Re: caiman to give away

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 27th, 2010, 10:48 am

i can't see the image :(

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:23 pm

ok guys, i now gettin responses, i only have 3 left. small ones.but aggressive as hell. oh to the person inquiring what to feed them, i use liver, herring, shrimp etc. dont expect to see them eat at first. feed them last thing at night and they will eat on their own. my yard had a huge toad and they made a meal of him as well. also cockroaches, grasshoppers etc.
give them time to adjust to their environment and soon u will see them looking to hunt your neighbour's ducks etc. will try and post pics of the ones i have left and some of my other animals.

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:27 pm

the two i have left. my son calls them t and rex
Picture 035-400.jpg
Picture 035-400.jpg (15.17 KiB) Viewed 1902 times
Picture 034-400.jpg
Picture 034-400.jpg (13.23 KiB) Viewed 1902 times
Picture 008-400.jpg
Picture 008-400.jpg (13.36 KiB) Viewed 1902 times

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:30 pm

some of my other animals
Picture 069-400.jpg
Picture 069-400.jpg (21.83 KiB) Viewed 1897 times
Picture 065-400.jpg
Picture 065-400.jpg (10.41 KiB) Viewed 1897 times
Picture 045-400.jpg
Picture 045-400.jpg (21.36 KiB) Viewed 1897 times

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:31 pm

[quote="pioneer"]they very malnourished[/quote]

they are not malnourished, they are less than 2months old

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:36 pm

some more
Picture 086-400.jpg
Picture 086-400.jpg (12.53 KiB) Viewed 1889 times
Picture 073-400.jpg
Picture 073-400.jpg (25.58 KiB) Viewed 1889 times

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:41 pm

yes i do, i am part of a club, the hawk was found with broken wing. apparently shot during hunting season, the caiman were gotten from someone who found them in their yard in caroni after a flood and wanted to kill them. snakes are all my son's own. i have a lot more animals, guinea pigs, red earred slider turtles, finches, a cockatiel (hand tamed). white mice for food for snakes and hawk and some more. i am looking to acquire a porcupine and a permit for an ocelot(which seems impossible)

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2010, 8:47 pm

glennj, look for a nice body of water somewhere in the bush or some wet lands deep in the bush & set them free.

where you from? it have some bush down on my side that I wont mind seeing them let loose in.

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:48 pm

this is chico,

i used to give visits to schools etc, but lack of time to do so
Picture 008-400-400.jpg
Picture 008-400-400.jpg (9.96 KiB) Viewed 1879 times
Picture 003-400.jpg
Picture 003-400.jpg (17.88 KiB) Viewed 1879 times

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:50 pm

animals born in captivity have a hard time surviving in wild. but i am heading up biche side weekend, it have a guy up there who has a pond to the back of his home, i am hoping that they can find a home there.

Postby Damien » May 27th, 2010, 8:51 pm

d phoq hoss all them animals

Postby Rooki3 » May 27th, 2010, 8:54 pm

silver wrote:
hottgyul wrote:try KFC

yuh tink he catch a gaza caiman or what...

:shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:54 pm

2 of my snakes
Picture 044-400.JPG
Picture 044-400.JPG (18.53 KiB) Viewed 1867 times

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 8:57 pm

[quote="Damien"]d phoq hoss all them animals[/quote]

lol u havent seen them all.

my family loves animals and i found an understanding gf who has a few of her own as well. squirrels and parrot.

and i am telling u, no bandit ent coming in your yard, once he know u have caiman loose.

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2010, 8:58 pm

lets just hope there arent other predators that will eat them in biche.

I would have liked to see them set free in a place like forest reserve, it has a nice dam in there where some guy had let loose some talapia to multiply so people could have come fish, it was invaded by caimans soon after. if they big enough they would have been able to get some food in there & survive. even if the water levels drop low it has another water body not too far away that is larger by far. deep in the bush over there I will like to believe they might have stood a chance.

people hunt these guys so much, I hardly see any around. I just want to see the population increase.

