Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Re: Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Postby crazybalhead » November 3rd, 2010, 2:12 pm

Muhahahauauauauaaahahahahahaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!! Now I can identify Duane's house...

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 3rd, 2010, 3:39 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Muhahahauauauauaaahahahahahaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!! Now I can identify Duane's house...

I was gonna say the same thing...yuh dont know what kinda psycho ppl on chuna.

Postby foss » November 3rd, 2010, 3:43 pm

tuner drive by lime? :|

jsr

Postby jsr » November 3rd, 2010, 6:44 pm

thanks duane i will call nova lighting about the brick lights

i was looking to make a sort of lighted driveway

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 7:23 pm

^ if you are also planning on doing drainage for the driveway, I used Clark Drain gratings which I got from Clark Drain Trinidad in Trincity Industrial Estate

You can drive over this with a truck if you wanted and it looks very neat, easy to remove and clean.

The hanging chain is a rain chain coming down from the gutter, directing the water into the drain.

Postby foss » November 3rd, 2010, 7:24 pm

well check Duane all fancy an ting nuh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 7:28 pm

^ nuh fancy, just neat.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 3rd, 2010, 7:30 pm

duane there is a guy in couva not far from reinzi ..superior doors.. he did my doors and the quality is comparable to the ones bhags has for over $150k .. yet is a fraction of that.. call him up and ask for pooran he is professional but his timeline is a bit long so be prepared to wait

nice house man .. i really like the ideas u put into the lighting.. mind if i copy some?

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2010, 7:34 pm

duane all u missin is ah euro in de garage

Postby gt4tified » November 3rd, 2010, 7:54 pm

There is also mahogany which, imo is a beautiful wood, both to work with and also how it looks/finishes. And, its available locally!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 8:16 pm

^ Mohogany is great for musical instruments, cabinetry and furniture, but I dont know how well it stands up to rainy and dry season. I know that green heart, purple heart, ipe etc are very good at that.

MonsterPower, copy away

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 3rd, 2010, 9:14 pm

i feel meh power seller $ is what pay for that rain gutter chain .... :lol:

Postby brams112 » November 3rd, 2010, 9:27 pm

house looks good duane,if people really put their minds into how they want their home to look and not copy some one else's home they will be suprised at the things they will accomplish

Postby brams112 » November 3rd, 2010, 9:28 pm

oh express classifieds have a number for green and purple heart lumber,,

jsr

Postby jsr » November 4th, 2010, 5:03 am

just to give you all a pictoral of what i want to do

the gazebo structure below gone through and was taken apart.. so i am looking to replace it with a pergola instead

i have done some modification to the front of the house such as removal of plants etc

the drains are to be fillled up with a 4 inch pvc inside ,, too bad i did not know of the drain covers place in trincity that duane posted or else i would of tried them before i bought the pvc pipe

here is another angle of the front area , the plants are not there anymore

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 4th, 2010, 5:17 am

Duane, your house looking a lil JDM there somehow, lol

Nice look :)

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 4th, 2010, 5:19 am

Ok, evidently I did not see there was a second page to this thread *shame*

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2010, 7:42 am

MonsterPower wrote:duane there is a guy in couva not far from reinzi ..superior doors.. he did my doors and the quality is comparable to the ones bhags has for over $150k .. yet is a fraction of that.. call him up and ask for pooran he is professional but his timeline is a bit long so be prepared to wait

150k? :shock:

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2010, 8:43 am

very nice and neat.
sketchup is really good too
easy to learn and do things fast

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 4th, 2010, 9:49 am

^ yup sketchup bess, i used it to design my home theater cabinet too

jsr wrote:the drains are to be fillled up with a 4 inch pvc inside ,, too bad i did not know of the drain covers place in trincity that duane posted or else i would of tried them before i bought the pvc pipe
I hope you are putting guttering on the roof and running the spouting to the 4" PVC also because if you cover over those drains in the front and down the driveway you will have ALOT of rain water flowing down your driveway and staying in the yard instead of finding the drain and exiting the yard.

The Clark Drain covers would have been ideal and they have stainless, galvanized, brass, copper and black steel finishes.

