Advice?

Postby equipped2ripp » October 10th, 2008, 12:45 am

they need to make a 2 storey parking facility by heartease, once they could get approval...

and ok, i might be wrong about the raping thing.. but as for the laptops... what about the time thieves came into SAC and held up a bunch of people and stole about 3 or 4 laptops... where was the security then? and the thieves got out of the campus just so with it? hmmm, something have to be wrong there.

Rush

Postby Rush » October 10th, 2008, 12:47 am

oh but btw,

do report it,....

thats teh onyl way ull get thru with any insurane whatsoever, if that is what u choose,

and if anything com out of it, it will only benefit u if u make a report

Rush

Postby Rush » October 10th, 2008, 12:52 am

yea, there obviously should have been better security,

also that incident...the gate by heartease, the pedestrian gate does always be open so men come...steal and gone...

thats the things they shud fix, maybe more/more efiicient patrols,
but i dont think its fair to say they wud stand idly by and watch/allow these things to happen...

they happen becuz of a lack of proper use of their men, or maybe they need more...

but again ill give them the credit that after that incident, they were there every night,
and still are till the wee hours of the morning

sorry it took that incident to do it,
but at least they got that much better

also i see so many students, get up and leave their laptops unattended to go pee or talk to sum1 at another table, laptops, cellphones, bags, wallets, purses etc

leaving a laptop unattened even for a minute is like leaving $10,000 cash on the table and hoping itll stay

the security AND students need to move better and wiser

silver racer

Postby silver racer » October 10th, 2008, 1:13 am

dnt tlk abt d library.. d amt ah phones got stolen 2

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 10th, 2008, 6:32 am

When I was there back in 01 the head of security was the dean of milner and best of all he was Nigerian.
I asked him why they allow people to walk in and out of campus like they own the place without id or anything and he said because they have been doing it for years UWI cannot go and stop them now.
He would be a good person to talk to...get a petition against him and send it to the principal because ultimately he responsible for security overall.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 10th, 2008, 7:19 am

equipped2ripp wrote:they need to make a 2 storey parking facility by heartease, once they could get approval...

and ok, i might be wrong about the raping thing.. but as for the laptops... what about the time thieves came into SAC and held up a bunch of people and stole about 3 or 4 laptops... where was the security then? and the thieves got out of the campus just so with it? hmmm, something have to be wrong there.

Everytime I see this laptop thing I does get real pissed off bcuz one of the fellas is meh partner and that mess up he whole UWI life bcuz he cyah finish yet. UWI security is a total waste and they in the theft too, there is no way a person can run with a bunch of latops in their hands undected. There are hardly any patrols at night time,they only come out if they have a function in LRC.

And to the guy who saying that its not UWI responsibility to provide parking, it is their responsibilty to ensure that students are in a comfortable environment for learning. How can one be comfy when you have to worry about your car being broken into or stolen, or worry about going to a lonely car park at night to collect your car. Why should a student with a class at noon leave home at 7 in the morning to get a 'good park'. There is no safe parking on campus. Another thing is people are allowed to park when private functions are held in LRC on the grass so why the hell students cant get to park on the grass.

Rush

Postby Rush » October 10th, 2008, 1:20 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
And to the guy who saying that its not UWI responsibility to provide parking, it is their responsibilty to ensure that students are in a comfortable environment for learning. [B]How can one be comfy when you have to worry about your car being broken into or stolen, or worry about going to a lonely car park at night to collect your car.[B] Why should a student with a class at noon leave home at 7 in the morning to get a 'good park'. There is no safe parking on campus. Another thing is people are allowed to park when private functions are held in LRC on the grass so why the hell students cant get to park on the grass.

They shoudl do it the same way anyone else does it when they park anywhere else...

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 10th, 2008, 2:23 pm

And ever notice the security for TGR is NOT UWI estate police

If its the fellas with polos marked "security" on the back, yes they are UWI, but not estate constables.

With regards to the sleeping officers or any reports to be made against them simply call 662 2002 ext. 2120/3510/3512.

No car park on the campus is safe, there are breakins all the time. Aren't you all paying Guild fees?? Petition the guild and let security get more serious about making the place safer for staff and students.

