Official BlackBerry Thread

Khafra

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Khafra » January 21st, 2013, 11:05 pm

- The screen is excellent, more retina than "retina" 385ppi i think
- its fast even with the beta software, no crashes, no spinning clock, the QNX kernel is working very well
- Despite the much larger screen it's still comfortable for one-handed use (unlike my Note 2)
- The camera so far is on par with the iphone 4S camera
- Multitasking is excellent, its funny that you can multitask android apps in bb10 better than android itself.
- There are already 10's of 1000's of apps already in App world for it
- I like the way it's very easy for a developer to do a custom active frame for when the app in minimized
- I like the way the messaging hub isnt an app that you click and run, its a part of the OS core and runs 24/7 never closes, always there no matter what you are doing.

Postby Rooki3 » January 21st, 2013, 11:07 pm

TH prolly smiling ear to ear

congrats fanboys

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 21st, 2013, 11:15 pm

Khafra wrote:- The screen is excellent, more retina than "retina" 385ppi i think
- its fast even with the beta software, no crashes, no spinning clock, the QNX kernel is working very well
- Despite the much larger screen it's still comfortable for one-handed use (unlike my Note 2)
- The camera so far is on par with the iphone 4S camera
- Multitasking is excellent, its funny that you can multitask android apps in bb10 better than android itself.
- There are already 10's of 1000's of apps already in App world for it
- I like the way it's very easy for a developer to do a custom active frame for when the app in minimized
- I like the way the messaging hub isnt an app that you click and run, its a part of the OS core and runs 24/7 never closes, always there no matter what you are doing.

Lovely! I saw some reports on most of my freq app being worked on/tested eg (fb/photobucket etc).

How has the voice commands been so far for you with a Trini accent? (If your beta had that)

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 21st, 2013, 11:45 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:How has the voice commands been so far for you with a Trini accent? (If your beta had that)

I used it on the Z10 and it works well once u speak properly, no wajang talk is gonna work on it. Better than siri though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=
Last edited by Khafra on January 21st, 2013, 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 21st, 2013, 11:46 pm

I saw that vid which impressed me.

Reason I asked was because me and Siri always had problem even when I spoke clearly.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 21st, 2013, 11:48 pm

Rooki3 wrote:TH prolly smiling ear to ear

congrats fanboys

You know me so well.

Only thing that has me down is the iPhone cam comment. Not really a plus for me in that regard.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 21st, 2013, 11:56 pm

The 4s really wasn't a really bad cam yuhno, it is on par with the 5 iirc so it's not really a negative either.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 21st, 2013, 11:57 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Only thing that has me down is the iPhone cam comment. Not really a plus for me in that regard.

When i say on par, its more than just image quality, but speed and features as well. feature wise the BB10 camera gives you more options. I think it takes maybe 2.5 seconds from pressing the camera button to being ready to take the pic.

Postby Stephon. » January 22nd, 2013, 1:22 am

Getting more and more excited for BB10

eitech

Postby eitech » January 22nd, 2013, 8:42 pm

I want to unlock my bb curve 9300. It currently locked to bmobile. What do I need to do?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 22nd, 2013, 8:49 pm

Call ABA Trading.

Postby foss » January 22nd, 2013, 9:17 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:I saw that vid which impressed me.

Reason I asked was because me and Siri always had problem even when I spoke clearly.

Sirri doesn't know about white oak :drinking:

Postby foss » January 22nd, 2013, 9:22 pm

my phone starting to give chubble :/

Postby j.o.e » January 22nd, 2013, 9:30 pm

Can't wait for this device....hope bmobile doesn't stick. My 9900 microphone starting to act up

Postby ismithx » January 23rd, 2013, 8:03 am

must say i am interested in BB10..... but if i had a final choice from a developer POV I would go with Firefox mobile or Ubuntu mobile cuz i love html5-based development :D

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 23rd, 2013, 8:26 am

It's looking good.
Let's see if they were too late or end up like:

BetaMAX
OS/2 Warp
WebOS
Taligent
Newton
Netscape
BeOS

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2013, 9:45 am

foss wrote:

Lol I spent a few mins arguing with Siri "where can I find white oak" :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 23rd, 2013, 9:47 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
foss wrote:

Lol I spent a few mins arguing with Siri "where can I find white oak" :lol:

"I'm sorry, Strauss. I can't look for that in Trinidad and Tobago"

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 23rd, 2013, 10:46 am

Rofl..
Ask Siri what she's wearing today!!

