ANyone went CHAUD -reviews?

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2008, 10:46 am

They have fat or skinny sada roti Tr1ad?

Postby tr1ad » June 18th, 2008, 10:50 am

it flat

is gourmet chef dey ya kno

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 14th, 2010, 5:40 pm

anyone been recently?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 14th, 2010, 5:48 pm

i don't know why you guys insist on paying such ridiculous prices for food yes, top class restaurants abroad don't even charge the amount that the places here charge.

Oh what am i saying you trini people don't care about price, u only care about saying "I does go there"

evokiller

Postby evokiller » April 14th, 2010, 6:05 pm

its pronounced show....its good...the service is good too....some friends work there haha

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 6:24 pm

TriniVdub wrote: top class restaurants abroad don't even charge the amount that the places here charge.

Oh really ...like where?

Last I checked a bottle of PATRON at the "W" roof top terrace bar was $500USD...and that's not even the restaurant. So if you know of a TT restaurant/bar that charges that much or more for service I'd love to know the name :?

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » April 14th, 2010, 6:28 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:anyone been recently?

service and quality hasn't dropped at all.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 14th, 2010, 6:53 pm

RASC wrote:
TriniVdub wrote: top class restaurants abroad don't even charge the amount that the places here charge.

Oh really ...like where?

Last I checked a bottle of PATRON at the "W" roof top terrace bar was $500USD...and that's not even the restaurant. So if you know of a TT restaurant/bar that charges that much or more for service I'd love to know the name :?

places like La Coquille Restaurant, Rein Bar & Bistro, Four Food Studio & Cocktail Salon in Long Beach or how about 21 Club, Bella Blu or Natsumi Restaurant in New York to name a few, where prices range from $20 -$45US. But like i said trinis on the whole could justify anything even when they getting ripped off.

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 7:51 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
RASC wrote:

Oh really ...like where?

places like La Coquille Restaurant, Rein Bar & Bistro, Four Food Studio & Cocktail Salon in Long Beach or how about 21 Club, Bella Blu or Natsumi Restaurant in New York to name a few, where prices range from $20 -$45US. But like i said trinis on the whole could justify anything even when they getting ripped off.

Then it works out to be the same...
...and I'm sure the local version tastes much better. :wink:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 14th, 2010, 7:53 pm

if u think paying $280 for a steak in TGI works out to be the same then so be it

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 7:55 pm

TriniVdub wrote:if u think paying $280 for a steak in TGI works out to be the same then so be it

A steak cost 280+ at Prime.

We were never comparing it to TGI

That would be insane at TGI :?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 14th, 2010, 8:00 pm

RASC when last have u been to trinidad? A good steak in Prime far exceeds $280+ more like $400+. I can go to any of those top restaurants i pointed out above and spend less than $100US for two, can you do that in Trinidad? Anyways I've made my point, farewell.

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 8:21 pm

TriniVdub wrote:RASC when last have u been to trinidad? A good steak in Prime far exceeds $280+ more like $400+. I can go to any of those top restaurants i pointed out above and spend less than $100US for two, can you do that in Trinidad? Anyways I've made my point, farewell.

Nope...

Steaks start at $280+ at prime
A good Steak (Porterhouse etc) You're looking at $400+
Just on par with top restaurants in the States.
Last edited by RASC on April 14th, 2010, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2010, 8:25 pm

a good churrascaria restaurant in the US is around $40-50 usd

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 8:39 pm

RASC wrote:
TriniVdub wrote:RASC when last have u been to trinidad? A good steak in Prime far exceeds $280+ more like $400+. I can go to any of those top restaurants i pointed out above and spend less than $100US for two, can you do that in Trinidad? Anyways I've made my point, farewell.

Nope...

Steaks start at $280+ at prime
A good Steak (Porterhouse etc) You're looking at $400+
Just on par with top restaurants in the States.

You have to also consider, where are they getting this beef?
If they are importing it, the prices (if you take into account the markups due to locale) actually work out to be the same as a top U.S. restaurant.

If the beef is LOCAL however, these prices are a bit steep.

:?

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » April 14th, 2010, 8:45 pm

I know prime imports their beef.

chaud, i'm not sure about.

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 8:47 pm

blacktriple_s wrote:I know prime imports their beef.

Well there you go...it's starting to add up :wink:

Hence I would say--> It's on par price wise with top international destinations.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2010, 9:20 pm

Local beef is not used in any restaurant, too tough

however the available imported beef is either Hadco(Buckhead) or Malabar Farms
(Omaha steaks)

Those brands would be more considered consumer grade, I doubt any top foreign usda prime steak restaurant would be using those brands

Postby equipped2ripp » April 14th, 2010, 9:30 pm

RASC wrote:

Oh really ...like where?

don't even waste your time.... :lol:

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 14th, 2010, 10:30 pm

On a side note, not that it matters,

Beyone ate there when she came, straight off the plane.

and straight after the concert she went there again, and she ate a heavy meal, she likes he belly alot..

Postby Chimera » April 14th, 2010, 10:33 pm

*stands at side of the road in curepe and eats doubles in shame, dreaming of the days when i can afford to go to expensive restaurants*

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2010, 10:35 pm

don't worry, the grass is always greener on the other side
google "emperor's new clothes"

ABA Trading LTD wrote:*stands at side of the road in curepe and eats doubles in shame, dreaming of the days when i can afford to go to expensive restaurants*

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 14th, 2010, 11:09 pm

Dunno how "top class" restaurants could be charging less than places here, cos just last month at the MGM Grand, Las Vegas Entrees at L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon started at $65, and Steaks at Craftsteak started around $75

Why should Trinidad be any different?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 14th, 2010, 11:39 pm

^^^like i said go check the websites of the restaurants i posted, look at there menus and look at the quality of the places and you'll see what i'm talking about, the dining places in trini cannot compare. Also having personally been to all i pointed out i can vouch for the service, food and prices.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 15th, 2010, 12:56 am

i used to be afraid to go there cuz i cudnt pronounce d name.

now i go and be afraid to see the bill :oops:

Postby De Dragon » April 15th, 2010, 3:16 am

tr1ad wrote:yuh cud get d pepper

buh it eh hot

:? :?
So Chaud have pepper but it eh chaud?

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2010, 7:02 am

it is difficult to compare apples with apples in restaurants for a variety of reasons
eg type of food, number of courses they serve and so on

the best you can do is go by zagat or michelin ratings

Thomas Keller's French Laundry which is a michelin 3 star place and requires reservation at least a year ahead
is $250 for a 13 item course

Kittles

Postby Kittles » April 15th, 2010, 3:54 pm

i went once - it was aiite.

valet parking was a nice touch... nothing was missin from my car lol

drinks were interesting

appetizer - one JUMBO shrimp thing if i remember correctly - it taste yukky!!

main course was duck - which wasnt horrible but didnt taste great either.

Service/decor/ ambiance was really nice.

after my below average meal i decided to skip dessert but they still brought us some complimentary chocolate truffles which was pretty nice of them.

maybe i caught them on a bad day or something but it was enough for me to not want to go there again - it wasnt worth the price to me.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 15th, 2010, 3:56 pm

^^is any restaurant in trinidad ever worth the price :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » April 15th, 2010, 4:00 pm

TriniVdub wrote:^^is any restaurant in trinidad ever worth the price :roll:

YES!!!!!!!! Zanzibar! Excellent food, consistent service!