HCCA

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby HCCA » August 22nd, 2012, 9:33 pm

X_Factor wrote:"jus cutting a channel in ur wall and put the trunking"

i puttin the trunking but i eh cutting ne wall
that sounds like trouble for me

I gonna do a surface mount installation mehself.

I could dig out the wall and such but that level of aesthetics eh matter so much to me.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2012, 10:22 pm

^ aesthetics is everything!

ado15mk3 wrote:^was thinking of doing this myself but the thought of the dust was enough to change my mind.
how did you deal with the dust when cutting the concrete?
moved everything out and did it - no guts no glory!

speaker wires too... 5.1! hidden!

or if you want to mud your walls you can use this
http://www.flatwireready.com/

just mud and paint over it

they have for just about every kind of cable, coax, speaker wire etc etc

was discussed earlier in the thread

Postby pioneer » August 22nd, 2012, 11:56 pm

To deal with dust you can spray some water on the cut while you cutting...but then you gonna have a water problem

Fear not...get a tarp & bucket combo....like how those a/c fellas do it when servicing a split unit

Postby M_2NR » August 23rd, 2012, 12:01 am

If its a simple drill hole, crossdrilled teach me this. Well his wife actually.

Get a vacuum cleaner handy and put it right under where you're drilling. Literally no clean up necessary. For instance if you're wall mounting etc.

Postby pioneer » August 23rd, 2012, 12:09 am

Yepp that works well too lol

shopvac iymc

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 9:23 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ aesthetics is everything!

ado15mk3 wrote:^was thinking of doing this myself but the thought of the dust was enough to change my mind.
how did you deal with the dust when cutting the concrete?
moved everything out and did it - no guts no glory!

speaker wires too... 5.1! hidden!

or if you want to mud your walls you can use this
http://www.flatwireready.com/

just mud and paint over it

they have for just about every kind of cable, coax, speaker wire etc etc

was discussed earlier in the thread

that product is really cool. saw it here before. but i sure the price would be steep. especially for the hdmi.

i only need to run one cable when i ready and that is the receiver to tv cable. everything else would be out of sight since i only have a 3.1 for now (the 3 will be on the cabinet and the 1 will be on the ground right next to the cabinet). when i get the towers (lots of $$ req'd) i will then need to run cables for my rear speakers (the front l+r for now). will definitely think about these for the rears.

was thinking about using the water but i fraid i get shock using d elec grinder :skurry:
also, what size conduit you use? i guessing would be at least 1.5" in case for some reason something wrong with the hdmi cable it can be easily replaced.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2012, 1:00 pm

^ regardless of your setup there should only be one cable going to the TV: The HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV.

When wall mounting your TV you also need to cater for the TV power cable! That will also need to fit into the trunking. And if your TV is network ready you may also want to connect a wired network connection.

I used a 2x4" piece of PVC trunking. That way the plug for the power chord could fit

Postby stev » August 23rd, 2012, 1:40 pm

not sure if it was mentioned before....i have 2 X 5.1 surround sound systems and i am wondering where to place the speakers....i dont want to space them out all over and have it sounding like crap....right now i have each pair next to one another, for example, the 2 front left are next to one another, so are the 2 front right and so on.

....also....where should i place the subs? above eye level? chest height or on the ground?...pics and specs later....any advice would help.

connections i have so far:

Output of the TV (first split) ----> input of DVD player + 5.1 speakers

Output of TV (second split) ----> input of Logitech 5.1 speakers

Output of PC ----> same as the output of TV

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2012, 2:37 pm

^ it was mentioned many times before

The tweeters from the front speakers should be at the same height as your ears when you are sitting. A good rule of thumb is that the surround and rear speaker tweeters should be at same height as your ear when you are standing.

The sub is best placed on the ground. You may need to move it around the room to find the best place for it where you wont get bad boomy bass.

5.1 setup

I have to ask though
Why do you have 2 5.1 speaker setups in the same place?

Postby stev » August 23rd, 2012, 2:54 pm

thanks duane...sorry for the repeated question.

the main reason i have 2 5.1 speakers setup in the same place is because im not sure where to put the second set as yet. :lol: i know it does not make sense to have them in the same place but im still working on where to put them.

Postby gastly369 » August 23rd, 2012, 3:16 pm

see radio shack have the Onkyo HT-S5400 system for $4000 atm
http://www.us.onkyo.com/model.cfm?m=HT- ... ystems&p=i

good buy or?? .. decide to get rid of the cave man tech panasonic sc-ht740 :?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 23rd, 2012, 3:20 pm

stev wrote:i have 2 X 5.1 surround sound systems
Fellas big inside here boy. Man overs 5.1 and 7.1 and gone with 10.2 yes :lol:

Postby pioneer » August 23rd, 2012, 3:35 pm

gastly369 wrote:see radio shack have the Onkyo HT-S5400 system for $4000 atm

Bess you order it from Raptor and pay less

http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-HT-S5400-7- ... B004O0TREC

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 23rd, 2012, 3:36 pm

its an old model

i can get it for you for $3000.00 with 3mts warranty

new model is

Onkyo HT-S5500

$4500.00 3mts warranty

$5000.00 6mts warranty

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 8:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ regardless of your setup there should only be one cable going to the TV: The HDMI cable from the receiver to the TV.

