PM Singh: More Indians Should Visit TT

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 28th, 2009, 1:21 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:India has recently entered a complicated business explosion, its simply India has never realy or is now considering expanding to the caribbean....

Yes, with intent to expand bilateral trade agreements.

However, PM Singh addresses a social issue, inviting his countrymen to view Trinidad as a part of their larger diaspora and that it is not only a place for business relations but also holidays/vacation, and even perhaps an extension of home.

Will this open-invitation be welcomed?

Remains to be seen.

Postby UML » November 28th, 2009, 1:21 pm

wat COP shud do is get all dey disgruntled members tuh go and vote in the internal elections and vote panday out!!!

:idea:

Postby Damien » November 28th, 2009, 1:21 pm

good thing the Jamaican prime minister didn't have the same idea else we dead

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 28th, 2009, 1:24 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:yep the indians in london--- are realy racial against indians from the caribbean..thats a fact....

And the Indians in the UK experience severe racism from the white English, even more so than Africans/Blacks living in the UK.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 28th, 2009, 1:27 pm

AllTrac wrote:actually Rapido, AP's questions are very valid and should be raised. When I lived in England, the Indians there never considered me to be an Indian, they said I was black because of the way I talked, they looked down on Caribbean Indians, according to them, our forefathers abandoned the motherland when their country needed them the most. So they saw us as outsiders, outcast etc. I hated to mix with them, i hated how they smell, i hate the way they dress, i hate tandoori chicken, I like Amitab Bachan.

Yup, same story here but it's mainly an issue with the "higher class" indians..
When people ask about my ethnicity, I reply with my nationality :lol: Me eh wah be associated with dem stink smelling indians.

Postby RASC » November 28th, 2009, 1:36 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
AllTrac wrote:actually Rapido, AP's questions are very valid and should be raised. When I lived in England, the Indians there never considered me to be an Indian, they said I was black because of the way I talked, they looked down on Caribbean Indians, according to them, our forefathers abandoned the motherland when their country needed them the most. So they saw us as outsiders, outcast etc. I hated to mix with them, i hated how they smell, i hate the way they dress, i hate tandoori chicken, I like Amitab Bachan.

When people ask about my ethnicity, I reply with my nationality :lol: Me eh wah be associated with dem stink smelling indians.

Air India...6HR flight...1HR delay on the ground...Coach...Middle Seat...

Beat That

:arrow:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 28th, 2009, 1:54 pm

2curry goat. :lol:

Postby buzz » November 28th, 2009, 2:05 pm

even in india racism is a HUGE issue, just as in africa where they don't consider caribbean folk

so

for all ah allyuh who feel "mother india" is d place to be... by all means pack up and leave and please don't come back

fuh all d hardcore "Ethiopian peeps" the same applies.... see how much greener the grass is over there

to think... cnuts does stand up come hell or high water to listen to manning, panday, dookeran talk? :lol:

and still have to suffer "just to eat ah food?" :lol:

i hope d queen came with teh HMS pwnage and re colonize we skunt

Postby Maserati » November 28th, 2009, 7:43 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

X2!!!
I cannot stress how you much you don't want to be grouped with them.
It's like stepping down a couple levels in life/society etc.

Hopefully before they come to T&T they learn some personal hygiene etc

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 28th, 2009, 7:48 pm

or gor na....dem could keep dey smelly self from my island

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2009, 7:55 pm

as a TRINI, dem indians cud stay whey dey dey (Only ah trini go know wot ah de jes say dey)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 28th, 2009, 8:00 pm

RASC wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Air India...6HR flight...1HR delay on the ground...Coach...Middle Seat...

Beat That

wehhhhhhhhhh, that is stress!!!

I woulda tell dem to put me downstairs in the cargo area..

Boy Indo & afro Trinidadians are nothing like those people in the mother land. The only thing we have in common with them is skin color, religion and some culture, but other than that, we are our own unique people.

With that said, I still doh understand why race has become a big problem in sweet T&T.
Last edited by RoTaRyBoYz on November 28th, 2009, 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » November 28th, 2009, 8:20 pm

Allyuh doh let aR&D see this thread nah :arrow:

Postby RASC » November 28th, 2009, 8:28 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
With that said, I still doh understand why race has become a big problem in sweet T&T.

Trinis never experience real racism so they revel in their petty political based $#!t, until they migrate... :lol: Then they experience real racism and learn to hush they skunt about that foolish when they return home :arrow:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 28th, 2009, 8:42 pm

^correct...

Buh hear dis... I went to El Soccorro hindu school and me eh even a hindu :shock: I said all the prayers & sang all the songs etc, so did everyone of my numerious negro friends. Man that was nothing for we, because back in those days race & religion was not a problem for us or our parents.

Could this race problem Trinidad is experiencing be the work of the politicians?? Did the politicians figure by dividing the people, they could have the upper hand of each other?