Rush

Postby Rush » October 12th, 2008, 2:57 am

^^^lol
well, they get the free blackberries from bmobile, with somwething like $500 credit on it per month for 12 months

and in return bmobile has to sponsor (and well obviously advertise) all guild events

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » October 12th, 2008, 11:52 am

^ what you mean and in return> is a lose lose situation ther for bmobile lol
erm ise only park in front.. and well i does park in staff parking too.. me eh care..
i not parking by no TGR.. and wtf is up with heart ease? rell disorder.. bad roads and rell mud. stueps.. to think thats an university eh. pios right.. it like a secondary school.. infact my secondary school had better conditions!

so lets say i use a staff parking pass, erm.. the most they will do is take it away from me if they find out?

Rush

Postby Rush » October 12th, 2008, 12:29 pm

well they supposed to ban that car from coming on campus, as well as take away the pass and ban the staff that u got it from after they clamp u that is...

if that happens in reality is another situation

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » October 12th, 2008, 12:40 pm

^ lol.. well ise only pull it out when i have no choice

greenman

Postby greenman » October 16th, 2008, 2:35 pm

They should fire the entire campus police staff. From the clerks n dem straight up to the head of security. Get a new staff with greater priorities on security than spending half d day driving up and down looking for cars to clamp. They should start with that ignorant old indian fella, Dwarika. One of these days somebody will knock his teeth out..

Rush

Postby Rush » October 16th, 2008, 6:03 pm

why should they fire everybody?
they do more than just clamp

i GUARANTEE if they were not ard, there would be alot more different than just no cars being clamped

altho ur 'rage' or whatever u want to call it...may be justified,
explain why u think so and give examples or sumthing...
try to contribute to the thread properly nah

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » October 16th, 2008, 6:42 pm

Speak to your lawyer, if there is no VISIBLE disclaimer exsisting then you can be compensated.

greenman

Postby greenman » October 16th, 2008, 7:33 pm

Rush wrote:^^^

why should they fire everybody?
they do more than just clamp

i GUARANTEE if they were not ard, there would be alot more different than just no cars being clamped

altho ur 'rage' or whatever u want to call it...may be justified,
explain why u think so and give examples or sumthing...
try to contribute to the thread properly nah

Well i didn't really mean everybody, but alot of the officers have an identity crisis and believe that they are REAL police officers. I've seen them approach students with their "badjohn" attitude. I've seen one of those guards fire a gun at someone who was quarelling with them after being approached with this "badjohn" attitude (And this matter is currently before the courts). I've seen them threaten and verbally abuse students. And i always see dwarika driving up and down the staff car parks peeping his head over people cars looking for student vehicles. They don't patrol like that around the student car parks. Student cars are constantly broken into, but they rather drive around staff car parks looking for student cars than driving around student car parks. They could use their vehicles to drive aroudn the outskirts of campus because alot of students walk the roads to reach apartments, and alot of them are being robbed (and not only in the night).

And i've seen how excited these officers like Mr. Dwarika get when it comes to the clamping of cars. Lots of time is spent doing paperwork and they have to send individual vans to specific locations each time a car has to be unclamped. THats alot of man power being wasted. I've seen Mr. Wayne Richardson, director of security getting his panties in a bunch over clamping of cars also (while other more serious security issues need to be given attention).... they does act like if that $100 for each car does go in their own pocket.

Rush

Postby Rush » October 16th, 2008, 7:42 pm

^^thats alot better

i do agree with u now, wrt the time and energy spent lookign to clamp cars can be used in doing other things, if not just patrolling the campus itself to prevet break-ins/robberies

and i know they get on like real @$$ sometimes,
students tho, also come with their own attitude towards ANY authority figure.
students always drinking gambling playing loud music and just generally being a disturbance...
not saying all o dem
but i think that accounts for some of the security's badjohn behaviour to begin with

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 16th, 2008, 9:14 pm

^^ good point Rush.

and the reason they clamp students and staff cars is because there are designated car parks. There is a high volume of cars on the campus, so its just a means of keeping some amount of control.

Yes there are disclaimers at the entrances and yes, some of those guards attitude sucks big time, but like i asked earlier in this thread, what are they students and the guild doing about these issues? seriously???

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 16th, 2008, 9:40 pm

lol, pios is $100 now eh. :lol: