Postby d spike » October 20th, 2009, 6:22 pm

buzz wrote:
Aristocracy based on what?

education of course

your qulifications should dictate how much your vote counts

as i said

no education no vote :arrow:

Dat is ah meritocracy, sah.

Ah aristocracy is based on who yuh fadda be (an' how he was related to yuh mudda) :lol: :lol:

Postby buzz » October 20th, 2009, 6:26 pm

d spike wrote:
buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

Dat is ah meritocracy, sah.

Ah aristocracy is based on who yuh fadda be (an' how he was related to yuh mudda) :lol: :lol:

oh ho :oops:

well yeah that 8-)

FTW

and yes vote seema #243 8-)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 21st, 2009, 8:40 am

buzz wrote:An aristocratic type polling system would aid in the racial lines shite

no education? no vote 8)

this should also be applied to obtaining a valid drivers permit, as there are several uneducated idiots who currently use our nations roadways that cannot read nor write, yet due to corruption they have gotten a permit!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 11:13 am

^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.

buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

even meritocracy

what about all the successful businessmen and women, some of whom are multi-millionaires but who don't even have any tertiary education? They get no vote or a low vote? - to me THEY are the smartest ones in the country, not the ones who spend 30+ years of their life being a student.

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » October 21st, 2009, 11:28 am

"All societies we know of are governed by the selfish interests of the ruling class or classes."
Plato

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 11:39 am

IMPREZZING wrote:"All societies we know of are governed by the selfish interests of the ruling class or classes."
Plato

who is the ruling class in T&T?

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » October 21st, 2009, 11:44 am

IMPREZZING wrote:"All societies we know of are governed by the selfish interests of the ruling class or classes."
Plato

i suspect you know already :lol:
but to directly ans. your question IMHO the ruling class are the ones who can contribute to the political parties .

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » October 21st, 2009, 11:46 am

"The national interest in a capitalist society is little more than the interest of its upper class."
Lawrence H. Shoup and William Minter

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 11:50 am

IMPREZZING wrote:
Plato

i suspect you know already :lol:
but to directly ans. your question IMHO the ruling class are the ones who can contribute to the political parties .

Contribute? Contribute what?
Money?
..... or crapaud?

(playing dead to ketch corbeau :lol: :lol: )

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » October 21st, 2009, 11:53 am

crapaud :cry:

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 12:09 pm

IMPREZZING wrote:crapaud :cry:

"the only people in favour of an elitist, classed society are the elite classes..."
Me

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 12:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.

buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

even meritocracy

what about all the successful businessmen and women, some of whom are multi-millionaires but who don't even have any tertiary education? They get no vote or a low vote? - to me THEY are the smartest ones in the country, not the ones who spend 30+ years of their life being a student.

true but it doesn't mean that they would know what's best for the country, while i agree they would have had to make some very smart decisions to reach at that level

i believe for them to become that sucessful they must possess some form of sound educational foundation but it doesn't have to be formal (eg. a child can be home schooled and be just as educated as those that attended a formal educational institution)

but what qualifies or validates his level of education? we simply can't take his word for it

so if you reached so far w/o certificates etc... would it be so hard to attain some so it gives your knowledge some credibility?

W2J

Postby W2J » October 21st, 2009, 1:50 pm

^ eh???????????? Harvard cannot not teach you what the school of hard knocks can.

Postby crazybalhead » October 21st, 2009, 2:02 pm

You eh have rims to teef??

Jajajajaa!

