I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » April 2nd, 2008, 6:55 pm

hoss it have some men who deep into this IT thing since deh is youths... i know some a dem... 13 years cracking code like normal...

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » April 2nd, 2008, 6:59 pm

pugboy wrote:are you aware that there are guys in fujitsu making 30k+ ?
they dont have a bunch of certs but experience with unix and good basic understanding of firewalls and tcp/ip

Really?? *cough* *cough*..

I bet dem fellas does buy evo an ting... :lol:

carmelo

Re: I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby carmelo » April 2nd, 2008, 7:30 pm

ibanez wrote:need some advice on I.T jobs

Have a BSc. CIS (hons) University of London, currently studying MCSE

My current salary is $12,600 (basic) with 20 days vacation per year, 20 days sick and 5 emergency days.

I have no experience in the field so entry level jobs pay much less than my current salary. I am looking for a job which can provide me with an overall package that is not much less than my current job ie not $6k -$7k jobs, minimum of $10k will be OK

Can anyone provide some info on I.T jobs at different companies and their current salaries? How much entry level jobs pay, what certs beside MCSE will be useful?

Thanks
dude where are u working???? wish i was getting that salary

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2008, 8:33 pm

really and truly if you understand how tcp/ip works under the hood at the packet level, them firewall technology not so hard to master

unfortunately if you will be lucky if you can find someone who understands how an ip address is derived from binary bits and the relation of the subnet mask to that

what is a bit unfortunate though is that in them big vendor companies there is a dog eat dog mentality and nobody likes to share info
so all the plebs with the paper certs are kept at ground level

Racegod wrote:pugboy,

Very Aware of that, hence why somebody on the forum said you need to be different.. specialize...

And btw they are trained in Check Point, hence why they make that much...

There isn't much Check Point certified persons in the caribbean to my knowledge.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » April 2nd, 2008, 8:53 pm

pugboy,

And yes i do understand how it translates to Bits and what is the relation to Subnet...

And i have done packet analysis in detail...

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » April 2nd, 2008, 8:57 pm

LOL.. everybody feel dem is IT expert when they know about 1s and 0s :lol: :lol:

Let me tell you this, from my personal experience and career growth, what makes you valuable is not your so-called knowledge and expertise, be it paper or otherwise, but your ability to translate that into $$ for the company. Get there, and soon you'll be earning the big bucks too..

Postby r3iXmann » April 2nd, 2008, 8:58 pm

BulletProof wrote:LOL.. everybody feel dem is IT expert when they know about 1s and 0s :lol: :lol:

Let me tell you this, from my personal experience and career growth, what makes you valuable is not your so-called knowledge and expertise, be it paper or otherwise, but your ability to translate that into $$ for the company. Get there, and soon you'll be earning the big bucks too..

[/thread]

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 3rd, 2008, 12:20 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
ek4ever wrote:
Dragist wrote:To command that kind of salary you need experience , I for one don't hire anyone loaded with certs and no experience .
My .02

Good advice...and more and more companies are becoming wary of paper MCSEs. I've often interviewed candidates and in just a few questions can tell that they have little real world experience...in spite of an impressive certification listing.

So how are inexperienced IT people now entering the field supposed to get experience? Is it your organisations are so small that you cannot afford the overhead costs involved in training someone and that is why you have adopted that policy?

No...that's not a policy...it was business needs. In these cases we needed persons who could hit the ground running....didn't have the time to train and have the person skill up to the level required....complex working environment.

I should also mention that some times it's not all about the money when ur now starting out. Personally I would trade compensation to work where there is exposure to different technologies, a fast paced changing operational environment and an organisation that invests in the individual (sending their ppl on training, seminars, workshops, etc) .This would afford me the opportunity to really get a hold of IT in the real world and develop as an IT professional.

I've interviewed IT persons working for 30k + expenses, car etc and their reason for wanting to leave their current job is sheer boredom and no room to develop. It's not just about the money.....job satisfaction is much more than that....tangible and intangible benefits.

Postby crazybalhead » April 3rd, 2008, 12:22 pm

IT persons working for 30k + expenses

WHERE IS DAT??? :shock:

Postby r3iXmann » April 3rd, 2008, 12:24 pm

crazybalhead wrote:IT persons working for 30k + expenses

sounds like middle/upper management

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 3rd, 2008, 12:28 pm

crazybalhead wrote:IT persons working for 30k + expenses

Trinidad, Barbados, Jamaica and Antigua Barbuda

When converted to TT dollars

Postby crazybalhead » April 3rd, 2008, 12:30 pm

That sounds like sales or upper management salaries. I was in that industry for years and my salary was never NEAR that. Doing Oracle sales.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 3rd, 2008, 12:59 pm

check this out:

Someone graduated with an undergraduate Geoscience Degree can get $20,000. and they are noobs.

