Is NIKE Superior or do you simply pay for the Brand Name?

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2010, 11:10 pm

AGATAS FTW! :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2010, 11:11 pm

One day...One day, i will be able to afford one with flywire :mrgreen:

Till then it's regular boots yes :|

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 21st, 2010, 11:23 pm

worksux101 wrote:cacasplat3, which total 90's exactly? I'm on my second pair of Laser II's...the first lasting about a year with some serious playing time on all kinda different surfaces...

i cant remember the exact models but the first pair was LIKE this, but only had one line of writing on the tongue and they had shorter/softer cleats but they were arranged similarly.......i think mine was the model before this one came on the market:

and the second was like this, Total 90 III:

both of them didn't last more than a month......i tried sticking them myself since i couldn't get re-course from the shops......that just prolonged the inevitable.....i was in high school at that time and saved for quite sometime before i could afford them and i was completely disappointed......
i started playing on concrete and asphalt after highschool so i didnt need to buy cleats again.........its only recently i returned to grass and i couldn't see myself buying nike again........

Postby Stephon. » April 21st, 2010, 11:37 pm

I love Nike, but for running new balance is superior for sure.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » April 22nd, 2010, 2:20 am

ent allyuh iz cyar manz buh doh nose

310 motoring FTMFW

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 22nd, 2010, 2:28 am

adidas is the best cleat. my predator going on two years. had a Mercurial Vapor once. first day i wore it it tore in the front. after a few months the sole cracked. never bought nike boots after that.
as for running i prefer nike

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » April 22nd, 2010, 6:50 am

Air max 95's are the most comfy nike's for me..
The soles of the TN always dry rot after a time :?
Love meh 6rings jordan....
Have a Stan Smith adidas that i wear sometimes...strong sneaks..

The life of all me nikes are considerably shortened only when i ride my motorcyle with them...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 22nd, 2010, 7:04 am

tr1ad wrote:
foss wrote:
worksux101 wrote:For hiking i use Merrel...if you want a shoe to last, get that..they've got some designed for running as well i believe :lol:

that sounding like a breed of snake :lol:

yuh eh kno bout dat white boy brand or wah

Merrell...expensive but very very good.
Its also the shoe worn by Bear Grylls on Man vs Wild

larafan

Postby larafan » April 22nd, 2010, 8:28 am

honestly i find reeboks to be way more comfortable

Postby foss » April 22nd, 2010, 8:33 am

is it just me.. or are all brands of shoes getting uglier by the year? especially nike :?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 22nd, 2010, 10:04 am

Lately Nike quality has suffered...and their designs have just been fugly...addidas has been killing them lately

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 22nd, 2010, 10:09 am

Nike is not about shoes, it's about a mentality and idea. That's the appeal of the brand. Some call this marketing BS.

The top end Nikes are way ahead in comfort when used for what they were designed for. Long lasting has nothing to do with it.

If all you going to do is walk a 1/4 mile a day or shoot pool in them, you won't see a difference. I've got a V8 twin and you got a 1.6 n/a. City driving you can't tell the difference, but on a long cross country highway...

Postby 16 cycles » April 22nd, 2010, 10:32 am

look for the more rugged shoes....tend to have better materials and procedure for manufacture

monotrail

nike acg etc

casper

Re: Is NIKE Superior or do you simply pay for the Brand Name

Postby casper » April 22nd, 2010, 10:49 am

Alpine wrote:Would like to find out from fellow tuners where do they purchase their running gear. And what shoes they use that are comfortable, and good price.

ask d man in ur sig....i hear he izza mighty fast runner

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 23rd, 2010, 3:35 am

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 23rd, 2010, 8:00 am

asics is pretty good for running

Postby crazybalhead » April 23rd, 2010, 8:03 am

Alpine wrote:Discuss.

Half of the people I spoke with say Nike shoes is just as good as any payless and you simply pay for the tick.
And other half say it is better than payless.

I don't really buy nike or any expensive brand name clothing.
However I admit I am guilty of spending excess of $700 TT and more on a single NIKE shoes. (I do not wear Jordans)

And the nike that I do wear are running shoes. So I can have it to go out also.

I bought a pair of Air Max for running on evenings now. However one friend of mine told me the New balance would have been cheaper and better.

I am thinking of maybe purchasing a pair of New Balance next time since I heard they are more comfortable than NIKE. Also cheaper.

Would like to find out from fellow tuners where do they purchase their running gear. And what shoes they use that are comfortable, and good price.

