COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 51 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2020, 8:08 pm

$20 for 5. How much to drop for yuh?
rspann wrote:Sapodilla go sell , doh beat up.

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2020, 8:10 pm

Not with the current sheit that going in in customs. It was risky to bring in large shipments since customs start their bs. So whoever have plenty stock real gt.
paid_influencer wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:The thing is plenty business owners like myself had like a few days to try to organise goods to rally for several months. At Friday noontime I get emails from all my suppliers in New York that I have 3 hours to make Payments for goods for same day shipment because they get ordered by the state of New York to close indefinitely. So I more or less have nothing to sell in about 2 weeks for 2 or 3 months. Guess is time to do all them small renovations and see if I remember my runescape password.

that actually sounds like the ideal position, business wise.

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2020, 8:33 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:It was apparent by the middle to end of February to beginning March that this was going to be a global problem. Anyone who travelled anytime from March 1 look for thier trouble.
Dohplaydat wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:News say there's more cruisers stuck on the outside and want back in. From South Africa. TF all these Trinis doing out there in times like these??

Not defending them entirely, but this worldwide lockdown came almost out of nowhere 2 weeks ago. Right before that, people were carrying on life as normal thinking this is a "China Problem".

Many people including two close friends booked vacations long in advance and many of them couldn't get refunds even with Travel Insurance.

There are tens of thousands of trinis stuck and trapped outside, business travelers, persons who live both here and abroad, many students, long vacationers etc.

i will say, as a layman who would not be following these kinds of things, the authorities would be the siren to tell u what and how to do. and ours went ahead with carnival. that sent a message it wasnt serious, or at least wasnt going to affect us. and then like a switch, they locking down and bashing people for carelessly traveling. i putting the blame on them for recklessly allowing carnival.

wickedtuna

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 52 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby wickedtuna » March 23rd, 2020, 8:36 pm

Anyone been to c3 digicel walk with exact change to pay bills ..... ..limited traffic inside ....health worker in full white suit ....n95. ....goggles. ..ur being temperature checked with a "pyro" thermometer b4 u get to do business

Postby paid_influencer » March 23rd, 2020, 8:39 pm

my gut feeling is we are about 2-weeks or so away from total shutdown. plenty stock doh help when nobody allowed to do business. it have a gear to this lockdown that Rowley ent reach... yet.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 23rd, 2020, 8:44 pm

Yup. It'll come. As I keep saying. Give it two weeks max... You'll likely see an unfortunate twist.

We are doing exactly what others are doing so it's predictable that we'll go into lockdown.

Those people who decided to travel in these times including case #1 are such dunces. Govt should make them wear dunce hats from now on.

I do not doubt that will see the effects of the R0 of 2.6 real soon.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2020, 8:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:my gut feeling is we are about 2-weeks or so away from total shutdown. plenty stock doh help when nobody allowed to do business. it have a gear to this lockdown that Rowley ent reach... yet.

My mother and grandmother has yet to buy anything to stock up, they believe this will all blow over at some point but food shortage isn't going to happen. I told them to buy goods I told my brother to do the same thing I mean they have food for maybe a month or 2 at most but beyond that nothing.

You think a total shutdown is likely to happen? I doubt this because what would that do to the economy? would probably never recover from something like that.

But who knows a total shutdown could happen.

Postby Gladiator » March 23rd, 2020, 8:48 pm

That added to the fact that we minister of Health and Dr. Trotman had a press conference telling everybody that "it mild" and "good news" it only affecting the elderly

I still have a chupid uncle that see that on TV and still saying that it mild and the cold does kill more people every year so no biggie... is just media hype and internet social media exaggeration.

Dohplaydat wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:News say there's more cruisers stuck on the outside and want back in. From South Africa. TF all these Trinis doing out there in times like these??

Not defending them entirely, but this worldwide lockdown came almost out of nowhere 2 weeks ago. Right before that, people were carrying on life as normal thinking this is a "China Problem".

Many people including two close friends booked vacations long in advance and many of them couldn't get refunds even with Travel Insurance.

There are tens of thousands of trinis stuck and trapped outside, business travelers, persons who live both here and abroad, many students, long vacationers etc.

