Its coming > US Double Dip Recession ?

5onDfloor

Re: Its coming > US Double Dip Recession ?

Postby 5onDfloor » August 9th, 2011, 9:35 am

SR wrote:imagine if we didnt have to spend 1billion on a the brian lara stadium what that money could have done for health care in this country

and we going and spend 7Billion on a highway........so wats ur point?

silver

Postby silver » August 9th, 2011, 11:10 am

we need one of these

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 11:33 am

5onDfloor wrote:
SR wrote:imagine if we didnt have to spend 1billion on a the brian lara stadium what that money could have done for health care in this country

and we going and spend 7Billion on a highway........so wats ur point?

point is this gov't just as dotish (if not more so) than the last one.....

Postby Greypatch » August 9th, 2011, 11:39 am

how many jobs were created by building the stadium ?
haw many will be created with the highway (directly & indirectly)?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 9th, 2011, 11:51 am

what that have to do with healthcare?

Do u believe its prudent to spend 7billion on a highway in a time recession as oppose to 1billion on a stadium in a time of plentiful?

smh!

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 9th, 2011, 12:39 pm

5onDfloor wrote:what that have to do with healthcare?

Do u believe its prudent to spend 7billion on a highway in a time recession as oppose to 1billion on a stadium in a time of plentiful?

smh!

It's all about stimulating the economy. Part of that 7 Billion is to be spent on land acquisition and related matters. The majority of that money will be pumped back into the local economy in order to keep things running. Gov't is the largest driver of growth in the country and so it is up to them to get things moving. At the end of that 7 Billion we will have a fully functional highway that connects us to our industrial base thereby reducing time spent on the road and increasing productive hours. 1 Billion was spent on a stadium and it is still incomplete. Where was the prudence? Ask HKL.

imagine if we didnt have to spend 1billion on a the brian lara stadium what that money could have done for health care in this country

Unfortunately RASC and CJRuckus refuses to see things like this. Yet we are the blind supporters.

Land and house prices will go where they are supposed to be and become more affordable...

Unfortunately that has not happened and it doesn't seem to be happening anytime soon. instead of going with market demand most owners are content to hold on to their property hoping to get their price for it. Greed. The banks are refusing to reduce interest rates in line with international rates. 6% and 7% is still too high for mortgages.

If these conditions continue then I see no way out of current situation anytime soon.

My only solution is to remove the gas subsidy on premium gas and incrementally on super gas. Diesel will have to stay as it is for now.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 9th, 2011, 12:44 pm

the highway will increase commerce and generate trade and business, will open communities to new economic opportunities and growth and most of all create employment for thousands..

the brian lara stadium, well most of the money was wasted in over priced contractors and only employed a few, and 60-70% of the population (including myself and most ppl i know) will NEVER set foot in it... ever..

the highway is a direct way for the gov't to create jobs, increase spending and eventually develop our infrastructure to accomodate the growing population and trade..

Cjruckus wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:
RASC wrote:Well the gov't has NO new plans to generate revenue...

:/

Nor did the PNM in the years they spent wasting money by the trillions

Yes they did..
It was called the Smelter and Property Tax.

Yet another blind voter on Tuner.

annnnnd how much money was generated from the property tax and smelter, infact it was millions spent on the tendering and setting up etc, and not a cent earned..

we in trinidad have allot to be worries about, we may think we weathered the last recession, but i think we have not felt the brunt of it yet, and this one will make most people bawl.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 9th, 2011, 1:03 pm

and yet for political expediency they campaigned against property tax?

dookeran said we lost 100million in property tax last year alone.

Do u kno 2008 was the last time property tax was collected?

Do you kno wat was the purpose of the TTRA?...the same unions that Kamla used to axe the tax is the same union that pressuring her for more than 5%. you reap what u sow.

Smelter doesnt look so bad now, does it?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 9th, 2011, 1:22 pm

No the smelter still looks bad and will always look bad. We don't have the land space to accommodate a smelter. How we gonna dispose of the waste?

Postby SR » August 9th, 2011, 1:32 pm

smh!

as opposed to spending none on healthcare

during the time on so called plentiful

stadiums are underutilised wasted sums of expenditure in this country

Postby TRAE » August 9th, 2011, 1:39 pm

i'm personally scared, people in the states still dont know how bad things are getting

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » August 9th, 2011, 1:43 pm

smh!

and the waterfront towers that have nobody in it...
and the half billlion for a feasability study on a rapid rail AFTER it started being built.
NAPA....

and we definitely werent plentiful then

Postby SR » August 9th, 2011, 1:46 pm

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 9th, 2011, 1:55 pm

5onDfloor wrote:and yet for political expediency they campaigned against property tax?

dookeran said we lost 100million in property tax last year alone.

Do u kno 2008 was the last time property tax was collected?

Do you kno wat was the purpose of the TTRA?...the same unions that Kamla used to axe the tax is the same union that pressuring her for more than 5%. you reap what u sow.

Smelter doesnt look so bad now, does it?

we may have lost 100 million in property tax revenue, but they spend over a billion on a summit that we got zero from, 500 million on the academy of the arts, and we can go on...

i not saying the PP hasnt done enough to stimulate the economy, but halting the MAD spending was the smartest thing they did so far, and has saved our asses allot more than most of the population realizes.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » August 9th, 2011, 3:09 pm

Who here does pay attention to politics in the US? what yall thoughts?

S&P main reason for reducing the US ratins was because of Congress' inability to actually work together. If you paid attention in the last 3 years, you'd notice that Repubs have made themselves literally impossable to work with, no matter how retarded it makes them look. Shyt, Ron Paul(?) said it himself, "Our main objective is to make sure that President Obama does not get a second term in office." Then add that to fact that Obama gave in to almost everything they wanted, getting almost nothing in return.

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2011, 3:44 pm

Well the US may start another war to make money soon, I think they gonna attack Canada next to make a quick Buck.

sparky

Postby sparky » August 9th, 2011, 3:59 pm

the government must a way to tax the commercial use of diesel fuel, those fellers making a fortune on low fuel price, rather than scraping the fuel subside, this might be one of several measures that can be taken to reduce spending. another thing to look at is quality control, so spending would be done wisely, one example asphalt paving cost lots of money, long ago paving use to last 10 to 15 years, these days it last only a few months.

sparky

Postby sparky » August 9th, 2011, 4:01 pm

it is those wars that got them their in the first place

Postby crazybalhead » August 9th, 2011, 4:08 pm

Time to move to Guyana. Seriously.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 9th, 2011, 4:12 pm

LOL. You all are a bunch of cowards.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 9th, 2011, 4:14 pm

TRAE wrote:i'm personally scared, people in the states still dont know how bad things are getting

We do. Some persons remain unaffected though (**cough**Wall Street**cough**) .

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » August 9th, 2011, 5:46 pm

and after double dip recession is what? a greater depression?

Last edited by STORM1234 on August 9th, 2011, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 9th, 2011, 5:48 pm

sparky wrote:the government must a way to tax the commercial use of diesel fuel, those fellers making a fortune on low fuel price, rather than scraping the fuel subside, this might be one of several measures that can be taken to reduce spending. another thing to look at is quality control, so spending would be done wisely, one example asphalt paving cost lots of money, long ago paving use to last 10 to 15 years, these days it last only a few months.

if they raise the price of deisel by $1 it will make the cost of consumables (bread, cheese, soft drinks, rice, flour etc) go up by 10-20-30+% as the cost of delivering these goods to stores and the fuel costs to bring in raw materials to manufacture them would skyrocket ;)

Postby brams112 » August 9th, 2011, 6:27 pm

nobody wants to work in agriculture,work to hard they say money small,but they scratching their balls and digging their a$$ home,then crying they want work,can't get work but people want workers all over the country,oh the bail out off all those top heavy companies,and other stuff is the main cause in the states,as for here, pee on them and their bunch of theives are the main cause

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 10th, 2011, 3:27 pm

what the gov't should do and i think they are trying in vein, is to get business/manufacturers/distributors to convert all their fleet vehicles to CNG. Put refill stations in their facilities like most have diesel tanks and offer tax breaks for the next 6 years until it is mandatory to have a CNG kit installed when licensing a T series vehicle.

Postby TRAE » August 11th, 2011, 2:02 pm

This thing getting frightening yes...

Postby ronsin1 » August 11th, 2011, 9:57 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Time to move to Guyana. Seriously.

Sent my application to tr1ad a couple weeks ago but he say it on hold cuz there were thousands of applications before me

basically me told me "FACK YOU AND HUSH YUH KANT" keeshan style :?

Postby teems1 » September 8th, 2011, 7:48 pm

Obama ftw

man just gave an epic speech concerning the US and it's job situation

Postby rfari » September 8th, 2011, 9:59 pm

^^what was said? i missed it

Postby teems1 » September 8th, 2011, 10:32 pm

he gave insight into a job creation bill he's going to propose to congress, and he said to pass it now!