Smelter Judgment

slick

Postby slick » June 17th, 2009, 12:03 am

What then are some of the characteristics of hubristic leaders? They are, inter alia,

- A narcissistic propensity to see the world primarily as an arena in which they can exercise power and seek glory rather than as a place with problems that need approaching in a pragmatic manner.

- A disproportionate concern with image and presentation.

- A messianic manner of talking about what they are doing and a tendency to identify themselves with the state to the extent that they regard the outlook and interests of the two as identical.

- A tendency to talk of themselves in the third person or using the royal "we".

- Excessive confidence in their own judgement and contempt for the advice or criticism of others.

- Exaggerated self-belief, bordering on a sense of omnipotence, in what they personally can achieve.

- A belief that rather than being accountable to the mundane court of colleagues or public opinion, the real court to which they answer is much greater: History or God.

- An unshakeable belief that in that court they will be vindicated.

- A tendency to allow their "broad vision", especially their conviction about the moral rectitude of a proposed course of action, to obviate the need to consider other aspects of it, such as its practicality, cost and the possibility of unwanted outcomes: a wooden-headed refusal to change course:

- A consequent type of incompetence in carrying out a policy, which could be called hubristic incompetence.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161490666

Any of these describe a familiar person?

Postby Country_Bookie » June 17th, 2009, 12:42 am

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/aRi6TAKPj-c&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/aRi6TAKPj-c&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

There be No Smelter here!!!
(Or no shelter for a smelter!)

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2009, 6:55 am

monkeypeaches wrote:i think this is great news for the people of Trinidad esp La Brea...

But from wht the PM had said, the people of La Brea want the smelter and its the 'outsiders' who are the protesters for No Smelter :?

Postby RBphoto » June 17th, 2009, 7:22 am

Gem_in_i wrote:
monkeypeaches wrote:i think this is great news for the people of Trinidad esp La Brea...

But from wht the PM had said, the people of La Brea want the smelter and its the 'outsiders' who are the protesters for No Smelter :?

Having worked in Labrea for the last two years, I can tell you that the people really did not care one fig about the smelter health problems and wanted it with all their hearts. It was an opportunity for them to show the res of Trinidad:

1) How much they support the PNM, wearing the red "We support the Alutrint Smelter Project" jerseys proudly like is PNM jersy. As a matter a fact, I wonder how many of them could read what was on the jersy and thought it was a PNM jersey. Just to massage Manning EGO.

2) They thought they were going to cash in on an opportunity lost by the rest of the country, and that the government was doing them a political favour by sending construction work to "their" people.

3) Many had hopes that they would be relocated from their galvanize shacks to government housing in gated communities (I mean in like gulf view/ St. Joseph village eh, not no run down area).... Talk about wanting to get soemthing for nothing and being delusional. They real thought they would make mass and tell the government where they wanted to move to.

Only now the writing is on the wall that they will get nothing they acting up. When the conveyor belt project was started, not a man get a job, then they make big protest and one man got a security position. If that was not a sign of things to come, they must have been real... ok, we establish they dense.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2009, 7:33 am

^^ exactly... and the only time we really heard from them is when they didnt get the jobs they hoped for.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 17th, 2009, 7:46 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009 ... lter-plant

Judge stops smelter plant

There was celebration at the Hall of Justice, Port-of-Spain, yesterday as Justice Mira Dean-Armorer ruled against the Environmental Management Agency (EMA), effectively halting work on the multi-million dollar aluminium smelter plant at La Brea.

In a 156-page judgment, Dean Armorer granted an order of certiorari, quashing the decision of the EMA to issue a certificate of environmental clearance on April 2, 2007, to Alutrint, the developer. “It is my view that the decision of the defendant, EMA, was procedurally irregular, irrational, and made without regard to the relevant consideration, that is to say, the consideration of the cumulative impact of the three related projects—the power plant, the aluminium complex, and the port facility.â€

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 17th, 2009, 7:48 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161492183

MP 'disappointed' over ruling against EMA

Fitzgerald Jeffrey, MP for La Brea, yesterday mourned the High Court ruling that deemed unlawful the Environmental Management Authority's (EMA) Certificate of Environmental Clearance (CEC) granting Alutrint permission to construct its smelter plant.

Jeffrey said he was disappointed but not bitter.

The ruling does not affect construction of the power plant that would fuel the smelter. Prime Minister Patrick Manning attended last week's official launch of construction of the power plant, and dismissed a protest against the smelter as the work of environmental activists, none of whom lived in La Brea.

Jeffrey said of the judge's decision: "I felt very bad about the judgment because I did so much research on this project. It is unfortunate."

He said the smelter was a positive for not just La Brea, but also for the country.

"When you look at all of the illiteracy in La Brea and the unemployment situation, I saw it as a way to get the them out of the gutter.

"The smelter really wasn't for me. Look at my age. I not looking for work. I was thinking about the community," he said.

In an e-mailed response, Josieann Richards, corporate communications manager at Alutrint, said: "Alutrint will comment on the High Court ruling in due course."

She added: "The CEC awarded for construction of the power plant is not related to this (court) matter, and as such the judgment does not affect the construction of the power plant which falls under the aegis of Trinidad Generation Unlimited."

Postby noshownogo » June 17th, 2009, 8:06 am

Damien wrote:The whole country should come together for this one this is some serious sheit

This is actually the only way the people of T&T can prevent it from happening. Other than this delay, it is almost certain that political and legal know how will see it through.

I visited the Alcoa smelter site and the Q&A section had the most vague and politically correct answers you could imagine.

http://www.alcoa.com/trinidad_tobago/en ... stions.asp

Take a read of the above link.

