*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby crazybalhead » August 28th, 2012, 11:18 am

ru$$ell wrote:i think what drop ho trying to say is that they must be "Wife approved" as well :lol:

Well if yuh wife doh approve, wrong wife then? Mine tell me "Get the biggest one possible nah!"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2012, 9:26 pm

drop ho wrote:yes it does.... Really.

ask duane if he go change out his klipsch and put in some 12inch daytona b652's nah even if it sounds a tad it better....

the Dayton's would more than likely sound better than the Klipsch Quintet as they are larger speakers with better dynamic range.

I have the Klipsch Quintet SL which is considerably larger than the plain Quintet

sound > looks BTW

Postby pioneer » August 28th, 2012, 10:28 pm

wha kinda ricer talk I hearing here

Postby X_Factor » August 30th, 2012, 7:11 pm

those who hav the dayton b652's can u give me a realistic weight on the pair?
thinkin about buying a pair

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 31st, 2012, 3:08 pm

Anyone can recommend a nice 5.1 receiver, focus is on low distortion, hdmi features not necessary. If it can power a subwoofer with say 300-400rms great but not necessary. Will be used to run off my computer.

Postby pioneer » August 31st, 2012, 3:43 pm

X_Factor wrote:those who hav the dayton b652's can u give me a realistic weight on the pair?
thinkin about buying a pair

about 15 lbs max

Postby X_Factor » August 31st, 2012, 4:53 pm

damn thats too heavy to ask my aunt to bring back for me...
yuh eh wanna sell a pair pios?

Postby pioneer » August 31st, 2012, 5:29 pm

nareshseep wrote:Anyone can recommend a nice 5.1 receiver, focus is on low distortion, hdmi features not necessary. If it can power a subwoofer with say 300-400rms great but not necessary. Will be used to run off my computer.

A 5.1 rx isn't gonna "power" a subwoofer...it will only send a line level signal to it

You gonna need an external amp or a self-powered sub with a built-in amp on it

In any case, pricesmart has a decent Sony 5.1 rx for $1500

Xfactor, nah boy...check raptor nah I got mine through him

blaine

Postby blaine » September 1st, 2012, 12:28 am

I have a question directed to any Onkyo TX NR609 users concerning the firmware update...anyone had any issues after the update? I've read online that some people have had issues after updating the firmware. Also I'm looking for a powered sub...what you all got for sale or recommendations please.

blaine

Postby blaine » September 3rd, 2012, 9:03 pm

Found this top ten reviews while researching subs.

http://home-subwoofers-review.toptenreviews.com/

For $200.00 on Amazon the BIC sounds like a deal. Anyone here have any reviews??
Last edited by blaine on September 3rd, 2012, 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 9:29 pm

Has anyone tried the Bash 300 so far?? It has very good reviews

http://www.amazon.com/Bash-300W-Digital ... s=bash+300

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 3rd, 2012, 9:30 pm

Really bracing from buying a USB DAC for my setup,but geez,i know once i do i wont use my cd player ever again :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2012, 10:40 pm

^ how about playing CDs from the OPPO?

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2012, 10:56 pm

Quick question but kinda obvious - can speaker level to line level converters be used if using speaker level to input into an amplifier?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 3rd, 2012, 11:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how about playing CDs from the OPPO?

same dilemma,i wont be using my cd player :( CD player has better DAC's built in though and it does sound slightly better than the oppo.

i really have a shitload of Original CD's but i also have alot of Albums i dont have in FLAC format.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 4th, 2012, 11:09 am

Postby 16 cycles » September 4th, 2012, 11:15 am

ru$$ell wrote:Really bracing from buying a USB DAC for my setup,but geez,i know once i do i wont use my cd player ever again :(

http://www.stereophile.com/content/musi ... -processor

heard this one - its really something else....

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 4th, 2012, 4:36 pm

16 cycles wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:Really bracing from buying a USB DAC for my setup,but geez,i know once i do i wont use my cd player ever again :(

really? what setup you heard it on? this is actually on my list of DAC's i wanna choose from.

