online degrees

TheOwnerPO

Re: online degrees

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 14th, 2014, 10:45 am

do online degrees state they are online degrees on the transcripts and certificate ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 14th, 2014, 4:53 pm

TheOwnerPO wrote:do online degrees state they are online degrees on the transcripts and certificate ?

Some do but most don't

There is no indication in most online degrees that state they are online or distance learning in nature they are for the most part identical to regular degree printed paper cert.

However if you do some research you would know University of Phoenix and Devry are scams. If employers see those names on your degree they won't hire you. Devry has very bad reputation etc, they are for profit schools into scam.

Think SAM down here not an exact example but we can use it as a for profit school, advertising computer programming with C++ and Java but in reality they never offer it, the scam is advertise it and when students go you tell them not enough lecturers to teach it so they can't afford to offer it.

Again Obama made mention of why only proper state schools "state colleges and universities" will be given those student loans and grants to do degrees.

Even if a UTT cannot match a UWI degree, its much much much better than any degree that would be offered at SAM or SBCS and CTSBCSTCBSCTSBCSBCSTCS etc

SAM and CTSBCSTcBSCTSBCSBSCTS provide Computer Science degrees without a shred of mathematics. A discipline which required very advanced mathematics, calculus/discrete mathematics. In the end places like illuminat would only hire UWI Computer Science grads to be database engineers because of obvious reasons.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 14th, 2014, 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » July 14th, 2014, 4:58 pm

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 15th, 2014, 1:14 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
TheOwnerPO wrote:do online degrees state they are online degrees on the transcripts and certificate ?

Some do but most don't

There is no indication in most online degrees that state they are online or distance learning in nature they are for the most part identical to regular degree printed paper cert.

However if you do some research you would know University of Phoenix and Devry are scams. If employers see those names on your degree they won't hire you. Devry has very bad reputation etc, they are for profit schools into scam.

Think SAM down here not an exact example but we can use it as a for profit school, advertising computer programming with C++ and Java but in reality they never offer it, the scam is advertise it and when students go you tell them not enough lecturers to teach it so they can't afford to offer it.

Again Obama made mention of why only proper state schools "state colleges and universities" will be given those student loans and grants to do degrees.

Even if a UTT cannot match a UWI degree, its much much much better than any degree that would be offered at SAM or SBCS and CTSBCSTCBSCTSBCSBCSTCS etc

SAM and CTSBCSTcBSCTSBCSBSCTS provide Computer Science degrees without a shred of mathematics. A discipline which required very advanced mathematics, calculus/discrete mathematics. In the end places like illuminat would only hire UWI Computer Science grads to be database engineers because of obvious reasons.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 15th, 2014, 1:16 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Some do but most don't

Lol....Degrees "offered" at these institutions are not granted by these institutions. These institutions provide academic support and at best group study. The University of London Internation programme is widely recognised as being of the highest quality.

I did both my undergraduate and masters degrees in the UK. Stop trying to peddle bs.
Last edited by Redress10 on April 7th, 2021, 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 15th, 2014, 7:30 am

Redress10

If you go in a place like illuminat for a job like say database engineer/developer or software engineer/developer. They would hire a UWI computer science grad over any UOL degree offered at SBCS.

If you go to the oil field industry with a City and Guilds or any Engineering paper from SBCS they would tell you all those without UTT and UWI papers to get out of the room. This what I am telling you is fact.

A friend of mine finished her year 2 from SAM in NCC and she went SBCS then got her year 3 computing from greenwich which is a very highly ranked degree. She could not get anything besides a helpdesk entry level Job with that degree alone as she needed certs and experience. The degree by itself was near useless and she needed specific certs, she was better off spending all that time gaining experience and certs. And despite the degree offering options in programming which she did and passed she could not get a software engineering/developer Job simply because she can't do it, a good programmer needs maths.