This is a rather interesting topic, but it's a recipe for IBTL

Postby eliteauto » November 28th, 2009, 8:55 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:^correct...

Buh hear dis... I went to El Soccorro hindu school and me eh even a hindu :shock: I said all the prayers & sang all the songs etc, so did everyone of my numerious negro friends. Man that was nothing for we, because back in those days race & religion was not a problem for us or our parents.

Could this race problem Trinidad is experiencing be the work of the politicians?? Did the politicians figure by dividing the people, they could have the upper hand of each other?

This is a rather interesting topic, but it's a recipe for IBTL

I grew up in an all-East Indian area, eat, drink, sleep, learned a lot of core values of saving, investing and bettering oneself, learned about deferred gratification and an appreciation for the family unit. My relatives started the first East-Indian classical band in Trinidad, and the road to the Divali Nagar is named after my uncle (Narsaloo Ramaya aka Pappi), now I'm of African descent btw and I'm telling you back then no Indian I knew considered himself oppressed or discriminated against, it was simply putting your shoulder to the wheel and feeding your family, Uncle Bas and his minions were the ones who made Indians believe they were victims and I still hold him responsible for my having to get a Canadian Visa to go visit my family

Postby eliteauto » November 28th, 2009, 8:57 pm

Oh and btw my Indian family ( from India I mean) when ever they visit are very biased against my Indo-Trini family

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 28th, 2009, 9:03 pm

lmao@ alltrac funny but tru it have times you could walk into an apartment building and know jus by the smell it have some indians there (no hate).

Rapido sounds a bit emo on the subject , truth hurts get over it. same thing happens with black ppl from america and africans. the sooner ppl accept these facts race relations can improve.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 28th, 2009, 9:45 pm

I hesitate to post here but her is my $0.02. Indians (from India) do in fact set up business in the Caribbean. From my limited observation, they prefer Barbados to Trinidad. There are several successful Indian owned (Indians from India) businesses in Barbados. I have also observed the same in St Maarten.

AP I think that you should be careful because although rare, people can die from laughing strokes. I do think that your intentions are in fact a bit sinister.

Truth be told, I am not sure if you are a Trini, I never really paid you any attention, but I suspect that you are not Trini. There is a special fiber that connects us all together even in spite of forced racism at election time. I LOVE my Trini people and the PM f India should realize that there are no Indians from Trinidad for anyone from Indian or anywhere else to connect to, there are only Trinidadians here.

Postby UML » November 28th, 2009, 9:57 pm

the PNM promotes racism and division to achieve their goals

when the UNC was in power...as i said before they helped all...even at the expense of indians

a non-indian friend of the family was quarreling that he cah get ah work for he son......he said when UNC was in power he get ah promotion and his boss (UNC member) promoted him although he knew he was a PNM!!!

everything the UNC did had inclusion....they had numerous non indians in their govt they give d baptist and dem ah holiday, they give dem land for they school (ah tink), etc....they tried to help everyone with the little they had.

and now the PNM....cant blame them...they helping their own.....but they blatantly discriminating others and being racist

it sooo blatant and they know wat they doing...by causing division and hat...that they cant even select ah equal opportunity commission nor a integrity commission

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » November 28th, 2009, 10:13 pm

corollalover101 wrote:I grew up in an all-East Indian area, eat, drink, sleep, learned a lot of core values of saving, investing and bettering oneself, learned about deferred gratification and an appreciation for the family unit. My relatives started the first East-Indian classical band in Trinidad, and the road to the Divali Nagar is named after my uncle (Narsaloo Ramaya aka Pappi), now I'm of African descent btw and I'm telling you back then no Indian I knew considered himself oppressed or discriminated against, it was simply putting your shoulder to the wheel and feeding your family, Uncle Bas and his minions were the ones who made Indians believe they were victims and I still hold him responsible for my having to get a Canadian Visa to go visit my family

:lol: now I usually avoid "race threads" (Im really sorry if im too narrowmindad to see them as anything more than instigation :| )... this one appears to be along different lines, although one may argue that the OP's intention was the same... who knows? but arguing that point would just be increasing the octane rating of the fuel....

anywayz what I came here to say is that I can relate to corollalover101's story, and Im sure many others can also.... I am of East Indian descent and I have an adopted uncle who is of african descent... *thinks to self : how do I word my next statement, seeing that I never gave this any thought before* ... and it makes absolutely no difference to us whatsoever.. because why should it? "all ah we is one famalee" its nothing more that he's my uncle, because he is my mom's brother (throw out the word 'adopted' one time)... point is in our society, here in Trinidad, right now, there is no real issue of racism.... IMO though "instigating" threads and language is the type of crap that will lead it to develop into an issue, like it is in other countries.... little things like ppl bawling "injun again" and "fellas again" all the time and outa timing (for want of a better word)... check yourselves little as it is, youre making it more openly accepted and making way for it to develop further.. we dont need this shidd in our sweet country..

and once again I go typing a whole essay, when I should have beed studying for the ppl business law exam next week :lol:

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 28th, 2009, 10:17 pm

UML wrote:
a non-indian friend of the family was quarreling ....

