Accident in Claxton Bay?

Postby Maserati » May 19th, 2009, 10:30 pm

wagon r wrote:allyuh see how the police woman buff up the firemen for tryin to help the wingroad people....

.....i could see some family members cussin.....would really like to see what caused the whole thing....

...hard to think folks could have been saved and they stopped the EMS from doing their job.... :|

wtf why would she stop the firemen from doing their job? wtf man

Postby wagonrunner » May 19th, 2009, 10:36 pm

RIP to them, but after tonight TTPS does condone irresponsible driving, once you are unable to stop your vehicle, due to your irresponsibility, it is clearly the other drivers fault.

hogman007

Postby hogman007 » May 19th, 2009, 10:57 pm

:idea: THE GOV'T SHOULD BUILD A 4 FEET WALL IN THE MEDIAN TO MUCH INOSENT PEOPLE ARE DIEING BECAUSE OF JKASS ON D ROAD.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » May 19th, 2009, 11:10 pm

That wingroad was crumpled like paper ..... real sad sight...... RIP to those who died

Postby Sky » May 19th, 2009, 11:20 pm

Maserati wrote:
wagon r wrote:allyuh see how the police woman buff up the firemen for tryin to help the wingroad people....

.....i could see some family members cussin.....would really like to see what caused the whole thing....

...hard to think folks could have been saved and they stopped the EMS from doing their job.... :|

wtf why would she stop the firemen from doing their job? wtf man

Jed it must have more to this.
RIP to those lost.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 19th, 2009, 11:21 pm

we things like this cable median barriers

Postby Maserati » May 19th, 2009, 11:37 pm

Zeriam wrote:we things like this cable median barriers

that can't even stop ah pot hound

but apparently it works

but I would still go with the good solid 'jersey barrier'

Postby foss » May 19th, 2009, 11:44 pm

^^^ dem ting looking like it wud cut car in half :skurry:

then again i'm sure its tested as safe..

don't see it doing much to stop trucks though

Postby Maserati » May 19th, 2009, 11:49 pm

^true I kinda wary of using steel cables to stop a car, a recepie for slicing a car and it's occupants

Postby Maserati » May 20th, 2009, 1:17 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161479689

Retiree Glen Gallera picked up his friends and was heading to a church service when a runaway Sports Utility Vehicle crossed the median and crashed into his gold-coloured wagon yesterday.

Gallera, 62, was instantly killed. His back-seat passenger, 68-year-old Cynthia Glaud Ballah, also died. Ballah was the mother of former Gayelle news presenter, Adonis Ballah.

The crash happened along the south-bound lane on the Solomon Hochoy Highway, near the Claxton Bay overpass, where less than two weeks ago, three men died in a crash.

Gallera's wife, Joan, who was seated in the front seat, and Ballah's daughter, Maxine Ballah-Peters, were taken to the San Fernando General Hospital by an Emergency Medical Services ambulance. They were listed in a critical but stable condition last evening.

Police said around 2.30 p.m,. a black Kia Sorento SUV was heading north along the highway when the driver lost control crossed the median and slammed into Gallera's Wingroad wagon.

The driver, who lives in Port of Spain, escaped with only minor injuries.

Relatives said the Galleras attended a full gospel church service in Siparia and returned to their Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas, home where they met the mother and daughter. The four were heading back to a church when the accident happened, the Express was told.

Ballah lived at Delhi Road, Fyzabad.

Fire officers, who arrived on the scene to cut Gallera out of the wreck, were turned away by investigators, who argued that the District Medical Officer had not yet viewed the bodies. The DMO arrived some two hours after the accident happened.

Ballah's corpse remained near the wagon, while Gallera's body was entangled in the wreckage. Around the station wagon lay strewn Bibles and other items.

The undertakers were unable to remove Gallera's body and fire officers had to be called again to the scene. The bodies were removed shortly after 5 p.m.

An eyewitness said: "This is the first time I went on an accident scene and saw that the fire officers were asked to leave. Anyone could have seen that the body needed to be cut from the car. The family has every right to sue the police for sending the fire service away. The undertakers would have had to break up the man's bones to get him out."

The accident caused a massive traffic pile up along the south-bound lane for several hours.

Officers attached to the St Margaret's Police Station visited the scene and are continuing investigations.

