one more time ("illegal tint") define...

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » September 7th, 2009, 10:13 pm

have me feelin to sell my clarion deck now yess! :?

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » September 7th, 2009, 10:20 pm

offer d officer a 500 to get away :mrgreen:

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » September 8th, 2009, 12:09 am

How it is these so called leaders dont realize u need a device to test the tint.

and $2,000 based on subjectivity? I wud rather go to court and plea my case if i have reason.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 8th, 2009, 12:20 am

I agree......but hey maybe selling of glass/window shades might not be a bad business to get into....hmmmm

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » September 8th, 2009, 12:37 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:I agree......but hey maybe selling of glass/window shades might not be a bad business to get into....hmmmm

they might make that illegal jess now.

Postby wagonrunner » September 8th, 2009, 7:47 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:I agree......but hey maybe selling of glass/window shades might not be a bad business to get into....hmmmm

is curtain, right facking round now. :lol:
i could see outside.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 8th, 2009, 7:51 am

here we go again...

correct me if i wrong but...

ent las time it was concluded that they could impound yuh car (for some dotish reason i eh know what, maybe the officer can't see inside clearly) and u hadda pay $1000 or convince the transport commissioner why you shouldn't have to pay the money?

Postby equipped2ripp » September 8th, 2009, 7:58 am

I have those coming :lol: :lol: :lol:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 8th, 2009, 8:08 am

thats intresting.. it tint is illegal is a curtain technicaly the glass is not obstructed.. jsut the view further than the inch or so in front of the curtain.. i knwo the cons of this but that particular point what do you all think?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 8th, 2009, 8:15 am

equipped- pm me when it s here!

Postby SUPAstarr » September 8th, 2009, 8:17 am

so no more chance to rip off tint, jus ticket in yuh tail one time? all de ppl that buy peel off tint, wham to them, cuz popo walkin round any where an will jus han yuh ah ticket, so yuh doh hav any time to pull it off?

bird want a ride

Postby bird want a ride » September 8th, 2009, 8:22 am

Well tuners we would see,since this country is situated in the tropics.How can we deal with this hot sun :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 8th, 2009, 8:28 am

It's of no benefit to the gov't to define what is illegal tint.

By using the existing archaic laws, they can entrap more people into paying fines.........think about it. Some police can deem ANYONES tint as being illegal.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 8th, 2009, 8:45 am

will a easier question be what is "legal tint"

quintessentiallyenigmatic

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » September 8th, 2009, 9:04 am

Guys the main reason i put dark tint was for my kids (2 yrs & 3 mths )
they strapped in their car seats so they can't really move when the sun hits them
however this clear llumar tint i'm hearing about does it really work efficiently
does it just block uv rays (which is good ) what i'm concerned about is the light in their eyes & body
any help & suggestions
where to get & cost etc

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 8th, 2009, 10:04 am

pioneer wrote:no lightmeter?...i had to peel off 35% two weeks ago...
You peel of 35%? Y 4 U do dat? I have 30% on the wagon right round... that staying right there.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 8th, 2009, 11:04 am

now my car has tinted glass except for front and windscreen, and stock fogs. Am i in the green?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 8th, 2009, 12:40 pm

^^Nope. Depends on which "police division" you encounter. Some of them deem all tint illegal.

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » September 8th, 2009, 1:50 pm

hydroep wrote:
if they unclear about 'illegal tint', they should take a second look at all their ministry's and gov't official vehicles

There was some debate about this a while ago and the officials were saying that where there's a risk to certain public officials like the PM and President, or a threat to National Security exceptions must be made...:|

It makes sense eh, but that doesn't make it any less unfair.

how is that unfair?
who else rides in PM1?
not the PM?

doesnt he have a fleet of security detail?
I say start from the top
tint removal for all of them

3rdone

Postby 3rdone » September 8th, 2009, 2:28 pm

src1983 is 100% correct. every law in every country has to be subjective, not objective i.e there must be some scientific way of determining conformity. the so-called tint standard has this, and makes mention of a minimum of 20% of the light outside of the car must enter the vehicle. need a light meter to determine this btw.

Postby Greypatch » September 8th, 2009, 3:03 pm

somebody write the minister and TC...

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 8th, 2009, 3:16 pm

PEOPLE should really write about the BUDGET and this archaic tint law.

