No more fetes in Gov't run sporting facilities!!!

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 12th, 2009, 12:04 pm

yeah boss de fuss world cuntry an dem wah we countree asspiring to be nah!

Postby Maserati » November 12th, 2009, 12:08 pm

Freelander wrote:its amazing what happens in trinidad. if a promoter rents/ uses a facility that facility supposed to have its own management staff to over see and co-ordinate with the event.

in any 20/20 society major sporting facilities are uses for concerts all the time.

Major football/soccer feilds are carfully taken care of by grounds crew. The government is stupid to ban a souce of revenue to maintain the stadiums. Instead of them just being a money pit!

my .02 cent

True this.
but no one to blame but the promoters themselves..the gov't said if they destroy the place they'll not get to use it again..and they did destroy the place so the gov't made good on their threat.

I would have said get somewhere like Molson Amphitheater but people would probably destroy the place.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 12th, 2009, 12:11 pm

Maserati wrote:
Freelander wrote:its amazing what happens in trinidad. if a promoter rents/ uses a facility that facility supposed to have its own management staff to over see and co-ordinate with the event.

in any 20/20 society major sporting facilities are uses for concerts all the time.

Major football/soccer feilds are carfully taken care of by grounds crew. The government is stupid to ban a souce of revenue to maintain the stadiums. Instead of them just being a money pit!

my .02 cent

True this.
but no one to blame but the promoters themselves..the gov't said if they destroy the place they'll not get to use it again..and they did destroy the place so the gov't made good on their threat.

I would have said get somewhere like Molson Amphitheater but people would probably destroy the place.

why not just instill a deposit that covers damages, let them feel it in their pockets.

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2009, 12:13 pm

remember the incident with a WC qualifier at hasley crawford after a fete match...

big rush to hustle and get the ground in shape..

doubt the promoters cover the full cost ah that.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 12th, 2009, 12:16 pm

but that is the fault of the stadium management they should have known a match was scheduled or vica verca and not scheduled events so close together.

but i see the point of peter pay for paul here.

Postby buzz » November 12th, 2009, 12:49 pm

ban dem

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » November 12th, 2009, 1:56 pm

Look at something as simple as the NFL..
When it's Super Bowl time have you ever seen how elaborate their Half Time Shows are? We're talking hundreds of dancers, moving stages, lights, camera and action.
And when it's all said and done.. they're able to go right back to the game!! Because I am sure when it's actual grass and not astro turf... there are stipulations with what footwear performers can actually wear. There are stipulations as to what kind of equipment the Stage handlers can actually use on the grounds.. I mean these thigns are common sense.. Why can't our promoters follow these kind of stipulations. IF they are in fact stipulated.

Postby Maserati » November 12th, 2009, 2:03 pm

^ sorry I had to :lol:
people will not give a rats a$$ about any rules or regulations..they will be wrong and strong and make a fuss if they are stopped.
some things do not change with trini people

Postby Greypatch » November 12th, 2009, 3:18 pm

so alluh want to tell trinis what shoes to wear when dem go in ah fete :lol: :lol:

man fack away with dat we...I pay meh $$ (or scale de wall)

whine whine whine...

now no fete whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

noobie

Postby noobie » November 12th, 2009, 6:29 pm

What effect do these carnival fetes have on Tourism?

Do they attract Tourists?

Are they important for tourism purposes?

is a 2M dollar Flag worthwhile but showcasing our local artistes is not? One is National Pride and the other is Trinidadian businessmen 'making money off we head' ?

What sort of hit will our local artistes take if these concerts and events do not happen?

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 13th, 2009, 8:24 am

SUPAstarr wrote:wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine wine .....

NOT IN DE STADIUM!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: LOL

I agree 100%

So much damn million dem promoter making, let them build a facking venue.

Señor promoter, doh be playing up in yuh arse and saying Manning arrogant, is you who arrogant.....always frigging up the ppl grounds, and you expect to get it year after year like is yours...

Postby buzz » November 13th, 2009, 8:28 am

ban dem :arrow:

Postby janfar » November 13th, 2009, 8:31 am

Promoters: We're insulted by PM

...claim Manning declined bids to lease land

Show and fete promoters are insulted by Prime Minister Patrick Manning’s statements on Wednesday that they maximise profits at the expense of the citizens.

Manning made the comment during a walkabout in San Fernando and advised promoters that instead of griping over a lack of venues and the ban on cultural events at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and Jean Pierre Complex, they should seek to build their own facilities.

Yesterday, promoter Randy Glasgow said he was happy the prime minister has advised promoters to construct their own venues.