A classmate of mine a few years ago JUST got an IT job (yes finally got IT job) and gets $5,000. a month and he's a noob.

A pallie however has been working in the IT sector for the past 15yrs and his salary is no more than $15,000. and has a graduate degree in IT.

3-4 years of hardcore studying results in $5,000. a month and I have to wait a sheit load of years just to pass the $10,000 mark yet a noob straight from UWI/UTT can bark out $20,000. a month? No wonder why SAM's and SBCS have a set of young BSc and MSc lecturers.

Only the frogs in IT running the show......little tad poles have no chance unless somebody pull a string or raise a skirt.

That's why I switched careers........hell no I waiting 10 years to make $10,000. and $10gs is nothing. After groceries, car payment, rent/mortgage......you have $100 left to buy phone card......sorry I mean extra Flour.

DW

Postby DW » April 3rd, 2008, 7:44 pm

in IT, PJ's tend to pay more than the base salary from the full time employer...accept it and use it to your advantage.

Pay tax on the full time salary and send the rest to off shore accounts :wink:

Racegod

Postby Racegod » April 3rd, 2008, 10:34 pm

x2floor,

And yuh sure right bout dat...

today's IT has changed..

Ppl holding Dips., BSc's, and MSc's like wow... when the ppl that actually skilled in the area.. suck salt..

Postby AllTrac » April 3rd, 2008, 11:17 pm

DW wrote:in IT, PJ's tend to pay more than the base salary from the full time employer...accept it and use it to your advantage.

ahhh valuable information here, and has alot of truth to it as i have been doing it for years, hoping to go official this year and open my consultancy company since i have built my customer base with pj's.Then i would leave my job.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 4th, 2008, 9:37 am

Skilzman wrote:
ibanez wrote:yeah guys thanks for the info, know that I can't get the $12k or close without experience.

I just wanted to get some feedback on how much IT jobs paying. If it ain't worth it may consider doing a degree in another field.

Can't understand why everyone else with degrees are making money but IT people don't. Even in my company IT jobs pay less than engineering and both require a degree.

Cause its saturated

Thank you.

Its just like Management 10 years ago when there was a push away from Sciences into Business. Management positions weren't paying because of saturation.

Right now too many jobs fall under the IT field and it will continue to do so as technology is brought more into all aspects of our jobs. When that is happening, there is 'nothing special' about being in IT Tech. It's just another normal job (i.e. it needs to be done and someone has to do it), unlike those in the Medical and Education field.

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » April 4th, 2008, 9:53 am

i've been lookig at the classifieds in the papers and most IT jobs available they want 2-up years experience..now with ah person now finishing schooling, etc how d a$$ yuh gonna hav dem kinda experience to get dem jobs..yuh ehh see Trinidad kinda fau%k up...i nearly finish my degree at SAMS and thinking bout changing over to some other field, cause the damn IT field is nonsense in Trini...

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » April 4th, 2008, 9:54 am

and on top ah that it ehh even have someone or some kinda company to help yuh out or probably guide yuh in a direction...for us newbees it does make yuh feel like it ehh hav no hope at all!..and for a fact i know fellas who hav much less than me and hav big jobs in the IT department...everyone pulling strings nowadays and for some of us who ehh hav dem kinda ting is SALT!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 4th, 2008, 9:58 am

shagadelic99tt wrote:i've been lookig at the classifieds in the papers and most IT jobs available they want 2-up years experience..now with ah person now finishing schooling, etc how d a$$ yuh gonna hav dem kinda experience to get dem jobs..yuh ehh see Trinidad kinda fau%k up...i nearly finish my degree at SAMS and thinking bout changing over to some other field, cause the damn IT field is nonsense in Trini...

You will get 2 years experiences by working in a low-paying job in a small company.

Why would anyone expect because you are now out of school that you will automatically get a high-paying job and you can 'live the life'.

That's a myth. Get your feet back on the ground.

Postby r3iXmann » April 4th, 2008, 10:03 am

Strauss wrote:
shagadelic99tt wrote:i've been lookig at the classifieds in the papers and most IT jobs available they want 2-up years experience..now with ah person now finishing schooling, etc how d a$$ yuh gonna hav dem kinda experience to get dem jobs..yuh ehh see Trinidad kinda fau%k up...i nearly finish my degree at SAMS and thinking bout changing over to some other field, cause the damn IT field is nonsense in Trini...