Firstly,

Forget the brand do this:

http://www.therunningadvisor.com/running_shoes.html

Then, try on several brands. I've owned lots of Nike's and none of them have really been comfortable FOR ME. The brand I have been using for the last few years is Saucony. But Nike does have good shoes, just determine your foot type and gait and go from there looking for features.

Also read reviews jsut like everything else. You friend is not giving you good advice, you need to do the research to get a proper pair of running shoes.

Shio

Postby Shio » April 23rd, 2010, 8:09 am

pioneer wrote:90% of the "nike" sold here is fake

and not many of allyuh could spot the fakes but buy it anyway cuz it "looks jus as good"

enlighten us as to how to spot the fakes then :?:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 14th, 2011, 8:16 pm

So Im in the market for a new football boot, last one i had was a lotto something. My problem is I play twice every month or so on grass and my feet are quite wide, DC's fit me snug wide.

Anyone could recommend a boot or store I could cheak out in south?

Postby K74T » June 14th, 2011, 8:18 pm

Sports and Games

Postby Stephon. » June 14th, 2011, 8:27 pm

ORIGINAL Nike shoes are superior to anything in Pay Less, anyone that tells you it's the same and they pay for the tick, plain and simple they paid for a fake tick ...

I have an air max since maple leaf days, still alive, I only wear it once every couple of months though. I have too much sneakers/shoes to count :oops:

I used to wear New Balance for running around the savannah before, it's still alive

EDIT: wait I done post in this thread steups I now checking out the date :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 14th, 2011, 8:31 pm

K74t wrote:Sports and Games

Tried them recently and while the selection was ok the staff wasnt too helpful wrt my questions, hence why I thought Id ask here for a recommendation from players.

Re:

Postby Sky » June 14th, 2011, 8:34 pm

pioneer wrote:90% of the "nike" sold here is fake

and not many of allyuh could spot the fakes but buy it anyway cuz it "looks jus as good"

What do you mean by fake? because I know a lot of them are genuine, but rejects. These syrian mc's does pay $1usd for a bin of shoes and sell it down here like is hops straight out of the oven. That loose stitch? That string of glue you see? Rejects. Ship to a 3rd world country.
The only nike I had that lasted was from Long Island.
I once had a Rebok that lasted 6 hrs though :lol:

Nike just doesn't appeal to me. If I'm to buy one, it HAS to be from the states, and if I'm making that effort for footwear, I know a brand that will beat nike in sneaker uses.

Running -adidas and new balance.
tugs - Nikes are actually ok and I can't speak much on this one.
Looks - K swiss
Hiking - K swiss/adidas
Turf - adidas
Bonfire material - Rebok
Lasting - My mother had a pair of adidas older than me. When I was about 22 she threw them away because they were fading.

I see a few good looking nikes once in a while, but I know they won't last and I won't look them up online. Lemme pamper my hush puppies and not my sneakers.

Postby Razkal » June 14th, 2011, 8:48 pm

some of y'all should read John Perkins' Confessions of an Economic Hitman.

and see how really important Nike n sheit is.

the book is available at nigel r khan and seriously half of tuner should read it.

rossi

Postby rossi » June 14th, 2011, 9:08 pm

Puma El Rey's.

Very comfortable.

Postby Sky » June 14th, 2011, 9:10 pm

Stephon. wrote:ORIGINAL Nike shoes are superior to anything in Pay Less, anyone that tells you it's the same and they pay for the tick, plain and simple they paid for a fake tick ...

I have an air max since maple leaf days, still alive, I only wear it once every couple of months though. I have too much sneakers/shoes to count :oops:

I used to wear New Balance for running around the savannah before, it's still alive

Wait, Maple leaf isn't a girls school?

dregz

Postby dregz » June 14th, 2011, 10:43 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » June 14th, 2011, 10:47 pm

Kurps, Mercurial or nothing :|

Re:

Postby sharkman121 » June 14th, 2011, 10:47 pm

oxidation wrote:ohh yea i had them presto and them.............. boy that wasssssssss soo comfy

xeon wrote: Presto was the most comfortable

can vouch for this also

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 10:49 pm

Sky wrote:
Stephon. wrote:ORIGINAL Nike shoes are superior to anything in Pay Less, anyone that tells you it's the same and they pay for the tick, plain and simple they paid for a fake tick ...

Wait, Maple leaf isn't a girls school?

no..its not ...
but :lol: :lol: