The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2020, 2:57 pm

Khadijah Ameen say it had a police road block by SAGHS, a polling station at 6am- they not just checking permits/insurance. they checking engine no and all.

Re: Election prediction thread, and alternate poll

Postby mero » August 10th, 2020, 3:02 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ i remember the support also from different 2nrs on Sat's comments on tobago people. And look at those same tuners now hoping for watson to win and join up with UNC. Zero shame
See you're new here. 2nrs seem to forget a lot.. but it's the Internet and I have good memory. These same fellas used to wish Manning dead when he was sick.. these same fellas do a lil POB and was wishing Petrotrin close down cuz is a drain on the country.. now dey upset.

Golden rule here. Doh fraid to tell anybody here HDMC esp the "rankers" and dont give them any sort of detailed explanation when they teaming up on u. They have lots of time to argue and call up yuh name.

But welcome to the PNM even if you're not.

abducted

Postby abducted » August 10th, 2020, 3:03 pm

MG Man wrote:A vote for PEP:
Wasted vote, or a way to signal dissatisfaction with the decades of red and yellow crap / corruption / mismanagement / incompetence?

A vote cast could never be a vote wasted.

Just my opinion

I agree, but it's shocking how many seemingly intelligent reds and yellows are quick to cry doom and gloom when you voice this opinion
ohgaaaaaar yuh go kill weeeeee, yuh go make DEM winnnnnn

I also had a pretty extensive FB argument yesterday that someone not voting (basically 31% of our electorate) does not lose the ability to criticize about the state of the nation.

Does a 17 year old have a right as a citizen of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago to criticize about the state of the nation? They are unable to vote because of their age, does this remove their right to criticize about the state of the nation?

VII

Postby VII » August 10th, 2020, 3:06 pm

Dem men rel Jokie yes,some rel tuntun ..the small penis syndrome is real.

mero wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:I remember I see Keith in fete and hail him out, he turned around shook my hand then walked away without saying a word. Felt insulted, unlike the great Bas who relished some sheit talk and kix.

BUT WHO D FORK IS U? Looking for smalls in a fete..daz not the Gala.U know Rowley love to flex down on the smally injuns uninterrupted.

Why u bothering the man looking for small talk in a fete? Take yuh hand shake and keep it pushing my brother.. when you in a soaka with yuh head bad doing the donkey wine, you want a nobody come harass u looking to catch kix? Lucky u get a shake hand. . U was getting a head nod

Postby zoom rader » August 10th, 2020, 3:09 pm

PNM tuners head hot

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 10th, 2020, 3:13 pm

see two gyul looking like vene in the line to vote, they was quiet so i aint sure if them was vene but no indian have bottom like dat. other dan dat i hear the vene cesar in d vegetable shed in aranguez say he going to vote pnm

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 10th, 2020, 3:16 pm

VII wrote:Dem men rel Jokie yes,some rel tuntun ..the small penis syndrome is real.

mero wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:I remember I see Keith in fete and hail him out, he turned around shook my hand then walked away without saying a word. Felt insulted, unlike the great Bas who relished some sheit talk and kix.

BUT WHO D FORK IS U? Looking for smalls in a fete..daz not the Gala.U know Rowley love to flex down on the smally injuns uninterrupted.

Why u bothering the man looking for small talk in a fete? Take yuh hand shake and keep it pushing my brother.. when you in a soaka with yuh head bad doing the donkey wine, you want a nobody come harass u looking to catch kix? Lucky u get a shake hand. . U was getting a head nod

a small tolie does full back up hard fast where as a donkey wood does be dead after 6 / 7 inches go in and dey fire. no gyul aint deep throating that donkey wood so how dem men does feel sweet idk. daz y dey duz hadda drink plenty mack and magnum.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Rovin wrote:look how d thread basically turn into d other 1 ...

Ent....them men worse!!!! than primary school chirren

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 10th, 2020, 3:23 pm

Rowley fuh 6 is my prediction.

Postby zoom rader » August 10th, 2020, 3:25 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Rowley fuh 6 is my prediction.
You need pay back TT the secret scholarships that was given to you.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 10th, 2020, 3:26 pm

worse case scenario:

I think UNC can take between 15-27 seats. Now that I have the range, what is realistic?

I think minimum 17-27 is more realistic. Now they need to reach 21. It means all they need to get is 4 additional seats.

Those 4 additional seats can come from any of the 10 below:

Arima, Barataria/San Juan, D'Abadie/O'Meara, La Horquetta/Talparo, Lopinot/Bon Air West, Moruga/Tableland, San Fernando West, St Joseph, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna.

Icing on the cake?
Pt. Fortin and San Fernando East.

Then the upsetter:
PEP can take possible 1 out of these 6:

Diego Martin Central, Diego Martin North/East, Diego Martin West, St. Anns East, POS North/St. Anns West and POS South.

PNM on the other hand can take up to 24 but here is the catch to that. This is providing that they take both Tobago seats and take all the north-west seats ie. all the POS and Diego seats as well as Barataria.

Right now my swing meter is favoring UNC but lets see how this goes.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 10th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Talking to meh neighbour jes now dey. Man say he went to vote this morning and when time tuh put d x, he eh see d independent name da he wanted to vote for. Man say he end up freezing fuh ah min cuz he eh want to vote PNM or UNC but daiz all he seein. He end up spoilin he ballot yes. But he had meh wondering doh...

Most of us upon venturing out to vote have already made up our minds. Anyone never made up their mind until the very last second before placing that x?

killercow

Postby killercow » August 10th, 2020, 3:31 pm

agent007 wrote:worse case scenario:

I think UNC can take between 15-27 seats. Now that I have the range, what is realistic?

I think minimum 17-27 is more realistic. Now they need to reach 21. It means all they need to get is 4 additional seats.

Arima, Barataria/San Juan, D'Abadie/O'Meara, La Horquetta/Talparo, Lopinot/Bon Air West, Moruga/Tableland, San Fernando West, St Joseph, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna.

Icing on the cake?

Then the upsetter:

Diego Martin Central, Diego Martin North/East, Diego Martin West, St. Anns East, POS North/St. Anns West and POS South.

PNM on the other hand can take up to 24 but here is the catch to that. This is providing that they take both Tobago seats and take all the north-west seats ie. all the POS and Diego seats as well as Barataria.

I on board with your analogy thus far. I would have liked to see you list the 17 seats you think sure for UNC and the however many you think sure for PNM. Then we go debate on the marginals / swing seats and possible outcomes.

The way I see it though, the popularity of the UNC was probably at its lowest towards the end of its tenure in 2015 and it still managed to capture 18 seats so I don't expect them to lose those 18 seats this time around.
Last edited by killercow on August 10th, 2020, 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2020, 3:33 pm

agent007 wrote:worse case scenario:

Icing on the cake?

Then the upsetter:

I still keeping it at 20-20-1 and 21-20

But the jumbee saying Jack could pull a wild card...lol.

4 decider seats

Tunapuna
St.joseph
Moruga
La horquetta(i feel unc could take this one)

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 3:36 pm

mero wrote:
elec2020 wrote:^ i remember the support also from different 2nrs on Sat's comments on tobago people. And look at those same tuners now hoping for watson to win and join up with UNC. Zero shame
See you're new here. 2nrs seem to forget a lot.. but it's the Internet and I have good memory. These same fellas used to wish Manning dead when he was sick.. these same fellas do a lil POB and was wishing Petrotrin close down cuz is a drain on the country.. now dey upset.

Golden rule here. Doh fraid to tell anybody here HDMC esp the "rankers" and dont give them any sort of detailed explanation when they teaming up on u. They have lots of time to argue and call up yuh name.

Thanks for the info mero. I realized is alot of hypocrites here and tag teaming when u showing someone they wrong. Dont talk about when u ask them to defend their point. They does go into a rant unrelated to the topic at hand. I have been stated to be a pnm blogger. Truth be told i was fond of pnm in 2015 hence why i voted for them. I did not vote in 2010 as i did not understand the politics then but seeing unc's lavishness (several mps became millionaires overnight aint moonilal supposed to be one of the richest men in tnt now when he barely had anything to his name before then). I also dislike pasionately how they treat 'outsiders' and villify individuals for 'going against'. Aint thats what they do for the pnm representative for chaguanas west i think. Say that pnm take one of we own and turn them against us. LOL madness. In 2020 we still allowing skin pigmentation to guide key decisions. Anyway i am not fond of what pnm has done over 2015 to 2020 while i understand that most of their hard decisions had to be made given the fall in energy prices. Out of the two i would vote pnm but i holding my hand till a viable third party that comes with something different but progressive and preaches togetherness comes in.

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2020, 3:36 pm

abducted wrote:
MG Man wrote:A vote for PEP:
Wasted vote, or a way to signal dissatisfaction with the decades of red and yellow crap / corruption / mismanagement / incompetence?

A vote cast could never be a vote wasted.

Just my opinion

I agree, but it's shocking how many seemingly intelligent reds and yellows are quick to cry doom and gloom when you voice this opinion
ohgaaaaaar yuh go kill weeeeee, yuh go make DEM winnnnnn

I also had a pretty extensive FB argument yesterday that someone not voting (basically 31% of our electorate) does not lose the ability to criticize about the state of the nation.

Does a 17 year old have a right as a citizen of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago to criticize about the state of the nation? They are unable to vote because of their age, does this remove their right to criticize about the state of the nation?

he was speaking about registered voters

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 10th, 2020, 3:51 pm

How exactly did the cops block voters?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 3:53 pm

^ maybe indirectly as if i hear about a roadblock i gah come out to vote at the risk of demerit points and fines

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 10th, 2020, 3:53 pm

elec2020 wrote:
mero wrote:

Thanks for the info mero. I realized is alot of hypocrites here and tag teaming when u showing someone they wrong. Dont talk about when u ask them to defend their point. They does go into a rant unrelated to the topic at hand. I have been stated to be a pnm blogger. Truth be told i was fond of pnm in 2015 hence why i voted for them. I did not vote in 2010 as i did not understand the politics then but seeing unc's lavishness (several mps became millionaires overnight aint moonilal supposed to be one of the richest men in tnt now when he barely had anything to his name before then). I also dislike pasionately how they treat 'outsiders' and villify individuals for 'going against'. Aint thats what they do for the pnm representative for chaguanas west i think. Say that pnm take one of we own and turn them against us. LOL madness. In 2020 we still allowing skin pigmentation to guide key decisions. Anyway i am not fond of what pnm has done over 2015 to 2020 while i understand that most of their hard decisions had to be made given the fall in energy prices. Out of the two i would vote pnm but i holding my hand till a viable third party that comes with something different but progressive and preaches togetherness comes in.

Can one person be so naive?

Postby nemisis » August 10th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Yup up to the last second I'm open to bribes
killercow wrote:Talking to meh neighbour jes now dey. Man say he went to vote this morning and when time tuh put d x, he eh see d independent name da he wanted to vote for. Man say he end up freezing fuh ah min cuz he eh want to vote PNM or UNC but daiz all he seein. He end up spoilin he ballot yes. But he had meh wondering doh...

Most of us upon venturing out to vote have already made up our minds. Anyone never made up their mind until the very last second before placing that x?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 4:01 pm

^ okay

Postby paid_influencer » August 10th, 2020, 4:03 pm

went to vote. long line. was told at least an hour and half wait. turn back.

might go later.

Postby The_Honourable » August 10th, 2020, 4:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Rovin wrote:look how d thread basically turn into d other 1 ...

Ent....them men worse!!!! than primary school chirren

Laaaarrd... temperature rising in dis ched.

Postby The_Honourable » August 10th, 2020, 4:16 pm

Took about 15 mins in vistabella, voting was smooth.

Postby bluefete » August 10th, 2020, 4:17 pm

Well, look t'ing.

When all you could see is yuh party.

"Glen Graham was eager to say the party he voted for saying, "I vote for Gypsy, he is from the rising sun."

Gypsy had been part of the UNC but switched and became the PNM candidate for the area."

https://guardian.co.tt/news/discrepanci ... 87dcb6de14

Postby j.o.e » August 10th, 2020, 4:27 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... ium=social

United National Congress (UNC) political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar says she had not yet taken a decision on whether supporters should gather at the party’s headquarters in Couva tonight.

Persad-Bissessar said she will “wait and see” what happens after the polls were closed at 6pm.

Speaking to the media after voting at the Hermitage Presbyterian School on Monday, Persad-Bissessar said, “It is what it is, we wait to see. Maybe they will come, maybe they will not come. I don’t think we should instruct people not to gather.”

Even on mc Election Day she wouldn’t say the proper thing. Can’t tell you how disappointed I am.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2020, 4:30 pm

^ I feel men going and get cuss later and some will be crying

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 10th, 2020, 4:51 pm

screwbash wrote:26 PNM
15 UNC
If this or anything close to this occurs then trinis really backward in their thinking and quest for progress and betterment. When I reflect on the gas increases, the taxes ( new ones introduced ), the shortage and now non existence of forex of any type ( not just US $$$ ), the continuing increasing cost of living, and the things that directly affects us as citizens I hadda wonder why would someone want a repeat of this ???? I ain't talking about the teefing and contracts and all the projects and rental and so on between both parties, that ain't my business . They were put there to govern and whatever they do is their business, as long as they run the country efficiently and manage the issues at hand. Taxing a nation is no way to boast of generating revenue. No attempt at diversification, no other means of generating revenue. That's not something I would want around me for too long a period. Bottom line is we, the citizens , supposed to have a better standard of living and quality of life from the management of the government elected. We have had far from that FOR FIVE YEARS. I cannot give them another chance ....no way, no how.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 4:56 pm

And unc will lower cost of living how? As the benefits from a reduction in taxes will be countered by the negatives from a depreciation. Additionaly lower tax revenue and lower energy receipts (due to the subdued energy prices) will mean that if unc claims to decrease the deficit and reduce government debt then expenditure must fall. Implying less social safety nets and as a result a further increase in cost of living. But hey what do i know not like my background is in economics.