Letters can be addressed to

The Guardian: letters@ttol.com

Newsday: newsday@newsday.com

Express: express@trinidadexpress.com

TrinidadandTobagoNews.com: editors20-news@yahoo.com

Look forward to seeing your letters.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 8th, 2009, 4:28 pm

quintessentiallyenigmatic wrote:Guys the main reason i put dark tint was for my kids (2 yrs & 3 mths )
they strapped in their car seats so they can't really move when the sun hits them
however this clear llumar tint i'm hearing about does it really work efficiently
does it just block uv rays (which is good ) what i'm concerned about is the light in their eyes & body
any help & suggestions
where to get & cost etc

This is my reason also for re-tinting my wife's car which is the main vehicle we use to drive around with our new-born in. I, like you, am very concerned about the sunlight on his eyes and skin. Another reason for the tint, is to provide a level of privacy so that we can breast feed him when we go to a place and there are no maternity feeding stations.

i am sure you, like myself, have Baby on Board Signs, i'm sure your have little teddy bears and all sorts of baby items that obviously makes your vehicle "a baby on board" one. What recourse do we have should we be charged? I am most willing to be searched, background check, whatever it takes - i know i am no criminal - to ensure my baby is well protected in and out of the vehicle.

D.s.s.s

Postby D.s.s.s » September 8th, 2009, 7:01 pm

[quote="neoise"]Exactly ....... if they want to fine $2000 for 'illegal tint' they must have a standard by which to compare - as it is if an officer or licensing officer doh like ur head u better watch out[/quote]

exactly wat is illegal ?
sometints are light at day and at night you cant really notice neone. how can they define that...
they dont want illegal drugs in the country wat are they doin pinnig all from of illegal entry.so if there's illegal tint dahhhhhhhhhhh wat r they to do.the government so freakin corrupted isnt not even funny...

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » September 8th, 2009, 10:12 pm

yuh no nw more dan eva i dos tink abt assassinatin d prime-minster an d president 2 4 choosin dat man who hav his brains on his feet 2 b prime-minster dey hav 2 turn him ovr an put him 2 stand on he head an den maybe he wud get som sence....

Postby X2 » September 8th, 2009, 11:52 pm

Seriously tho.. what IS legal ?

I have no a/c... I NEED tint ! But I am not about to pay out $2000, much less $20 to support a law that not one person enforcing it can justify or even prove. If the popo wants to see inside a car, they don't need roadblocks... they need to start pulling over people ON THE ROAD... like all the damn gangsters I see EVERYDAY that have completely blacked out cars... windscreen and all. I don't see how a light tint should be in fear of the law.

Postby foss » September 8th, 2009, 11:57 pm

take every thing to court and fight it.. let dem show u, where in the law states what u have is illegal..

let dem occifers backpedal so fast out the court room

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 9th, 2009, 10:12 am

pioneer wrote:cuz a not-so-educated policeman told me it too heavy and he cya see inside...
That is why you should have reported this officer as being unfit for duty due to being visually impared.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 10th, 2009, 1:31 am

equipped2ripp wrote:

I have those coming :lol: :lol: :lol:

damn you!!!!!!! there goes my million$..........lol

demented

Postby demented » September 10th, 2009, 1:52 am

Here is an example of California's tint law:

California Window Tint Law
California Tint Law Enacted: 1999
HOW DARK CAN WINDOW TINT BE IN CALIFORNIA?

Darkness of tint is measured by Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%). In California, this percentage refers to percentage of visible light allowed in through the combination of film and the window.

Windshield Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
Front Side Windows Must allow more than 70% of light in.
Back Side Windows Any darkness can be used.
Rear Window Any darkness can be used.

HOW REFLECTIVE CAN THE TINT BE IN CALIFORNIA?

Similar to sunglass lenses, some tinting film contain metallic elements that help in reflecting incoming light and reducing the glare and heat generated by visible light.

Front Side Windows Must not be more reflective than a standard window.
Back Side Windows Must not be more reflective than a standard window.

OTHER CALIFORNIA RULES AND REGULATIONS

Restricted Colors The tint color(s) of RED AMBER BLUE are not legal by state law.
Side Mirrors Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
Certificate Requirements Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state.
Sticker Requirements No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.
Medical Exemption State law does NOT allow medical exemptions that would allow you use special tint.

The Gov't needs to ammend the local tint law to be somewhat specific like this.