CYCLOP'S 8YR OLD SON ARRESTED TONIGHT!!!

SyrianAli

Postby SyrianAli » June 25th, 2007, 8:23 am

well if this is selling in toy stores, wudn't it be the toy store at fault? b/c its not like 17yr old with license go to a toy store to buy a bike rite?
well i guess that's providing it is available in a toy store, i have no clue where u go to get it.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » June 25th, 2007, 8:30 am

How can this be justified??? You mean to tell me that an 8yr old boy on a mini scooter was such a threat to society that he had to be apprehended immediately??? HOW DE firetruck CAN THAT BE RIGHT??? And on top of that, refusing the right to let his parents, even his mother go with him in the police car!!! How can this be justified???

The media was present at the arouca police station, and when the police realised that they were there, was when they decided to let the child go.

They were actually going to hold the child for the night. WHAT AH PACK AH ARSE!!!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 25th, 2007, 8:33 am

you really woudl think that POLICE and an assistant comissioner would have better and more important things to do than arrest am 8 year old for riding a scooter eh!

Then the police should patrol the queens park savannah and Bodily remove and arrest all persons who traverese the walkway on bicycles.
There are several of these law breakers daily!

I guess it doesnt matter that people are suffering and dieing on the nations roads everyday because of bad and reckless drivin. Why waste police resources on patrolling the higways, why go throught all that trouble and Hard work when you can make Trinidad safer by getting an 8 yr old off a walkway for having fun!

The police officers involved in this case should be shot with sheit and charged for smelling stink! :evil:

nismoid

Postby nismoid » June 25th, 2007, 8:56 am

i say we call inshan on ibn and make it a topic,,, what you guys say?

air wick

Postby air wick » June 25th, 2007, 9:01 am

is jealousy... them officers maybe vex cause they cyar buy toys like that for their kids.....

Postby r3iXmann » June 25th, 2007, 9:06 am

glad to see that the police are getting these dangerous criminals off the street :?

on a side note,that is KIDNAPPING. the father should explode this issue to the max

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » June 25th, 2007, 9:18 am

reiXmann wrote:glad to see that the police are getting these dangerous criminals off the street :?

on a side note,that is KIDNAPPING. the father should explode this issue to the max

THAT DONE HAPPEN AH READY!!!

Safeq

Postby Safeq » June 25th, 2007, 9:22 am

Whether the police had the right to arrest the child for breaking the law is only one part of the issue.
A proper analysis of the law and proper arguments in court and that will sway the way of the better lawyer.
If the story played out exactly as described then the more concerning matter is how the police treated with the matter. I checked with a lawyer and there are very strict guidelines about how the law is allowed to treat minors.
At no point can the police legally detain a minor without a parent or legal guradian present so that van ride was madness.
Holding the child overnight is madness too because there are limits as to how long minors can be detained and how interrogations go etc so the media only made it easy but the police couldn't actually legally do what they were purporting to do.
So I hope that Mr Cyclops gets proper legal counsel and pursues this fully because the police have violated the rights of his son.
And personally that sounding like that story have more in the mortar than just the pestle.
Assistant COP doesn't be out just so to arrest people children. Sumn else going on
My .5 cents

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » June 25th, 2007, 10:24 am

If it is that a woman can have the right to drive herself to a police station for her own safety as opposed to getting in the back of a squad car if no female officer is present then who the f**k can this be right. Maybe it is a vehicle not a toy, but OMG this is a child. As a mother of a nine year old boy, I know what he woiuld be going through, so to not allow his parents the right to sit with him...nah somethin hadda be wrong there

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 25th, 2007, 11:02 am

law is damn law, let dem start disregarding d law from young and dey grow up to b menaces to society

Postby SUPAstarr » June 25th, 2007, 11:06 am

y police doh run up firetruck Pineapple dr in Haleand Park, or 1 ah dem odda fruity cresents inside dey an lock up dem rich ppl chilred for ride dat an motor scooter on de road way. steupsssssssssssss
trini yes ah love it

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » June 25th, 2007, 11:24 am

Noiced them yesterday and was considering bringing my 10 year old daughter with her with her 50CC and I come ride with her with my 250CC well it might ah be 3 ah wee lock up!

That case cannot stand up in court!
It will get throw out one time and the childs father should sue the state; police and customs.

Cause what they basically saying is that you can't ride the ATV no where; only in yuh back yard!

And not to far in Orange Grove; where Hector Mc Clen use to live in fact his neighbours were riding go carts in the road.

