:: The official TOOLS thread ::

racedriverpro

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby racedriverpro » August 29th, 2016, 4:13 pm

Guys i need a good floor jack. Willing to buy used. What u all have/know?

Postby supercharged turbo » August 29th, 2016, 5:58 pm

I rather buy them things new.If/When it does start to give trouble atleast I go know all de problems.I doh trust people to buy them things used.

Postby X_Factor » August 29th, 2016, 6:00 pm

make sure and get double piston
ask those tire shops what they use, some of them re-sell as well last i check was 700.00
low profile, double piston 3.5T

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 29th, 2016, 6:14 pm

Pricesmart has a Ford twin piston jack. Can't remember price but saw it up to yesterday.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 29th, 2016, 6:55 pm

G-DUB wrote:I got this beast a couple weeks ago.

Damn nice compressor. How much are these going for these days?
I just missed the smaller QT5 as a "double deal" when I bought my Kellog 5 hp unit.

Are you using individual water separators... an aftercooler... or a refrigerated air dryer to get dry air?

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Ted_v2 » August 29th, 2016, 8:58 pm

NR8 wrote:Pricesmart has a Ford twin piston jack. Can't remember price but saw it up to yesterday.

I bought one about 7-9 months ago. Use it a couple times a week. Going Strong just wheels. Paid almost 1k. It's a low profile jack but not for slammed cars. Low cars like civic and thing is no scene. Slammed cars just roll up on two blocks. Usually 2 1x4 stacked sideways
NR8 wrote:Pricesmart has a Ford twin piston jack. Can't remember price but saw it up to yesterday.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2016, 9:07 pm

Bought a portable band saw, dunno how I never bought one before
Cuts cleaner and faster than angle grinder without the noise and dust.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 29th, 2016, 9:09 pm

Allied had some cheap table saws for whoever interested

Postby *KRONIK* » August 29th, 2016, 9:28 pm

pugboy wrote:Bought a portable band saw, dunno how I never bought one before
Cuts cleaner and faster than angle grinder without the noise and dust.

Bess

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 3rd, 2016, 9:51 pm

Looking to get an electric pressure washer very soon for home usage. Browsed through the thread and saw that persons had issues with Karcher and AR Blue.

Any recommendations on a reliable brand and model?

Thanks

Postby X_Factor » September 3rd, 2016, 10:34 pm

have a karcher from hadden and that get real licks still going strong
its the highest psi available in electric...2200psi or around there i think

Postby cinco » September 3rd, 2016, 10:52 pm

Tbh just buy gas. Forget electric

Postby supercharged turbo » September 3rd, 2016, 11:29 pm

cinco wrote:Tbh just buy gas. Forget electric

jones81

Postby jones81 » September 4th, 2016, 7:22 am

cinco wrote:Tbh just buy gas. Forget electric

If you are going to buy a gas powered model , then try to get one that has a brass pump , as these stand up better than the cheaper aluminum pump , check by trintrac for one of their honda powered units or by ssl or farfan for the MitM models , trintrac have the better ones though.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 4th, 2016, 10:01 am

allied had some 1600psi black and decker for just about 1k, and a roll behind model karcher for about 1k as well, has foam gun tip ect, but the cool part about this is that this pressure washer can use water from ponds, barrels ect. doesnt need to be forced fed if u understand what i ment.

but Currently im looking for a impact gun 3/8 drive, something pretty good, like IR

Besides SSL where can i purchase one of these? im liking the astro nano too

jones81

Postby jones81 » September 4th, 2016, 10:22 am

I think that edoo's in sando might have a line of pneumatic tools , or Tool house Duncan village , I have a friend who is a striaghtener, and he has one of the astro orbital sander, it made from plastic so it light, but dat ting does sip air and is powerful, he have a small 1.5 hp compressor dat does keep it happy , when he was using the other more expensive brands sander, those things needed plenty of scfm , I think he bought it from one of those paint shops in penal area, Toolsie maybe, if you get one let us know how it works.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » September 4th, 2016, 10:31 am

Sanctifier wrote:
G-DUB wrote:I got this beast a couple weeks ago.

Damn nice compressor. How much are these going for these days?
I just missed the smaller QT5 as a "double deal" when I bought my Kellog 5 hp unit.

Are you using individual water separators... an aftercooler... or a refrigerated air dryer to get dry air?

This unit goes for 22K.
I am using an individual water seperator, no aftercooler or air dryer.
I did the plumbing using 3/4 schedule 40 galvanized pipe. I don`t get any moisture once it reaches the water seperator most of it goes back to the tank which I drain daily.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 4th, 2016, 10:45 am

What you doing with such a big unit?
sandblasting?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 4th, 2016, 11:47 am

Ted_v2 wrote:What you doing with such a big unit?
sandblasting?

^ ^ ^ This!

neexis

Postby neexis » September 4th, 2016, 1:11 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:allied had some 1600psi black and decker for just about 1k, and a roll behind model karcher for about 1k as well, has foam gun tip ect, but the cool part about this is that this pressure washer can use water from ponds, barrels ect. doesnt need to be forced fed if u understand what i ment.

but Currently im looking for a impact gun 3/8 drive, something pretty good, like IR

Besides SSL where can i purchase one of these? im liking the astro nano too

Re: the Karcher model... was that recently? That's actually not sounding like a bad deal

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2016, 1:20 pm

that rolling karcher sounding too cheap, lol
I bought one from ramlagans and it was a little more
the karcher is pretty good and highly reviewed on amazon

those standup electric pressures washers are pretty much all the same junk.......

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » September 4th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Leaning towards electric.
Will check out the Karcher in ramlagan.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 4th, 2016, 7:39 pm

actually i think i made a mistake with the price, theres a washer for under 1k 1600psi but its a black and decker thats for sure, i think the karcher is almost 1500$ i might be going tomorrow or so, need to get a pry bar set, a 1/2" air hose 20ft long and a impact gun.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 4th, 2016, 8:25 pm

$1500 still not bad if it coming with those attachments and could use water from a bucket. I mostly considering it for car care and maybe small yard work. Nothing more intense than that

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2016, 2:56 pm

Finally!

neexis

Postby neexis » September 5th, 2016, 5:23 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Image

Finally!

Nice. I seeing an auxiliary handle there so I guessing some good torque!

Ended up going with a Bosch

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2016, 5:28 pm

neexis wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Image

Finally!

Lol
Yeah...
Pugboy said his is a real beast.

I now get bawl up...
I drill a random in the wall to test it!
Wife was not pleased...

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2016, 5:55 pm

yeah, you can hurt your self if it twists out your hand
esp when drilling metal

Postby Ted_v2 » September 5th, 2016, 5:56 pm

I remembered when I got my impact driver. Everything I looking to scrap down.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 5th, 2016, 6:39 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
neexis wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Lol
Yeah...
Pugboy said his is a real beast.

I now get bawl up...
I drill a random in the wall to test it!
Wife was not pleased...

I know them feels... Only thing I could find to drill was a desk with a cup saw for some cable management.
Itching to try it on some wall but I eh get no masonry bits yet.