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 23rd, 2013, 11:20 pm

ismithx wrote:must say i am interested in BB10..... but if i had a final choice from a developer POV I would go with Firefox mobile or Ubuntu mobile cuz i love html5-based development :D

Right now BB10 is the king of HTML5 app development, their framework has much wider APIs than phonegap, and it's opensourced

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2013, 2:15 am

It's wonderful to see Trinis getting the alpha device at least.

Btw are you under an NDA or anything? I'm not gonna shoot you or anything but I saw @stroughtonsmith post a lot about it in the past and it eh looking like is crazy like an apple NDA for instance.
The ability to run the android apps is excellent. How are the core apps like BBM etc? Same/similar functionality?

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 24th, 2013, 6:59 am

M_2NR wrote:It's wonderful to see Trinis getting the alpha device at least.

Btw are you under an NDA or anything? I'm not gonna shoot you or anything but I saw @stroughtonsmith post a lot about it in the past and it eh looking like is crazy like an apple NDA for instance.
The ability to run the android apps is excellent. How are the core apps like BBM etc? Same/similar functionality?

I'm under NDA for things that haven't yet leaked because unlike most ppl with a dev alpha, i did get time with a real device as well BBM is better nicer, and will come with voice + video calls + screen sharing capabilities while in the call

attaching a pic taken with the dev alpha
IMG_00000096 (Custom).jpg

Postby Rooki3 » January 24th, 2013, 7:30 am

:shock: nice phote

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 24th, 2013, 7:48 am

Khafra wrote:
ismithx wrote:must say i am interested in BB10..... but if i had a final choice from a developer POV I would go with Firefox mobile or Ubuntu mobile cuz i love html5-based development :D

Right now BB10 is the king of HTML5 app development, their framework has much wider APIs than phonegap, and it's opensourced

That's the beauty of developing BB10 from QNX — similar to Apple's OSX and iOS from UNIX/FreeBSD. QNX is a good foundation and is also UNIX like. I can see the strength of the component type of structure... reminds me of how the Contructicons from Transformers combine to form Devastator :)

Postby ismithx » January 24th, 2013, 8:06 am

Strauss wrote:
Khafra wrote:

That's the beauty of developing BB10 from QNX — similar to Apple's OSX and iOS from UNIX/FreeBSD. QNX is a good foundation and is also UNIX like. I can see the strength of the component type of structure... reminds me of how the Contructicons from Transformers combine to form Devastator :)

it's html5?? :puppydogeyes: :puppydogeyes: :puppydogeyes:

do want.....

Postby crazybalhead » January 24th, 2013, 8:08 am

I jess get a new bold. Meh... :|

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2013, 8:46 am

company fone biz?
Lots of companies say they won;t switch from BB because all their security stuff already configured for BB.........either way, I couldn't be bothered what phone my employer gives me, cuz in any event it free........just like le company vehicle....stripped down 4x4 BT50, but who cares, it free :p

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 24th, 2013, 8:48 am

The BB10 browser itself is an HTML5 application, and it scores higher than any other mobile or desktop browser currently in use, also passes L0 and L1 ringtest

Postby Stephon. » January 24th, 2013, 9:07 am

All this hype around bb10. Let's hope it translates into sales. It would be a shame for them to fail in 2013. We all know they have the Trinidad market on lock tho.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 24th, 2013, 10:12 am

crazybalhead wrote:I jess get a new bold. Meh... :|

Treat that sh!t with kid gloves.. There's no telling when it'll blow!! :x