When wall mounting your TV you also need to cater for the TV power cable! That will also need to fit into the trunking. And if your TV is network ready you may also want to connect a wired network connection.

I used a 2x4" piece of PVC trunking. That way the plug for the power chord could fit

forgot the power cable :lol:
duane, not everybody have receiver you know. not long ago i had about 4/5 cables running to my tube. didnt have any hdmi stuff yet. also had a z5500 so was using optical audio too. them was the days eh :fadein:

Postby X_Factor » August 23rd, 2012, 9:18 pm

so i flush mounted the speakers today
routering skills not soo good yet....

crossover assembled with thanx to SS_626 on the forum for helping with that section
will post that tmr

so i jus hadda pass the belt sander on the joins, assemble and test...
ah cyar wait!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2012, 9:25 pm

ado15mk3 wrote:forgot the power cable :lol:
duane, not everybody have receiver you know. not long ago i had about 4/5 cables running to my tube. didnt have any hdmi stuff yet. also had a z5500 so was using optical audio too. them was the days eh :fadein:
not saying everyone should have a receiver, but when you are going to cut your concrete wall to run trunking, you better plan for the future.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 23rd, 2012, 9:30 pm

^you sure right. just like they always say: go on tuner twice and cut once!

Postby gastly369 » August 23rd, 2012, 9:37 pm

RapToR wrote:

its an old model

new model is

Onkyo HT-S5500

$4500.00 3mts warranty

$5000.00 6mts warranty

hummmm.. will check you when im sure thats the receiver i want

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 23rd, 2012, 9:41 pm

gastly369 wrote:
RapToR wrote:

its an old model

new model is

Onkyo HT-S5500

$4500.00 3mts warranty

$5000.00 6mts warranty

hummmm.. will check you when im sure thats the receiver i want

right now i have

HT-S3500 in stock

$3500.00 - 6mts warranty

$3000.00 - 3mts warranty

$2500.00 - no warranty

Postby X_Factor » August 23rd, 2012, 11:11 pm

im using the reciever off the S3500 and i must say its really nice
supports the latest formats off bluray
has decent speaker configuration options
the speakers with the set are....if u never had 5.1 before it will sound pretty good
BUT..... the sub was shitty...a bit boomy maybe because of a high xo point and doesnt handle the rumbles n stuff from movies as well as i would like but u could always change and do a diy sub for under 500$ or so....(which i gonna do soon)

for the price, its a good buy.....
if u hav about 5k to spend, ur probably better off buying a HT reciever for about 2500.00 and speakers to match

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2012, 8:22 am

Amazon has 70% off on Klipsch Quintet 5.1 speakers today via Tech Woot

http://tech.woot.com/offers/klipsch-qui ... dium=email

Postby crazybalhead » August 28th, 2012, 8:45 am

X_Factor wrote:Image

so i flush mounted the speakers today
routering skills not soo good yet....

crossover assembled with thanx to SS_626 on the forum for helping with that section
will post that tmr

so i jus hadda pass the belt sander on the joins, assemble and test...
ah cyar wait!!

Not bad at all!

drop ho

Postby drop ho » August 28th, 2012, 8:51 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Amazon has 70% off on Klipsch Quintet 5.1 speakers today via Tech Woot

http://tech.woot.com/offers/klipsch-qui ... dium=email

gyad dammit!!! :x

Any body want 2 pairs ah dayton b 52's and and a polk audio center channel CS1?? :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » August 28th, 2012, 9:15 am

I feel the dayton will sound better.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » August 28th, 2012, 9:58 am

and yeah its that too.... but they look so sexxxaayyyy

Postby crazybalhead » August 28th, 2012, 10:06 am

drop ho wrote:and yeah its that too.... but they look so sexxxaayyyy

Steups. That matters not with speakers. Really.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » August 28th, 2012, 10:16 am

yes it does.... Really.

ask duane if he go change out his klipsch and put in some 12inch daytona b652's nah even if it sounds a tad it better....

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 28th, 2012, 11:04 am

i think what drop ho trying to say is that they must be "Wife approved" as well :lol:

drop ho

Postby drop ho » August 28th, 2012, 11:13 am

^^^Correcto mundo... :lol:

not at all insinuating Duane have woman taste eh