Postby paid_influencer » March 23rd, 2020, 8:48 pm

contagion now showing on HBO

doh watch it

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 23rd, 2020, 8:49 pm

Let's assume this virus never goes away you can't trust the CCP everything they say is a lie. Watch south korea they have it under control but what is that control like? its no way to live and isn't getting better from what I can see.

So corona never goes away let us assume, what eventually happens to the world as we know it and Trinidad?

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2020, 8:53 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:my gut feeling is we are about 2-weeks or so away from total shutdown. plenty stock doh help when nobody allowed to do business. it have a gear to this lockdown that Rowley ent reach... yet.

My mother and grandmother has yet to buy anything to stock up, they believe this will all blow over at some point but food shortage isn't going to happen. I told them to buy goods I told my brother to do the same thing I mean they have food for maybe a month or 2 at most but beyond that nothing.

You think a total shutdown is likely to happen? I doubt this because what would that do to the economy? would probably never recover from something like that.

by next month, what was produced will be consumed. the by april end into may we will have a shortage for a lot of stuff, so by may into june IFFFF workers resume factories, we might be seeing things pop back in, but that is if we past the hump... and prices will be up the wazoo.

Postby Gladiator » March 23rd, 2020, 8:58 pm

Look at it from another perspective... we are a purely consumer based country. Shutting down for a while will slow down Trinis buying crap to eat (KFC, PIZZA HUT, BK etc) and also slow them down form buying sheit at courts, PMart and Standards. They would also stop ordering crap online and buying foreign used car and nice phone every 2 months. Plus no more NY & Miami shopping trip and slow down in alcohol imports cause all bars closed. Also less travelling on the road so less fuel to import.

This could actually be what we need to slow down the hemorrhaging of USD...

On the other hand the PNM launch an election campaign around COVID19 and tapping into the HSF for direct campaign financing...

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Postby X_Factor » March 23rd, 2020, 9:04 pm

The only way out of covid for a vaccine to be developed and administered worldwide

The fact that people can get infected again shows that it's here to stay
And until that vaccine is developed the world will be at it's mercy

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2020, 9:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Let's assume this virus never goes away you can't trust the CCP everything they say is a lie. Watch south korea they have it under control but what is that control like? its no way to live and isn't getting better from what I can see.

So corona never goes away let us assume, what eventually happens to the world as we know it and Trinidad?

For starters, going forward we're gonna figure out REAL FAST that we have to become more self sufficient and less wasteful, especially with regard to our own food production and sustainability of local agriculture, as we'll as other things we've neglected to address over the decades.

Now, think about this carefully
If there's a total shutdown due to the virus, and that shutdown lasts more than 3 months to try to get a handle on it, things will be primed to get very bad, very fast if we are not prepared as individuals and as a society. Remember, a whole lot of people on the lower end of the income spectrum now have no income, govt can't afford to feed everyone long term, business imports severely decreased and in some cases outright ceased, so limited goods available.
So when the little food the poor people have runs out, with no money to buy anything and when what little there is the prices gone airborne, guess the next logical course of events to take place.

Postby redmanjp » March 23rd, 2020, 9:41 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:52.

First case in Tobago

FB_IMG_1585007411779.jpeg

d whole ah Tobago buying toilet paper now

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2020, 9:45 pm

Gladiator wrote:Look at it from another perspective... we are a purely consumer based country. Shutting down for a while will slow down Trinis buying crap to eat (KFC, PIZZA HUT, BK etc) and also slow them down form buying sheit at courts, PMart and Standards. They would also stop ordering crap online and buying foreign used car and nice phone every 2 months. Plus no more NY & Miami shopping trip and slow down in alcohol imports cause all bars closed. Also less travelling on the road so less fuel to import.

This could actually be what we need to slow down the hemorrhaging of USD...

On the other hand the PNM launch an election campaign around COVID19 and tapping into the HSF for direct campaign financing...

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

imburt was eyeing that HSF long time, like a corbeaux scoping a dead dog. finally get he chance.

Postby paid_influencer » March 23rd, 2020, 9:45 pm

on the news conference today, the minister of finance talked about reaching into local bank account denominated in US currency to fund some of the food/medicine purchases. He said there was more than 3 Billion US in those accounts. That, plus the HSF, sounds like enough to bring in food and medicine.