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » June 25th, 2007, 12:36 pm

:? :? :?
i see three points to be discussed here:

Technically speaking, it is a vehicle, why toy stores sells them- is another issue,

however, the way they are designed, only small children, or vertically challenged can ride these things, so at some level they are toys, correct?

blue galant has a point, if they are being allowed into the country, then the govenrment has a responsibility to either
1. state the rules / bylaws/ documented assurance to the vendor
2. vendor should by law submit a copy of the rules to a consumer

technically speaking eddie hart grounds is public property yes?

although the circumstances were very harsh, and i would not want that for my child to experience. was very uncalled for and considering the quick turn around of the police station with the appearance of the media, thats says alot.

what happens in other cases, if the media is not present?

start from the beginning-
1. customs
2. vendors
3. laws of the nation
4. police insanity
5. letting the public know that a walkway is apparently the same as a public road
6. ALWAYS HAVE YOUR MEDIA AT HAND

Postby gt4tified » June 25th, 2007, 1:41 pm

*reads thread*

*.....runs off quick quick to put reflectors on de popo's tricycle and move media contact nos. to #3 on speed dial.*

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 25th, 2007, 2:25 pm

:rofl: @ trinidad :lol: :lol:
you have meetings with "community leaders" but for a minor traffic violation, an 8 year old gets put into a squad car and hauled off to jail :? :pokes: :lol: :lol: :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 25th, 2007, 2:30 pm

AH wonder if they would'a dare stop Abu child from riding one like that?

Evo_69

Postby Evo_69 » June 25th, 2007, 2:49 pm

Someone should make a trini version of COPS (shown on G4) where cameramen travel with police and videotape them handling different types of cases.

The trini version would have the police stopping and buying doubles, arresting 8 year old kids and bullying defenceless individuals, picking up their outside women and children and taking them to buy grocery and popping in the neighbourhood bar for a free drink. Even more hilarious is lying and saying they are somewhere else when an emergency call come to investigate a shooting

SKIDMARQS

Postby SKIDMARQS » June 25th, 2007, 2:59 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:law is damn law, let dem start disregarding d law from young and dey grow up to b menaces to society

You obviously have no children...if you do I sorry for them!
Whether lil Ricky was right or wrong, whether Cyclops was right or wrong is not the real issue as far as I see.
There is certain protocol to be followed and there is no way in hell an officer should treat an 8 yr old the same way he would handle a hard-back criminal!!!
Even if there is more to the story like a rift between Clops and the d babylon or if he was disrespectful to the plain clothes officer,(someone alluded to there being more to the story) take it out on Clops, he is a big man, doh traumatize a poor innocent child!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 25th, 2007, 4:09 pm

Ok- if you were in Clops position- a man walks up to you asks you a series of questions- claims hes a policeman in plain clothes, never shows Proof of this- you really think that you would listen to him in this day and age???

Finally when the car show and the other officer arrive- then all show that they are police- Now- heres the thing- we live in a modern society where we have seen that several police and law enforcement officals are involved in kidnappings.
They say that they ar taking the little boy to the station and that No parent can accompany him. Would you be willing to let YOUR child go with them?

Hell facking NO- if you had children you all would understand!

aR&D

Postby aR&D » June 25th, 2007, 4:20 pm

The arrest of the 8-year old was uncalled for. IF the parent was spoken to, repeatedly and ignored such warnings, then the parent should have been charged.

Would you go driving on the track of any of the stadiums?

That paved track around the Savannah is not for vehicles, it is pedestrians - walkers, runners, joggers - ONLY - not even bicycles should be on it. That is tis purpose, that was the intention for it being laid The act of driving on it with any motorized vehicle is akin to driving on the pavement, which is illegal. Those lawbreakers, those lazy fat-arses that likes to "park" their vehicles close to and around the paved track, other than the front section, designated for parking should be charged.

We Trinis have no respect for any infrastructure - all we know is to "mash up and stink up de place"

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 25th, 2007, 4:29 pm

Well then we need to get some Police around the savanah!
ARREST every fugging person on a bicycle!

And task force should take down all dem Bandit youths that ride on the shoulder of our highways!

MrD15Bvti

Postby MrD15Bvti » June 25th, 2007, 4:40 pm

For you'll who think that this was unjustified act by the police then your sixth sense has not misled you, cause the law states that no child 8yrs and under is incapable of comitting any crime. So if that ACP really did do that then he should not hold that rank, cause that is one of the first things that any law enforcement officer is taught!!

