Flow Internet Thread

shaq090

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby shaq090 » August 28th, 2015, 12:24 pm

And effective... when u say mini disconnects, does the moden us and ds lights cycle?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 28th, 2015, 1:38 pm

The lights stay constant on mine except for the orange blinker which well always blinks. Is just that pages don't load, downloads drop, streams that are in progress stay streaming, unless the page is refreshed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2015, 1:38 pm

shaq090 wrote:And effective... when u say mini disconnects, does the moden us and ds lights cycle?

Nah all the lights are pretty much normal during those mini disconnect times.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2015, 1:40 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:The lights stay constant on mine except for the orange blinker which well always blinks. Is just that pages don't load, downloads drop, streams that are in progress stay streaming, unless the page is refreshed

100% EXACTLY THIS!!!

When the connection drops my games don't even drop. Downloads drop and webpages don't load but somehow the games keep running which I must thank my lucky stars yes.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » August 28th, 2015, 4:12 pm

Log into the modem and send me your public ip... ill run a ping test against your default gateway for the ip block u on...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2015, 4:20 pm

how do you log in the modem?

any instructions on how to get this IP?

Postby gastly369 » August 28th, 2015, 4:50 pm

Anddd for PW

http://tylerwatt12.com/potd/

bossmann

Postby bossmann » August 28th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2015, 6:26 pm

shaq u mean using this site?
http://cloudmonitor.ca.com/en/ping.php

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2015, 9:14 pm

so I PM shaq the info thanks gastly369 for that link didn't realize a password from that site would work on my modem.

I guess I wait now and see if shaq could fix this disconnect issue? this would be amazing if it could be done.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » August 28th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Could you please post the logs on the modem?

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2015, 10:17 pm

password doesnt work for me.

Tonight is horrible online. My packet loss on BF4 servers is about 4-6%.

Hold a shot of my Modem info.
Look at those Uncorrectables :|
1.JPG

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » August 28th, 2015, 10:24 pm

M_2NR wrote:password doesnt work for me.

How do you have 16 downstreams?
What package/modem are you using?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2015, 11:35 pm

^ how much are we supposed to have?

I have 8 downstreams

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » August 29th, 2015, 12:51 am

Yea gastly, check the block against clould monitor ping... last time flow had and issue and i point it out... still waiting for a little thank you for that... looks at you know who name lighted in green

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 29th, 2015, 8:56 am

novastar1 wrote:

i have 16 downstream as well with the router i posted before, only 2 upstream though

ModMania

Postby ModMania » August 29th, 2015, 2:51 pm

Different modems have more downstream... Each channel can do 30Mbs....I'm assuming that's the new moca modem with intel atom processor or a modem with a broadcom processor...the older puma5 modems only have 8 channels

ModMania

Postby ModMania » August 29th, 2015, 2:52 pm

Still waiting on logs tho

And dem levels kinda low..should ideally be in the 40s....so what may happen is at Peake times the levels will drop a bit and cause the modem to hop over on another channel frequency... That may be causing your downtime

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2015, 2:14 pm

novastar1 wrote:

Have the newer moca modems. Same ole 15mbit package here until Flow fixes their chit.

________

Last night was horrid... Packet losses was around 9% in game. You all notice load times on tuner take a hit also? I notice on some sites, like streaming video on IMDb it's really poor sometimes...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » August 30th, 2015, 8:38 pm

M_2NR wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Have the newer moca modems. Same ole 15mbit package here until Flow fixes their chit.

________

Last night was horrid... Packet losses was around 9% in game. You all notice load times on tuner take a hit also? I notice on some sites, like streaming video on IMDb it's really poor sometimes...

Any difference in usability with the extra downstream channels?
Should I call flow and ask for an upgrade?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

Postby stev » August 30th, 2015, 10:58 pm

was there any recent changes to flow's service? all of a sudden i cant even connect to xbox live unless i put my xbox IP in my DMZ :|

i not seeing any changes done on Microsoft's side

Postby S_2NR » August 31st, 2015, 2:56 am

The service certainly went downhill. I don't know if more people are streaming now and more load on the network but during peak hours, things rough

Sent from my LG-D800 using Tapatalk

Postby Morpheus » August 31st, 2015, 6:11 am

Just saw an email with speed increases...

Postby S_2NR » August 31st, 2015, 6:22 am

The same speed increases from a while ago or more?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

bossmann

Postby bossmann » August 31st, 2015, 6:57 am

Same increases. Got same email last week also.

Obito_

Postby Obito_ » September 1st, 2015, 11:58 pm

same here, got the increase a while ago, now got the email.

Postby M_2NR » September 2nd, 2015, 6:13 am

novastar1 wrote:Any difference in usability with the extra downstream channels?
Should I call flow and ask for an upgrade?

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk

if your current setup works well, as in, you play games and expect port forwarding to work and NAT Type is currently moderate or open, DO NOT update to a MoCA setup as yet. Still awaiting a tech to give me a proper run down on how to setup this modem just for Modem purposes (ideally bridge) and not lose the TV functions.

I forwarded all ports for XBL for the Xbox, connected the Xbox directly to the modem, did so as well, set it up in the DMZ of the modem and still, NAT Type Strict. Did all of the random settings for the Xbox, still Strict. It seems this new modem is quite bleh outside of regular/default settings.

Firewall was even set off, etc. and still... :( at least my random drops no longer noticeable. Just the odd lag in games and random sticking in streaming.

Postby S_2NR » September 2nd, 2015, 9:29 am

How you does have so much problems boy? What the hell

Postby Ted_v2 » September 2nd, 2015, 4:58 pm

I making speeds up to 1.8mb

Postby M_2NR » September 2nd, 2015, 11:44 pm

S_2NR wrote:How you does have so much problems boy? What the hell

Boy I feel it's not just me having these "problems", it's just that others in my area eh realise the packet loss occurring and just happy with the bandwidth they sucking/screwing off others. After a while, flow gets fed up and have to balance the node by us. Plus, most people as you may realise have the "beat up but don't complain to the company" attitude like what is discussed in the skybox thread, so... meh. Unless yuh is a game peong, then they'd do something. I at least call and make complaints but if one man in a node of 40 calls... that's a drop in the bucket to flow.

Also, my case may sound exaggerated but it's not that bad for the average user also as youtube, facebook and the usual "average user" websites, works ok generally.

cs;b