Trinis Dotish when it comes to " Turtle watching "

turbotommy

Postby turbotommy » May 25th, 2009, 11:18 am

imagine ppl so dotish, they doh even know how tuh watch properly..... Yuh shudda bark the jackras some clout....

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » May 25th, 2009, 11:23 am

I went with some forester friends once and they said it's ok to take pics when the turtle is laying eggs, they said it goes into some kinda trace when it's laying.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 25th, 2009, 11:28 am

tourniquet wrote:these turtles are a protected species, so how come there aren't any guides/ enforcement down there? maybe the relevant ministry is waiting for a new santa fe or prado to send people down there :roll:

btw trinis are dotish when it comes to a lot of things eh :lol: :lol:

So true

Postby Gem_in_i » May 25th, 2009, 11:34 am

Frankie_565, I was looking for a place to stay there...was this place tht you stayed like $600-$700 for the night?

who s next

Postby who s next » May 25th, 2009, 12:43 pm

my dregrin indian ppl is d worse i was there
saturday bout ten
one turtle came up settling her self up to do her stuff
suddenly this group of illeterate girls came up started snapping pictures
telling thm dont flash d light
one reply is like i aint care and continued snapping

Postby cinco » May 25th, 2009, 1:45 pm

who s next wrote:my dregrin indian ppl is d worse i was there
saturday bout ten

follow them when they gone to buss a shite and start takin pics with flash all up in dey eye ask dem if dey like it

Postby Maserati » May 25th, 2009, 2:07 pm

who s next wrote:my dregrin indian ppl is d worse i was there
saturday bout ten

stupid beyotches

vin123

Postby vin123 » May 25th, 2009, 3:32 pm

But if so much turtles coming up manzan why doesn't the Relevant Authorities organise some wardens or something to protect the turtles?

Postby joker » May 25th, 2009, 4:21 pm

^^ yuh know the length of that shore line? :lol:

vin123

Postby vin123 » May 26th, 2009, 7:35 pm

^^ yeah I do lol
So on TV6 news tonight, they showed a turtle like 200m away from the beach in some bushes! Some good ole folks got a wrecker ( the ones with the retractable trays) to take it up and move it back to the beach!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » May 26th, 2009, 7:39 pm

Poor turtles :cry:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 29th, 2009, 12:35 pm

i searched to see if this is a re-post...good to see good people get some recognition.

http://www.cnn.com/2009/TECH/05/28/cnnh ... index.html

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » May 29th, 2009, 12:39 pm

Premera wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:daz rell idiotic bahaviour man...should call de popo fuh dem

yeah i usually go grande riviere, rell turtles does come up there, the best thing is to spend the night then get up in the morning and you get to see the little ones coming out of the sand

trust me pal....i waiting for July - Aug ( hatching season ) and goin up Mathura/Grand Riviere to help out in any way i could to save them.

I found out also, you can pay 100.00TT and own a turtle ( adult ). They put a tracking tag on it and informs you regularly about the location , the distance travelled thru the year and if it returned to T&T shores........can anyone confirm where i need to do this ?

http://natureseekers.org/adoptaturtle.html

check link for info on turtle adoption!

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 1st, 2009, 9:17 am

Just to bump this thread...

http://www.cnn.com/SPECIALS/cnn.heroes/index.html

Susan Lakhan Baptiste and Natureseekers were featured on CNC3 this morning. They were nominated by CNN for the Heroes programme 2009. At the end of the year there will be a vote for Hero of 2009.

Hopefully this exposure should bring some attention and assistance to turtle conservation efforts in Trinidad.

bean_head

Postby bean_head » June 1st, 2009, 9:43 am

Oleander wrote:Poor turtles :cry:

Postby Gem_in_i » June 2nd, 2009, 6:43 pm

Did anyone see the pic of a man on top of a turtle?
Does anyone know the Facebook page/group that this pic was posted on?

The pic has the people in it heads blocked off but I wud luv to get the original pic with their faces showing.:roll:

Like somebody ride his mothers back when she was making him so he suffering from lack of oxgyen to his brain.

Postby joker » June 2nd, 2009, 6:45 pm

Did anyone see the pic of a man on top of a turtle?

a 15 pg thread you missed on the forum

Postby Gem_in_i » June 2nd, 2009, 6:51 pm

Oh shuck! I now saw the pic! Tht get me so mad. :evil:

But I heard there is a Facebook page with pics such as tht!

Postby joker » June 2nd, 2009, 6:56 pm

read the thread .... all of it :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » June 3rd, 2009, 6:47 am

They do need a permit to go into the restricted areas to see the turtles but in places like manzan etc there is no need for permits.
Wht are all those Honourary Game wardens doing, besides just collecting the stipend. :roll:

I now going read tht thread :evil:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 3rd, 2009, 9:11 am

they way how them does crowd round yuh swear that some body throw ah picece ah fried chicken there ! :roll:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 3rd, 2009, 9:41 am

pioneer wrote:so why was the thread deleted?...his defenders complained much?
if you're talking about the soogrim one, that's a few threads down :)

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 10th, 2009, 11:36 pm

dat shoulda be he , and some fat mampie woman sitting on top he and ting..

jeez..some ppl iz rel balls eh.

Postby bluefete » June 10th, 2009, 11:49 pm

The May 2009 edition of National Geographic Magazine (pgs.122-141) has an article about the Leatherback Turtle and does have several references to Trinidad including the fact that Matura beach has a "springtime".

southside crew

Postby southside crew » June 11th, 2009, 2:20 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Frankie_565, I was looking for a place to stay there...was this place tht you stayed like $600-$700 for the night?

372 5656 ROOTS I stayed there recently.. think was $450 a night.. Mc Heaven I think was the name..

trauma

Postby trauma » June 20th, 2009, 4:22 pm

JoKeR1980, thanks for that link...

Mrs. Suzan Lakhan Baptiste is definitely a "Hero" in my eyes...it is such an awesome feeling seeing red, white and black being flown on the international media and seeing a daughter of the soil acknowledging her nomination with such humility and grace...