’I like what the prime minister is saying, and I love how he is sounding now. Three years ago, William Munro and I went to him asking him to lease us some land so we can build a facility because even then, there was no where in the west for us to hold events. Manning told us there is no need to lease any land because there were projects underway to provide us with venues, and we need not bother our heads,’ Glasgow said.

The promoter suggested the Government set up a system like the one they did for farmers where it leases lands to promoters who can then develop it for entertainment purposes. Glasgow also said Manning and Sport Minister Hunt had led the public to believe the promoters had got and are asking for use of the stadium, complex and other venues free of charge.

’We don’t get the complex for less than $60,000 and the stadium for under $300,000. We have not asked for these venues for free. Manning should send teams out to places such as Wembley, Madison Square Garden and other such venues to see what they do and how these facilities are put to use for entertainment events,’ he said.

Frank Martineau, of Spektakula Promotions, simply said the matter had got out of hand, and the time had come for the promoters and Manning to meet and thrash out the issue, hopefully, in the coming days.

Roy Maharaj, of TriStar Promotions, said he, too, had raised the issue of a lack of venues before and was criticised. He said he took Manning’s statement that promoters were making profits at the people’s expense as an insult.

’I am employing over 500 people a night when I have a show, paying them from $200 to $200,000. Who am I taking money from? I provide people with good entertainment for the money they pay. What about the money I put out? Sometimes you make, sometimes you don’t.

’Does the prime minister look at these things? I never received any help from any Government. When I have my events, I face the bank,’ Maharaj said.

Maharaj said that he, too, once approached the prime minister for land on which he wanted to build a facility for shows and was turned down. He also reminded Manning of all the people who depend on such events to earn a living, such as food vendors, sound engineers, musicians and others.

Creator of the now-defunct Brass Festival Cliff Harris said there was no need for confrontation between the Government and promoters. He said there are ways to deal with the problems of a lack of venues if common sense were to be employed.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161556872

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2009, 9:04 am

Yesterday, promoter Randy Glasgow said he was happy the prime minister has advised promoters to construct their own venues.

’I like what the prime minister is saying, and I love how he is sounding now. Three years ago, William Munro and I went to him asking him to lease us some land so we can build a facility because even then, there was no where in the west for us to hold events.

Maharaj said that he, too, once approached the prime minister for land on which he wanted to build a facility for shows and was turned down.

Smmes to me dem fellas want the land for small $$...

Here is a radical idea buy some land and build yuh sheit...!!

we in 2009 eh...every thing alluh wha patios help alluh with...

Postby janfar » November 13th, 2009, 9:12 am

They just want to dig out ppl eye, buy the blasted land from the govt if yuh want to hold fete, although i dont know what wrong with using the savannah!!!

The oval still there... King George V park...

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 13th, 2009, 9:18 am

janfar wrote:They just want to dig out ppl eye, buy the blasted land from the govt if yuh want to hold fete, although i dont know what wrong with using the savannah!!!

The oval still there... King George V park...

Whoops, doh send them by the oval nah.
they does fcuk up we only good Intl cricket ground.

Postby janfar » November 13th, 2009, 9:20 am

Yeh, but we done dont get games anyway so whats the point...

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2009, 9:24 am

the oval is a private entity EVEN though the GOVT spent millions upgrading it for WC2007...so once $$ passing fack de ground...

oval car park is a good location..smallish but good...

Postby janfar » November 13th, 2009, 9:51 am

janfar wrote:This also has alot more heights that could be fathomed by most...

*runs off after being attacked by blue hummingbird*

:| :| :|

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 13th, 2009, 10:04 am

I support this move 115% (VAT included)

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2009, 10:33 am

LOL...someone was suggesting on C's "First Up" this morning that Fete Promoters use the old motor sport facility at Wallerfield...:lol:

Postby wagonrunner » November 13th, 2009, 12:14 pm

hydroep wrote:LOL...someone was suggesting on C's "First Up" this morning that Fete Promoters use the old motor sport facility at Wallerfield...:lol:

actually a best plan.
the next step may be the EMA stepping in to say, that the popular beach fetes put too much strain on the environment.

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2009, 12:17 pm

and mampee's not supposed to wear 2 piece bikini..

pressure pon de eyes

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2009, 1:05 pm

hydroep wrote:LOL...someone was suggesting on C's "First Up" this morning that Fete Promoters use the old motor sport facility at Wallerfield...:lol:

actually a best plan.

The way them fellas talking, it doesn't look as if they want anything outside of Port of Spain. They're saying "That's where the Market is," inferring that any remote location would not be well patronized.

Postby Greypatch » November 13th, 2009, 1:31 pm

them have no land...no facility.....leh them kerry dem skunt...