3ne2nr fishermen

reeLpACE

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby reeLpACE » August 23rd, 2011, 12:36 pm

RichieRich.....copy that its hard to release fish coming up from that depth, there is a way to release the air with a pin so the fish can swim off but thats if you really want to be full out if you know wha ah mean

D.S.S.... i won't recommend any conventional/overhead reel for casting esp if it doesn't have magnetic control like the avet mc or penn squall (good option for u btw) but if you have a trained thumb to avoid them bird-nests then you better off than most, if not i would say go with a spinning outfit.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » August 23rd, 2011, 12:56 pm

reeLpACE wrote:RichieRich.....copy that its hard to release fish coming up from that depth, there is a way to release the air with a pin so the fish can swim off but thats if you really want to be full out if you know wha ah mean

D.S.S.... i won't recommend any conventional/overhead reel for casting esp if it doesn't have magnetic control like the avet mc or penn squall (good option for u btw) but if you have a trained thumb to avoid them bird-nests then you better off than most, if not i would say go with a spinning outfit.

ok thanks well with that in mind i might consider the pen squall and what rod do you recomend with that?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 23rd, 2011, 7:57 pm

Or u cud check out ah bait casting reel if u really interested in a reel like that....to release dem fish from dat kinda death u need ah deventer...I order down onenbut not to release fish, to keep dem alive...lol

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » August 24th, 2011, 8:53 am

ryan99tt wrote:Or u cud check out ah bait casting reel if u really interested in a reel like that....to release dem fish from dat kinda death u need ah deventer...I order down onenbut not to release fish, to keep dem alive...lol

looking at some of penn spining reels but dont know which is a good 1. looking at the penn battle 8000 is that good and what rod should i use for that?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 25th, 2011, 6:40 am

D.S.S, the penn battle is a really gd reel dude...got one and i put it to the test in tobago lat weekend....drag runs really smooth and cranking power is really gd...brings up 1lb sinkers like nothing....i wud recommend it to you but wat kinda fishing you talking about doing? if is shore fishing, u wud have to take extra care of the reel u purchase...like boat fishing, u may just have to give the reel a rinse after you return...i was also checking out the fierce in tackle shop (even though i didnt want to go) but dey have a rod and reel combo in that for $825, which is not that bad...

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » August 25th, 2011, 9:03 am

ryan99tt wrote:D.S.S, the penn battle is a really gd reel dude...got one and i put it to the test in tobago lat weekend....drag runs really smooth and cranking power is really gd...brings up 1lb sinkers like nothing....i wud recommend it to you but wat kinda fishing you talking about doing? if is shore fishing, u wud have to take extra care of the reel u purchase...like boat fishing, u may just have to give the reel a rinse after you return...i was also checking out the fierce in tackle shop (even though i didnt want to go) but dey have a rod and reel combo in that for $825, which is not that bad...

well both shore and boat and which 1 of the fierce you saw for that price? Was thinking about the fierce 6000

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 25th, 2011, 4:31 pm

I see d fierce 8000 on ah 10ft rod for $825...i was goin an buy one just to have it but i decided against it...i mite take it next time i up there or i mite buy another battle, depends on how i feelin...lol

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » August 25th, 2011, 4:33 pm

ryan99tt wrote:I see d fierce 8000 on ah 10ft rod for $825...i was goin an buy one just to have it but i decided against it...i mite take it next time i up there or i mite buy another battle, depends on how i feelin...lol

where u saw it?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 25th, 2011, 7:52 pm

saw it in tackle shop...anyone ever heard bout d rig off d north coast dey call emerald? and d wreck?

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » August 26th, 2011, 10:37 am

ryan99tt wrote:saw it in tackle shop...anyone ever heard bout d rig off d north coast dey call emerald? and d wreck?

that tackle shop is in trinidad?and no i never hear about that wreck.

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 26th, 2011, 12:33 pm

ryan99tt wrote:anyone ever heard bout d rig off d north coast dey call emerald? and d wreck?

I heard my uncle talking about it just a few days ago,but i never went.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 26th, 2011, 7:02 pm

D.S.S, yes, the tackle shop in chagaramas...

todd61, i hear it have sum real nice action dey but is ah gd lil trip...

Postby meccalli » August 27th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Well , i went manzan/ mayaro, the river mouth, the bridge...caught one chuff chuff lol..man i definitely getting a new rod this week cuz i'm going toco wednesday. There was a current sweeping my line down back to shore, frustration lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 27th, 2011, 6:29 pm

yea, dey always hav current...who doin sum fishing over the weekend? i heading out thursday to do sum tarpon fishing....anyone know where i cud get sum bonito south side or if the wholesale fish market in POIS opening on thursday?

Postby Razkal » August 28th, 2011, 11:07 am

^live bait scarce on the north side, dunno about pos/chag area...hardly any bait, even bonito, on the north...made a small turn last week, had to troll some feather heads to snag a two bonito to then go banking :|

that steep the situation is :(

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 28th, 2011, 12:30 pm

Razkal wrote:^live bait scarce on the north side, dunno about pos/chag area...hardly any bait, even bonito, on the north...made a small turn last week, had to troll some feather heads to snag a two bonito to then go banking :|

that steep the situation is :(

Live bait really had to get all over,it been 2 weeks now we looking for some lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 28th, 2011, 12:51 pm

daz wat i hearing too and i give away ah 15lb bonito d other day...anyhow, i have my new video of my tobago trip up on my channel...dont forget to subscribe and like the video so i can keep up the gd work...thanks

http://www.youtube.com/user/FishingTrin ... ature=mhee

Postby meccalli » August 29th, 2011, 11:28 pm

Good stuff, what's that fish after the 2nd king? colorful one.
I bought a 12ft 'power rod' by shakespeare, seems very nice and sturdy. Hoping to give it a test run on Wednesday :D.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » August 30th, 2011, 10:56 am

Nice vid ryan. Who fishing tomorrow and where? New moon!
Wanna take ah run to the north coast tomorrow, maracas tyrico or damien bay.
Any links with a boat man to take us out for a two hour stint?

ming2chicken

Postby ming2chicken » August 30th, 2011, 3:32 pm

gentlemen looking for a 30-32ft speedboat or bowenlike hull. I have all the rigging plus engines, can you help me

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 31st, 2011, 9:06 pm

its ah yellow tail jack...i heading out in d morning to see wat dey have out there but i doubt we gettin livebait...i hear it real hard des days...

Postby meccalli » August 31st, 2011, 9:42 pm

Oh cool saw they call them kingfish in Nz aha. Well my new 12 footer worked somewhat in manzan's surf...first catch was a puffer..fail..then later i got a catfish weighed at 2lbs, that will be pan seared in the morning lol. will post pics.

wraith

Postby wraith » September 1st, 2011, 9:34 am

Question to you guys, has anyone come across large patches of sargasso seaweed?

Am talking about patches that are hundreds of feet across.

Over here our fishermen have even started complaining because of their lines getting tangled in the weeds and they are unable to fish.

We have some whole bays that have been choked by the sheer amount of weeds entering it, imagine a bay about a mile across with weeds from the shore line to 75ft. out.

Anyone come across this?

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » September 1st, 2011, 10:34 am

I was in Tobago at the end of July and did see some seaweeds looking like sargasso, it
was quite alot though, covering most of store bay and the bay along the road to pigeon pt.

Postby Razkal » September 1st, 2011, 12:48 pm

^go hunting for mahi-mahi guys....they love hanging around sargasso....alot of other top water predators also....grab any artificial you have and go casting!

i wish i would see a big patch off the north somewhere, last i encountered sargasso was outside Paria..and it was the fist time i saw a school of mahi....really breathtaking sheit!

radical14

Postby radical14 » September 2nd, 2011, 8:17 am

Well i finaly got to do some fishing on wednesday. We went out to the secound bocas with a guy who new were the fish was. we got there a bit late because of the curfew but the fishing was excellent until about lunch-1pm when the current change. we caught salmon, ricando, shark, pampano,flato, eil and some huge rays all released one of the guys caught a huge hammer head shark. sorry no pic. we used normal rigs with 12-16 ounce lead. when the current changed 18-22 ounce was not reaching the bottom current was a beyotch after lunch left and when to another spot outside macaripe( spelling not correct) caught some grunt and red fish in all a very good day fishing

Postby meccalli » September 2nd, 2011, 11:47 am

This is the cat.. was golden brown when i hauled im out and lost his color, we cut his spines at the beach also.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » September 2nd, 2011, 2:20 pm

i was in charlotteville on tuesday and there is sea weed/moss/yellow shiiit as far as the eye can see....yea small patches are know for having mahi but what i saw was just a hot mess, no way was the water fishable (trolling)

i figure it may have something to do with irene....

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 2nd, 2011, 2:36 pm

This is actually the third time in July/August it has been like that. In the begining of July all of the shores on the Atlantic side were completely covered with it. Not too sure what is causing it, but this time it's a different type and the waters are really dark coloured.

Heading out from shore tonight to see if it make s difference.

bumpie

Postby bumpie » September 2nd, 2011, 4:56 pm

ANYBODY INTERESTED IN A PENN REEL NEVER USED $500.00 CON#739 3124