dreadman

Postby dreadman » April 21st, 2009, 2:15 pm

hahahahaha....way sah

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 21st, 2009, 2:17 pm

That was most definitely not the correct procedure to remove the vehicle.

Whether the spot was marked or not as a towing zone the owner should at least be given warning. On top of which the "police officer" (we assume he is a real police officer as at no point he identified himself) is to be notably present which he was not.

The owner was right next to the car as well, making it easy for the law to have informed him first befor action was taken, this was not the case.

Clearly in this case the Police did not follow the laws set. in a country of lawlessness it starts with those who enforce law apparently.

Postby SMc » April 21st, 2009, 2:17 pm

Yayyyyy...popos is the best

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 21st, 2009, 2:36 pm

Madness, This is madness!!

THIS IS LA TRINIDAD!!

We should expect nothing less

neoise

Postby neoise » April 21st, 2009, 2:37 pm

WTF .... looked at the vid 3 times and am still amazed at how fast they took that car........... let them try that in Laventille nah :twisted:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 21st, 2009, 2:46 pm

the wrecker driver and police man probably both from lavantille :D

neoise

Postby neoise » April 21st, 2009, 2:50 pm

Bezman wrote:the wrecker driver and police man probably both from lavantille :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 21st, 2009, 2:52 pm

Crixx_Creww wrote:this is me in the video.
I parked there, got out my car and was standing right next to it talking.

They drove up and without a word or warning took the car.
As can be seen we crossed the road and told them that i am the owner of the vehicle and asked why they didnt follow the procedure as stipulated in the law.

They just said to come to woodbrook police station.
On arriving at the station there were other people who had been towed in similiar fashion. One man was leaning against his car when they towed him and he fell into the road because of how swiftly they ripped the car away.
Shortly after arriving at the station and starting to argue with the officers, a cruiser pulled up and in the back was a vagrant. A buck naked hand cuffed vagrant, the police then proceeded to brutally beat this vagrant with batons and fist and feet, dragged him into the station house and continued to beat him mercilessly until he stopped crying and screaming.

Back to my scene, so on the station house door is printed the law as it pertains to parking offenses, which clearly states that an officer is to try to determine the ownership of the vehicle and request that the vehicle be moved, if the owner does not remove the vehicle upon request, a fine can be issued or the vehicle may be towed.

Almost everyone present started arguing with the officers because with none of them was this procedure followed, i stated as such and one officer in charge asked me if I am calling the officers liars because there is no way they would tow the car without enquiring, to which i responded i dont need to call you a liar because there is video evidence that the procedures were not followed.

All the while there was a large police officer circling myself and my friend with an smg in what i gather was attempt to intimidate us (lolz @ that).

So when i told the officer there was video evidence, he replied" Bring it nah, i dare yuh bring it nah"

Well, lets see what happens nowz.

I was unaware of the correct procedure.
As much as I can remember I have never seen the wrecker crew operate where they look for the driver and request that he move the vehicle before towing.

I would be interesting to hear what comes of this and the video.

keep us updated!

Postby bluesteel29 » April 21st, 2009, 2:56 pm

dat wrecker move breathless and wet oui....fasta dan dat de man car gone

crazybalhead wrote:If the handbrakes are up, they just drag your car screeching down the road.

saw that happen b4 but when i got towed in town i aint hear nun and i was inside the shop the car was parked in front of

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 21st, 2009, 2:58 pm

Crixx crew, what was the sign that you were parked next to?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2009, 2:59 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

i didnt know it had dem kinda wreckers here

but if d handbrakes was up or was a rwd wud they wud still pull it ? ..... :?

duchess

Postby duchess » April 21st, 2009, 3:05 pm

i say get a good lawyer & sue their a$$.................them dam police forget the fact that they are here to protect and serve us, not take advantage of us.

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 21st, 2009, 3:05 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:but if d handbrakes was up or was a rwd wud they wud still pull it ? ..... :?

Yeah they would... now you hadda pay the fee and buy 2 new tires.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 21st, 2009, 3:05 pm

Crixx_Creww wrote:
On arriving at the station there were other people who had been towed in similiar fashion. One man was leaning against his car when they towed him and he fell into the road because of how swiftly they ripped the car away.

sorry eh but but that sounding kixsy like a 3 stooges kinda scene .... :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

duchess

Postby duchess » April 21st, 2009, 3:09 pm

next thing yuh know is a bandit get one of them wreckers, cause it's not even indicating it's a police vehicle.

duchess

Postby duchess » April 21st, 2009, 3:11 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:
Crixx_Creww wrote:

sorry eh but but that sounding kixsy like a 3 stooges kinda scene .... :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

it funny but scary at the same time

Postby pete » April 21st, 2009, 3:29 pm

When I used to work on Abercromby Street I saw a LOT of cars get towed. The police operated differently there though. They would come out of the wrecker and knock on our door to see if the person was inside before taking the car.

Problem is the wrecker is working on commission. For every car they wreck they get a fixed amount of money. Why not give the police officer a little "cut" to ignore the proper due process of coming out and asking the person to move the car when they can just pick up the car and move with it and everyone gets their $.

The really crap thing about where they tow is that it's usually not in an area where the illegal parking causes a traffic problem. It's USUALLY somewhere they can easily pick up a car and move with it.

Does anyone know what the repercussions would be for jumping into the car as its pulling off? If you get in the car you get a free ride to the station and you can claim how you were going to move the car and they towed you anyway to maybe get away from the ticket.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 21st, 2009, 3:30 pm

sent it to tv6

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 21st, 2009, 3:34 pm

Zeriam wrote:sent it to tv6

You serious????

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 21st, 2009, 3:38 pm

Zeriam wrote:send it to tv6
fixed
but give me the email address and i'll send it to them

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 21st, 2009, 3:40 pm

I really wish something gets done about this situation.

wing

Postby wing » April 21st, 2009, 4:02 pm

crix man sorry about what happento you. obviously the policeman was wrong by not trying to locate the owner . but on a lighter note .... thats one less slowass ad wagon off the streets . hahaha couldn't help it.

Crixx_Creww

Postby Crixx_Creww » April 21st, 2009, 4:12 pm

my hand brakes were up, didnt hear or notice any problems with the tyres.

I intend to send it into as much media as possible, with the entire back and fore story.

and yes extremely good point about the bandits getting one of these wreckers.

That is precisely why officers are supposed to identify themselves when carrying out their duties, so there wouldnt be any confusion as to whether or not it is police action.

They made no attempt at all , police never even pretended to get out the car.

This was week before the summit, so they obviously didnt care.
Couldnt care less about beating a vagrant senseless infront of witnesses either.

Postby Damien » April 21st, 2009, 4:39 pm

Pressure :lol:

disco biscuit

Postby disco biscuit » April 21st, 2009, 5:11 pm

Whey Crix, I make you out in the video. That real hard. Men ain't even look around the car to see who there. I sure they musta seen you all walking to the car and just ride out.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 21st, 2009, 5:26 pm

Crixx_Creww wrote:my hand brakes were up, didnt hear or notice any problems with the tyres.

I intend to send it into as much media as possible, with the entire back and fore story.

and yes extremely good point about the bandits getting one of these wreckers.

That is precisely why officers are supposed to identify themselves when carrying out their duties, so there wouldnt be any confusion as to whether or not it is police action.

They made no attempt at all , police never even pretended to get out the car.

This was week before the summit, so they obviously didnt care.
Couldnt care less about beating a vagrant senseless infront of witnesses either.

Send it to inshan!

xtech

Postby xtech » April 21st, 2009, 5:41 pm

the court will want to know how u was able to make this video. An will say u planted the car to film it being wrecked.

Get as many other recordings with owners running down the cars.

The ole excuse was it was hard work to get the car up on the wrecker so if u reach after they finish hook up is to late. Now they dont even have to come out to pull no chains. Hydraulics doing all the work

6 years ago I was in that situation before cell phone video or youtube, dey wrecked my car with all my money in it and i am sure they saw me running after the ole land cruiser.

I Had to walk from around d savanna ,cant remember d street, to by the central market that afternoon

never parked my car in town after that.

Time for parking meters in the city center. Send the wreckers home an let those busy officers walk d beat an give out tickets for time-out meters. Lots of jobs can be created for meter mades.
Last edited by xtech on April 21st, 2009, 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 21st, 2009, 5:44 pm

And again I ask, what was the road sign you parked next to, because I can see the post in the video, I not saying the police did the right thing but if there was a no parking sign there, why did you park?

Postby bushwakka » April 21st, 2009, 6:17 pm

duchess wrote:i say get a good lawyer & sue their a$$.................them dam police forget the fact that they are here to protect and serve us, not take advantage of us.

correction.....they never knew that fact.....carry on

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2009, 7:53 pm

They only operate this way because for every car they wreck they get a commission. Is like competition for them to see who could wreck more. Such a sad state.