The current problem really is the forex distribution system. It is as clear as mud and nobody, not even the central bank governor is allowed to talk about it. Pricesmart, Massy, etc, will be well stocked but the rest of the economy, eh... scarcity is the name.

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2020, 9:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:52.

First case in Tobago

FB_IMG_1585007411779.jpeg

d whole ah Tobago buying toilet paper now

They need to
Hope they use all they can to wipe clean that shiddy mindset they've had for more than a while now.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2020, 9:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:on the news conference today, the minister of finance talked about reaching into local bank account denominated in US currency to fund some of the food/medicine purchases. He said there was more than 3 Billion US in those accounts. That, plus the HSF, sounds like enough to bring in food and medicine.

The current problem really is the forex distribution system. It is as clear as mud and nobody, not even the central bank governor is allowed to talk about it. Pricesmart, Massy, etc, will be well stocked but the rest of the economy, eh... scarcity is the name.
I% Safe, nutting for plebs

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2020, 9:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:on the news conference today, the minister of finance talked about reaching into local bank account denominated in US currency to fund some of the food/medicine purchases. He said there was more than 3 Billion US in those accounts. That, plus the HSF, sounds like enough to bring in food and medicine.

So what? They gonna take the money to bring in food and drugs and then give it away for free to the people that can't afford to pay for it? Is it to be a distributed as aid rations? And how they plan to replace said monies afterward considering our economy slowly spiraling down the toilet evenbeforethis?

I take zero stock in the rantings of politicians. I recommend you do the same.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 23rd, 2020, 9:58 pm

If they hold 60, imagine the number that slipped through. Our porous sea borders could really throw a wrench into our ability to keep the infections at bay. Illegal Venezuelans becoming transmission clusters due to their habits and mode of living in Trinidad and afraid of presenting or getting tested because they're here illegally will hit us like a frag grenade.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/60-venezuelans-held-for-illegally-entering-tt-6.2.1085204.a6492ee4f3

Postby bluefete » March 23rd, 2020, 9:59 pm

Boy, stop talking sense inside of here nah.

Imbert and Rowley said that Agriculture only contributed 0.5% to GDP and so it was NOT IMPORTANT in a diversification thrust. We could eat oil and drink gas. That is what they said. We did not need to become self-sufficient in food.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Let's assume this virus never goes away you can't trust the CCP everything they say is a lie. Watch south korea they have it under control but what is that control like? its no way to live and isn't getting better from what I can see.

For starters, going forward we're gonna figure out REAL FAST that we have to become more self sufficient and less wasteful, especially with regard to our own food production and sustainability of local agriculture, as we'll as other things we've neglected to address over the decades.

Now, think about this carefully
If there's a total shutdown due to the virus, and that shutdown lasts more than 3 months to try to get a handle on it, things will be primed to get very bad, very fast if we are not prepared as individuals and as a society. Remember, a whole lot of people on the lower end of the income spectrum now have no income, govt can't afford to feed everyone long term, business imports severely decreased and in some cases outright ceased, so limited goods available.
So when the little food the poor people have runs out, with no money to buy anything and when what little there is the prices gone airborne, guess the next logical course of events to take place.

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2020, 9:59 pm

So what? They gonna take the money to bring in food and drugs and then give it away for free to the people that can't afford to pay for it? Is it to be a distributed as aid rations? And how they plan to replace said monies afterward considering our economy slowly spiraling down the toilet evenbeforethis?

I take zero stock in the rantings of politicians. I recommend you do the same.
1% control the legal and illegal drug market, so the money will go to dem and few PNM contractos. Expect substantial drugs from these scum

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2020, 10:07 pm

Well boi blue, if that's his theory we might just put it to the test and see if he was right.

abducted

Postby abducted » March 23rd, 2020, 10:32 pm

2B6E3A68-8231-427F-97E5-4329E1D49835.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » March 23rd, 2020, 10:40 pm

^ :lol:

but on a more serious note, we in trouble! This is the CHIEF Medical Officer saying this!

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/23/cmo-20000-returning-nationals-must-stay-home/

CMO: 20,000 returning nationals must stay home
CHIEF Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram said the almost 20,000 nationals who returned to this country in the past two weeks need to remain at home to prevent a spike in covid19 infections.