Postby DVSTT » September 4th, 2012, 6:35 pm

RapToR wrote:A TV that’s 4x better

http://www.nypost.com/p/entertainment/t ... axixyoBWtK

Thats the new sony 4k tv? Would like to see how that shows, 4 times better than 1080p :popcorn:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 4th, 2012, 7:09 pm

DVSTT wrote:
RapToR wrote:A TV that’s 4x better

http://www.nypost.com/p/entertainment/t ... axixyoBWtK

Thats the new sony 4k tv? Would like to see how that shows, 4 times better than 1080p :popcorn:

prices might be US$15000.00 for one

Postby SR » September 5th, 2012, 6:20 am

pioneer wrote:Quick question but kinda obvious - can speaker level to line level converters be used if using speaker level to input into an amplifier?

yes make sure its grounded

Postby 16 cycles » September 5th, 2012, 8:45 am

ru$$ell wrote:
16 cycles wrote:

really? what setup you heard it on? this is actually on my list of DAC's i wanna choose from.

heard it on a set up where speakers were interchanged, with and without the DAC
-source blu ray ps3 - chris botti live in boston / adelle 21 / eagles
-speakers: PA RTi6 bookshelf / PA TSi500 towers / PSB bookshelves (can't remember the model) all using psb subsonic 5 sub

-amp; parasound halo A51 (IIRC)

if you more into watching movies on a 2.1 system, the DAC won't make much of a difference.

from the titles listened to, the DAC gives the audio a depth and warmth that lulls you into a sense of awe....

the highs, lows and everything in between blend effortlessly and the reproduction of instruments are pretty much spot on

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2012, 12:12 pm

won't most players and/or receivers have DACs built in?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 5th, 2012, 1:03 pm

^yea,all players have built in DAC's as well as receivers.It comes down to type of DAC they have ,the power supply,the chipset etc,which is and audible difference from one to the next. I honestly didnt see the difference until one day i bought a chaintech avh710 soundcard with burr brown DAC's built in,loaded up foobar and disabled all widows sound drivers,and realized it was a night and day difference.This was back around 2003-04 though.

@16 cycles,its for a dedicated 2.0 system,so no movies or any other type of media through it.strictly music.It'll be hard pressed to find something with better DAC's than my current cd player on a mid budget,which is the Cambridge audio 650c.It already has twin Wolfson WM8740 DACs (one per channel) and basically has its own built in CD Transport.I may give that V-DAC a spin though,if i could pick it up for cheap on audiogon.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » September 5th, 2012, 1:05 pm

drop ho wrote:yes it does.... Really.

ask duane if he go change out his klipsch and put in some 12inch daytona b652's nah even if it sounds a tad it better....

the Dayton's would more than likely sound better than the Klipsch Quintet as they are larger speakers with better dynamic range.

I have the Klipsch Quintet SL which is considerably larger than the plain Quintet

sound > looks BTW

dont get me wrong i agree sound>looks anyday but we still speculating whether the daytons would sound better than the klipsch (the klipsch did have a wider freq range though).
But all things equal it would come down to looks thats my point...

Postby 16 cycles » September 5th, 2012, 1:11 pm

@ rus$$el - if you do get one - would be nice to get another review on it....

A few DAC makers don't ship outside to US so factor that into the logistics of purchasing and preference...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2012, 1:12 pm

^ don't confuse the Klipsch Quintet SL with the Quintet

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » September 6th, 2012, 7:33 am

Guys do you where I can get some sound dampening material locally to soundproof my room. I heard of the styrofoam method but are any other options?

If anyone has their HT soundproofed already would appreciated some suggestions. Thanks

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 6th, 2012, 8:19 am

^you can currently drywall your walls if you adventurous or get some acoustic dampening pads and strategically placed rugs should help trap some of those soundwaves in a centralized location.

Long vid on high def audio by Mark Waldrep,owner of AIX records.All those who into blu ray and 5.1 hi def audio should definitely take a look,very informative.

http://twit.tv/show/home-theater-geeks/126