Serious Debate: ADHD infecting trinidad and tobago?

Postby Hook » September 25th, 2009, 9:25 am

*Hook can't believe he clocked "Submit" on that ^^^ crap*

Postby buzz » September 25th, 2009, 12:37 pm

the situation that yeo described reminds me of UWI

i'm serious :?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 25th, 2009, 12:53 pm

Hook wrote:*Hook can't believe he clocked "Submit" on that ^^^ crap*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 25th, 2009, 12:55 pm

I can agree with Hook and Yeo - lol but I think 90% of the cases are premature diagnosis

and Yeo at your age they don't call it ADD they call it Alzheimer's. :lol:

buzz wrote:
bluefete wrote:America is a sick society. Do you realize the pharmaceuticals control the psychology of the mind?

We have a tablet to sell you, so we must invent a sickness to sell you so you can buy our tablets.

Capitalism is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ADD is nothing more than a spoilt child looking for attention.

And of course, if you lack, dopamine, we have a tablet for you too.

congratulations

you're an idiot :arrow:

bluefete there are serious cases of ADD worldwide - while I agree they are over hasty in diagnosing you cannot discredit an illness just because you do not understand it.

reminds me of your horrible logic in the freemason and God threads

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 25th, 2009, 1:01 pm

Yeo at your age they don't call it ADD they call it Alzheimer's.

That's ok, yu know what they say, "Alzheimer's, -- make new friends everyday" :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 25th, 2009, 1:21 pm

^ LOL

noobie

Postby noobie » September 25th, 2009, 2:59 pm

ADD is an easy diagnosis for doctors to make.

9.9 / 10 times the child simply needs behavioural reinforcement and does not need drugs.

However, in a public school parents are almost forced to give their children this medication.

It's another capitalist racket, where human beings lose out. If children do not learn how to deal with themselves, to be patient and to adjust their behaviour you end up having problem adults who have never learnt how to deal with life's challenges.

Postby hydroep » September 25th, 2009, 3:15 pm

In my day it was called a sugar rush...:|

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2009, 4:40 pm

since when does a parent do the diagnosis? there's a difference between a qualified professional/psychologist making a diagnosis and a parent or teacher just mouthing off "well he might have a little autism or ADHD nah". As i said there is PHYSICAL evidence to show its a real disorder- is not like the old days where you didnt have MRI, SPEC scans- these days thanks to technology can see into your brain and scans can reveal differences in people's brains who have various disorders- even depression.
yeah sure some schools/parents take it upon themselves and assume their kid has it, and perhaps some docs are pressured to diagnose them as ADHD when they dont meet all the criteria as defined in the DSM http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diagnostic ... _Disorders but its still a real disorder-they used to think asthma was all 'in your head' too & im sure there are people who still do

d spike

Postby d spike » September 25th, 2009, 5:29 pm

When 'dyslexia' started making headlines about 10-15 years ago here in Trinidad, I knew of quite a few rural schools (and a couple urban ones too) in which the teachers claimed many students were dyslexic. Was this just one glorious excuse as to why the "slow" students couldn't learn? (Rather than saying de teacher cyah teach?)

When ADD came on the scene (are these things fads?) the same situation occurred. A new excuse? A lot (far too many) of the kids do suffer from learning disorders, some (painfully obviously) genetic. Many learning problems can be caused by basic things like no breakfast or dinner. (Some kids come to school as that is one place they are sure of getting a meal.)

But only until recently, you could become a primary school teacher with only 5 O'levels (4, if agriculture was one of them). You worked in the system for 3 to 5 years until you got sent to Training College. The kids were guinea-pigs for your experiment in teaching. Now, OJT's are being placed in front of classrooms (even though one is told that is not to be done). Is it any coincidence that the quality of primary education has been dropping drastically over the last 20 years?

Parents play a major role in the education of their children, but many seem glibly unaware of this. Ent dat is why dey sen' de chirren to school? Schools are seen as gigantic day-care centres. Children go through the system with seemingly no parental support (the only ones who show up at PTA and class meetings are the parents of children who don't have problems - do the math) but the parents appear as if by magic in Standard 5 to find out why you didn't want to put 'Fatima College' as the first choice.

Yes, technology plays a role in making children crave more mental stimulation, But shorter attention spans and a serious lack of indiscipline comes from somewhere else.

Postby redmanjp » October 3rd, 2009, 12:59 am

this is a WHO self screener (not a diagnosis)

http://webdoc.nyumc.org/nyumc/files/psy ... reener.pdf

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2009, 5:34 pm

just came across this- we never could tell if there could be a serious link between mental health/disorders & crime in T&T

http://attentiondeficitoc.wordpress.com ... -problems/

April 30, 2008

There are three types of AD/HD (ADD), primarily Inattentive, Hyperactive-Impulsive, and Combined. In individuals with Hyperactive-Impulsive and the Combined forms, anti-social behavior is, unfortunately, common. Approximately 60% of these individuals maybe oppositional or defiant, many end up in trouble with the law.

These difficulties are rooted in the neurological imbalances, which cause AD/HD (which in most cases can be corrected through neurological retraining, without the use of drugs). The results of these imbalances are that these individuals tend to typically be less content and peaceful, impulsively act-out, and crave the stimulation of anti-social behaviors. Furthermore, the impulsivity causes these activities to be less carefully planned, and they are more easily caught.

Teenagers with these forms of the disorder average two arrests by the age of 18. Approximately 20% of these teenagers will be arrested for a felony, compared to only 3% of teens without the disorder. Recent data shows that as many as 50% of all teens in juvenile facilities have AD/HD, but were untreated for it, and a full 70% of men in prisons in California have AD/HD and were untreated for it as children.

Teens with these types of the disorder have 400% more traffic tickets related to speeding, than teenagers without it. Twice as many of these teenagers will run away from home (with the added increased likelihood of further bad choices, once away from home) than teens without the disorder. Arson is also often associated with AD/HD, teenagers with untreated AD/HD are three times more likely to be arrested for arson than those without the disorder.

Teenagers untreated as children for AD/HD are ten times more likely to get pregnant, or to cause a pregnancy, than those without AD/HD. Teens untreated for this disorder are
also 400% more likely to contract a sexually transmitted than teens without AD/HD.
Often AD/HD students will have difficulty with certain interactions on a regular basis: difficulty in taking turns, misinterpreting others’ remarks as overly hostile, personalizing others’ remarks actions excessively, and misreading social cues.

Correcting the Disorder

In addition to the above-mentioned problems, there are a host of other difficulties associated with AD/HD. Tragically this disorder often goes undetected, or when detected, untreated, due to parents’ fear of the unwanted significant side effects of medication, which they may think are their only treatment option.

As we mentioned earlier, the neurological imbalances, which cause all forms of this disorder, can be retrained, alleviating the condition. Neurofeedback is a drug free, safe, non-invasive and painless procedure in which the patient learns to retrain these processes. Once training is completed, no further treatment is necessary.

i wonder how many criminals in our jail have adhd or some other problem?

d spike

Postby d spike » December 8th, 2009, 6:12 pm

I think a lot of primary school teachers in POS and environs will be nodding their heads in agreement when they read this - if they still read...

Postby Cjruckus » December 8th, 2009, 7:04 pm

Serious debate on tuner?

Nevvaarrr!

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 8th, 2009, 7:57 pm

lemme give my personal view.
ADD or ATTENTION DEFICETE DISORDER and ADHD or ATTENTION DEFICITE HYPERACTIVE DISORDER is caused by a chemical imbalance in the brain.
i was diagnosed with ADHD in 1999 after going through primary school not fully working @ my full potential and not knowing why.the symtoms were hyperactivity,smart in practical subjects(math,etc)but cant handle theoretical subjects well,very short attention span etc.i was put on ritlin and tofranil (spell check pleaz),2 highly addictive drugs.my mom was told that the school system in tnt doesnt cater for such students cuz oral and practical tests are needed.
when i was diagnosed and my parents,the guidence officer and psychatrist had a meeting with the principal and teachers to tell them about my condition.most both senior and junior teachers responded that they have either never heard of it or didnt know how to deal with it.
while on the drugs there was a change in my behavor,my attention span increased,etc.now i that my moms,the teacher,guidence officer and the psychatrist for all their help and determination to help me.

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2009, 8:10 pm

the no. in the general population is 3-5% but 70% for men in jail? how come we doh evaluate criminals for this down here- or hardly ever launch awareness campaigns for it. and even 3-5% is a lot- i saw an American woman on a morning show yesterday talking about children with disabilities and she said about 50,000 children in trini have disabilities 'including attention issues' with lack of attention being one of the main components of ADHD

also i read that some people with it may sometimes be seen talking to themselves- (probably verbal hyperactivity-too many thoughts racing through the head) how many times have we seen this?
Last edited by redmanjp on December 8th, 2009, 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2009, 8:27 pm

trinidrift,

do u know of adhd specialists in this country? or did u just go to a normal psychologist/psychiatrist? ive read that some even in the US may not know about it sufficiently to make a diagnosis- in trini well we always behind in everything so might be worse- i myself always used to be fidgety and distracted a lot & still am & believe i might have it- had to repeat Common Entrance & Form 5 & now doing a Bsc Degree and failed 2 units last yr- ADHD is genetic and my dad also had academic problems, is also fidgety and his brother had problems with school (i think) and couldnt (and still cant) hold down a job- if u can refer me to one or even a neurologist (they can diagnose it too) i'd appreciate it.
thanks

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 8th, 2009, 8:34 pm

redmanjp, Dr. Jacqueline Sharpe is very good with diag and treatment she deals wth sum1 I know

Postby redmanjp » December 8th, 2009, 8:48 pm

JWT wrote:
zer0xp wrote:
JWT wrote:ahh young one
the attention span is short true not due to ADD but because of bordom and technology. When i say technology look at it this way long time ago we neevr had playstation and other devices to keep us company and have us tehcology inclined. These children in the system can work a computer by age 13. can use a dvd player at age 5 and they expect the same technology from schools. The education system in this country cannot keep up with technology. So do not blame ADD blame the schools thatare not using the technology to make the lessons being taught more interested.

Days of Chalk and talk are gone!

That's not true at all... Being someone who was introduced to use a home computer at the age of 8, I've gone through my entire middle/upper school with it. This is no time and place to show off my grades, and that's not what i'm trying to do, but for the last 3 academic years, i've held above a 3.9GPA, throughout highschool and college. My highschool had nothing "fancy" to it, and nothing different than everwhere else. It was all pen, pencil, paper. With the implementation of things like TV shows in classrooms, and even videogames in physical education in the US, why would classrooms still be too "boring" for the average teenager?

Hoping for expansion on JWT's post.

Expansion here:
Keep ADD in mind you ever noticed that it is the Single sex schools like Girls schools and boys schools that do so well in exams. Why not the coed schools? Answer it is not ADD it is the bathroom to go screw that have the kids mind suffering from ADD :lol: :lol:
this is sad but it is very true

of course there are other factors contributing to low performance, but guess what ADHD has also been linked to increased rates of pregnancy (which is brought about by u know what)

http://newideas.net/adhd/teenagers/adhd-problems

Teenagers untreated for their Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder are ten times more likely to get pregnant, or cause a pregnancy, than those without ADHD.

Teenagers untreated for their Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder are 400% more likely to contract a sexually transmitted disease than teens without ADHD: 16% to 4%.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 8th, 2009, 9:33 pm

i went 2 both a psychologist and a psychiatrist n got d same diagnosis.i cant remember the names rite now or if they are specilist. :lol:

Postby shogun » December 9th, 2009, 1:13 am

The introduction of technology has alot to do with it,in that i think it has accelerated our evolution alot .Ideas/attitudes change alot faster information is everywhere almost at once.And it's no secret that children are very adept at using computers/phones,any form of technology really,you name it,which in turn has made them evolve at a much younger age in ALL ways emotionally/sexually (can't blame them when sex is so ubiquitous)and because they are now more evolved at a much younger age it's manifesting itself in their behaviors attitudes towards the world we live in...not to mention the fact that the symptoms of ADD/ADHD are far to broad to really be scientific.And! also the fact that the drug companies are doing their part (i'm sure) to make sure their drugs make a profit.

Postby redmanjp » December 9th, 2009, 8:45 am

I don't think its technology causing it although an adhd person will be distracted by it but then again they can be distracted by anything including people chatting outside and even their own overwhelming thought patterns- and also its a fact that many parents particularly fathers, after having 1 or more children diagnosed with ADHD remember having the same symptoms when they were small, and end up being diagnosed themselves- they grew up when society was slower and there werent nearly as much technology as there was today-yet they have it-and it tends to run in families including extended families, indicating a genetic link-
so the cause cant be attributed to technology-its just that back then no one knew about ADHD so they werent diagnosed then-in any event even if an adult is complaining of symptoms they look back to early childhood to see if they had problems in order to be diagnosed since it is a condition with an early childhood onset.

Postby shogun » December 9th, 2009, 7:33 pm

^^I never said technology was causing ADD/ADHD.
It is obviously a neurological imbalance with genetic and other causes.I was saying that the explosion of cases of ADD/ADHD and the subsequent over prescription of drugs to combat it, might not be completely necessary, but might be rooted in (1)drug companies/doctors conspiring to over prescribe these drugs for profit.(2) the fact that kids now are much different to kids even 10/15 years ago,and this evolution having something to do with the confusion of kids that actually have ADD/ADHD and kids that might just be "being kids" being restless/talkative inattentive...c'mon if that was the definition of ADD/ADHD then, i think i might have had it when i was a kid.

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2009, 12:07 am

yes there may be some overdiagnosis if school psychologists are under pressure from teachers to calm unruly/hyper children- but it could also be a lot more awareness of the disorder

quizes like this could help determine if you might have ADHD:-

http://www.hardybraintraining.com/page.asp?page_id=85

http://psychcentral.com/addquiz.htm

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 10th, 2009, 1:46 am

we never could tell if there could be a serious link between mental health/disorders & crime in T&T

I made this point years ago on a discussion here on the forum, and many people were quick to say "that's not an excuse"...
It is only when you meet these people and see them from a medical standpoint do you realise its gravity and prevalence...

With regard to ADHD...again as many have said, its become a fad diagnosis...a quick excuse to explain someone's shortcomings and take the responsibility as adults off ourselves...
The drugs aren't half bad and many work well, but imho they are often too quickly prescribed...
Young kids are naturally energetic, hyper and easily distractable...its up to the teacher to control that and give the child the opportunity to consciously make an effort for an extended period to concentrate etc., be it by punishment or encouragement. Only when that fails should a diagnosis of ADHD really be contemplated...
Sadly in our society, that's too much work for some people...

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2009, 2:40 am

actually in T&T, as opposed to the US, the solution is often always 2 slap or a belt even in cases where the child may have a genuine problem- the opposite extreme from popping pills in the US-ask yourself- if u walk up to 20 people in the street in trini and ask them if they even know what ADHD is 2 or 3 might know- for a disorder that is more common than most other mental conditions they do know about

btw, a diagnosis doesnt always mean u have to take drugs alone- most often its a combination of meds & therapy, but sometimes just natural/non-drug supplements might work- Attend is one

but look what this local article is recommending

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161400398

Re: Serious Debate: ADHD infecting trinidad and tobago?

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2010, 4:13 am

this recent UK study shows a strong link between ADHD & crime including violent crime- given the high crime & murder rate in T&T and also the cost of keeping convicted persons in jail (3 square meals expensive these days), especially during a time when the govt claims to have no money, perhaps a new approach should be more aggressive screening for this in schools or in at-risk youth?

the rates among the general UK population is 3-4% in children, yet for youth offenders, its more than 10 times higher-45% (adults 30 %)

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/206884.php

Trust Doctor Reveals Impact Of Untreated ADHD On Costs Of Crime

Article Date: 07 Nov 2010 - 0:00 PDT

Alarming statistics from a recent paper published by Dr Susan Young, Consultant Clinical and Forensic Psychologist at Broadmoor Hospital, West London Mental Health Trust, reveal the true extent of untreated ADHD as an underlying cause of crime.

In the ground-breaking paper, Dr Young not only explores the connection between ADHD and criminal offending, but also provides insight into the treatment of ADHD offenders and how this could reduce crime. She also looks at how early intervention has the potential to divert youths away from a criminal path.

The paper was published in the October 2010 edition of 'Expert Review of Neurotherapeutics', an international monthly journal that provides expert commentary on the use of drugs and medicines in clinical neurology and neuropsychiatry. The paper, co-written by Emily Goodwin, King's College London and Institute of Psychiatry, is descriptively titled 'Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder in persistent criminal offenders: the need for specialist treatment programs'.

Dr Young said, "Failure to recognize and treat ADHD offenders is likely to have serious consequences for mental health and social outcomes. The high rates of ADHD among this group, the consumption and costs of the resources they incur, mean that it is not a condition we can afford to ignore. Given that ADHD is a treatable condition with interventions available that are used to effectively treat ADHD symptoms and related behavioral problems in the general population, the enormity of this problem and its associated costs are too great to bear".

http://www.expert-reviews.com/doi/pdf/10.1586/ern.10.142

“The high rates of ADHD among this group, the consumption
and costs of the resources they incur, mean that it is not a
condition we can afford to ignore.”

Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder
(ADHD) is a clinical syndrome with onset
in early childhood. In adulthood, the disorder
is defined by hyperactive, impulsive
and inattentive behaviors, a difficulty with
self-regulation, mood instability, disorganization
and poor behavioral controls. It
affects approximately 3–4% of UK children
[1], and a meta-analysis
of follow-up
studies has demonstrated that approximately
15% of cases continue to meet the
diagnosis at 25 years of age, with a further
50% of individuals suffering impairment
from residual symptoms [2]. Simon et al.
recently estimated the world prevalence
of ADHD in adults to average 2.5% or
higher, with approximately 1% expected
to fall in the most severe group requiring immediate treatment [3].

The size of the problem
The prevalence of ADHD in prisons has
been reported internationally and varies
greatly depending on the methodology
used and the age of the sample. Nevertheless
it is clear that, compared with population
rates, a disproportionately high number of
offenders with ADHD are being dealt with
by the UK Criminal Justice System; for
example, 45% of youth offenders [6,7] and
up to 30% of adult offenders (for a review
see [5]). Most studies have been conducted
on male offenders, however, the British
Cohort Study provided 30-year follow-up
data for 10-year-old ADHD children, and
found that both males and females with
ADHD were at risk for police contact, but
in males this was more likely to be associated
with persistent offending

If one applies a 45% rate of ADHD for male
youth offenders and 10% for females (the
latter estimated from female adult data),
this suggests that there are approximately
35,500 ADHD young offenders in the UK (approximately 5000
in prison and 30,500 in the community). The estimate is limited
to sentencing data for indictable offences in youths; the inclusion
of nonindictable offences and adults would swell the statistics
many fold.
Youth offenders are costly to manage. In the UK, 10 years ago,
the broad cost of care per annum for the ‘average’ youth offender
in the community was estimated to be GB£22,356, rising to
GB£55,640 for an offender in prison [10,11]. Those with ADHD
are likely to cost disproportionately more than their peers due to
increased service consumption in terms of earlier and repeated
contact with the Criminal Justice System and greater frequency
and severity of institutional aggression. Given that ADHD is a
treatable condition with interventions available that are used to
effectively treat ADHD symptoms and related behavioral problems
in the general population, the enormity of this problem and
its associated costs are too great to bear.
“One study found that ADHD offenders accounted
for eight-times more aggressive incidents than
other prisoners.”

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » November 9th, 2010, 5:52 am

I am glad this topic emerged as I have a few questions and hoping some of you all can help. I have a cousin who was working for an international company that offered her a position at the headquarters in the US about 7 years ago. She migrated and has been in the US for that amount of time. Her work permit has not been renewed and therefore cannot continue working there. She has been offered a job here with the same company for excellent compensation and has decided to return home next month.

She has a daughter in her early teens that has been clinically diagnosed with ADHD. She's been getting therapy there and taking the medication as well. One of the biggest factors that she has had to consider before deciding to return home is how will her daughter adjust to living and going to school here. She is still very stressed about that situation.

So I ask, are there any schools that will cater and recognise her daughter's problem, perhaps International School? Will home schooling be a better option? Is her medication (ritalin, adderall) even available here or will she have to travel to the US every few months to stock up? What are the options in Trinidad for someone that honestly and seriously suffers from this disorder? The advice or experience from anyone will be greatly appreciated.

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » November 9th, 2010, 6:56 am

*raises hand* i suffer from this also....so why does the....hey look a butterfly.....

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » November 9th, 2010, 10:53 am

PPl research the concept of euthanasia ( I think that is the correct spelling) especially during the days of World War 2 and what forms of it exists now. The school system is one of the primary places it is practiced.

Everyone suffers from some form of "ADD" it is just the inability to concentrate, which is natural. This problems have been around for hundred of years. if we look back to some of the older civilizations that prescribe the method of meditation ect. There are the rare cases of a strong chemical imbalance which requires therapy ect, however, the whole concept of ADD has a darker side and the excuses it is giving are empowering certain sectors of society. It may come off as a conspiracy theory. But still should be investigated.
Last edited by mamoo_pagal on November 9th, 2010, 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.