If you bury those drains in your front yard all the water will go into the garden area and flood it. Don't underestimate the work those drains are doing right now, especially without guttering.

zodiaque wrote:Duane, your house looking a lil JDM there somehow, lol

thanks, I like Japanese design

ABA Trading LTD wrote:150k? :shock:
don't be shocked, bhagwansingh and roopnarine have doors for that price and MORE, normel normel

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2010, 10:08 am

iz...150 thousand allyuh saying dey?

*must go maco bhagwansingh doors*

Most i ever see was 20k locally

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 4th, 2010, 10:21 am

duane other than aestetic reason what is one of the reasons u went with the chain? i saw it done before in a green garden but to the bottom they had a big earthen pot to diffuse the water into the drain below ,was a neat idea i must say

i am currently building my house and i intend to do all my exterior lighting as well as security system all powered by solar panels. its a shame i have no pics but if i get some time i'll post up some of the lil ideas i came up with .
i must ask tho how much did the gratings cost ? i made up some with angle iron and welded it myself

and aba trading u must get out .. a fully custom made teak door with glass cost more than $30k

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2010, 10:40 am

sorry boss, when i get out, i don't go looking for doors.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 4th, 2010, 10:43 am

so said I till i had to . damn woman fault .

Postby Chimera » November 4th, 2010, 10:49 am

:(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 4th, 2010, 10:54 am

MonsterPower wrote:duane other than aestetic reason what is one of the reasons u went with the chain? i saw it done before in a green garden but to the bottom they had a big earthen pot to diffuse the water into the drain below ,was a neat idea i must say

i am currently building my house and i intend to do all my exterior lighting as well as security system all powered by solar panels. its a shame i have no pics but if i get some time i'll post up some of the lil ideas i came up with .
i must ask tho how much did the gratings cost ? i made up some with angle iron and welded it myself

and aba trading u must get out .. a fully custom made teak door with glass cost more than $30k
only for aesthetics, I didnt want a PVC down spout there

the cost of the grating varies with the length and width and material that you want - I can't remember the prices as I did that over a year ago. I am thinking about $250 for a 3' x 4" section. Its galvanized so it wont rust and never needs painting

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 4th, 2010, 11:20 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:sorry boss, when i get out, i don't go looking for doors.

like u dont go by bhags or wa

that was a while ago like 2yrs ago , they had it in front their stores so u cant miss it & when u see d 150k price in real u almost need smelling salts - it appeared to be top of d line doors though , i bet it have ppl who wouldnt even study d price & buy that normal d way d average man wud buy a $500 door ...

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 4th, 2010, 11:21 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup sketchup bess, i used it to design my home theater cabinet too

jsr wrote:the drains are to be fillled up with a 4 inch pvc inside ,, too bad i did not know of the drain covers place in trincity that duane posted or else i would of tried them before i bought the pvc pipe
I hope you are putting guttering on the roof and running the spouting to the 4" PVC also because if you cover over those drains in the front and down the driveway you will have ALOT of rain water flowing down your driveway and staying in the yard instead of finding the drain and exiting the yard.

The Clark Drain covers would have been ideal and they have stainless, galvanized, brass, copper and black steel finishes.

If you bury those drains in your front yard all the water will go into the garden area and flood it. Don't underestimate the work those drains are doing right now, especially without guttering.

zodiaque wrote:Duane, your house looking a lil JDM there somehow, lol

thanks, I like Japanese design

ABA Trading LTD wrote:150k? :shock:
don't be shocked, bhagwansingh and roopnarine have doors for that price and MORE, normel normel

i recently installed 5 doors for my pal which cost him 210k for one eh, i must admit the doors are really beautiful,safe,14 locking bolts all around each door,metal but plastic/sheet coated in mahogany/teak color/patterns.

ppl use 4" schedule 40 pvc pipes as underground drainage channels, but they dont secure it eg: lean concrete reinforced with #35 brc mesh surround to the pvc, so eventually it loses the form(crushes and clogs).

jsr, why all the surface electrics? why not notch the wall and have them in there?

soon i will upload some pdf drawings of architectural designs that i did,

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 4th, 2010, 11:26 am

210k u say - wtf !!!!! .... :faint: :faint: :faint:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 4th, 2010, 11:32 am

what doors would i have to use to be able to get rid of that burglar proofing??

something secure but looking good
doesnt have to be wood as I kinda like the way the red door looks with the design