Park and Ride system.

Will you use this system

Yes, this will save me from traffic.
46%
No, utter rubbish, plus I like to listen to 96.7fm in the morning traffic
42%
My daddy aint buy my car for me yet so yes, im a poofta!
12%

Total votes: 67

Re: Park and Ride system.

Postby redmanjp » November 16th, 2011, 7:40 pm

trial next week!! :|
http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=35040&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

'Park and Ride' trial in POS next week
Wednesday 16th November, 2011

A 'park and ride' system will be introduced on a trial basis in the city of Port of Spain.

Mayor Louis Lee Sing said the trial should begin next week and Christmas shoppers will be the first to try this new initiative.

He added: "People will be encouraged to park at two locations outside the city, the Hasely Crawford Stadium and the Queens Park Savannah at the paved strip, the Carlos John Avenue. People are going to be allowed to park there. Arrangements are being made for them to board a shuttle right outside and bring them into town and back."

Mayor Lee Sing also said that the Vendors' Mall will return to Salvatori Building for the Christmas season. This follows an agreement reached with the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association.

The Mayor also announced plans to "pedestrianise" lower Frederick Street, from Queen Street, during the Christmas season.

Postby S_2NR » November 16th, 2011, 7:53 pm

Would not use. Fix crime first.
And i also like being alone in my car on a morning. Not every morning i could take on seeing ppl first thing in the morning.

Postby pugboy » November 16th, 2011, 8:20 pm

this or some form of valet service is required for ariapita ave in the night
friday nights are pretty close to carnival traffic jam

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2011, 9:50 pm

Now on one hand, its a good idea. It can assist in relieving the congestion in the capital city at / during peak hours & the number of cars on the road sometimes.

Neglecting the risk of theft, break ins, damage to vehicles & people getting robbed its will encourage lazy people to take a walk to & from their cars. Its good for the heart & ones health.

To get it to work, $$$ has to be pumped into it.

Why not instead of just putting plasters over sores created & move along we simply fix one system properly before bringing another on stream.
I travel on a regular basis & I can tell you, PTSC has potential, they need better management if they have to secure a larger percentage of the total amount of daily commuters though.
Why not get PTSC working properly so as to draw people away from using cars & then deal with the remaining drivers. An incentive has to be created for them to use the bus btw.

Postby Stephon. » November 16th, 2011, 10:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:Would not use. Fix crime first.
And i also like being alone in my car on a morning. Not every morning i could take on seeing ppl first thing in the morning.

LMFAO! I agree, even though I wish more people would car-pool. I generally don't like the first thing in the morning someone else around me, the time it takes me to drive down the road on a mornings are really calming for me and probably the best part of my sometimes miserable day. Just last week my moms friend saw me on the road Sunday morning, and me being the kind hearted person that I am, decided to give her a ride to church. Was frustrated to say the least, she would yell at me every time I went to text. Even at red lights :(

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 16th, 2011, 10:07 pm

Stephon. wrote:...Was frustrated to say the least, she would yell at me every time I went to text. Even at red lights :(

You were frustrated because Tantie Gaga yelled at you for breaking the law?

Postby S_2NR » November 16th, 2011, 10:11 pm

i also like being alone in my car on mornings because i like my a/c on really cold and cant stand anybody telling me they feeling cold or the music too loud.
and sometimes i feel like lighting up a cigarette in traffic, doh wa nobody gettin emo for 2nd hand smoke.

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 16th, 2011, 10:59 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Why not instead of just putting plasters over sores created & move along we simply fix one system properly before bringing another on stream.
i agree with you 100% there and that goes for all the ideas they ever come up with. but all goberments do that, part of the trickydadian political nature

Postby rfari » November 17th, 2011, 7:37 am

cyar pong kartel in a bus. d f*q! me and my b14 go ruff it in the capital city

xtech

Postby xtech » November 17th, 2011, 8:06 am

so they telling u to after you fight with the highway traffic

big sign going into POS to shop/work please stop here......
fight for park
stand wait for shuttle with yuh luggage
fight for seat in shuttle
chinese made shuttle gets stuck in traffic AC not working
reach to work smelling funny......

then after work
walk to shuttle stop with luggage
tired but has to stand up an wait.....
fight for seat....
shuttle stuck in traffic.....AC still not working
fight to get out of carpark....
join highway traffic

yeah ok makes sense

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 17th, 2011, 8:51 am

S_2NR wrote:Would not use. Fix crime first.

x10000.

I had enough to public transportation, finally have the comfort of my own car.

Introduce this for the north and central ppl because when they all decide to leave their homes at 6am,that's when the traffic start..... :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2011, 10:25 am

xtech, exactly. & not to mention the bottleneck to get into & out of the parking facility.

gyullis, question:

if there was a means of transport leaving your hometown same time as you leave to come to work, leave in the evening after work (reaching home about a half hour later than the time you reach home if you left work hours earlier to go home) & cost a fraction of the price, would you use it?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 17th, 2011, 10:32 am

No.

I used to pay extra to get home in comfort. So cost doesnt bother me, i just prefer to be comfortable in my own car.

Personally traffic doesnt affect me to POS or in POS much, so i dont have any problem. I get to work mins to 6am and leave mins to 3pm.

Just my opinion.

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2011, 10:37 am

Well if everyone think like that then this system will never work. I prefer to be in my own car too but after I think about wear & tear on your vehicle & how I lack sleep due to my schedule, I am glad to take the bus a few times a week & sleep whole road.
Besides, PTSC already dont have enough buses & then as long as it have some fool parked on the road traffic is going to pile up & those shuttle buses are gonna get stuck in one place for a half hour.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 17th, 2011, 10:44 am

I hear you. I understand what you are saying but i prefer to be ignorant. I think of my comfort only, so sue me.

That is really the only solution to the traffic woos in POS and since there isnt adequate parking in POS itself, the only option is close too.

Personally, i think parking on all streets should be limited to one side parking per street imo.

yuh hear dat jack, leave hart street alone. :|

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2011, 10:53 am

Nobody saying you are being ignorant. You work hard for your car, who are we to come tell you how to use it now? I know how it does be when you now get your car too, later on you might prefer to park up though (I was there once too so I will know :lol:).

One side of the road parking is fair enough but some a$$hole will always come & park on the other side & cause a traffic pile up. I see it happening everyday! & lets not get to the a$$holes on the wrong lane & decide to change lanes when they reach the turnoff or the bigger set of jacka$$es that proceed across an intersection & the way ahead is not clear.
All that contributes to the congestion.

But like nobody hear the part where I already said PTSC management is already horrible, we gonna trust them to run shuttles now?

p.s. we have our own car park (underground too so my car not exposed to the elements). I walk & go where I have to go unless I have to use my car.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 17th, 2011, 12:27 pm

The park and ride concept is one that should work well here. I know that a lot of people already utilize this concept with the water taxi.
Of course it would not be suitable for a lot of people like Halfbreed for instance because he needs to move from office to office. In Canada there is a free fare zone in the city allowing you to use a train to get from place to place for free so mobility is easy within the city - I don't see this happening in POS due to lack of infrastructure -

If you have fixed working hours and a stationery office base then no worries. Park and Ride would be great.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 17th, 2011, 1:25 pm

it works in developed countries, it can work, and if/ when theres a break down of the system that causes delays , the transport should be able to issue time slips to state that the late coming was partly in cause due to the transport system.

Postby nervewrecker » November 17th, 2011, 1:36 pm

in developed counties wrecker will wreck yuh MC if yuh double park

in developed countries you dont wait till you reach the turn off to switch lanes

in developed countries you dont proceed unless the way ahead is clear

This is Trinidad, you ever see how long it takes from by the prison to park street (driving down Frederick Street)? Now imagine a bus.

Not in the city but from gulf city to la romaine traffic lights take anywhere from half hour to 45 minutes....i'd prefer be in my car.

Postby Habit7 » November 17th, 2011, 2:49 pm

Choo-choooo!
according to Jack Warner, "Never!"

Postby BrotherHood » November 17th, 2011, 2:53 pm

xtech wrote:so they telling u to after you fight with the highway traffic

big sign going into POS to shop/work please stop here......
fight for park
stand wait for shuttle with yuh luggage
fight for seat in shuttle
chinese made shuttle gets stuck in traffic AC not working
reach to work smelling funny......

then after work
walk to shuttle stop with luggage
tired but has to stand up an wait.....
fight for seat....
shuttle stuck in traffic.....AC still not working
fight to get out of carpark....
join highway traffic

yeah ok makes sense

x10

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2011, 3:00 pm

Any Mass Transport system in Trinidad would have to be done in conjunction with some real stringent anti car measures as well. The ownership and driving patterns of Trinis are so engrained in the culture, that unless we force ppl to utilise Public Transport they would not.