EAR you ear know who is shaq or?

OARRRRRR

OARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

but on a real though... packet losses over here still :cry:

shaq090

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby shaq090 » August 27th, 2015, 3:53 am

Its sad that probly know more of flows hfc cmts network than most repliers here... take it from the guy that worked in flow... most of your assumptions here are very far fetched

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2015, 4:04 am

shaq090 wrote:Its sad that probly know more of flows hfc cmts network than most repliers here... take it from the guy that worked in flow... most of your assumptions here are very far fetched

And yet to post any helpful advice with all that knowledge.

stev wrote:
shaq090 wrote:All these dumb responses.... i can fix this issue... but too much to type

cool...should GTFO the thread then.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » August 27th, 2015, 6:24 am

smily245 wrote:hey anyone know whats a good one of those boxes that can stream the cable channels so can take off flow all together

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=620601

Pantos

Postby Pantos » August 27th, 2015, 9:08 am

shaq090 wrote:Its sad that probly know more of flows hfc cmts network than most repliers here... take it from the guy that worked in flow... most of your assumptions here are very far fetched

Do like me... lurk with popcorn

ModMania

Postby ModMania » August 27th, 2015, 10:17 am

I do the same.thing...

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2015, 1:08 pm

Oh look Pantos the panty man, and Modmania the crossdresser extraordinaire coming to the rescue......

Oh, nah to come to POST that they does lurk. Special breed of stupid.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 2:04 pm

M_2NR wrote:EAR you ear know who is shaq or?

OARRRRRR

OARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

but on a real though... packet losses over here still :cry:

Did yours fix? mine has been fixed finally.

Flow confirmed on facebook that they fixed the issue. Unless Shaq is an Engineer or something at flow then there is noway he could have fixed this issue for us. Because the wired modem I have cannot be adjusted by the end user, there are no settings on it to change so if it don't work either the modem busted and needs replacing or its an issue on Flow's end.

Anyways if its been fixed for you guys feel free to let us know. Mine seems to be working now.

Sounds like it was some sort of DNS issue with flow.

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » August 27th, 2015, 2:12 pm

noshownogo wrote:That my friend will be the next plan of attack by Flow.

Throttling or out right banning of links to "protect" their services/investments.

lol..

And that was quite a read.
Issue escalated to Google, should be resolved....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 2:19 pm

LOL flow not that bad one time, I know comcast in the US likes to throttle netflix and youtube that one is something comcast does under low.

FLOW does not do this, the only real issue with flow (apart from the intermittent micro-disconnects that 90% of users have) is that the CSRs and call center technicians are very ignorant of how computers and the internet works. If I had a nice job like that I would go the distance to understand more about internet and networking field in my personal time so I would be capable to do more than just read a script.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 27th, 2015, 4:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LOL flow not that bad one time, I know comcast in the US likes to throttle netflix and youtube that one is something comcast does under low.

FLOW does not do this, the only real issue with flow (apart from the intermittent micro-disconnects that 90% of users have) is that the CSRs and call center technicians are very ignorant of how computers and the internet works. If I had a nice job like that I would go the distance to understand more about internet and networking field in my personal time so I would be capable to do more than just read a script.

That Comcast/Netflix issue was due to ongoing negotiations, it was fixed only after Netflix agreed to Comcast terms

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » August 27th, 2015, 4:53 pm

THERE IS NO THROTTLING!!!! Geez i hate when people say these things....when a flow rep says u are throttled, they are talking crap.... the throttling done on the CMTS side is for ARP requests and DHCP requests....

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » August 27th, 2015, 4:55 pm

nismodriver wrote:
noshownogo wrote:That my friend will be the next plan of attack by Flow.

Throttling or out right banning of links to "protect" their services/investments.

lol..

