one set ah chinese protesting by caroni..........

trvs

Postby trvs » October 13th, 2009, 10:31 am

after Monroe Road it should be smooth sailing for those who still before there... :wink:

Postby Greypatch » October 13th, 2009, 10:37 am

any reason for the traffic ?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 13th, 2009, 1:54 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:unconfirmed reports that police pulled over the two buses which they were travelling in.
they emptied and sat themselves down on the grass, lol...

Dunno what the pullover was for tho...overloading/illegal status??

govt work fast fast there tuh stop protest eh!

8-)

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 13th, 2009, 1:56 pm

i cannot say for ALL , but there are some of them that are subject to Absolutely disgusting living conditions.
some being forced to Sleep more than 10 to a 1 bedroom!

But MAny of them have NOT been paid for the past 2 months!

given

Postby given » October 13th, 2009, 2:17 pm

Trinis who under oppression take note on how to stand up? :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 13th, 2009, 2:35 pm

given wrote:Trinis who under oppression take note on how to stand up? :lol:

they toooo fcuking stupid, they would rather complain about being opressed and ALWAYS use it as their EXCUSE for their lack of ambition and their overall laziness!

8-)

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2009, 3:33 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:i cannot say for ALL , but there are some of them that are subject to Absolutely disgusting living conditions.

sounds like any normal day in the Beetham to me....

time to pull out dem bomb and brick and build a wall dem blow dem up eh?..

:?

Postby Gladiator » October 13th, 2009, 7:11 pm

Modern day slavery at large........ Good job Manning!!! We so proud.... we own some chinee slaves.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2009, 7:13 pm

Gladiator wrote:Modern day slavery at large........ Good job Manning!!! We so proud.... we own some chinee slaves.

we own black slaves in Beetham and some indians ones dong Barrackpore/Penal side...but i dont hear you complaining about the squalor that OUR OWN ppl live in.....

ae?!

Postby buzz » October 13th, 2009, 7:14 pm

so i guess manning bought these workers from china

rite rite

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2009, 7:17 pm

buzz wrote:so i guess manning bought these workers from china

rite rite

HEY!!!

DOH BE TALKING SENSE HERE!! DE FAWKE IS WRONGS WITH YOU?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 13th, 2009, 7:19 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:i cannot say for ALL , but there are some of them that are subject to Absolutely disgusting living conditions.

AND???????? like they have it better in china? u rather they sleep comfortable wit little or no money?

its not their boss fault,,when last did hdc pay contractors?

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2009, 7:22 pm

Rahtid wrote:

AND???????? like they have it better in china? u rather they sleep comfortable wit little or no money?

its not their boss fault,,when last did hdc pay contractors?

or many "successful businessmen" that run clothes stores or eating places....lets start there!!

but NOOOOOOOOOOO...IF WE PPL PROTEST....the first thing to come out thier mouths is ...

"IT GOOD FUH ALLYUH!! ENT IS PEEE ENNN EMMM YUH WANT? IT GOOD!!"

Postby Gladiator » October 13th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Modern day slavery at large........ Good job Manning!!! We so proud.... we own some chinee slaves.

we own black slaves in Beetham and some indians ones dong Barrackpore/Penal side...but i dont hear you complaining about the squalor that OUR OWN ppl live in.....

What construction site they working at? I dont think CEPEP counts cause their wages seem more than fair for the work output by the individuals...

All the cuban doctors and philipino pharmacists etc in the same monkey pants cause our govt pays their govt for their services... they are "owned" by their "masters" Govt and they are grossly underpaid. The majority of their income goes to the Govt who probably builds mansions with millions worth in drapery I guess...

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2009, 7:40 pm

Gladiator wrote:

What construction site they working at? I dont think CEPEP counts cause their wages seem more than fair for the work output by the individuals...