W2J

Postby W2J » October 21st, 2009, 2:11 pm

^ :oops: lardddd!!! :stalk:

Postby foss » October 21st, 2009, 2:13 pm

i woulda step eeen eh, but nobody want ah white man in power :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 2:14 pm

buzz wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DP regulations needs to be made into better test of literacy.

buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

even meritocracy

true but it doesn't mean that they would know what's best for the country, while i agree they would have had to make some very smart decisions to reach at that level

i believe for them to become that sucessful they must possess some form of sound educational foundation but it doesn't have to be formal (eg. a child can be home schooled and be just as educated as those that attended a formal educational institution)

but what qualifies or validates his level of education? we simply can't take his word for it

so if you reached so far w/o certificates etc... would it be so hard to attain some so it gives your knowledge some credibility?

you want a self made millionaire who has plenty businesses to run to go and get a degree so YOU will feel comfortable that he is bright? :lol:

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 2:25 pm

buzz wrote:

buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

even meritocracy

you want a self made millionaire who has plenty businesses to run to go and get a degree so YOU will feel comfortable that he is bright? :lol:

self made millionaires know how to manage a country ?

come better than that duane

W8

Postby W8 » October 21st, 2009, 4:01 pm

buzz wrote:
buzz wrote:

buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

even meritocracy

You hearing yourself?? No you come better than that!

On your basis we could discriminate past that.

Like WHERE did you get all your degrees??

Don't tell me someone with a 'COSTATT' degree could manage a country?

And what was the class you graduated with?

LOL you funny buzz you very funny buzz.

W8

Postby W8 » October 21st, 2009, 4:05 pm

JUST TO CLARIFY.

Me ent have nothing against Costatt. I just using it as an example along the lines that buzz is moving.

That could be interchanged for Oxford/SGU/HU/Devry, it's an EXAMPLE

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 4:28 pm

W2J wrote:^ eh???????????? Harvard cannot not teach you what the school of hard knocks can.

An old man used to say... people who boast about having graduated from the "school of hard knocks" probably required a few hard knocks to learn... :lol: :lol: :lol:

But seriously...
from the time you start drawing lines between groups in today's society (such as being educated/wise enough to vote), you will alienate quite a few people. Society today is no longer made up of clearly distinct groups - there exists a lot of overlapping and conjoining between groups, roles and structures. The true "classed" society doesn't exist anymore (but we still haven't attained the "60s-hoped-for" classless society).

So there will be those who are left out in the cold when you lay down the boundary of "educated enough". The problem you must face is if the boundary of this set will always contain the vast majority of the type of people who you wish to vote. If it does, then so be it - and the wealthy unschooled (who, I suspect, are a minority) will just have to ensure that they can sway the ignorant (but schooled) ones. (Grandpa aways said that if you educate a jackass, you'll end up with an educated jackass.)

Remember that a democracy is run by the majority - not by getting everybody to agree (nice utopian ideal, but quite impractical). There will always be an opposing minority. The question is how to minimise the minority...

Cheers

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 7:39 pm

W8 wrote:
buzz wrote:
buzz wrote:

buzz wrote:

education of course

as i said

even meritocracy

You hearing yourself?? No you come better than that!

On your basis we could discriminate past that.

Like WHERE did you get all your degrees??

Don't tell me someone with a 'COSTATT' degree could manage a country?

And what was the class you graduated with?

LOL you funny buzz you very funny buzz.

COSTATT have degrees ? :lol:

anywho you seemed to have missed the point

while i know intelligence does not necessarily come with education, i support this system because ppl with education tend to make educated decisions. so its not a matter of who has a BSc from UWI or Roytec.. you have a BSc and therefore ascertained a certain level of education..

the objective being to eliminate voting along racial lines. uneducated votes if you will...

i personally do not have a problem with other's votes being ranked above mine as long as they are "more fit" to make decisions on who they see capable of managing the country efficiently and effectively

should i oppose their decision? they talkin sh1t ? they wrong ?

then i should be able to point out where and why not so? and my opposition should be logically and academically sound

can you have a logical and educated point without attending a formal or recognized institute of learning ?

yes you most certainly can but what makes you different from the mob of opposition ? or should i say, why must they listen to you? how do they know that you're coming to say something based on fact, can be proven and bring forward evidence to support you claims and not some BS like "panday was ah tief too eh buh he was doin sumn for d country"

so you want a bigger voice ? get an education and also doing such would put you in a much better condition/ position to contribute to the development of your country and not stay @ home, bull dong d place, make chirren yuh cyah mine so most become criminals and vote for a particular party because their hair texture alike etc etc etc while the ones who are contributing positively to the nation are suffering the most

no education FTL :arrow:

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 7:47 pm

d spike wrote:
W2J wrote:^ eh???????????? Harvard cannot not teach you what the school of hard knocks can.