Why can't we agree that there are no Indians here...only Trinis

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » November 28th, 2009, 10:20 pm

Mr Gear wrote:I hesitate to post here but her is my $0.02. Indians (from India) do in fact set up business in the Caribbean. From my limited observation, they prefer Barbados to Trinidad. There are several successful Indian owned (Indians from India) businesses in Barbados. I have also observed the same in St Maarten.

AP I think that you should be careful because although rare, people can die from laughing strokes. I do think that your intentions are in fact a bit sinister.

Truth be told, I am not sure if you are a Trini, I never really paid you any attention, but I suspect that you are not Trini. There is a special fiber that connects us all together even in spite of forced racism at election time. I LOVE my Trini people and the PM f India should realize that there are no Indians from Trinidad for anyone from Indian or anywhere else to connect to, there are only Trinidadians here.

only saw this post after I posted my reply... but here is another person sharing the same view...Im sure the majority of Trini's think along these lines on this topic... the rest of you, stop chooking fyah nah, put down the pookney :lol:

Postby Maserati » November 28th, 2009, 10:44 pm

UML, :| :|
we not talking politics here

Postby buzz » November 28th, 2009, 10:45 pm

Mr Gear wrote:I hesitate to post here but her is my $0.02. Indians (from India) do in fact set up business in the Caribbean. From my limited observation, they prefer Barbados to Trinidad. There are several successful Indian owned (Indians from India) businesses in Barbados. I have also observed the same in St Maarten.

X120 :arrow:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 28th, 2009, 10:52 pm

Mr Gear is right... There's only 1 race in Trinidad and it's neither indian, african, chinee or white- We are all TRINIDADIANS !!

UML, that's quite an interesting post you made there because according to what I was told by many indian friends and family there, it's the total opposite from what you said.

I have INDIAN family there with various business that did not vote PNM yet, they are more successful today with the PNM than they were with the UNC.
Indians still own most of the business in Trinidad. Indians are still the largest land owners in Trinidad. Indians are still in majority when it comes to getting scholarships etc. How it is you can say that the PNM is oppressing the Indian race in T&T?

As far as I see, the indians in Trinidad are like American blacks.... They quick to bawl racial oppression for every lil thing. The government has a priority issue - they not concentrating on the key needs of the people and hence the reason for some people to feel neglect and feel as though they are being oppressed.
Do you think the bandits only choose to rob & kill indians alone?? No! it only looks that way because most business owners are indians and that's why I feel it looks like the crimes are racially motivated. Crime in Trinidad is not limited to only 1 race, is everybody getting their share of the criminals so doh feel like you are being singled out because of your skin color.

Postby UML » November 28th, 2009, 10:53 pm

Mr Gear wrote:
UML wrote:
a non-indian friend of the family was quarreling ....

Why can't we agree that there are no Indians here...only Trinis

i used "indians" in my comment to diffrentiate

if i said Trinidadians and Trinidadians u see the difference?

8-)

Postby buzz » November 29th, 2009, 12:12 am

difference?

Postby eliteauto » November 29th, 2009, 12:51 am

difference?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 29th, 2009, 1:14 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Mr Gear is right... There's only 1 race in Trinidad and it's neither indian, african, chinee or white- We are all TRINIDADIANS !!

UML, that's quite an interesting post you made there because according to what I was told by many indian friends and family there, it's the total opposite from what you said.

I have INDIAN family there with various business that did not vote PNM yet, they are more successful today with the PNM than they were with the UNC.
Indians still own most of the business in Trinidad. Indians are still the largest land owners in Trinidad. Indians are still in majority when it comes to getting scholarships etc. How it is you can say that the PNM is oppressing the Indian race in T&T?

As far as I see, the indians in Trinidad are like American blacks.... They quick to bawl racial oppression for every lil thing. The government has a priority issue - they not concentrating on the key needs of the people and hence the reason for some people to feel neglect and feel as though they are being oppressed.
Do you think the bandits only choose to rob & kill indians alone?? No! it only looks that way because most business owners are indians and that's why I feel it looks like the crimes are racially motivated. Crime in Trinidad is not limited to only 1 race, is everybody getting their share of the criminals so doh feel like you are being singled out because of your skin color.

you all can keep up that sheit talk about one race and togetherness BS. fact is there is racism everywhere in trinidad in all the races. indians show racism toward their own. i have seen this myself where toddlers of a lighter complexion are treated better than the darker ones. dont fool yourselves. whether you like it or not racism is here to stay