All the cuban doctors and philipino pharmacists etc in the same monkey pants cause our govt pays their govt for their services... they are "owned" by their "masters" Govt and they are grossly underpaid. The majority of their income goes to the Govt who probably builds mansions with millions worth in drapery I guess...

yuno..it had some motorcade in Arima Saturday gorne..and this "Drapery talk" come up....very breifly tho..lol...cuz nuff bottle start to fly...(wonders how come this didnt make news)...

I really cudnt care about foreigners coming here and working for Pittance...this is DEM problem....just as how a US citizen doh care if i go over to thier land and work for Pittance. If them read contract and sign on dotted linje, that is dem Khaki pants to handle..

but doh jump to thier defence simply becuz "they X Y and Z" and we OWN ppl (not even CECEP...but UNEMPLOYED..PPL who does STILL go by the River to get water to wash/bathe/cook) suffering. Support THAT cause rather than "Drapery"...

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2009, 8:33 pm

slavery is not necessarily against a particular race,
in Africa today slavery still exists with the masters being black Africans themselves

many of these "chinese" workers, are being directly mistreated by their own supervisors/managers who happen to also be "chinese"

we tend to refer to people by race collectively, but I doubt they care any less as in their case its every man for himself

Postby buzz » October 13th, 2009, 8:57 pm

pugboy wrote:slavery is not necessarily against a particular race,
in Africa today slavery still exists with the masters being black Africans themselves

many of these "chinese" workers, are being directly mistreated by their own supervisors/managers who happen to also be "chinese"

we tend to refer to people by race collectively, but I doubt they care any less as in their case its every man for himself

i agree

not saying that they shouldn't have better conditions

by all means they should, they are human

but media hype/ignorance/ usual-trini-not-thinking again makin it look like we capture dem and wokkin dem :?

Humes

Postby Humes » October 14th, 2009, 6:52 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
$h@dy wrote:Chinese put we trini to shame yes! They unify to do something for whatever reason. :shock:

YUP- thats why trinidadians i always say have NO BACK BONE!

they never stand united for anything unless its carnival or football!

I trying to understand this.

You've never seen a group of Trinidadian workers unite to protest their working conditions?

Really?

Have you been living in another country, are you blind, or do you just jump at the chance to concoct false condemnations about Trinidad without actually thinking?

Postby Greypatch » October 14th, 2009, 7:03 am

the chinese should all go home.

this dot of a nation is not worth the trouble.

devrat

Postby devrat » October 14th, 2009, 7:19 am

The Chinese that are here to work live like they do because it is cheap, they need to save their earnings to pay back the cost of their ticket here plus fees to the "establised" chinese business people who bring them here.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 14th, 2009, 7:34 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

sounds like any normal day in the Beetham to me....

time to pull out dem bomb and brick and build a wall dem blow dem up eh?..

:?

THE CHINESE THAT CAME HERE were seeking a better life and were given a work opportunity, they were not promised anything in return exceot a paycheck.

them ppl in the beetham were brought here by Williams back in the day and PROMISED a better life and FREE citizenship in return for voting them IN office.
Those beetham ppl Like eet so, they like dem life there, bandit embracing bandit! If they didnt like it why d fork dem didnt go back tuh wherever de fork dem come from?????

So what the fork yuh trying to compare caviar tuh watermelon for ? :?

Eh rasta???

Postby SR » October 14th, 2009, 7:49 am

ah sorry but its not our problem

the same analagy can be made with foreigners working in the US

they do the jobs that locals dont want to do
dont complain about they are taking away jobs

thier contracts are not with the government but the company that hired them

if the government chooses to deal with unscrupulous companies then that is our problem

noobie

Postby noobie » October 14th, 2009, 7:50 am

THe issue here is simple:

Violation of human rights and the violation of local labour laws

Who works harder than whom is not a factor.

What you have here is a situation where people are brought into the country and kept in subhuman conditions, worked for long hours, and now apparently not paid.

These people made an open plea for assistance, and the people of Trinidad and Tobago, and the Government of Trinidad and Tobago has apparently turned a blind eye.