An old man used to say... people who boast about having graduated from the "school of hard knocks" probably required a few hard knocks to learn... :lol: :lol: :lol:

But seriously...
from the time you start drawing lines between groups in today's society (such as being educated/wise enough to vote), you will alienate quite a few people. Society today is no longer made up of clearly distinct groups - there exists a lot of overlapping and conjoining between groups, roles and structures. The true "classed" society doesn't exist anymore (but we still haven't attained the "60s-hoped-for" classless society).

So there will be those who are left out in the cold when you lay down the boundary of "educated enough". The problem you must face is if the boundary of this set will always contain the vast majority of the type of people who you wish to vote. If it does, then so be it - and the wealthy unschooled (who, I suspect, are a minority) will just have to ensure that they can sway the ignorant (but schooled) ones. (Grandpa aways said that if you educate a jackass, you'll end up with an educated jackass.)

Remember that a democracy is run by the majority - not by getting everybody to agree (nice utopian ideal, but quite impractical). There will always be an opposing minority. The question is how to minimise the minority...

Cheers

well said

and so far the best opposition IMO

but the fact remains we can't please everyone... humans are after all humans (off topic but this was the main reason i looooooooooooooooved teh matrix and agent smith's speeches) *ahem*

its just that i believe no one system is error free but there are some systems that work better than others

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 7:51 pm

buzz wrote:while i know intelligence does not necessarily come with education, i support this system because ppl with education tend to make educated decisions. so its not a matter of who has a BSc from UWI or Roytec.. you have a BSc and therefore ascertained a certain level of education..

no - I know people with their Masters degree and they are some of the most dotish people I know. They lack the basic abilities of adaptation and improvisation. They couldnt make a real world decision on their own if their life depended on it. They also often lack people skills.

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 7:55 pm

buzz wrote:while i know intelligence does not necessarily come with education, i support this system because ppl with education tend to make educated decisions. so its not a matter of who has a BSc from UWI or Roytec.. you have a BSc and therefore ascertained a certain level of education..

no - I know people with their Masters degree and they are some of the most dotish people I know. They lack the basic abilities of adaptation and improvisation. They couldnt make a real world decision on their own if their life depended on it. They also often lack people skills.

correct but do you believe that the number of educated fools leverages that number of those with education and intelligence?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 8:06 pm

^ I'm sure I can find more people with degrees who lack common sense than you can find honest, successful businessmen who don't have the ability to run an industry rich country or at least choose who does.

the point I was making is that using education degrees and qualifications is not a sensible or practical way of choosing the level headed voting public or social leaders.

It has often been proven that some of humanity's best social leaders are not "doctors or lawyers", some of the worst have been though.
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on October 21st, 2009, 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 8:10 pm

ok very true, point taken, but what do you think about our current system?

do you think some form of meritocracy will benefit us?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2009, 8:13 pm

^ no not really

our problem is not a matter of stupidity.
its a matter or morals and values.

the voting public often votes for the wrong values or allow themselves to get caught up in race, hype and tradition - three things that real democracy usually dies from.

Postby buzz » October 21st, 2009, 8:19 pm

interesting...

maybe i gave up on trinis too long ago hence my reasoning became too mechanistic

*shruggs*

infact i just get disgusted on the whole with average human behavior

for eg, evening traffic doesn't piss me off, its the greed and inconsideration of motorists that really gets me :|

d spike

Postby d spike » October 21st, 2009, 8:34 pm

buzz wrote:ok very true, point taken, but what do you think about our current system?

do you think some form of meritocracy will benefit us?

That's why I say use IQ level to decide! If yuh dotish, yuh cyah stain yuh finger! :lol: :lol: :lol: