WTK : Converting a flat house to a 2 storey house

jsr

Postby jsr » November 13th, 2008, 10:32 am

one more thing... what about T&C approval... i live in a housing development.... and i understand that i may have to apply to T&C before starting anything... how long would this take on average for approval... anyway to fast track this?

Postby SR » November 13th, 2008, 11:36 am

depends on the restrictions for the housing develpoment

you will need t&c approval if you are taking a loan

most people in "pre fab" housing developents usually make adjustments to thier home

and most do not go thru t&c
unfortunalty most of the renovations are also against the law according to t&c

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 13th, 2008, 11:53 am

eurogirl wrote:If you have an old structure where the pillar does not have steel reinforcements you may have to breakdown the beams and pillars and put steel . If its relatively new its no problem ..

I intend on building like tht as well but where i'm gonna go Ihave to break the beams and pillars coz its not up to mark so I have to replace pillars with steel and reinforce the groundlevel walls before I go up ..

YOU building a house?

Didn't you fail the OSHA test...twice? :?

:lol: :lol: actually its NEBOSH diploma and frankly , its ok I faced my demons on it .. at least I kno I tried , WAT have you done lately other than be a mama's boy ? :roll:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 13th, 2008, 12:17 pm

jsr wrote:one more thing... what about T&C approval... i live in a housing development.... and i understand that i may have to apply to T&C before starting anything... how long would this take on average for approval... anyway to fast track this?

No scene either,i gotz them thingz locked!!!!

jsr

Postby jsr » November 13th, 2008, 5:40 pm

hmm.... you can send me a p.m rahtid... perhaps i can send you some pics of the existing structure

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 13th, 2008, 5:46 pm

pm yuh number,,ill give u a call,,,

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 13th, 2008, 6:13 pm

eurogirl wrote:
eurogirl wrote:If you have an old structure where the pillar does not have steel reinforcements you may have to breakdown the beams and pillars and put steel . If its relatively new its no problem ..

I intend on building like tht as well but where i'm gonna go Ihave to break the beams and pillars coz its not up to mark so I have to replace pillars with steel and reinforce the groundlevel walls before I go up ..

YOU building a house?

:lol: :lol: actually its NEBOSH diploma and frankly , its ok I faced my demons on it .. at least I kno I tried , WAT have you done lately other than be a mama's boy ? :roll:

be papa's boy 8-)

u still livin in yuh parents house?

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 13th, 2008, 6:21 pm

eurogirl wrote:

YOU building a house?

be papa's boy 8-)

roflmao

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 13th, 2008, 6:21 pm

pioneer wrote:Yes

problem?

and u duz wanna give ppl so much talks?

carry on yute,say what,yuh happy and yuh safe,,,well except for d snakes

jsr

Postby jsr » November 20th, 2008, 9:16 am

here are some pics
Last edited by jsr on June 14th, 2017, 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

jsr

Re: WTK : Converting a flat house to a 2 storey house

Postby jsr » October 24th, 2011, 2:16 pm

reposting this question for more tehnical advice

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 24th, 2011, 2:45 pm

you eh do eeet yet?

real_d20

Postby real_d20 » October 24th, 2011, 3:36 pm

Plain and simple, if you have the foundation for a flat, it cannot and would not support the additional stress/weight of the upper floor. Best best would be to plant "I" beams on the outskirts and interior for stress support and do the decking, then build up top and flush up to the decking below. We have done it.

Re:

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 24th, 2011, 3:57 pm

vickyexp wrote:There a lot of factors to consider when doing this such as:
1. Can the existing house foundation take the additional loads?
2. Are the existing walls loadbearing?
3. If no for 1 & 2 above, then you'll have to consider new conc. or
steel columns depending on the type of structure your'e going with.
(I would recommend steel because all you would need is new foundations &
you can start with errection of structure).
4. You can place the new columns at key locations so that you minimise
disruption of the existing ground floor layout.

The way I see it, you'll need to engage the services of a competent Structural Engineer and a good designer as virus stated.

^^wat he said..

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 24th, 2011, 4:40 pm

Just go t/c, find out about your area, what height you can go, what are your setbacks,etc. If you can build it, just do a steel frame over the flat, remove the roof,cast your deck, block up, do new roof, etc.

I am currently doing this for a tuner.

Postby MG Man » October 24th, 2011, 4:47 pm

real_d20 wrote:Plain and simple, if you have the foundation for a flat, it cannot and would not support the additional stress/weight of the upper floor. Best best would be to plant "I" beams on the outskirts and interior for stress support and do the decking, then build up top and flush up to the decking below. We have done it.

best response there

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 24th, 2011, 5:06 pm

real_d20 wrote:Plain and simple, if you have the foundation for a flat, it cannot and would not support the additional stress/weight of the upper floor. Best best would be to plant "I" beams on the outskirts and interior for stress support and do the decking, then build up top and flush up to the decking below. We have done it.

best response there

The steel frame is a completely independent structure on its own, its own foundation, the only connection to the existing house, will be the walls that have to go up to the underside of the beams, so as not to leave a void where the old roof was.

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 26th, 2011, 8:02 pm

is it more expensive to build a 2 storey house
or a storey and a half with a unfinished basement?

real_d20

Postby real_d20 » October 26th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Rahtid wrote:

best response there

The steel frame is a completely independent structure on its own, its own foundation, the only connection to the existing house, will be the walls that have to go up to the underside of the beams, so as not to leave a void where the old roof was.

Thanks for the extended explanation.. but yeah, that's the general idea. Just did one of these - floated out 4 feet from the existing outside walls, than covered the beams in concrete for a more presentable look. Built three feet above existing ring beam and put stanchions on the inside to alleviate the weight of the floating floor. If the person wants free "downstairs" with no additional "inner" posts, heavier beams would have to be used. (advantage here is you can build over and still live under, lil dusty tho).

However, when we connect both floors, its not noticeable, since like you said, the lower walls are raised to the upper floor and sealed, the staircase can fall anywhere inside to access the upstairs that is feasible according to the existing structure and the outside staircase is easily built and attached (needed for T/C approval i.e. fire escape).

Postby crazybalhead » October 27th, 2011, 8:32 am

Is "orga pill" a man say dey??? I doubt. My eyes are surely fooling me.

Postby MG Man » October 27th, 2011, 9:20 am

this is chuna
u know better
BUGWANAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

jsr

Postby jsr » October 27th, 2011, 9:42 am

thanks again... i think i better sell the house and build or buy a 2 storey house
it might work out better in the long run

real_d20

Postby real_d20 » October 27th, 2011, 9:59 am

jsr wrote:thanks again... i think i better sell the house and build or buy a 2 storey house

Truth be told, if its an HDC development house.... foundation on even the flat aint all that strong.. just saying

jsr

Postby jsr » October 27th, 2011, 10:09 am

it is not an HDC development house

Postby MG Man » October 27th, 2011, 10:30 am

jsr wrote:thanks again... i think i better sell the house and build or buy a 2 storey house

when u ready, gimme a shout
I been thru the good and horribly bad of building your own home so...

Injun

Postby Injun » October 27th, 2011, 1:48 pm

Not exactly relevant, but since the idea of unsupported projection over the existing house was raised, take a look at this: http://architecturelinked.com/profiles/ ... stitute-of

To be clear, that projection isn't roof... it's where the exhibits are.