Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby eliteauto » March 17th, 2019, 3:49 pm

spaghetti and meatballs with garlic bread

What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2019, 8:40 pm

Tried a thing. Was supposed to use risotto but had none, used sushi rice instead lol.

Scallops, clams, white fish, shrimp, potatoes and rice in a creamy white sauce with lime and dill weed. Tasted better than it looked!

Looking at the photo now I realize it needed a lil green garnish on the side.

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2019, 8:47 pm

^you could amp that up with some baby portabellas and parmesan
these kind of meals does taste good and easy to eat, does end up sucking down plateloads

You can get arborio risotto rice in TruValu, Roland brand, hilo doesnt carry for some reason.
It requires a lot of liquid to reach risotto creamy consistency.
I usually make risotto in my Instant pot, needs 3 or 4 cups liquid to rice ratio.
Instant pot is very convenient for that.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2019, 9:52 pm

^ added the parmesan but will try the mushrooms next time.

and yeah was easy to make

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 17th, 2019, 10:09 pm

Duane has expensive tastebuds :shock:

Cornmeal dumpling and beef soup was my fancy today

Postby *KRONIK* » March 17th, 2019, 10:11 pm

Darryls famous foods...i got the wedge upgrade

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2019, 10:24 pm

Zetski wrote:Duane has expensive tastebuds :shock:

nah only post when we make something special

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 18th, 2019, 10:40 am

Where did you get clams to buy?

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2019, 10:49 am

I use the shrimp heads to make stock
With some celery carrots and garlic
Freeze the stock for future use
Paella, gumbo etc

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ added the parmesan but will try the mushrooms next time.

and yeah was easy to make

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2019, 11:43 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:

PriceSmart

Postby *KRONIK* » March 18th, 2019, 12:10 pm

Steuuuuuupppsss

Chaguanas Pricesmart does have all the bess stuff

TurboSingh12 wrote:

PriceSmart

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2019, 12:19 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Steuuuuuupppsss

Chaguanas Pricesmart does have all the bess stuff

Yeah pretty much

Got the baby scallops there too.

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2019, 1:53 pm

The seafood place next door to subway price plaza have plenty stuff too
Heard there is a good shop by where sherons place was/is

Postby *KRONIK* » March 18th, 2019, 1:54 pm

pugboy wrote:Heard there is a good shop by where sherons place was/is

Yea
Saw it last week

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2019, 5:03 pm

Actually correction the clams and baby scallops were bought at the seafood store next to Subway in Price Plaza.

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2019, 5:18 pm

i feel if i throw up pics of meh bread an cheese sammich men go coast.... :lol:

* exits thread quietly...

Postby *KRONIK* » March 24th, 2019, 10:13 am

Seafood curry: shrimp, coral crab, lobster, lambie with dumpling
Cold cokes

carluva

Postby carluva » March 24th, 2019, 11:51 am

What is coral crab?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 24th, 2019, 1:10 pm

carluva wrote:What is coral crab?
Its a marine reef/coral crab
Aka batwing crab
20190106_174510.jpeg
20190106_174526.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2019, 4:42 pm

Seared Ahi tuna steak with Asian slaw and white rice.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2019, 7:06 pm

Ahi looks amazing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2019, 7:23 pm

^ tasted even better!

Got the tuna steaks in Pricesmart

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » March 31st, 2019, 12:06 am

Geez. Well thank cripes DEWAYNE decided to add some pics to this thread. Even tho it looked like baby mush. Sry.

Most of ollur shame of the ole dutty plate or plastic table “cloth” on yuh home to take pics or wa.

I cant cook anyway so im jus here to see what ollur have.

Postby SMc » March 31st, 2019, 10:39 am

Smoked herring and crix for breakfastes .

Late lunch looking like bajan style coo-coo, stew chicken, calalloo & some salad- thinking about frying some fish but haven't decided as I think that will be more than enough

Postby *KRONIK* » March 31st, 2019, 10:43 am

Something with fish.....not sure yet

Postby SMc » March 31st, 2019, 10:47 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Something with fish.....not sure yet

herbs most likely