Postby joker » May 20th, 2009, 2:04 am

Maserati wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161479689

Retiree Glen Gallera picked up his friends and was heading to a church service when a runaway Sports Utility Vehicle crossed the median and crashed into his gold-coloured wagon yesterday.

Gallera, 62, was instantly killed. His back-seat passenger, 68-year-old Cynthia Glaud Ballah, also died. Ballah was the mother of former Gayelle news presenter, Adonis Ballah.

The crash happened along the south-bound lane on the Solomon Hochoy Highway, near the Claxton Bay overpass, where less than two weeks ago, three men died in a crash.

Gallera's wife, Joan, who was seated in the front seat, and Ballah's daughter, Maxine Ballah-Peters, were taken to the San Fernando General Hospital by an Emergency Medical Services ambulance. They were listed in a critical but stable condition last evening.

Police said around 2.30 p.m,. a black Kia Sorento SUV was heading north along the highway when the driver lost control crossed the median and slammed into Gallera's Wingroad wagon.

Relatives said the Galleras attended a full gospel church service in Siparia and returned to their Edinburgh 500, Chaguanas, home where they met the mother and daughter. The four were heading back to a church when the accident happened, the Express was told.

Ballah lived at Delhi Road, Fyzabad.

Fire officers, who arrived on the scene to cut Gallera out of the wreck, were turned away by investigators, who argued that the District Medical Officer had not yet viewed the bodies. The DMO arrived some two hours after the accident happened.

Ballah's corpse remained near the wagon, while Gallera's body was entangled in the wreckage. Around the station wagon lay strewn Bibles and other items.

The undertakers were unable to remove Gallera's body and fire officers had to be called again to the scene. The bodies were removed shortly after 5 p.m.

An eyewitness said: "This is the first time I went on an accident scene and saw that the fire officers were asked to leave. Anyone could have seen that the body needed to be cut from the car. The family has every right to sue the police for sending the fire service away. The undertakers would have had to break up the man's bones to get him out."

The accident caused a massive traffic pile up along the south-bound lane for several hours.

Officers attached to the St Margaret's Police Station visited the scene and are continuing investigations.

if im not mistaken i think one of their relatives died in a crash a few years ago.

Postby M_2NR » May 20th, 2009, 2:47 am

they always seem to give the names of the dead... but not the perpetrators...
ohh well.

Virus

Postby Virus » May 20th, 2009, 6:13 am

corolla_2nr wrote:

they always seem to give the names of the dead... but not the perpetrators...
ohh well.

Indeed what happens to these people when they commit an act like this, they always say the driver lost control but stop at that bridge and say they investigating and is always some hilux van or truck killing people and they walk out without a scratch not even a thought as to the lives they have taken just shaken up from the accident

bean_head

Postby bean_head » May 20th, 2009, 6:24 am

rip to those who lost their lives... so sad...

Postby Team Loco » May 20th, 2009, 7:03 am

I personally know someone who crossed the highway and killed four persons including his girlfriend. This happened yrs ago. Believe me, they suffer big time. The psycological trauma alone is enough to kill them.

Sad scene though. Those kia sorentos are so unstable after they have some age. I test drove two last week at southern sales uesed cars. I wouldn't even put my pet in that rubbish. The instability on the highway is frightening.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » May 20th, 2009, 7:20 am

This is all the pics i got from the accident

And now for the LAW BREAKERS

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » May 20th, 2009, 7:25 am

this is really sad, RIP to those who lost their lives.

Again something like this would really test your level of tolerance, 2 innocent lives lost due to the negligence of another driver (who was most likely speeding). That is really difficult for the family members of the deceased to accept.

Team Loco, not only the SUV's are unstable, i also find that the cars are the same. Once you cross about 130km it starts to feel like the car want to fishtail. I do not feel comfortable at all driving the Kia on the highway and as such, I take my God time. And is a brand new Kia too, not used so it must be some kinda defect with these vehicles.

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » May 20th, 2009, 7:29 am

I know the family well...some good news out of this is that the wife Joan is alert and able to talk but her hand was broken, her back was damaged (they not sure of the extent as yet) and she has some lacerations on her face. Wasn't able to get more details about the others, they were too distraught.

the family is absolutely gutted. they are a God fearing and close unit. this is so unfair to them. the driver of the other car had minor injuries.

Rest in Peace Mr. Gallera you were a good man with a clean heart that loved God and cherished his family. My prayers go out to his wife and the other passenger for a speedy and full recovery.

btw joker...I know thier son was in an accident some years ago, but he didn't die. He flew out of the windscreen and damaged his face (deep cuts and stuff) but he was largely unhurt. I don't know if it is the same thing you were referring to.

Postby Greypatch » May 20th, 2009, 7:56 am

1st RIP to those who lost their life in this tragic and but preventable INCIDENT.

2nd An investigation will have to be launched wrt the fire and police officers.

3rd Aftar a QUICK and proper investigation in to the driver of the KIA sorento be it founnd that he caused the incident I want him to be charged with Manslaughter and the Maximun Penalty applied to him.

Too often we hear the excuse "The driver lost control of the vehicle" This Shyte has to stop !!!

An example MUST be set.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » May 20th, 2009, 8:00 am

it really tempts one to want to dispense some vigilante justice

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 20th, 2009, 8:08 am

all this rip and rip about d drivers who died soul rest in peace and ting, sry for being harsh

But the Lampost Didnt move unto the highway, nor did the tree

Allyuh wah drink den mash out like it have no tmr killing innocent passengers and other ppl who obeying the law, allyuh speeding on foreign used tires and sheit suspension...4 words for allyuh ....SLOW THE F*** DOWN....

Postby SR » May 20th, 2009, 8:10 am

rip to those who dies

but

i am curious as to what speed does it take to lose control of a vehicle

a sudden swerve in an suv at 80kph can cause it to lose control

while we are always quick to say speed is the the reason and in most cases it may be so however can anyone confirm if the suv was speeding or simply not minding the raod conditions

keep an open mind when analysing what actually happened

Postby Greypatch » May 20th, 2009, 8:11 am

road was dry....severity of impact infers there must plenty force

Postby Damien » May 20th, 2009, 8:17 am

That suvv had to be going over the speed limit to cause that kind of impact also i dont think and suv like that would lost control at 80km/hr on dry road charge he ass with manslaughter

xtech

Postby xtech » May 20th, 2009, 8:19 am

SR wrote:rip to those who dies

but

i am curious as to what speed does it take to lose control of a vehicle

a sudden swerve in an suv at 80kph can cause it to lose control

How hard is it? Really.........an this is a Nissan with over 50 years of engineering behind it
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/XtV1bYyDfTk&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

He was trying this stunt.......to much youtube not good 4 u

RIP those who have gone.

I am scared to death everytime i pass there.....always super aware of wats going on around me. Since I small people being dieing there in horrible ways

Postby SR » May 20th, 2009, 8:24 am

have you ever seen crash tests at 30mph

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 20th, 2009, 8:26 am

Team Loco wrote:I personally know someone who crossed the highway and killed four persons including his girlfriend. This happened yrs ago. Believe me, they suffer big time. The psycological trauma alone is enough to kill them.

Sad scene though. Those kia sorentos are so unstable after they have some age. I test drove two last week at southern sales uesed cars. I wouldn't even put my pet in that rubbish. The instability on the highway is frightening.

u sure that ent from loose front ends/bad bushings an stuff like that?

Postby sMASH » May 20th, 2009, 8:36 am

so why de driver doh fess up and say what was goin on?

serious impacts close to that could happen at 40kmph, far less for two vehicles going 80 in opposing directions.

whether it was bull sheit driving or some uncontrollable condition, lives were lost.
we should realize that driving, like owning a gun, is a privilege and not a right, and should be treated equally,,,, the consequences of accidents involving both are too dire.

from god we come, and to god is our eventual return.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 20th, 2009, 8:38 am

SR wrote:have you ever seen crash tests at 30mph

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/6O7Jetyp8uY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Passenger cabin hold up good

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/48QwDvLcg04&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Wingroad side impact

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 20th, 2009, 8:49 am

Damien wrote:That suvv had to be going over the speed limit to cause that kind of impact also i dont think and suv like that would lost control at 80km/hr on dry road charge he ass with manslaughter

friday night i waitin by trincity lights(heading west) to go to the mall,,,cars flying/speeding so fast heading west,my car shaking when a car passes,,why do we drive so fast? are we always late?

stupes,,ppl hadda realise a car/vehicle has some kinda defects somehow,,u ever see a brand new tyre burst within 15 mins of installing it? cuz not everything perfect,,,ppl need to slow down a little,,or do what some companies do to their vehicles,,,govern them down,,speed cut..

rip to the ones who lost their lives,,but that doh help anybody,