

Blocking content on the laptops is a waste of time.

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2011, 10:58 am

she not getting through to it, I will tell her call up blink & see if its something on their end or check the settings or something.
& no, its not the school netwprk she on, its her router at home. I find its BS if they cant get to dl attachments from emails. I helped the girl with she HW & she real looking forward for the assistance, next thing she cant get the file. :-(

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » March 17th, 2011, 12:06 pm

I have about 9 of these eCAL laptops in front of me at this time.

I just did a factory restore of them.. connected one to a wifi router. Typed the address for facebook and youtube and I got on. No stress.

Tried to acess a porn site (www.xnxx.com) Access was blocked by McAfee Total Protection Service's content filter

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » March 17th, 2011, 2:00 pm

there is always a way to beat technology and get away if you steal one ah these laptops

Postby TRAE » March 17th, 2011, 2:13 pm

yeah my lil niece have games and sh!t on hers---- this was a waste idea- laptop for all my so and so

Postby 16 cycles » March 17th, 2011, 3:00 pm

^ laptop is a tool - only as good as the person using it.....

apple

Postby apple » March 17th, 2011, 7:24 pm

youtube is not blocked. my son is on it now :roll:

homeboy

Postby homeboy » March 17th, 2011, 8:20 pm

16 cycles wrote:^ laptop is a tool - only as good as the person using it.....

Correct!!!!!!!!!!
People don't understand that in years to come laptop will be part of your everyday school......When people come here and say they brother and so on have sh*t on their laptop who's fault is that?
These kids will do as they are thought to do, so if all they sister/mother/father only talking about facebook what will they look for...

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » March 17th, 2011, 10:55 pm

audioholicz.co wrote:
xtech wrote:only works if u paying for internet an once again TSTT or Flow would be ordered to give up the account owner address.

If i stole one I would log on to my neighbor WIFI an watch the police show up an smash up them house to bits. Or better yet go to a public library.

Simple way to beat this system is replace / wipe hard drive ............. tracker program gone

won't work, Computrace is installed on your BIOS not your HARD DRIVE..

Then wouldn't flashing the bios defeat this? :?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 18th, 2011, 12:07 am

saxman642 wrote:I have about 9 of these eCAL laptops in front of me at this time.

I just did a factory restore of them.. connected one to a wifi router. Typed the address for facebook and youtube and I got on. No stress.

Tried to acess a porn site (http://www.xnxx.com) Access was blocked by McAfee Total Protection Service's content filter

why?

Postby Stephon. » March 18th, 2011, 12:22 am

pioneer wrote:lol for all we know they "stole" it themselves...but that's not the truth they want allyuh to know right?...right in the middle of so many things going wrong in the country...

How come when allyuh laptops geh stolen nobody does find it? :lol:

Wha bout all de stolen car audio equipment that those street pirates using so freely? :lol:

get serious people, please

X10000

I think this entire thing is fabricated, chances are the "student" is a 30 year old man they paid to get this "story" from.