What's the last good book yuh read??

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 9:47 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Recently read two books from the early 80's that oddly enough can be applicable today.

The Fifth Horseman by Larry Collins and Dominique Lapierre (sp?)
Chameleon by William Diehl

Damn good books IMHO.

I've kinda lost my zeal to read tho, still behind on the last Harry Potter - which inevitably kept me from going to the movie, and the latest dan brown - the lost symbol.

I'm currently rereading the half blood prince. Very easy light readding. JK know what she wasa doing to make a mass market appeal kinda series.

Postby sharkman121 » January 26th, 2010, 9:49 am

tr1ad wrote:twilight :oops:

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 9:49 am

honda hoe wrote:
foss wrote:badman doh read :|

dun know 0X

Is not you I see peddling books outside yuh trunk by the grocery outside Ho Lan Gardens???

One setta 13-15 year old gyul in sch....wait....nvmd. :shock:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 10:02 am

The last novels would be:

The Diamond Hunters - Wilbur Smith

before that...

Hungry as the Sea - Wilbur Smith

This man's incredible. Fantastic story,great twists, and lots of technical tidbits. By the time you've finished one of his books, you feel you can pilot the ship, or do exactly what the characters were doing. Very visual.

Since these, I've probably read about 75 books on photography

Postby sharkman121 » January 26th, 2010, 10:02 am

Wats the name of the really good book that was made into a movie, dealing with the search for the knights templar, holy grail and freemasons and lodge.
The ending was in the Louvre in France.

Tryin to memba the name of that book/movie?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 10:04 am

The Da Vinci Code - Dan Brown

I couldn't find one to borrow or buy so I downloaded a .txt file and printed it and read it in 15hours :?
This was about 6 years ago
Last edited by Notorious Scullman on January 26th, 2010, 10:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby honda hoe » January 26th, 2010, 10:05 am

crazybalhead wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
foss wrote:badman doh read :|

dun know 0X

Is not you I see peddling books outside yuh trunk by the grocery outside Ho Lan Gardens???

One setta 13-15 year old gyul in sch....wait....nvmd. :shock:

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 10:06 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:The last novels would be:

before that...

This man's incredible. Fantastic story,great twists, and lots of technical tidbits. By the time you've finished one of his books, you feel you can pilot the ship, or do exactly what the characters were doing. Very visual.

Since these, I've probably read about 75 books on photography

The Warlock was by Wilbur Smith, the man real graphic.

axe

Postby axe » January 26th, 2010, 10:10 am

Jus read The Road as well it was good...

but my favourite authors are David Morrel (First Blood, Brotherhood of the Rose, Fraternity of the Stone, League of Night and Fog, The Protector etc)

recommend "Testament" amazing book!

and Frederick Forsyth (Fist of God, The Negotiator, The Afghan, etc)

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 10:16 am

Did he write flight of the intruder too axe??? Seem to remember that one, read it years ago.

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 10:20 am

No that was Coontz, my mistake.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 26th, 2010, 10:28 am

Yup Stephen Coonts. Excellent writer, though he can get a tad boring at times.

Postby Maserati » January 26th, 2010, 11:38 am

before that...

ah yes good reading there!!
Clive Cussler is also decent

for me it would be The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown and The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 11:56 am

Maserati wrote:

before that...

ah yes good reading there!!
Clive Cussler is also decent

for me it would be The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown and The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

Just read a Clive Cussler called plague Ship. I thought it was toots.

Postby Maserati » January 26th, 2010, 12:03 pm

^Dirk Pitt?

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 26th, 2010, 12:05 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
After reading the Lord of the rings trilogy, got the Silmarillion as a gift, never finished that either, Tolkien was clearly off his rocker when he was writing that one. Mushrooms or LSD or something. :|

that was one hard no arse book to read, after a couple pages i put it down.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » January 26th, 2010, 12:06 pm

green days by the river

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 12:06 pm

Nah. The hero was a one foot mercinary with a super duper ship in disguise.

Postby Maserati » January 26th, 2010, 12:09 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Nah. The hero was a one foot mercinary with a super duper ship in disguise.

ah I know, Juan Cabrillo or something so

Postby noshownogo » January 26th, 2010, 12:10 pm

anything Nora Roberts or Danielle Steel :|

Postby eliteauto » January 26th, 2010, 12:10 pm

now come back from work dey...all allyuh bookist here should you come across Sam Selvon's "The Lonely Londoners" "Moses Ascending" and "Moses Descending" please let me know I'm very desirous of buying these titles

devrat

Postby devrat » January 26th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Very much into Clive Cussler right now, just finished the "Skeleton Coast" and i am presently on "Plague Ship".
Dean Koontz has some good stuff but the stories lag.
I have a lot of Stephen King books including his short stories.
Robert Ludlum is a fantastic writer the "Bourne" series are a lot better in print although the movies were ok.

Postby Maserati » January 26th, 2010, 12:14 pm

eliteauto wrote:now come back from work dey...all allyuh bookist here should you come across Sam Selvon's "The Lonely Londoners" "Moses Ascending" and "Moses Descending" please let me know I'm very desirous of buying these titles

I think I have Mose Ascending somewhere about, got to check.

Is it just me or is it difficult to obtain books written by local authors easily, I searched some book stores and never found any Sam Selvon books.

Postby eliteauto » January 26th, 2010, 12:21 pm

very difficult to get local authors I'll have to check the Book Sauce on Tragarete Road and see, also want to get Phillip Rochford's book

devrat

Postby devrat » January 26th, 2010, 12:21 pm

Bought "blood lust" it is the true story of a serial killer, did not finish it though the book was written as on big police report....crap.

Snags

Postby Snags » January 26th, 2010, 12:22 pm

Last book I read was Rootkits: Subverting the Windows Kernel by Greg Hoglund and James Butler and I have File System: Forensic Analysis and God's Promise for you by Charles F Stanley up now.

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 12:22 pm

eliteauto wrote:now come back from work dey...all allyuh bookist here should you come across Sam Selvon's "The Lonely Londoners" "Moses Ascending" and "Moses Descending" please let me know I'm very desirous of buying these titles

Will definitely let yuh know if I come across them.

Maserati, correct Jaun Cabrillo, de one foot hero. :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » January 26th, 2010, 12:28 pm

devrat wrote:Very much into Clive Cussler right now, just finished the "Skeleton Coast" and i am presently on "Plague Ship".
Dean Koontz has some good stuff but the stories lag.
I have a lot of Stephen King books including his short stories.
Robert Ludlum is a fantastic writer the "Bourne" series are a lot better in print although the movies were ok.

Yuh doh find plague ship is crap??? It so shallow and transparent!

Postby Damien » January 26th, 2010, 12:30 pm

Magazines doh count :oops:

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2010, 12:53 pm

The Road - Cormac McCarthy
apparently issa moovie now?

Currently re-reading Dune - Frank Herbert while listening to To Tame A Land - Iron Maiden