Postby Rooki3 » May 27th, 2010, 8:58 pm

nice, props to you hoss!!

Postby Damien » May 27th, 2010, 8:59 pm

nice!!

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 27th, 2010, 8:59 pm

i want a caiman,,,,how do i apply?

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 9:02 pm

[quote="Rahtid"]i want a caiman,,,,how do i apply?[/quote]

dude, where u from? let me know where u plannin to keep it and if its ok i will give u one.
but be warned, they do bite and its not a pet for show etc, u have to be serious etc

judging by your avatar i see u in hyatt, i dont think they allow pets there.

Postby foss » May 27th, 2010, 9:07 pm

i had two caiman a few years ago.. one was bought from a pet shop and the other (not sure where it came from)

the one from the pet shop climbed out the half barrel it was in and havent been since
the other one was a a baby pool and died when those ministry of health ppl passed and sprayed the area.

used to feed it liver and gizzard, as well as grasshoppers and canal fish (wabeen)

Postby foss » May 27th, 2010, 9:08 pm

but OP, cute critters you got there! would love to get a nice big avery and breed budgies!! :)

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 27th, 2010, 9:08 pm

glennj wrote:
Rahtid wrote:i want a caiman,,,,how do i apply?

dude, where u from? let me know where u plannin to keep it and if its ok i will give u one.
but be warned, they do bite and its not a pet for show etc, u have to be serious etc

judging by your avatar i see u in hyatt, i dont think they allow pets there.

i dont live there,lol,

i had one but it got away,,,but i aint have no bush backyard,,was plannin on makin a pond-like sumn for it.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 27th, 2010, 9:11 pm

so you had the big ones lose in your yard?? did they ever cause trouble( like try to eat your dog),
or try to attack your family.

glennj

Postby glennj » May 27th, 2010, 9:12 pm

cool let me know once u finished and i will get one for u. preferrably a pair.

Postby foss » May 27th, 2010, 9:13 pm

geodude wrote:so you had the big ones lose in your yard?? did they ever cause trouble( like try to eat your dog),

i think they only pose a threat if they are bigger than the dog :|

geodude

Postby geodude » May 27th, 2010, 9:20 pm

fortunately where i live there are many still wild and free in the rivers, they are quite accustomed to PPl and just move out of the way if we get too close, grew up with then so is nothing for me, used to bathe in the river while they were relaxing on the banks, them doh bother we and we doh trouble them,

RESPECK, thats what its all about dude

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2010, 9:21 pm

geodude wrote:so you had the big ones lose in your yard?? did they ever cause trouble( like try to eat your dog),

I know of a tuner that ties a pair of caimans to his car as a security system. I not joking eh.

I live in the bush but lately there are squatters popping up in every corner. I will like to believe there are still some ares unaffected by this such as PCO grounds, Forest Reserve & deep in the bush after silverstream. If they have to be let go I would prefer that it be in area far from humans (people tend to want to kill them), plenty get killed in woodland area.

venomz

Postby venomz » May 27th, 2010, 10:34 pm

it have no where as RESERVE.. im in rio claro in the forest right now...hunting season is closed off and a man have a 70 lbs deer strap on this back and a 16 guage scatter in his hand...

and he bold face to walk in the main road with it like non happen...

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 28th, 2010, 6:36 am

dudeeeeee, you gotz snakes :shock: :shock:

awesome

nice birdees, doh want no caiman again nah.......dem thing looking devious

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2010, 10:57 am

steups....i believe the wild ones living in the ponds in our backyard occasionally eat our dogs,

more than once we've found patches of dog hair at the edge of the pond and the grass beat down as if there was a struggle, and of course never see doggy again.

Ever so often, a large one wanders into our yard or garage and the dogs corner it.

I have some pics on a flashdrive somewhere of caimans over the years that have wandered into the yard/that we've caught while emptying the ponds etc.