And that was quite a read.
Issue escalated to Google, should be resolved....

nismo, i cant, i cant anymore... i think Flow should host a "Internet for the less knowledgeable" seminar... Free passes for the guys on this thread

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 27th, 2015, 5:28 pm

Got a new router and TV box today

This is the router

Will monitor and see if I still get the mini disconnects

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2015, 6:12 pm

Facing a mini disconnect as I type this. Good thing i have a data plan on phone

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 27th, 2015, 6:24 pm

^Yours lasts that long? I normally get it for 30-45 seconds

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2015, 6:35 pm

Last anywhere from 45 seconds to 10 minutes

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » August 27th, 2015, 6:41 pm

^Yours lasts that long? I normally get it for 30-45 seconds
Your pings drop?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » August 27th, 2015, 6:54 pm

megadoc1 wrote:well my modem kicked the bucket ,first when I realized I had no net I checked the box and all lamps were lit constantly,I tried to reboot but it never came back ,only the power light comes on and no booting takes place :(

will have to face customer care

reported this issue since the 13th of this month ,flow is yet to replace my modem....looks like our 7 year relationship is about to go downhill ...I used to only have the best to say about flow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 7:32 pm

shaq090 wrote:nismo, i cant, i cant anymore... i think Flow should host a "Internet for the less knowledgeable" seminar... Free passes for the guys on this thread

I hope flow does not host such a seminar.

I once had a call center tech tell me that my router has a "virus" which is why I am getting the mini intermittent disconnects. The other one said Youtube and google has been doing updates for 3 days now so google.com and youtube.com has currently down for maintenance. Yeah ok youtube and google is down 3 DAYS now for maintenance and only affects certain flow customers but work for everyone else on the planet, sure..

So I really hope flow does NOT hold any kind of seminar to educate anyone considering their level of ignorance on understanding how computers and the internet works. The only good thing I could say about flow is for now, youtube streams blazing fast on 1080p for majority of the time while on TSTT a 10MB runs at 144p (but goes full blast 10mb on torrents)
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 27th, 2015, 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » August 27th, 2015, 7:34 pm

nismodriver wrote:^Yours lasts that long? I normally get it for 30-45 seconds
Your pings drop?

same here. But I only notice now that it's felt on games the worse. But a man like you shouldn't be getting that :P #dat150mbit #comingtothief :P

I have a modem like below and initially I bridged to my router and got a LOT of issues after a week and it also disabled the fancy functions on the TV. Had to end up putting back on NATandrouting in the option. However, I took off the firewall on the flow modem itself as well as wifi, etc. since I have that on the router I'm using. I left on DHCP on both settings. I only have my router plugged in though.

Kronik wrote:Got a new router and TV box today

This is the router

have that as well... see above for my configs. But i still get lags in games but the mini drops not noticeable in regular use.

ED, boy i eh sure, I don't play games that often anymore but i'll try again later. It's mainly on BF4 that it has the ping/server tester.

oar, shaq, if yuh eh offering assistance, yuh know what to do... there is one "lurker" here, I eh calling names, and he actually helps... and I can safely say it eh you. But if yuh willing to fix that, feel free padna. FWIW, when I did bridge the MoCA modem, it caused a host of more issues as above, so feel free to comment.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 7:35 pm

hmmmmm
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 27th, 2015, 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pantos

Postby Pantos » August 27th, 2015, 7:40 pm

rollingstock wrote:Oh look Pantos the panty man, and Modmania the crossdresser extraordinaire coming to the rescue......

tch tch Laughingstock, you'll never learn. Comments like that just make people put you on block, as I am going to do right now. Simple fix to never see such a$$h0le comments from you again. By the way, you need to do something else other than spend every day trolling Tuner. 14,800 + posts over 6 years? Damn! Get a job and a life.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2015, 7:41 pm

Your pings drop?

Will have to check

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 7:42 pm

M_2NR wrote:ED, boy i eh sure, I don't play games that often anymore but i'll try again later. It's mainly on BF4 that it has the ping/server tester.

oar, shaq, if yuh eh offering assistance, yuh know what to do... there is one "lurker" here, I eh calling names, and he actually helps... and I can safely say it eh you. But if yuh willing to fix that, feel free padna. FWIW, when I did bridge the MoCA modem, it caused a host of more issues as above, so feel free to comment.

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf4/servers/

You mean this?

I play BF4 everyday, I get as low as 72ms pings.

