Need a House Plan drawn up.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 1:33 pm

aR&D wrote:
Nigson wrote:yeah but is not a big structure - already have my ideas drafted out - its just to get it professionally done.....

remember that for approval your Building plans must include:

* roofing details drawings/plan
* foundation and pillar drawings
* the building/structure detail and roadway orientation plan

you should budget $5k - $7k approved. Also you should try to get it done electronically/AutoCAD.

Also, when the draftsman quotes you his price ensure it is for approval/ T&C fees, local corp fees and sadly but a reality/possibility "grease-hand / pull strings / fast track fees"

My advise to you is do not engage in any bribery and trust me it will come in many forms from the concrete salesman, the local corp man, transportation man, heck even your very own contractor may test you.

just play like your "chupid" and eh understand what they asking yuh. From the moment you start down that road it is a never ending one.

Keep your integrity intact and you will be fine.

good luck and keep us updated

All of that is well and good.
the first thing the intending house builder needs to do, is decide what he wants as far as services go, whether you want:i.e.

Architectural services -

Meeting the clients and discussing their needs/wants for their new home/building
Visiting the site with client to get an idea of the initial design concept for utilizing every available feature of the surrounding landscape - ( View, wind,etc.)
Obtaining from T&C an Outline Approval which will state what can / cant be built on the parcel of land, which will outline the setbacks, heights of buildings, purpose of building , etc.
Designing a building that fits the needs/requirements of the client & T&C
preparation of a schematic design for the client to have an idea of what they're getting
Final designs based on agreed schematic drawings
PREPARATION OF ALL DRAWINGS (6 copies of each)MANDATORY FOR SEEKING APPROVALS as follows.

Location plan
Site plan
Foundation Plans
Floor plan(s)
Elevations
Sections
details - roof joint/wall corner details/etc. etc.(abt 3 or 4 different pages dependent on design)
Roof framing plan
Isometric Plumbing Drawings & related Approvals
Electrical drawings & related approvals

-All new works are to be coloured red...!= time consuming for 4 copies of each.
-submit all required drawings for approvals

-Obtaining and submitting all legal documents for various approvals
-preparing a scope of works for tender process to contractors
-preparing legal tender/contractual documents and inviting contractors to tender
-acquiring and assessing all tender packages
-Discussing and agreeing with clients on nomination of contractor
- preparing documentation for same

N.B. While all of this is happening, it is the responsibility of the architect to be constantly checking T&C to see if approvals are ready and if any additional info is needed. They sometimes refuse your application for a missing piece of info as small as a door missing a size on the dwg! At which time you have to do over everything because they've already stamped their refusal stamp on the drawings.

Once youve received the approved drawings, you can start construction. Although, in most cases, some who have made sure that everything is correct from the start to avoid delays further down the road, can therefore start construction/ground works, once a contractor is nominated, while waiting on approvals.

- Constant supervision throughout the duration of the project from the start to the end.
- making sure that both the client and contractor sticks to their responsibilities as stated in the contract agreement.
- final Payments to all involved parties to mark the end of architectural services.
Clearly 7k cannot pay for the above services.
Or let me be a lil more clear-er...

I will not be undertaking the above for 7k..
That may just cover phone calls, gas, and general expenses to get the above done. We eh talk WORK yet!

Drafting Services.
-Receiving a sketch/idea from client
-Preparing the necessary drawings (hopefully in a professional manner to avoid time wasting later on.
-Submitting for approvals.
Get Paid 3 or 4 or 5k....Whatever they woke up feeling to charge- i guess.

/rant

Postby Monk BANzai » January 7th, 2010, 1:38 pm

Oleander wrote:Image

nah..yuh hadda do eet professional..

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 1:43 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:roofing plan is not usually required for approval, unless it is specifically requested by the corporation..

Really??? So they put it on the list of REQUIRED drawings just in case??

Halfbreed07 wrote: if u still looking for someone pm me. i got many a plan passed by doing the correct thing, no one ever asked for as bribe, that usually done if your drawing/design is crap.

Time Frame??

Halfbreed07 wrote:I'm still owned 8k from a guy that asked me to do 40 plumbing iso's over a weekend, I did it with a smile, and a song in my heart.
He claimed he never got paid, i forgave him though, i considered that money dead now.