He was speaking at a media conference held at the Diplomatic Centre, Port of Spain.

He reported that 19,852 people came to Trinidad through the airports in the past 14 days which represented 0.015 per cent of the population.

"If you look at the way we have been testing and you check that weight you are looking at about a 1,000 people (possibly infected)." :shock: :shock:

He said if these people do not self-isolate for 14 days until they present with symptoms then the country would have a completely different scenario.

"So we are looking at those roughly 20,000 people. We have two choices. If they stay at home and do exactly what they supposed to do the scenario will be one that we can manage and we can cope. If the 19,000 people go out and they develop symptoms and mingle with the population, all of us will be infected and we will see the spike which we trying to avoid happen overnight. And which has happened in Italy, has happened in China, is happening in the US. So what we asking is those 20,000 people is stay at home. If you have contact – stay at home."

Parasram reported TT's first case from Switzerland was doing really well. He explained the Word Health Organisation guideline for discharging someone from a medical institution after testing positive was seven days without any symptoms. If the test at seven days and then 24 hours later are both negative the patient can be discharged.

"So we are going to test the first case very soon hopefully getting his first negative. If we get the second one we can discharge him."

He reported that 311 people were tested and 51 tested positive.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 23rd, 2020, 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 23rd, 2020, 10:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ :lol:

but on a more serious note, we in trouble!

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/23/cmo-20000-returning-nationals-must-stay-home/

CMO: 20,000 returning nationals must stay home
CHIEF Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram said the almost 20,000 nationals who returned to this country in the past two weeks need to remain at home to prevent a spike in covid19 infections.

He was speaking at a media conference held at the Diplomatic Centre, Port of Spain.

He reported that 19,852 people came to Trinidad through the airports in the past 14 days which represented 0.015 per cent of the population.

"If you look at the way we have been testing and you check that weight you are looking at about a 1,000 people (possibly infected)." :shock: :shock:

He said if these people do not self-isolate for 14 days until they present with symptoms then the country would have a completely different scenario.

"So we are looking at those roughly 20,000 people. We have two choices. If they stay at home and do exactly what they supposed to do the scenario will be one that we can manage and we can cope. If the 19,000 people go out and they develop symptoms and mingle with the population, all of us will be infected and we will see the spike which we trying to avoid happen overnight. And which has happened in Italy, has happened in China, is happening in the US. So what we asking is those 20,000 people is stay at home. If you have contact – stay at home."

Parasram reported TT's first case from Switzerland was doing really well. He explained the Word Health Organisation guideline for discharging someone from a medical institution after testing positive was seven days without any symptoms. If the test at seven days and then 24 hours later are both negative the patient can be discharged.

"So we are going to test the first case very soon hopefully getting his first negative. If we get the second one we can discharge him."

He reported that 311 people were tested and 51 tested positive.

We are all up $h¡t Creek without a paddle.
unnamed.png

carluva

Postby carluva » March 23rd, 2020, 10:54 pm

Why did they all choose to return? Are those normal travel numbers that are typical on any given day or is this is an exception given what's going on worldwide?

Or by returning national, he means citizens who also travelled for vacation and business and came back home?

If the latter, it's understandable. If it's someone who was living away and came back home, well that's unusual.
Last edited by carluva on March 23rd, 2020, 10:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » March 23rd, 2020, 10:57 pm

Trinidadians are not taking this SQ seriously.

Pretty much expected.

abducted

Postby abducted » March 23rd, 2020, 11:10 pm

There are basically three ways to stop the Covid-19 disease for good.

One involves extraordinary restrictions on free movement and assembly, as well as aggressive testing, to interrupt its transmission entirely. That may be impossible now that the virus is in over 100 countries.

The second is a vaccine that could protect everyone, but it still needs to be developed.

A third is potentially effective but horrible to consider: just wait until enough people get it.

If the virus keeps spreading, eventually so many people will have been infected and (if they survive) become immune that the outbreak will fizzle out on its own as the germ finds it harder and harder to find a susceptible host. This phenomenon is known as herd immunity.

https://www.technologyreview.com/s/6153 ... ronavirus/