Instead we're arguing about laventille and beetham. What does that have to do with anything? 85 human beings who were brought to this country supposedly to assist in OUR development are saying that they have no food, no money, no water. Our own citizens are saying that as far as they can see, these people live "in a jail".

How can a foreign firm be allowed to breach our health laws and our labour laws in this way?

And even aside from the Laws which are being broken, how can you as citizens of this country support treating other human beings in that manner?
Stacking them in a warehouse with no toilet facilities like cattle?

noobie

Postby noobie » October 14th, 2009, 9:42 am

thelem wrote:uhmm..I dont understand something. It just doesnt make sense to me what noobie is trying to bring up as an issue.

soooooooooo...why are they still continuing to work?? :?:

Do they have a choice?

Educate yourself and do some googling for Labour Laws, Minimum Wage, Modern Slavery and the reports from Dubai and answer your own questions.

The answer is really self evident, and the question indicates an absolute lack of understanding on the part of the questioner.

Which could be the root cause of the apparent ignorance displayed thus far about the situation.

These 85 individuals who have complained, we'll see what happens to them.

A question for you, HOW will we know what happens to them?

noobie

Postby noobie » October 14th, 2009, 10:08 am

thelem wrote:
I'm not an apparent "slavery activist" like you. Therefore your choice of words to express how my question was brought across was inappropriate and arrogant.

This isnt the 1st time i've seen u been so passionate on this matter. I think you should go and join them and represent them as a local representative.

*mutter*
sorry.
*grumble*

Here is the background for labour laws and why they were needed:
The days where the labourers toiled hard for a pittance are in for a welcome change. Some of the legislations are intended to set the imbalance right. Read on to know more…

The odds have always been stacked against them. Ever since industrialisation became a force to reckon with, the working class has been at the receiving end of the ill treatment meted out to them by their employers. The fact that they were illiterate, unsure of themselves and disunited did nothing to improve their situation. They were systematically exploited and discriminated against by hordes of employers, for whom profits took precedence over everything else, including the health and welfare of a worker.

Workers were made to work for long hours under absolutely inhuman conditions. They were paid a pittance for the work they put in. All too often, a proportion of this pittance was taken away under one pretext or the other.

Workers could do nothing about this injustice. They had no right to discuss the terms and conditions of their employment. The constant influx of migrants, from rural to urban areas in search of employment, ensured that employers were always assured of cheap labour and a submissive working class. Anyone who refused to work under these conditions would lose his job to another worker grateful for the opportunity to earn a living.

The demand for consumer goods rose around the two World wars. Employers felt the need to go in for large-scale production in order to cope with the demand. It was at this time that workers realized that if they were to band together, they would be able to demand more equitable terms and conditions of employment. This realisation led to a demand for higher wages and better working conditions. When employers refused to heed these demands, strikes and lockouts became the commonplace.

Around this time, the government decided to impose some kind of order in this set-up. A number of laws were enacted in order to provide relief to workers and ensure the smooth working of the production process.

You may better understand why those that still espouse this old world view with statements such as " Well ENT dem come here to work for that money and dem conditions? Why dey doh go back home?" you realise how utterly anachronistic and retrograde it sounds.

trvs

Postby trvs » October 15th, 2009, 12:28 am

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » October 15th, 2009, 3:53 am

^^^looks like a scene from a Jet-Li movie,the bad guy (po-po) takes a swing and has his arse handed to him by the unarmed hero LOL

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » October 15th, 2009, 5:57 am

Man thats TTPS at their best....... :mrgreen:

Postby rollingstock » October 15th, 2009, 11:04 am

don't take the pic out of context, the officer didn't swing, normal newspaper manipulation, i know that t&t police has a bad rep, but the biggest problem was that our officers look intimidating but are no where as aggressive or oppressive as the security forces in china, most of the officers there were in agreement with the plight of the workers, but have their job to perform.

devrat

Postby devrat » October 15th, 2009, 11:23 am

The look on the chinese guy's face.....我將å