Thaks ppl like Rahtid for that.
What he doesnt realise is the more "FREE" and " CHEaP" services that he offers to the public, the less respect and integrity is obtained from said public for people in this discipline.

Might be me, but you operate with professionalism and you will be treated like one IMHO.

Prepare proper documentation for all of your undertakings in duplicate if need be , where the client signs in agreement of fees, services etc.This serves as a form of contract which will have to be honoured on completion or on phases as written in the document.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 1:44 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Oleander wrote:Image

nah..yuh hadda do eet professional..

*1kick*

Where are your measurements?? :twisted:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 2:02 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper,
is that a new requirement? i sbmitted many plans without a roof plan, and dey got passed, the roof connection details are sufficient

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » January 7th, 2010, 2:39 pm

halfbreed..tings rel gloomy these days...seems the end is near

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 3:02 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper,
is that a new requirement? i sbmitted many plans without a roof plan, and dey got passed, the roof connection details are sufficient

Yuh give the man a house with no roof??? Thats why he eh pay yuh the 8k!! :lol: :lol:

It is a requirement, even if not at the T&C stage, it's needed when the dwgs goes across to Regional Health Department.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 3:07 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper,

well in sangre grande they never asked for it, of course the roof outline and elevations are shown in other drawings, as well as the apex and eve detail. they never ask to see the actual roof framing plan, i guess your experience was different to mine.
the 8k :cry: was for plumbing iso's not house plans

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 3:16 pm

Strange.....They make sure and ask for them.
Additionally, being someone in the field, you'd realise that seeing that it has to be done at somepoint ,that it will be alot easier to prepare them simultaneously when preparing the others as well..

[/tip]

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 3:25 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Strange.....They make sure and ask for them.
Additionally, being someone in the field, you'd realise that seeing that it has to be done at somepoint ,that it will be alot easier to prepare them simultaneously when preparing the others as well..

[/tip]

i have some experience with these things as well. :wink:
totally agree with you but most clients ask and pay for approval drawings, the roofing contractor usually handles the roofing layout.
when we do 'for construction drawings' is a different kettle of fish.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 3:42 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Strange.....They make sure and ask for them.

[/tip]

i have some experience with these things as well. :wink:
totally agree with you but most clients ask and pay for approval drawings, the roofing contractor usually handles the roofing layout.
when we do 'for construction drawings' is a different kettle of fish.

Going the extra mile helps alot with PJ's

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 7th, 2010, 3:52 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper,
cant disagree there, but most clients want the absolute minimum, as such they will get what they pay for. but like i said our construction drawings would contain everything they would need, civil/structural, mech, elect, etc.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 7th, 2010, 3:57 pm

I dont encourage it...
I tell them my fees, if they say nahhh...ohh god...pRESSHA- as is more common than others, i tell them feel free to look around...Knowing fully well in my mind that i done with them already. Too much experience with this and general Trini mentality, and more and more you'll realise, that if they start like that, it's gonna be worse at the end.
I would rather lose a job than do it for less money and at a lesser standard.

Strange, it's more than a few instances when they come back after a few months with some half assed plans for me to then rectify and continue with the process.

Its simple- with a smile, " Boy , i'd love to help but my drawing board (so to speak) is full..

Postby 3stagevtec » January 18th, 2010, 1:12 pm

bump

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 18th, 2010, 1:57 pm

^^why?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 18th, 2010, 4:25 pm

bump ....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 18th, 2010, 4:30 pm

Soundwave wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:^^why?

maybe he didn't like that I agreed with you...

oh well :roll:

lald boy

Postby lald boy » January 19th, 2010, 5:05 pm

call me if u really want to get the plans drawn up.
derrick lal 740 4189

Postby 3stagevtec » January 19th, 2010, 6:10 pm

so that i can easily find the thread when necessary..

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 19th, 2010, 7:05 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

Gues the search for "house Plans" option is difficult for some :roll:

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2010, 10:51 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

Gues the search for "house Plans" option is difficult for some :roll:

guess the impulse to make a.hole remarks is too difficult for some to resist..

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 20th, 2010, 11:30 am

When in Rome buddy....

Wolfgang123

Re: Need a House Plan drawn up.

Postby Wolfgang123 » January 1st, 2021, 9:13 am

Good day, have an old apartment building I'm planning to renovate need a proper housing plan done, thank you in advance