Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERELY cut???

southside connections

Re: Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERLY cut???

Postby southside connections » July 14th, 2010, 8:45 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:oh well....no loss for me yes..my parents worked hard and paid for me to go to university....

quoted for the truth

Firewall

Re: Tertiary Education Funding to be SEVERELY cut???

Postby Firewall » July 14th, 2010, 8:45 pm

Damien wrote:what a time to spread this propaganda

wait, you mean for local government election right? forgot about that. will await a concrete source, unless RACS want to quote his?

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 8:46 pm

They're trying to cover it up prior to local elections...but of course it being Trini...It has leaked!

The other concern of course is the EU grant and what strings will be attached as a result.

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2010, 8:52 pm

not a moment without amusement.

Postby Damien » July 14th, 2010, 8:53 pm

RASC wrote:They're trying to cover it up prior to local elections...but of course it being Trini...It has leaked!

The other concern of course is the EU grant and what strings will be attached as a result.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 14th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Science and Tech abuzz with "activity", stay tuned. Head office to be relocated just one of the happenings

Postby Damien » July 14th, 2010, 8:55 pm

RASC wrote:
Damien wrote:what a time to spread this propaganda

OK...look even one of your PP supporters just started a thread on the same issue and got it locked as a REPOST. He's on your side of the fence and hearing reports of the same thing.

A million French men can't be wrong.

Watch and see :?

read the title of his thread properly

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Damien wrote:
RASC wrote:They're trying to cover it up prior to local elections...but of course it being Trini...It has leaked!

You really feel I is ah UML oui.

You think I will come post all this with intel. from a genie in the sky :lol:

mazda_star

Postby mazda_star » July 14th, 2010, 8:57 pm

dollar for dollar ftw, if you not serious about tertiary level education stay the Fzck out!

Postby Sky » July 14th, 2010, 9:02 pm

Know what funny. When the PNM people was talking about PNM doing GATE and educating so much kids. Talking about focus on the kids yada yada, the UNC supporters jump up and bawl is Panday start that, and it was called dollar for dollar. Doh give PNM credit for that blessing.

Hear them now. They talking down on it, we spending too much yada yada. I agree eh, getting education in this country very easy and now it has no merit. Cutting down sponsership bit by bit should allow future generations to still get some education and pay for their kids.

Aaron 2NR wrote:oh well....no loss for me yes..my parents worked hard and paid for me to go to university....

And I hope this was a joke, else it real poor. The people this and the people that. Now something bad happening and your business fix, so fudge the people. The same people that support your party. Continue with your rallies and support man. You'll make a splendid politician someday.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » July 14th, 2010, 9:32 pm

will believe this when i see it.
Last edited by Shango_13 on July 14th, 2010, 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » July 14th, 2010, 9:38 pm

Sky wrote:

And I hope this was a joke, else it real poor. The people this and the people that. Now something bad happening and your business fix, so fudge the people. The same people that support your party. Continue with your rallies and support man. You'll make a splendid politician someday.

Mr. sky I have the greatest respect for you. Well said bro.

Personally I knew there were going to be drastic cut backs with this new government and let me tell you it would have been no better if it was the PNM. Infact it would have been worst if it was the pnm. Um RASC I hope you understand that there is a reason they call it a recession right?

Let me help you understand it a little better

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Recession

Historically no government on this planet has been able to uphold every single promise.
Politicians lie, lawyers lie, but if one thing I am certain the UNC has always held FAR MORE of its promises than the PNM hence why people used to say PNM = Promises Never Materialize.

We are not the only country in a recession.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2010, 9:42 pm

pioneer wrote:UWI has degenerated into a government secondary school...it feels like it...it looks like it...and the students play the role to perfection...complete with graffiti and garbage everywhere.

Not to mention the almeri with lambo doors

is wingroad/ad wagon yuh mean...wit "custom paintjob"

looking more like he son geh some new poster paints :?

Postby Cjruckus » July 14th, 2010, 10:06 pm

Sky wrote:Know what funny. When the PNM people was talking about PNM doing GATE and educating so much kids. Talking about focus on the kids yada yada, the UNC supporters jump up and bawl is Panday start that, and it was called dollar for dollar. Doh give PNM credit for that blessing.

Hear them now. They talking down on it, we spending too much yada yada. I agree eh, getting education in this country very easy and now it has no merit. Cutting down sponsership bit by bit should allow future generations to still get some education and pay for their kids.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » July 14th, 2010, 11:00 pm

Aaron 2NR your party in power so yuh palancing......... enjoy it brother remember long rope for magga goat!