I have never ever went UWI in my life and will never have the chance to go there since their top degrees is only full time so I am not exactly rooting for the great UWI. But you must give jack his jacket, UWI graduates in Computer Science are real computer scientists.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 15th, 2014, 1:19 pm

I think that is because places have a close partnership with UWI etc so they quicker hire UWI graduates. I think some places are even forced to fill a yearly quota of UWI graduates. I can't speak for the City and Guilds certification etc. I wouldn't say that the University of Greenwich is highly rated either. I wouldn't do a degree from that institution. If I had to pick between Uwi and Greenwich, I would pick UWI in a heart beat. That's not where my issue lie. The UOL computer programmes do cover mathematics in their curriculum. I think alot of people need to do their research before doing these distance programs.

I would advise that anyone doing a distance programme only do a UOL distance program. Most of their universities are listed in the top 20 in the UK and also the top 200 in the world. Don't waste your time and money gaining qualifcations that are outside of the top 30 in the uk. It just doesn't make sense. Must admit though, UOL degrees are hard. Their LLB program boasts maybe 5 first class honours worldwide. That's out of hundreds of candidates. The knowledge and disciplined gained from completing a UOL degree is priceless.
Last edited by Redress10 on April 7th, 2021, 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 15th, 2014, 1:33 pm

^ to be fair you are correct about UOL being much better than Greenwich.

Infact it is unfair to compare UWi Computer Science to UOL CIS because its apples to oranges.

UOL in reality probably offers a better Computer Science degree than UWI. I just looked at UOL's curriculum on SBCS website and yup it has mathematics and a lot for a IT degree.

But what I am saying is if one wants to become a software developer, UOL CIS would not be the best choice as Computer Science at UWI and Computer Engineering at UTT are both much better options since both universities offer discrete mathematics and calculus 1-3 in their computer sources, something UOL at SBCS does not do. Its true it has maths but nowhere near that of a full computer science course at UWI and UTT.

I think UOL is more geared towards oracle database administrators jobs etc. Something that can often pay more than software developers with computer science degrees so yeah its a great degree I guess.

I think its just a matter of UOL being designed for something different, more IT management if you read the course structure you would see it yourself. UWI and UTT their computer degree are like over 60% maths alone. Again unfair comparison since UOL does not offer computer science locally.

Its a shame, SBCS is supposed to be the school of business and computer science yet there is nothing computer science about them.

have a look at this nonsense for example

http://www.ctscbcs.com/computing/bsc-computer-science

this school in Chaguanas offers a computer science degree from what is supposed to be a high ranked UK university beating UWI in ranking yet that computer science degree has not a shred of mathematics.

Its quite a scam, you can trust state schools but you need to be very careful with those for profit private institutions.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 15th, 2014, 1:57 pm

That's the thing though...University of Herfordshire isn't that highly regarded in the computer science community in the UK. People see anything connected to "foreign" and get bamboozled. You really need to research these universities, curriculum and their ranking. You also need to know what it is you want out of your degree study.

Here is a listing of all the computer science departments in the UK and where they are ranked. Hertfordshire is ranked 69 out of 105...Would you aspire to go study Computer Science there. I certainly hope not. http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.c ... %20Science
Last edited by Redress10 on April 7th, 2021, 1:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 15th, 2014, 2:15 pm

^ yup good point. Check this

http://goldsmiths.reportlab.com/brochur ... 0010184727

UOL's bsc in Computer Science. This is what one expects a real computer science degree to look like.

Compare that to what they have on CTSBCSTCBSCTSBCSTCBS website with uni of neverland I mean Herfordshire. UOL is light years ahead of those people, nevertheless a lot of people get caught hook line and sinker by places like CTSBCSSTCBSCTSBTSCBSTCS and SAM just because it says "Foreign" "UK"

And since most never even did A levels or heck even CXC their parents say yeah my son or daughter going "university"

Check how high UOL requirement is

http://www.sbcs.edu.tt/programme/view/27

2 A'Levels-CAPE equivalent also accepted.
No Technical or Vocational Subjects would be considered.

If was SAM, yeah man we go take yuh with that 3 yuh get in social studies alone.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 15th, 2014, 2:17 pm

Just saw this on SBCS website for UOL CIS

Software Engineering: Algorithm design and Analysis

This is usually taught in Computer Science only. So yeah I guess the only Uni from SBCS worth doing for Computing is UOL. Pretty damn impressive Computing degree I must say, no wonder one of the high managers at Illuminat has a UOL CIS Degree from SBCS. He does actually be on tuner often aswell.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 15th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Exactly and then they find employment difficult to get. Not all degrees are the same. The expansion of Gate also mean that anyone with a few tables now opening up a school and claiming to be a further education institution. The only private institution I rate in Trinidad is SBCS. Dr Robin Maraj doesn't mix when it comes to his institution.

I once heard a UWI law student dissing the UOL LLB stating it was not up to UWI standards etcI just rolled my eyes because with the privy council being our highest court, I'm pretty sure that none of the law lords hold a law degree from UWI and a lot would hold degrees from a UOL university. Trinis at times just don't know what they are talking about. I hate when misinformation is being spread.
Last edited by Redress10 on April 7th, 2021, 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 15th, 2014, 2:28 pm

Yeah, remember the UOL degree is the exact same degree that students at the home campuses are doing. If you check the curriculum and then go to the home university website and check that curriculum you would realise that it's exactly the same. All the exam papers, projects are sent to London for marking. I think that exams are also conducted at exactly the same time as students in London to ensure that no cheating or leaking of papers take place. Hence, students in Tnt will sit exams at 9:am to correspond with students in London sitting exams at 1:pm UK time.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 15th, 2014, 2:38 pm

^ The doctor in St Helena, T Seinaurine who also lectures in UWI.

In his office he has a display of his medical degrees.

Bsc from UWI
Msc from University of London.

So yes anyone who claims UWI degrees better than UOL is talking crap.

I think if we had a big market for programmers then SBCS would offer the UOL Goldsmith Computer Science Bsc. And then they have to compete with free institutions like UWI and UTT where people would flock to as first choice which would explain why they don't currently offer it.

CIS is still most in demand in Trinidad last I heard. And programming for business applications usually would not need anything higher than SBCS CIS FROM UOL.

computer engineering from UTT has way more to do with Telecommunications and Robotics etc as opposed to what most private places do locally. I do see why SBCS picked the CIS program.

With that said I think if someone is interested in hardcore software development "designing 3D video game engines etc" or "Massive large scale Telecommunication Engineering / Robotics Engineering/Firmware" then UWI or UTT would be the better choice.

Where as IT field, SBCS would be the best choice especially since places like Guardian Life etc likes to hire SBCS grads.

Postby RedVEVO » August 12th, 2021, 7:42 am

What are the most sought after online degrees to date ?

axe

Postby axe » August 12th, 2021, 8:29 am

Pennfoster is really good. You just need to do your work and submit on time.
Trinidadian are not good at time management
So they rather complain

death365

Postby death365 » August 12th, 2021, 10:00 am

don't do what popular ... do what you like or are good at.

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Postby RedVEVO » August 12th, 2021, 5:04 pm

death365 wrote:don't do what popular ... do what you like or are good at.

This is a formal formula for great failure in life .
What you like or are good at is a hobby . Do it in your spare time .

What is sought after and in demand makes you a success with lots $$$$

Example:

Tiger Woods never liked golf - His father demanded it . He is worth $800 M (USD)
Micheal Jackson's has a similar history - He is/was worth $1.3 Billion (USD)

Or if you do not like $$$ and success just be a T&T politician and stage it :D

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 12th, 2021, 5:08 pm

How are trinis ranked on the world stage with their fancy degrees?

Postby timelapse » August 12th, 2021, 6:23 pm

My degree is UoL

death365

Postby death365 » August 13th, 2021, 10:41 am

I am ... have been and always will be unhappy with my job. i will retire with this same unhappy job.

dont be like me - do something u like or are skilled at.

22 years and counting have about 15 more years!!!!!!!!!!

RedVEVO wrote:
death365 wrote:don't do what popular ... do what you like or are good at.

This is a formal formula for great failure in life .
What you like or are good at is a hobby . Do it in your spare time .

What is sought after and in demand makes you a success with lots $$$$

Example:

Tiger Woods never liked golf - His father demanded it . He is worth $800 M (USD)
Micheal Jackson's has a similar history - He is/was worth $1.3 Billion (USD)

Or if you do not like $$$ and success just be a T&T politician and stage it :D

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » August 13th, 2021, 10:54 am

This is an excellent thread. Thanks for the input gentlemen...