Postby X2 » June 25th, 2007, 4:52 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Ok- if you were in Clops position- a man walks up to you asks you a series of questions- claims hes a policeman in plain clothes, never shows Proof of this- you really think that you would listen to him in this day and age???

Finally when the car show and the other officer arrive- then all show that they are police- Now- heres the thing- we live in a modern society where we have seen that several police and law enforcement officals are involved in kidnappings.
They say that they ar taking the little boy to the station and that No parent can accompany him. Would you be willing to let YOUR child go with them?

Hell facking NO- if you had children you all would understand!

YEP ^^ !!!!

IMO.. that was done JUST like a kidnapping.... the officers should be charged for mis-conduct !

Any sane person can see that the logical thing to do was to charge the parent and maybe 'talk' to the boy at worst. With all the violent crime, misled youths, kidnapping and murders in this country of ours... this is DISGRACEFUL !!!

The officers should be held accountable !

DISGRACEFUL !!!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 25th, 2007, 6:42 pm

all allyuh who talking out of allyuh arses, if allyuh had a toddler walking along dat path or in the grounds and the boy lost control and ran your child over allyuh woulda be singing a different song and asking why he was riding dat in d first place

Dessalines

Postby Dessalines » June 25th, 2007, 7:21 pm

Is true...the law is the law.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 25th, 2007, 8:39 pm

corollalover101 wrote:not a toy it's a vehicle, look up the definition for vehicle in the MV&RT Act chap 48:50

So stores selling them and little kids need a permit to ride it?

I called Clops a while ago and he gave me the story. That is real bullshyt. That Ass. Commissioner must have been drunk or found out he got horned. How can you study to bother KIDS like that? And the real criminals run free.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 25th, 2007, 10:55 pm

well you know how it is boy strauss!

as long as them "KINDS" in a position of power they figure that they pull ah manning power trip!

STEUPS

I WANT that "ass"istant comissioner removed for such an appauling act of cowardice and jealously! :evil: :evil: :evil:

bd319

Postby bd319 » June 25th, 2007, 11:14 pm

WTF?
an 8 yr. old child?
charges

Doli Incapax
hes incapable because he is a child.......

Lawsuit in dey mudderscrunt

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » June 26th, 2007, 1:26 am

If the events unfolded exactly as reported here then I agree that the minor should have been accompanied by a parent to the station.

However, as one person rightly pointed out, if any of you and our your family were to be injured by said minor on the MOTORISED VEHICLE while WALKING on a designated FOOTPATH then I am sure that you would sing a different tune.

What about those kids that are allowed to ride them on the public roads? If they were to be knocked down and crushed by a driver, who is to blame?
If they run into your car while parked at the side of the road, what insurance are you going to file your claim against?
Theres 2 youths that ride one on my street daily and not only is the noise unbearable at times but they also ride after dark and the scooter has no lights.

I'm not innocent because I was allowed to ride a similar vehicle on public roads and in public savannahs at his age and looking back on it it was lots of fun but hazardous to me and to anyone around.

Also having known the officer in question personally for a number of years I find it hard to believe that he jus ups and decide on this course of action. Does anyone know if legit users (on foot) of the pathway have filed complaints or reports at Arouca station about the use of these vehicles? Have any warnings against their use been given to the users by the police and been ignored?

Look at the situation objectively instead of criticising people for doing their job.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 26th, 2007, 1:52 am

Trini_Reddz wrote:If the events unfolded exactly as reported here then I agree that the minor should have been accompanied by a parent to the station.

However, as one person rightly pointed out, if any of you and our your family were to be injured by said minor on the MOTORISED VEHICLE while WALKING on a designated FOOTPATH then I am sure that you would sing a different tune.

What about those kids that are allowed to ride them on the public roads? If they were to be knocked down and crushed by a driver, who is to blame?
If they run into your car while parked at the side of the road, what insurance are you going to file your claim against?
Theres 2 youths that ride one on my street daily and not only is the noise unbearable at times but they also ride after dark and the scooter has no lights.

I'm not innocent because I was allowed to ride a similar vehicle on public roads and in public savannahs at his age and looking back on it it was lots of fun but hazardous to me and to anyone around.

Also having known the officer in question personally for a number of years I find it hard to believe that he jus ups and decide on this course of action. Does anyone know if legit users (on foot) of the pathway have filed complaints or reports at Arouca station about the use of these vehicles? Have any warnings against their use been given to the users by the police and been ignored?

Look at the situation objectively instead of criticising people for doing their job.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage