Piarco airport closed?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 15th, 2008, 12:00 pm

I am sorry for people who may miss their connecting flights. That could be a real pain.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 15th, 2008, 12:01 pm

runway reopen anout 20 mins now, and working in the aviation industry i will never fly AA

xtech

Postby xtech » August 15th, 2008, 12:25 pm

so why we only have one runway?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 15th, 2008, 12:26 pm

One "official" runway.

Postby Maserati » August 15th, 2008, 12:26 pm

^probably not enough air traffic to justify more than one run way..and space looks like an issue too.

riderz

Postby riderz » August 15th, 2008, 12:42 pm

You know what funny how people does jump in and say this eh good, and it hadda be AA etc etc.

AA1818 had a hydraulic problem so the pilots decided to bring the aircraft back in. In doing so the brakes held so they cannot manouvre. Mechanics repairing issue now. No casualities and aircraft would be back in the air. This happens with BA, VA all the time in Gatwick.

But we all forget when one of our own planes and our own pilots had to land one without the landing gear. Come on folks it happens to anybody.

Postby noshownogo » August 15th, 2008, 12:44 pm

I find Delta is rubbish as well, they have poor customer service and crappy reasons for delayed flights. They also have real issues with "delayed" baggage but we in Trini know it as lost luggage, Delta and connecting flights are a pain.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » August 15th, 2008, 1:56 pm

but they always late... employees and their systems have horrible attitudes and customer service. technologically backward.

i'll fly AA anyday over bwee

Ditto :mrgreen:

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » August 15th, 2008, 2:28 pm

I just heard that another emergency landing was made at Piarco within the last half hour.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 15th, 2008, 4:46 pm

riderz wrote:You know what funny how people does jump in and say this eh good, and it hadda be AA etc etc.

AA1818 had a hydraulic problem so the pilots decided to bring the aircraft back in. In doing so the brakes held so they cannot manouvre. Mechanics repairing issue now. No casualities and aircraft would be back in the air. This happens with BA, VA all the time in Gatwick.

But we all forget when one of our own planes and our own pilots had to land one without the landing gear. Come on folks it happens to anybody.

9Y-WIL?

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2008, 6:44 pm

ditto here also, but I think the attitude problems are a carryover from the old days when a job in bwee was a real status thing, with parents flying minimal price for life and all that slackness, things are a lit tighter now
even pilots now dont always have full privilege to which friend they can give the jumpseat to

the current cheap flights are to ft lauderdale at ungodly hours which mean you might end up paying for an extra day's stay, car rental if you do so etc

art n motion wrote:
but they always late... employees and their systems have horrible attitudes and customer service. technologically backward.

i'll fly AA anyday over bwee

Ditto :mrgreen:

Skanky

Postby Skanky » August 15th, 2008, 8:28 pm

I will fly CA over AA any day...especially when coming back home after 3-4 previous flights always nice to see a warm trini stewardess as opposed to someone offering me wader!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 15th, 2008, 8:32 pm

:lol: wait so it was Trini pilot in the AA aircraft..look how i din know that

and well bro maybe we doh speak about BA and VA having the same problems in London since its in London and not trinidad and we might not always hear about it like we would hear about that

also yea jed..for those who missed connecting flights that hard...

i have a 2 padnaz going Japan this morning..:lol: most flights to japan go through miami.... :| hope he wasnt on that AA and missed his connecting flight..

that wud infact be ah real fawked up event!!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 15th, 2008, 11:25 pm

Fly CONTINENTAL AIRLINES :D

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » August 15th, 2008, 11:47 pm

piarco was jinxed today apparently. two emergency landings one day? you dont normally hear of american airlines having problems though..
heard they kept the passengers on board for almost 2 hrs on the runway.. sorry for those passengers

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 15th, 2008, 11:49 pm

^^i wonder if they get drinks....

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » August 16th, 2008, 12:10 am

if i did i sure hope it was hard liquour and not no water because if was me i woulda spit d water bak in d ppl face
imagine the pilot tell the passengers it normal for emergency crew to hose down the acft after an emergency landing.. :|

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » August 16th, 2008, 12:38 am

speedbird777 wrote:piarco was jinxed today apparently. two emergency landings one day? you dont normally hear of american airlines having problems though..
heard they kept the passengers on board for almost 2 hrs on the runway.. sorry for those passengers

From Seattle to texas 4 1/2 hrs had a storm stayed in air circulate texas airport for 2 hrs fuel was low went to Dallas to refill 4 hrs, all Continental airlines were directed there. Went back to Texas took another 1/2 hr plane had to circulate airport 1 hr landed and waited on gate 1/1/2 hr and guess what all this time i had my 2 year old daughter with me.this was 2 month ago ended spending overnight in Texas to take a flight to Trinidad next morning 4 1/2 hr :roll:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 16th, 2008, 2:26 am

Aye, i tell allyuh Caribbean Airlines FTW !!! :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 16th, 2008, 12:43 pm

i will never fly AA again. and those who know me know i fly atleast once every 2 week on flights over 2 hrs.

travelign this much, i tend to use ALOT of airlines due to flight times, connections and avaliablitly and in 2 years of doing this job, i will never fly AA unless i have no choice. constant late arrivals and departures, airplanes that are old. expensive in air purchases for food/snacks.

i cannot count the number of times i have been stuck on a runway becasue they have no terminal to taxi into as a plane stuck repairing!!! or can't take off as something "blew" while taxing to runway and then i miss my connections!!!!

Caribbean airlines, TACA (never mind they crash lol) Virgin, COPA, Continental, United and South Pacific Ailines.. are all pretty good

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » August 16th, 2008, 7:23 pm

try having to fly AA for a total of 6hours today from 5am. Passed through Miami, and like AA was in chaos there...they made us change our gate to one across the airport..a nice 12min walk. They announced about 6 other gate changes for AA during that time! I have no idea what that one was about

Postby cinco » August 16th, 2008, 9:12 pm

I with you on this one Crix
I will NEVER fly AA unless i absolutely have to again
last time i came to tt i got to mia and they got us all on the plane then told us they went illegal and kicked us off. cancelled 3 other flights so had about 300 people walking around the airport at 2 in the morning. next flight to atl they could get me was 3 days later!!!!
they did not offer a hotel/taxi/food NUTTIN.
i told them dump me in nc and i will drive back home after that i said never again

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 16th, 2008, 9:38 pm

flatline wrote:try having to fly AA for a total of 6hours today from 5am. Passed through Miami, and like AA was in chaos there...they made us change our gate to one across the airport..a nice 12min walk. They announced about 6 other gate changes for AA during that time! I have no idea what that one was about

Nope that's just Miami...

More like

(Missing In Action) Ami

They did this wit BWEE once when we were there. Had to walk a long long stretch when they called and said the gate was below the god however long strtch we just walked... and there wasn't any other way but back that stretch and then all the way again when we reached the lower level.

I swore it was a marathon...

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 17th, 2008, 8:48 am

:lol: and like ive been syaing caribbean airlines ftmfw!!

but then again, i must say virgin has a reallly great service....had a 14hour flight with them already and it was pretty great....