Any word from the driver of the datsun? *Pics* Camden 5th*

Postby tr1ad » July 6th, 2009, 11:38 pm

JBL wrote:
partycrasher wrote:Back in the days the reputation of this car was one lap,two laps and COLLAPSE!!!!

want ah fig fuh dat?

ah shut yuh kant ....yuh might learn a thing or two

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 6th, 2009, 11:51 pm

dam :cry:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 7th, 2009, 12:34 am

Nanan wrote:Guys,

Thanks for the concern, there are a few good people out there on the forum. I'm the oldest of NANAN Racing. Sorry about the poor tree. I'II have them replant a tree but not there.

Amit (driver), my little Bro is OK just allot of pain, out for a few days but my dad (Joe) not looking so well, part of him is injured (de Kar), just goes to show you the love for a machine.

This car has been in the family since the mid 70's. We all learned to build & drive with this old car and it's a DATSUN 1200.

It has gone through alot of changes, first it had a Hunter Hilman 1725 engine (known as Hot Stuff) then a Datsun 1.8 SS spec, a Nissan L20B, Z22 and finally it's now powered by and SR 20.
This time around lots of money was spent on the engine, Race-Cams, piston valve spring, clutch, flywheel etc. Very powerfull and all going through a Ford Quafe 4 speed gear box and Nissan 5.1 Rear w/Race Lock up.

We haven't got around to finding out what happened but from the little at this time, something may have snaped in the gear box, causing him to loose controll just at the Apex of the corner. This is not final.

On a different note, Glad it wasn't my car, Amit was to drive two Race car on that day which included my B13. I was busy at Karting

partycrasher- you've got to be very OLD to remember that statment or related to the drunk @$$ that said it.

Bear in mind what this car has accomlplished but local and foregin, you will only have in you dreams. I'd forgotten about that statment, those were realy hard time for the car and as with all new machine going through development this was the learning curve.
Special thank for bring back some childhood memories, thery were great.

Please us the fig wisely ................ thanks JBL

thanks for the update Haresh
I hope Amit recovers soon... and Joe too! lol

qwkwhip

Postby qwkwhip » July 7th, 2009, 10:36 am

It's a pity the 'marshals' during that race did not see it fit to stop the race at the time of the accident.

I guess that's FIA standards.

Postby Maserati » July 7th, 2009, 10:40 am

qwkwhip wrote:It's a pity the 'marshals' during that race did not see it fit to stop the race at the time of the accident.

I guess that's FIA standards.

so they continued racing all out?
no yellow flag to indicate caution in that particular area?

it's probably TTASA 'FIA' standards

qwkwhip

Postby qwkwhip » July 7th, 2009, 10:42 am

I guess as he was not driving an evo or subaru it did not matter to the authorities.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 7th, 2009, 11:05 am

Bear in mind what this car has accomlplished but local and foregin, you will only have in you dreams.

Don't get personal bro. Hope he recovers soon. Just a question, you said that you suspected mechanical failure. Is driver error ruled out? I'm just asking, big people make mistakes. I grew up in South and the blue Nanan gate held so much mystery and dreams of grandeur.

Nanan

Postby Nanan » July 7th, 2009, 11:37 am

Guys,

the pic. bring back allot of old, long lost GOOD DAYS. the white 1200 was belonged to me. This was my everyday car, it was powered by A14 -restroke to 1600cc all Nismo race piston, centerforce clutch, Nismo engine middle close gear set, 4.1ratio LSD diff the full works, valves, springs, and an ISKY cam on the power plant, coil overs etc.. the engine Red lined @10,000 rpm. This was a little push rod engine.

The problem was, all the money was spent on the mechanical part of the car and NONE for tires. look at the pic.. it's foregin used.

Back then the Bamboo was very limited on performance part, even none.

MG, Dragist;
if you've got more pic. please send them to me or post. It will help allot of people understand how much we love this sport and what we go through. thanks

Daune;
just remember your love for this sport when it stated, remember us putting on the 23/36 Weber on your dads gold Automatic Mazda 323 and telling him it just the Air Filter we changed. Then heading down to drag race on the Highway...............
Guys back them Duane was printing Nismo paper back sticker for the gang to look good, as soon a rain fell the sticker washed off........

qwkwhip:
this was one of the reason I left TTASA managment as their Competition Chairman due to the fact that they could not get their act together to move the sport forward in a positive direction.

