*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby gastly369 » August 6th, 2012, 8:13 pm

prefer the LED because it will be used for gaming with lots of non moving images for long periods
don't want that burn in or image retention . friend cussin wind since he got his 60" Samsung some serious burn ins watching disney channel and still seeing some MW3 map on screen corner :\ after a while. but it goes away after

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2012, 8:19 pm

^ compared to what? Logitech z5500 yeah!
compared to Klipsch Reference? no!

always be weary of small satellite speakers and large subs that try to make up for them. If you can't get towers then try to get the largest satellites as possible since they can produce some of their own bass. Probably a better way to say it is that you should be getting mid bass out of the sub as the higher frequency will start to localize

check much earlier in this thread for details on that

Postby X_Factor » August 6th, 2012, 8:54 pm

based on this
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-vi ... mode=model

i can use anywhere from 2-80hm load on the reciever?

Postby DVSTT » August 6th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ compared to what? Logitech z5500 yeah!
compared to Klipsch Reference? no!

always be weary of small satellite speakers and large subs that try to make up for them. If you can't get towers then try to get the largest satellites as possible since they can produce some of their own bass. Probably a better way to say it is that you should be getting mid bass out of the sub as the higher frequency will start to localize

check much earlier in this thread for details on that

ok, i kinda understood what you meant. So towers and sub=better system?

Postby DVSTT » August 6th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Postby X_Factor » August 6th, 2012, 10:46 pm

more like these...lol
http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-Reference ... psch+rf-52

if u want the energy take classic supposed to be a pretty decent set if its within ur budget

Postby DVSTT » August 6th, 2012, 10:48 pm

That is for one speaker :O! When I get a job maybe lol.

this got great reviews
http://reviews.cnet.com/surround-speake ... 54855.html

Postby crazybalhead » August 7th, 2012, 11:01 am

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 7th, 2012, 12:40 pm

I've been lurking around this thread for some time now and recently put together my bedroom HT so I thought i would share. Not yet completed but getting there.
I'm currently using those Andrew Jones Pioneer speakers recommended above. They sound great for a budget set especially after MCACC speaker calibration.

Setup:
Panasonic 65VT50 plasma
Pioneer VSX-1121 AVR
Pioneer 5.0 speaker system
JBL ES250 subwoofer
APC HT AVR
Flow HD cable
Directv HD DVR
HTPC (AMD A6 mini-ITX based)
ect..

Postby crazybalhead » August 7th, 2012, 12:51 pm

You know thus far, Ihave only used a sound level meter to do basic level adjustments, and thais it! left the Audessy out. No internal EQ, nothing. Just a little tweak on the sub to tame a room resonance mode at 40Hz.

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2012, 2:21 pm

hhmm, best I stick to headphones for now lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2012, 6:22 pm

nice setup FD3S!

oooooh that's nice!!!

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2012, 7:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:nice setup FD3S!

oooooh that's nice!!!

Very! But WAY outta my price range..

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 7th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Thanks Duane. Currently looking for universal remote options. I like your harmony 900 but its been out a while now and there are rumours of logitech refreshing their line up this year.
Anything comparable I should be looking at?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2012, 10:49 pm

^ it's hard to beat the 900

the only option seems to be to wait for the new models IMO

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » August 9th, 2012, 7:53 am

FD3S wrote:Thanks Duane. Currently looking for universal remote options. I like your harmony 900 but its been out a while now and there are rumours of logitech refreshing their line up this year.
Anything comparable I should be looking at?

read good things about these:
http://www.universalremote.com/

very good reviews.
nice name too!

my living room harmony crapped out so i replaced it with a cheap one of these. what i really like about it is that you dont need to get on the net and open program etc to set it up. but setting it up is not for ppl without patience. there is a learning curve but once you get it, you on. logitech is much easier to set up though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2012, 2:11 pm

^ yes the Logitech Harmony 900 is very simple to setup

you only need to set it up once. You plug the remote into your PC, enter the model number of the device you want to control (Such as LG LS240CP Air Condition) and it transfers all the controls to the Harmony 900 universal remote.

you can now add that a/c unit in a sequence of actions so whenever you press "Watch movie" on the remote, it will start up the a/c, set it to 22degrees with the fan on low while also turning on your TV, PS3 or bluray player and dimming the lights.

Postby rollingstock » August 9th, 2012, 2:19 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yes the Logitech Harmony 900 is very simple to setup

you only need to set it up once. You plug the remote into your PC, enter the model number of the device you want to control (Such as LG LS240CP Air Condition) and it transfers all the controls to the Harmony 900 universal remote.

you can now add that a/c unit in a sequence of actions so whenever you press "Watch movie" on the remote, it will start up the a/c, set it to 22degrees with the fan on low while also turning on your TV, PS3 or bluray player and dimming the lights.

:shock: tha's devil ting!

Postby X_Factor » August 9th, 2012, 2:52 pm

gonna be building the HT set up instead
i'll be doing the center channel soon ( should get the speakers n tweeter next week)
gonna be using 2-4.5" midbass woofers and 1--1" silk dome tweet
crossed at 70hz and 3k respectively

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 9th, 2012, 5:52 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yes the Logitech Harmony 900 is very simple to setup

The RF functionality is also nice. From my bedhead i dont have line of sight to most of my components so RF would convenient.
A friend of mine gave me an RTI remote to experiment with but i found out thatthe software is dealer exclusive. Nice piece though

Postby gastly369 » August 14th, 2012, 11:09 am

got the toshiba i was asking about loveeeee the dynalight feature and 3D movies showing bess
still have to do lots of connections etc
and now i relize that the home theater system"not compatible" as in audio input for 5.1 :( no optical in) and well the rca in srs sucks its old tho like 6 years old :\

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2012, 11:42 am

You don't want optical!!!
Optical cannot handle the data bandwidth needed for HD audio.

Get a receiver with HDMI 1.4 that is 3D capable

Postby gastly369 » August 14th, 2012, 12:14 pm

well yep thats my options with 3D pass thru ..
oh ill be buying a 3D media player flash drive hard drive etc.

Postby pioneer » August 14th, 2012, 1:25 pm

allyuh will make Duane pop ah vain every time allyuh mention optical eh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2012, 1:40 pm

^ nah it bugs me when people have HD TV, HDMI receiver and PS3 and still using optical for audio cause they think it better then HDMI.

gastly369 wrote:well yep thats my options with 3D pass thru ..
oh ill be buying a 3D media player flash drive hard drive etc.

remember the way you are connecting everything is to plug everything into the receiver. the only cable going to the TV should be ONE HDMI from the video out of the receiver. Dont plug any source devices into the TV.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 14th, 2012, 1:53 pm

gastly369 wrote:Image

^^How high off the ground the tv mounted?

Postby crazybalhead » August 14th, 2012, 1:59 pm

Just above the curtain rods.

Postby pioneer » August 14th, 2012, 2:06 pm

^^right below the ac level

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2012, 2:10 pm

gastly369 wrote:Image

only now seeing this

that is really high

it's up to personal preference really, but ideally the center of the TV should be at the same level as your eyes when you are sitting.

check this guide
http://www.thx.com/consumer/home-entert ... tv-set-up/

Postby 16 cycles » August 14th, 2012, 2:42 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You don't want optical!!!
Optical cannot handle the data bandwidth needed for HD audio.

Get a receiver with HDMI 1.4 that is 3D capable

actually in a situation where i don't have an HDMI recv'r and the only audio o/p from TV is the optical....

kit - polk audio rti6
psb subsonic 5i
ps3
parasound pre
parasoud power
sony hdtv

might use a different set up.....amp wise
Last edited by 16 cycles on August 14th, 2012, 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.