3ne2nr fishermen

reeLpACE

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby reeLpACE » September 11th, 2011, 5:11 pm

nah boi Razkal i've actually never been swamp fishing altho i real doh mind trying it...i have fished for snook inshore by river mouths and mangroves, mostly around where the diego martin river comes out by westmoorings and along the mangroves by the foreshore behind movietowne

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 11th, 2011, 7:48 pm

reeLpACE, u usually hold fish there on the foreshore? wat sort of bait of bait u use there?

Postby meccalli » September 11th, 2011, 8:18 pm

really you can go behind there? I've always wondered about there since hot and cold close off..my dad use to take me there when i was smaller. And now my mom is at bhp and she said they dredged in teh back there, got me thinking now lol.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » September 11th, 2011, 10:27 pm

...since we talking snook again!!....
hold ah pic for d epic 100th page....
IMG01083-20110910-1233 - Copy.jpg
IMG01085-20110910-1234 - Copy.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 11th, 2011, 10:40 pm

jramsarran, nice snook but d fellaz dat givin me trouble bigger dan dat...by d way, where u get yuh fishgun and wat type yuh have? lookin to invest in one of that....

also anyone know where locally sells fishing canoe or who cud bring one down for me?

Postby meccalli » September 12th, 2011, 9:10 am

I was looking at fishing dinghys and kayaks only yesterday on amazon, inflatable ones tho. Looks good for inshore and swamp.

wraith

Postby wraith » September 12th, 2011, 10:23 am

Glad to see we have people here who spearfish, what type of gun do you have?

Mine is a Beuchat Marlin 115.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 12th, 2011, 10:24 am

meccalli, i was looking for ah hard body, 2 seater with place to put my rods and stuff...anybody knows if down here sells this stuff?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 12th, 2011, 2:59 pm

ryan99tt....I've been a few times along the mangroves by the foreshore and had some luck with cro cro, small snapper and LEVEL catfish, nuttin big but I know there are some big snook around altho i only manged to hold d smaller ones using squid.......a partner held a nice mangrove snapper about 7lbs on a live ballyhoo that we caught right next to shore....is all about live bait esp for d bigger ones....the runts will eat anything

meccalli.....yea its dredged but to really get in close to the mangroves you need a flat bottom boat like a boston whaler :D

jramsarran......nice fish cyap, where was that?

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » September 12th, 2011, 6:03 pm

wraith wrote:Glad to see we have people here who spearfish, what type of gun do you have?

Mine is a Beuchat Marlin 115.

i have a JBL Explorer 24....it isn't that big but it works for the while...

ofcourse i changed the rubbers for more power...but it's an excellent beginners gun imo.
also nice for shooting under rocks etc.
<< i aslo have an older cavellero that holds 3 bands...but i walk with that for backup...lol>>
might sell it when i ready to upgrade.
still have a lot to learn tho...and need to work on holding my breathe longer...

but there are plenty other spear-fishermen around...with wayyy bigger guns....

@ reelplace...d snook was by a wreck.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 12th, 2011, 10:55 pm

reeLpACE, i hear yuh...i reach late dat evening so i didnt get time to catch live bait but i feel i guh start to keep sum home in meh tank jus for times like that...

jramsarran, daz d wreck by monos dey? hold sum nice fish dey banking already...i guh have to catch dis snook to show ulyuh d size...i feel i guh walk wit ah fishgun too next time...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 16th, 2011, 7:44 pm

who ever had luck with poppers? i does always see men catching huge sanppers, groupers etc with dem but i never really had any kinda luck other than cavali...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 16th, 2011, 11:45 pm

ryan99tt wrote:meccalli, i was looking for ah hard body, 2 seater with place to put my rods and stuff...anybody knows if down here sells this stuff?

ryan, for the inflatables, check the sea eagle website....they deliver to trinidad. their products seem good....reviews are also good....but they only have inflatable kayaks and dingys.

i am also looking at a hard bodied fishing kayak....its a developing sport in the US and there are a lot of different brands with heaps of accessories.

the best seems to be the hobie fishing kayaks....they have an integrated pedal system called the mirage drive which allows u to propel the kayak while keeping both hands free to fight the fish. there are a couple fishing charters that actually use these on mothership expeditions to cath big game fish like marlin....theory is that the kayak itself acts like drag on a fighting fish.....so u can fish with lighter tackle. u can check out saltwater sportsman website for a few videos on these.

locally, peakes has the double occupant kayak (bic kayaks) for around $8000, kayak center also has a double for around $7500....but these are not outfitted for fishing. however, seems as if all the fishing accessories are easy to source and install.....so u can easily get your rod holders and scuppers for your depthfinder etc. and skybox it down.

i even contacted raptor about shipping down one from miami....price came up about the same due to the shipping costs. anyhow, personally i holding out till i make it to miami with meh family early next year.....i sure i will find one to meh liking and i'll also check all the accessories......from the fricking paddles, to the lifevests, rod holders, depth finder etc.........i go like meh self!!