From my understanding and people that spoke to me, is that they did NOT stop the race and allowed it to continue. My other Bro (Dave) was very angry. Even the Marshall didn't know what to do, didn't have the correct flag.

Most people saw Amit come out the car, sit down and then fall to the ground. This is very SAD to see and to hear TTSA took their god time.

It clearly shows that TTASA planning was not good, I do Hope that they get it correct the next time around. Luckly it was not a major accident.

I don't want to even let you guys know about the ambulance, it was sad...

Find those old pic... thanks guys

Nanan

Postby Nanan » July 7th, 2009, 11:48 am

PROZAC,
I do apoligise, not me by nature but some times one get carried away when poeple should be banding together for the betterment of this sport and not throwing insults.

Today I'm going to have a chat with Amit. I don't think it's driver error due to the fact he's been building, testing, driving and racing this car in wallerfield. He very experience, so much that he was 1 1/2 sec faster than my dad.

I'II get to the bottom of this and let you guys know, if it was or not.

thanks

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 7th, 2009, 11:53 am

I'll be first the to admit the phrase he said was one that was repeated over and over and I learnt growing up. It wasn't until I was out on my own and able to meet your dad and feel out motorsport itself was it removed from me. Thats it though, it's the people around you in your own town that will bring you down the most.
But still,great to know you and your brother have taken upon yourselves the mantle.
Zac

Nanan

Postby Nanan » July 7th, 2009, 12:10 pm

You are so correct,

Nanan Racing biggest obsticle was our own people, this was not easy to deal with. We being New to the sport and all, they could understand it at that time.

One of the reason why my dad never got arround to developing the company, just allowed it to run on it own.

It's when we got older and didin't take the $hit that thing started going our way.

You wouldn't belive the number of people we got involved and to date got lots of storys that can be shared (cross crossing, val park, foreShore, free port, M2 etc....)

Just a little history and to my knowledge, My dad was the first in deep south to start racing and it was in 1977. Back then I was 7.

Just imagine, going to school form debe to san fernando in a full built race car, rool cage and all, sitting on the foor and holding on to the rool cage.

No one knows what joy that was, the car even had the short exhaust.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 7th, 2009, 10:08 pm

Nanan wrote:You are so correct,

Nanan Racing biggest obsticle was our own people, this was not easy to deal with. We being New to the sport and all, they could understand it at that time.

It's when we got older and didin't take the $hit that thing started going our way.

You wouldn't belive the number of people we got involved and to date got lots of storys that can be shared (cross crossing, val park, foreShore, free port, M2 etc....)

Just a little history and to my knowledge, My dad was the first in deep south to start racing and it was in 1977. Back then I was 7.

Just imagine, going to school form debe to san fernando in a full built race car, rool cage and all, sitting on the foor and holding on to the rool cage.

No one knows what joy that was, the car even had the short exhaust.

good advice I must remember this

Postby Monk BANzai » July 7th, 2009, 10:12 pm

interesting reading...good history....and based on developments i heard today......looks like there's a bright future for motorsport after all!!...

just remember, no organization is infallible....

Nanan

Postby Nanan » July 7th, 2009, 11:00 pm

just checking, my spelling is out badly.

MotorSport has a bright future, we all need to come togehter as one unit, show our strength not just sit back and talk about it.

I've got lots of history behind me and my family and I do wish that everyone out there in motorSport can have the same as I did. I'm one of the lucky few.

By the way,
Report from by Bro;

The 2nd gear didn't go in (was having problems with it all morning) something went wrong in the gearbox, so thinking it wasn't in and not working let out the clutch and decided to give up but as soon as he got off the clutch the car wipped around with the front wheel ending up on the grass, no control. Tree died.

He's still in some pain but will recover. Parts listing already written up to get the car ready. Spare engine dusted out. Work may start months end.

Just to show you the love for the sport.

Postby Monk BANzai » July 7th, 2009, 11:04 pm

Nanan wrote:just checking, my spelling is out badly.

MotorSport has a bright future, we all need to come togehter as one unit, show our strength not just sit back and talk about it.

I've got lots of history behind me and my family and I do wish that everyone out there in motorSport can have the same as I did. I'm one of the lucky few.

By the way,
Report from by Bro;

The 2nd gear didn't go in (was having problems with it all morning) something went wrong in the gearbox, so thinking it wasn't in and not working let out the clutch and decided to give up but as soon as he got off the clutch the car wipped around with the front wheel ending up on the grass, no control. Tree died.

He's still in some pain but will recover. Parts listing already written up to get the car ready. Spare engine dusted out. Work may start months end.

Just to show you the love for the sport.

where allyuh based?.....in fact...nevr mind.. chk PM...

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » July 7th, 2009, 11:33 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

MG Man wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: back then I had ah Fuji Discovery 120 film camera...even with full zoom this was the best I could do :(

Cool pic..being a youngun just like to ask where and when was it taken?

ziig

hey harresh

Postby ziig » July 8th, 2009, 3:52 am

hey dude sorry about the car boy!!!
Uncle Joe must be pissed..and sad all at once.........but no matter how much he love that car ..I know he more love you and ur brother so no worries..lol
it was nice to see some of the older circuit cars out there ..like you guys and ZMMA ..cant believe Tanko drove it!!!!!!!
too bad the old zigs racing rx7 wasnt in the crowd of ledgends,

wish i was there man .......... i miss the good ole days..
as for the marshals...nothing seems to change ehh? when we will have a serious attitude and not .." i am a marshal so all i have to do is stand here and drink beer all day"
ohhwell maybe one day we will see racing run right in trini

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » July 8th, 2009, 7:47 am

Nanan wrote:Guys,

the pic. bring back allot of old, long lost GOOD DAYS. the white 1200 was belonged to me. This was my everyday car, it was powered by A14 -restroke to 1600cc all Nismo race piston, centerforce clutch, Nismo engine middle close gear set, 4.1ratio LSD diff the full works, valves, springs, and an ISKY cam on the power plant, coil overs etc.. the engine Red lined @10,000 rpm. This was a little push rod engine.

The problem was, all the money was spent on the mechanical part of the car and NONE for tires. look at the pic.. it's foregin used.

Back then the Bamboo was very limited on performance part, even none.

MG, Dragist;
if you've got more pic. please send them to me or post. It will help allot of people understand how much we love this sport and what we go through. thanks

Daune;
just remember your love for this sport when it stated, remember us putting on the 23/36 Weber on your dads gold Automatic Mazda 323 and telling him it just the Air Filter we changed. Then heading down to drag race on the Highway...............Guys back them Duane was printing Nismo paper back sticker for the gang to look good, as soon a rain fell the sticker washed off........

qwkwhip:
this was one of the reason I left TTASA managment as their Competition Chairman due to the fact that they could not get their act together to move the sport forward in a positive direction.

From my understanding and people that spoke to me, is that they did NOT stop the race and allowed it to continue. My other Bro (Dave) was very angry. Even the Marshall didn't know what to do, didn't have the correct flag.

Most people saw Amit come out the car, sit down and then fall to the ground. This is very SAD to see and to hear TTSA took their god time.

It clearly shows that TTASA planning was not good, I do Hope that they get it correct the next time around. Luckly it was not a major accident.

I don't want to even let you guys know about the ambulance, it was sad...

Find those old pic... thanks guys

street racing was legal back then? just asking..

Postby MG Man » July 8th, 2009, 8:29 am

ahfella wrote:
MG Man wrote:Image

MG Man wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: back then I had ah Fuji Discovery 120 film camera...even with full zoom this was the best I could do :(

Cool pic..being a youngun just like to ask where and when was it taken?

Tjis was the Buen Intento stage in Princes Town.......TTRC ran this stage twice. It is now a housing development :-(
We were on that corner using our old Fatsun pickup to block access tot he stage.......that was the event where Devi pranged the Turbo GSR :(

Nanan

Postby Nanan » July 8th, 2009, 9:30 am

Ziig:
Whats up, nice to hear from you. Hows the family.

yeh - things ain't change, same old crap.

Saleem786:
It was illegal but everyone banded together so it was very hard for the police to get rid of us. In one night we would race in 2-3 different location very timely.

Everyone had the right attitude.

Some History:
I remember, that same little 1200 Datsun, Val Park - then race across everyone to Foreshore and the finally racing around the Savannah all done in one night.

Another One and ask Duane & Devi: Highway @ Sando tech. They both were street racers through Nanan Racing.

Imagine this:
you're at the Freeport flyover exit ramp, parked North bound just where the school fence is, around 1.00-1.30am after racing from sando (police came) and looking back and seeing the following.
Approximately 80-100 car in perfect file order side by side (looked like a motorcade,) coming at about 80-100km and all headed to see street drag, that was the most amazing thing I ever saw, it was like out of the movies.

I was one of the 4 cars that made it first to the site (280Z, GSR, Mustang and my 1200). Bear in mind these were all very high powered cars at there time, Nos turbo, chargers, lots of performance part.

As they come to memory I'II give you guys more.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 8th, 2009, 9:39 am

^^^^ Great reading , I loved those days , I will look for more Pictures of the Car and post them up .

DAvid

ziig

street racing

Postby ziig » July 8th, 2009, 10:31 am

Imagine this.....saturday night bout 11..........couple guys challenge each other....one guy with his sunny ..MODS...cam, full side draft, extractors, nice clean car, msd etc
other guy ford escort 2.0 L in a RS model, full race cams, full side draft, extractors etc
so they jump in car and head to savanah....before they can race cops pull up..they just sit there, so everyone leaves nice and orderly.......drive through St James....by now when i look through my mirror there are only head lights....we head out to carenage,......head lights for as far as you can see...i mean all of the road is a line of cars driving slowly and reving out now and again...no over taking or speeding or stupidness....that night all kind a man race and had fun till alter on when cops come again...

they never did us anything because we actually held our thing really organized and we never break the road laws while driving..( except for the actual street race LOL)!!!!!

that was a sight though....hundreds of cars to see a few guys run......

ohh the sunny get real licks.....
that same escort run on diegomartin highway againt that sunny and end up loosing brakes and flipping......lol ohh well that is the risk i guess

anyway I think now adays...street racers too wild and that spoiling it..

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » July 8th, 2009, 6:10 pm

we lackin dat bad bad these days..man does be racing on d way to drags these days :|

DEVI

Postby DEVI » July 8th, 2009, 11:58 pm

hehehehe..... :lol: ....i remember those days well....Nanan racing introduced me to motorsport....back then i had a box lancer with a 1.8 galant engine NA.....had a ported head and i thought it was pretty fast hahahaha geez!....street racind in those days was well organised and disciplined and yes Duane had a 323 with a weber....Mg Man you know yuh have more pics of the lancer when i raced at that rally...i had just turbo charged it and was on FU tyres to before i ahmmmm met a large pothole....good memories man especially the scalextric 4 lane to 3am and hadda work in the morning....

Nanan

Postby Nanan » July 9th, 2009, 12:19 am

Devi,

Still got all the old Scalextric set & cars including your's the old gang just have to say where & when.

Imagine, Devi & Duane and all of us sitting on 13"x10"x45 race rim with Slick tires (No spong, just we bare @$$) and racing to weee hours in the morning. 4 lane scalextic. then going to work after.

Thos were realy the good old days, why can't we have that fun again????????

Devi remenber when we got your sis to drag the lancer, some guy got some rude awakening.

Also what about us running into the canefield off revillet.... sure you remember, racing again???

Were you in the race to Wallerfied from Debe when we had the 4 Nanan Racing cars drag racing. I got pulled over by larrys dad (yellow Charment, he was a licenseing officer), before that I lost the SU caburator part on the highway, found it got going again.

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2009, 7:17 pm

DEVI wrote:hehehehe..... :lol: ....i remember those days well....Nanan racing introduced me to motorsport....back then i had a box lancer with a 1.8 galant engine NA.....had a ported head and i thought it was pretty fast hahahaha geez!....street racind in those days was well organised and disciplined and yes Duane had a 323 with a weber....Mg Man you know yuh have more pics of the lancer when i raced at that rally...i had just turbo charged it and was on FU tyres to before i ahmmmm met a large pothole....good memories man especially the scalextric 4 lane to 3am and hadda work in the morning....

I have memories of a smooth operator consoling a shaken navigator :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
man you soooooooo lucky I eh have ah pic of dat eh :lol: yuh really know yuh priorities, even in the face of danger

DEVI

Postby DEVI » July 9th, 2009, 9:12 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: .....had forgotten about that....better not bring out them pics.....pm me instead, leh mih see what it used to look like!

yellow

Postby yellow » July 10th, 2009, 3:25 pm

Were you in the race to Wallerfied from Debe when we had the 4 Nanan Racing cars drag racing. I got pulled over by larrys dad (yellow Charment, he was a licenseing officer), before that I lost the SU caburator part on the highway, found it got going again. :twisted:
Sorry about that first dad got you then the yellow one finished the beating at the track :lol:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » July 10th, 2009, 10:39 pm

Nanan wrote:Everyone had the right attitude.

It was a different time back then. So much has changed, especially attitudes!