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 15th, 2010, 4:29 am

the EU donated 21M Euros to help expand tertiary education in trinidad, not finance it. the gov't never said they were cutting gate. they say they are going to expand it.

they say with the funding from the EU they hope to increase the enrollment of tertiary level institutions across trinidad by 60%

where did RASC get this from that they going to cut gate? try reading the papers

and to pioneer what you said was in poor taste

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... ucation-tt

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 5:07 am

5onDfloor wrote:Aaron 2NR your party in power so yuh palancing......... enjoy it brother remember long rope for magga goat!

quarreling on an internet forum is going to do what?
nothing official has been released so at the moment its just rumors....I am not privy to the information either

If people are doing sheit, i would say so....Anand was a poor choice, the minister of health is an arrogant fool who needs to be fired....and the minister of national security sleeping or something....

Removal of GATE would be a very bad blow since it was a promise of expansion and not removal....my view is it was abused and there should have been a clamp down by increasing the entry requirements.....everyone attending university but who really paying attention in classes and actually attaining an education?? The country is now saturated with 'educated' people without jobs or opportunities.....

let me elaborate on my statement made earlier...

when students know the sacrifices made my their parents to send them to school, they work harder to ensure they get an education.....when ppl get it free they have the attitude that oh the government paying so i could firetruck around.........

my parents worked hard to send me to school and i ensured to attain my education and inishe in a timely manner and that's the same exact attitude i carry to the jobsite......get the work done safely and before all deadlines

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 15th, 2010, 6:04 am

GATE needs to go back to the original arrangement, student pays half, govt pays half and for those who cannot afford the means test questionnaire. Aarons comment might sound kantish but he is correct, people bullsheiting in university too much especially UWI, it is now a big post secondary lime and every dog and he brother could get in with that crap called CAPE.

Do a survey and you all would realize that unless you have a link, fresh out university is not landing you a job because everyone wants 3+ years experience and state agencies rather hire retirees. A lot of graduates are either home scratching or working as an OJT

Chemical

Postby Chemical » July 15th, 2010, 6:57 am

So what's the problem.....bring it back to dollar 4 dollar, why must I pay for those jackasses in the first place. I flipped burgers in Mc Donalds, work as a cab driver, delivered pizza etc to pay my way through University. I even bought a used snow blower & did driveways during winter.

And this gas subsidy must go too.

All this HYPE, CAPE, MUST. OJT etc should also be removed. PNM pumped millions into this for their own under achieving supporters kids.

A certain race of people feel Gov't MUST give them everything....look @ all those HDC developments...I guess Indians don't apply to the HDC :?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 15th, 2010, 7:31 am

:mrgreen:
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jjcp

Postby jjcp » July 15th, 2010, 7:38 am

plenty ppl also started programs using the GATE and drop out, so the gov spending $$ for nothing, if ppl spend their own money u will see a different attitude

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 15th, 2010, 7:54 am

:) :)
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » July 15th, 2010, 7:54 am

^^^^Well said jjcp, its like driving a company car....you don't really give a sheit about potholes etc, but the day u have to repair that said car out of pocket...well its a different attitude aye.

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 7:56 am

Chemical wrote:So what's the problem.....bring it back to dollar 4 dollar, why must I pay for those jackasses in the first place. I flipped burgers in Mc Donalds, work as a cab driver, delivered pizza etc to pay my way through University. I even bought a used snow blower & did driveways during winter.

And this gas subsidy must go too.

All this HYPE, CAPE, MUST. OJT etc should also be removed. PNM pumped millions into this for their own under achieving supporters kids.

A certain race of people feel Gov't MUST give them everything....look @ all those HDC developments...I guess Indians don't apply to the HDC :?

There's a joke in here somewhere...

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2010, 8:22 am

they could do wtf they want, I could care less. I nearly done what I doing & could afford to pay for the rest.

I agree with some of the points in this thread, too much duncey heads roaming all over uwi & costaatt but a lot of them are the ones who could afford to actually pay to go to sch in the first place. they just wasting time, you will be surprised at the fact that its a lot of the less affluent students that actually excel in their work. its not survival of the fittest, its who know you in this rounds. if it was survival of the fittest mr pios uwi would be filled with chinee!

Anton

Postby Anton » July 15th, 2010, 8:56 am

Maybe they accounting for plugging the serious hemorrhage that was UTT!!

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2010, 9:14 am

^^^^

I heard talk of merging UTT with UWI.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 15th, 2010, 10:31 am

slacker_jack wrote:^^^^

lol that'd be the day :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » July 15th, 2010, 10:44 am

slacker_jack wrote:^^^^

i LOL'd

PNM joining PP as well?

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2010, 2:14 pm

notice I said 'I hear', same way I heard that 'we could never run out of oil & gas' & 'PP taking away gate & cepe if they win the elections'