i figure we cud start a tuner fisher paddlers club! i know razkal does use a canoe up on the north coast....if u and meccalli take de bait we cud start sumting!!

proangler-studio-dune-3-4-sm.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 17th, 2011, 1:11 am

Smeed, i already take dat bait long time...lol...wen u check raptor, was it for a fishing kayak or a regular? if it costing around dat, i ent mind buying one...better yet, if u goin up miami, u cud check dem out an see which one gd an let me no so i cud see to get one...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2011, 1:24 am

not a problem bro.........i think the one i got quoted by raptor was a fishing tarpon..... price was around $9500 landed.....but it was rigged for fishing.

to be quite honest the options endless....it have soooooooo many things u cud do wid a kayak.....to be honest this was one of my reasons for buying my pickup....so i cud haul around meh kayak! i'll let u know if i get any more info.....if u wanna wait till i get to miami den fine no probs.

ting is my bday is in december so i throwing hints at meh wife and whole famalee bout de kayak......dey always saying how i have everyting and dey don't know what to buy for me....heheheheeh!

horse i excited.....u cud imagine how much water u cud cover wid sumting like dis? even as simple as cuevas or damiens bay on the north!! jeez an ages meh wife going and cuss meh!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 17th, 2011, 2:00 am

dat ent too bad...but i looking more for ah 2 man kayak so yuh guh hav ah padna if u need help...

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » September 17th, 2011, 10:28 am

Smeed wrote: jeez an ages meh wife going and cuss meh!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 17th, 2011, 12:34 pm

^^^^^
yuh cyah help dat...yuh cud carry she wit yuh though...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 17th, 2011, 2:35 pm

the kayak idea sounds really good guys esp for slow trolling live baits in mostly inaccessible bays...i wish i could throw my whaler in the tray like that
btw smeed u can almost always get live bait in las cuevas from the huge bait net thats always there...just ask first of course
like i said the idea sounds really interesting let us know if/how it works out.

Postby Razkal » September 18th, 2011, 9:38 am

RichieRich wrote:
Smeed wrote: jeez an ages meh wife going and cuss meh!

do eeeet!! our biggest problem in the canoe is covering all the spots in one session, some other canoes fishing at the same time will be excellent.

the paddling is an epic workout too...especially if you attempt slow trolling. thinking about investing in a small trolling motor, to save some paddling time and incase you need to reach shore in a jiffy.

ours is a 15ft Coleman, its rated for a small trolling motor, and we've fished easily with three occupants, although two is more efficient. we've paddled down the caroni swamp with four guys already though....not the best idea.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 18th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Razkal, yuh went for d bait bai...post sum pics of d kayak setup u have nah...

Postby Razkal » September 19th, 2011, 11:53 pm

^got herring and no bonito last thursday evening when i headed up.

the live bait man, joey said the bonito were back offshore and further up north, like outside paria, guess thats too out of the way for them.
las cuevas depot had some, but i really don't like meddling with those fellas, very different mentality.

i posted the canoe a while back...will have to dig up the picture. but no setup really, just the canoe and two single sided oars.
we take a small styrofoam cooler, two life jackets, a brick on a length of rope for a piper anchor, a spare length of rope, the gaff and two rods per person. maybe a few spare banking rigs and a bottle of water extra...minimal is best, those things are a nightmare when cluttered and a fish is coming up. lots of space and pack the canoe for good weight distribution, mostly gear in the middle and occupants on ends.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » September 20th, 2011, 12:17 am

btw ssl 3500 single person canoe!!!

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 20th, 2011, 8:57 am

ryan99tt wrote:Razkal, yuh went for d bait bai...post sum pics of d kayak setup u have nah...

Ryan99tt

Go to page 90 for the pic

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 20th, 2011, 10:32 am

anybody knows where i can get live bait for this weekend?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 20th, 2011, 2:06 pm

dunno bout livebait des days bro...where u heading out from?

Postby Razkal » September 20th, 2011, 2:15 pm

francis1979 wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Razkal, yuh went for d bait bai...post sum pics of d kayak setup u have nah...

Ryan99tt

Go to page 90 for the pic

thanks for the pic-page info man, i tried uploading again last night, but apparently all the hosting sites i tried said "the image was too big" :S

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 20th, 2011, 3:15 pm

ryan99tt wrote:dunno bout livebait des days bro...where u heading out from?

from power boats going to lance power.

todd61

Postby todd61 » September 20th, 2011, 4:29 pm

D.S.S wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:dunno bout livebait des days bro...where u heading out from?

from power boats going to lance power.

I heard bait still hard to get.

Postby meccalli » September 20th, 2011, 8:49 pm

Yep that's curfew for ya, guys can't head out and catch their bait when tarps and jacks have em hot on their tails during the night. On the other hand,,LOTS of tarpon and crevalle action inshore, my dad caught 2 tarpon and 1 jack last week at his work with some lures i bought for im.