You will get 2 years experiences by working in a low-paying job in a small company.

Why would anyone expect because you are now out of school that you will automatically get a high-paying job and you can 'live the life'.

Exactly. Or you can switch to part time classes and take up a full time job OR you can contract yourself out using the skills that you acquired during school and make some $ and gain experience.

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » April 4th, 2008, 10:17 am

d ting is there aren't ne low paying jobs available..been searching ah while now!...even had a thread on the forum bout it!

Postby r3iXmann » April 4th, 2008, 10:17 am

shagadelic99tt wrote:

d ting is there aren't ne low paying jobs available..been searching ah while now!...even had a thread on the forum bout it!

u check OJT?

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » April 4th, 2008, 10:18 am

also if allyuh hav ne ideas on places hiring feel free to tell us!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 4th, 2008, 4:08 pm

I've been in the IT field for almost 11 years, I started off in a low paying job at a computer training/sales center.....for the first three years the most I ever took home per month was $3000 (started as an OJT at $800 and they kept me on after the training period.)

Within the first year, some of the clients for that company I worked for offered me jobs that paid more but didn't offer any more for me to learn compared to where I was....so I stayed on in the original job to gain experience and during that three years and did a couple IT courses on the side.

I registered with local employment agencies and they found me a job as a SysAdmin that doubled my salary but I only stayed at that job for six months....just a small LAN to manage nothing to LEARN.

Then the same employment agency found me my third job at a Real Estate company as a Net Admin and again for MORE money....but I left after 1 year because again, nothing to LEARN.

During that time I made several contacts in the IT field (at school, and with the clients and companies I worked with) and I now have a job that pays plenty more than what I started with.

What I'm trying to say is what all the other guys mentioned.....you HAVE to WORK for what you want, you HAVE to make sure people (important people) in the field know you (if yuh have a string to pull, pull the frickin thing, is your livelihood yuh working for) and you can never stop learning, especially in the IT field.

My salary is good, but compared to some of my friends who started off with me and now work in the US, UK, Australia & Canada, my salary is chicken feed compared to them. If you want to make the big bucks, get out of Trinidad the market really is saturated here.

peace.

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » April 4th, 2008, 4:20 pm

u check OJT?

nah!

I've been in the IT field for almost 11 years, I started off in a low paying job at a computer training/sales center.....for the first three years the most I ever took home per month was $3000 (started as an OJT at $800 and they kept me on after the training period.)

Within the first year, some of the clients for that company I worked for offered me jobs that paid more but didn't offer any more for me to learn compared to where I was....so I stayed on in the original job to gain experience and during that three years and did a couple IT courses on the side.

I registered with local employment agencies and they found me a job as a SysAdmin that doubled my salary but I only stayed at that job for six months....just a small LAN to manage nothing to LEARN.

Then the same employment agency found me my third job at a Real Estate company as a Net Admin and again for MORE money....but I left after 1 year because again, nothing to LEARN.

During that time I made several contacts in the IT field (at school, and with the clients and companies I worked with) and I now have a job that pays plenty more than what I started with.

What I'm trying to say is what all the other guys mentioned.....you HAVE to WORK for what you want, you HAVE to make sure people (important people) in the field know you (if yuh have a string to pull, pull the frickin thing, is your livelihood yuh working for) and you can never stop learning, especially in the IT field.

My salary is good, but compared to some of my friends who started off with me and now work in the US, UK, Australia & Canada, my salary is chicken feed compared to them. If you want to make the big bucks, get out of Trinidad the market really is saturated here.

peace.

hmm, what employment agency was that?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 4th, 2008, 4:30 pm

http://www.crsitjobs.com/

http://www.eaastaff.com/

http://www.caribbeanjobs.com/

have a couple others, can remember them right now...but doh think too much for local jobs....try abroad, yuh never know what might happen.

I know a fella who did MCSE, CCNA and Network+ fresh out of school and now works for an IT company in Texas as an intern starting around $2000US a month.

JWT

Postby JWT » April 4th, 2008, 9:15 pm

I am an IT teacher Secondary school and we take home over $8000 nd we have paid vactions :lol: :lol:

but everyone sees teacher

and i still have time for my part time jobs which pay real $$$

Racegod

Postby Racegod » April 4th, 2008, 10:05 pm

JWT,

Dais one man dat bussing style... whats de qual for high scool teacher for I.T.?

if you don't mind...

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » April 4th, 2008, 10:47 pm

it ehh hav no HR ppl on here that can employ some of us?