Postby RBphoto » June 17th, 2009, 8:12 am

ray786 wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161492183
"When you look at all of the illiteracy in La Brea and the unemployment situation, I saw it as a way to get the them out of the gutter.

So, he was hoping the toxins cause genetic mutations that suddenly increase the intelejunce of the people? Talk about lazy thinking and wanting to get something for nothing.....I tort I was on Kicks when I say they could not read what was on the damn juzzy.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » June 17th, 2009, 12:35 pm

funny yet we as a ppl will never call for impeachment!

Postby 8026 » June 17th, 2009, 1:20 pm

All hail Justice Mira Dean-Armorer for not faltering and standing up for truth and justice!

Kudos to RLM, Dr. Vine, W.Kublalsingh and all others involved.

horsepwrjunki wrote:funny yet we as a ppl will never call for impeachment!

What we need is a united opposition to defeat the PNM.
We need better governance.
It's something we will never get from the PNM.
We need change.

Once the PNM remains in power, you will never see an impeachment.

Wait and see, everything will be done by the PNM led Gov't to fight this ruling.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 17th, 2009, 1:29 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:

Having worked in Labrea for the last two years, I can tell you that the people really did not care one fig about the smelter health problems and wanted it with all their hearts. It was an opportunity for them to show the res of Trinidad:

1) How much they support the PNM, wearing the red "We support the Alutrint Smelter Project" jerseys proudly like is PNM jersy. As a matter a fact, I wonder how many of them could read what was on the jersy and thought it was a PNM jersey. Just to massage Manning EGO.

2) They thought they were going to cash in on an opportunity lost by the rest of the country, and that the government was doing them a political favour by sending construction work to "their" people.

3) Many had hopes that they would be relocated from their galvanize shacks to government housing in gated communities (I mean in like gulf view/ St. Joseph village eh, not no run down area).... Talk about wanting to get soemthing for nothing and being delusional. They real thought they would make mass and tell the government where they wanted to move to.

Only now the writing is on the wall that they will get nothing they acting up. When the conveyor belt project was started, not a man get a job, then they make big protest and one man got a security position. If that was not a sign of things to come, they must have been real... ok, we establish they dense.

i dont doubt u 1 bit since i sure most of ppl protesting was about getting jobs not d health concerns & d few who actually care about d environment had all d environmentalist doing most of effort 4 dem (thats what manning realised too) ...once dey get wuk dem happy - whatever happen after dey eh bisnis....set of illiterate political idiots ... :roll: :roll: :roll:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » June 17th, 2009, 2:02 pm

Postby RBphoto » June 17th, 2009, 2:17 pm

(...Rovin...), knowing them, once the plant is operational (lord please make me a liar), they will play the health card to try to get more compensation, and try to mix HSSE issues in with salary negotiations/ community improvement initiatives to get more for nothing. NOTHING appeases these people. Remind me of the nyam nyams from pakaskas.

Postby Damien » June 17th, 2009, 6:21 pm

8026 wrote:Kudos to RLM, Dr. Vine, W.Kublalsingh and all others involved.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 17th, 2009, 9:30 pm

crossdrilled wrote:(...Rovin...), knowing them, once the plant is operational (lord please make me a liar), they will play the health card to try to get more compensation, and try to mix HSSE issues in with salary negotiations/ community improvement initiatives to get more for nothing. NOTHING appeases these people. Remind me of the nyam nyams from pakaskas.

Oh gosh why :cry:

WD40

PM: No stopping smelter plant

Postby WD40 » June 18th, 2009, 12:44 am

Richard Lord
Published: 18 Jun 2009
Richard Lord

Prime Minister Patrick Manning is insisting that construction of the Alutrint smelter plant in La Brea will continue. He gave that assurance in response to questions from reporters yesterday.

High Court Judge Mira Dean-Armorer on Tuesday made an order quashing the Environment Management Authority’s (EMA) certificate of environmental clearance, which was issued to Alutrint for the project on April 2, last year. Asked if the project will stop in the wake of the order, Manning told reporters, “The answer to that is no, it will not stop.â€

Postby sMASH » June 18th, 2009, 1:15 am

now, how does this sit with us trinis?

we have a court ruling and teh Prime minister is going to act against it!!
would that not be illegal?
if so how could we have confidence in prime minster to lead the people who even contemplates acting illegally far less for working feverishly to actually act illegally?

this is the character of the leader of the PNM whom we voted for...

a possible reason for he having no choice than to push forward is due to the kind of monies involved and the people involved, going back on a contact could get u killed

to much money to stop production on an 'environmental' note

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 18th, 2009, 7:21 am

pugboy wrote:that judge will be transferred to tobago next court term

They will say she was ah UNC and find phone logs with she and panday and all kinda crap :lol:

or all of ah sudden, her husband will receive death threats cause of his involvement in the cleaver heights project! and she will be forced to step down. :roll:

lets see how the dictator handles this! :arrow:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 18th, 2009, 7:45 am

lol,work did not and would not stop there.Just last week there was a incident where some protesters stoned down some chinese workers and stuff like that,every morning now their is heavy CSU presence from about 4am till.

Re: Smelter Judgment

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2011, 1:58 pm

*blows dust off the thread*

check this out

Alutrint Board Members appointed
Friday 7th October, 2011

The Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs, Mr Kevin Ramnarine, has presented instruments of appointment to the Chairman and two board members of Alutrint.

The Chairperson is Ms Sushma Gopeesingh and members are Ms Joyce Lynch and Mr Errol Baldeo.

The presentation took place at the Canon Ball Room, Ministry of Energy, Level 26, Tower C, International Waterfront Complex, Port of Spain on Friday.

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=32880