But in Killing Floor 2 and Dirty Bomb I can get 58ms ping servers.

Funny enough I never had an issue with gaming on Flow, those mini disconnects that happen, never seen to affect my online gaming. The thing is online gaming can even run on Dial Up internet provided the latency was good. A lot of people confuse games with bandwidth vs ping, yeah it needs bandwidth but only like 10kbps or something so.

This is why true successful games has proper netcode to compensate for all these issues so you never actually feel it unless your pings are real garbage.

Either games can run on 10kbps bandwidth or these mini disconnects that the population gets from flow every hour or so only affects websites.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 27th, 2015, 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Pantos wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Oh look Pantos the panty man, and Modmania the crossdresser extraordinaire coming to the rescue......

tch tch Laughingstock, you'll never learn. Comments like that just make people put you on block, as I am going to do right now. Simple fix to never see such a$$h0le comments from you again. By the way, you need to do something else other than spend every day trolling Tuner. 14,800 + posts over 6 years? Damn! Get a job and a life.

He has a job, infact he is a member of the TTPS from what I understand. Maybe he has a high post count because smartphones has made these forums easily accessible in recent years, I highly doubt he sits down on a PC all day in the police station just to troll trinituner.

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2015, 7:48 pm

Pantos wrote:

Lol, panties in a bunch much?
I'm not technically inclined to solve any problems here, but i experience some of the issues.
And little asses like you come here and get a laugh and other's problem while admitting how to fix it but offering no tangible advice.

Is your psyche so weak that this is the only way to feel good about yourself? Are you compensating for other things in your life that this limited knowledge you have is all you have?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 7:56 pm

I dunno why anybody would claim they can fix this problem with flow but then skate out saying they can but they just won't. Besides my modem is the old school wired one, not like there are any settings to adjust to fix anything. So even if I could I can't cause there are no settings to adjust.

Therefore only way to fix these issues is for flow to do it on their end.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2015, 8:30 pm

Your pings drop?

Nah, Hustler right sometimes it can literally last for up to 10 minutes. But mostly it lasts under a minute. I have verified this to happen to areas like St Augustine, El Dorado, Couva, Chaguanas, Piarco. Flow does not acknowledge this issue but I am pretty sure they are aware of it.

Mind you they only launched this digital service in piarco a few months ago eh. So this is most likely an issue happening further down the line, looking at this diagram of a HFC DOCSIS network which flow happens to use, this mini disconnect is likely at the transport ring though I am no network engineer but newly digitized areas like Piarco having same issues as anywhere else indicates it has to be an issue closer to flow than us.

I don't see this issue being resolved until Cable and Wireless gains full control of flow down here and starts upgrading or replacing equipment. Maybe with Digicel on the horizon with FTTH, Flow will up their game quicker. I don't think they even need to replace HFC with FTTH, they just need to upgrade existing equipment or replace etc. Better management and these things cause upcoming DOCSIS 3.1 is promised to allow up to 10 gigabit speed according to intel.

http://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/pu ... -brief.pdf

Diagram of HFC DOCSIS of how homes are connected with "Last Mile Coax Copper" to Fiber Optic lines to the HeadEnd

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » August 28th, 2015, 12:20 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Your pings drop?

same here. But I only notice now that it's felt on games the worse. But a man like you shouldn't be getting that :P #dat150mbit #comingtothief :P

I have a modem like below and initially I bridged to my router and got a LOT of issues after a week and it also disabled the fancy functions on the TV. Had to end up putting back on NATandrouting in the option. However, I took off the firewall on the flow modem itself as well as wifi, etc. since I have that on the router I'm using. I left on DHCP on both settings. I only have my router plugged in though.

Kronik wrote:Got a new router and TV box today

This is the router

have that as well... see above for my configs. But i still get lags in games but the mini drops not noticeable in regular use.

ED, boy i eh sure, I don't play games that often anymore but i'll try again later. It's mainly on BF4 that it has the ping/server tester.

When men could humble theyself and take advise i go help... but then again wah u wah me do if call center telling men youtube down for 3 days... hire meh nuh... i go sort out them issues