Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » December 23rd, 2012, 10:36 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Nice phone this 9320, I needs a case now doh

You bought in Trincity? Just up the escalator on the new wing, the first booth has for $50, slim case and nice colours. They take impact pretty well also.

Whatsapp meh if you want a pic

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 23rd, 2012, 10:41 pm

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » December 23rd, 2012, 10:56 pm

foss wrote:how much battery life you get on your bb's?

I barely get a full day. (calls, bbm, whatsapp, emails, fb)

Even with a new battery.

Am I the only one?

I usually get just over a day with BBM, wifi, music.

Heavy usage doesn't permit me more than a day though :(

Postby Rooki3 » December 26th, 2012, 3:04 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Got it sando, I ordered

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008VQ ... 00_s00_i01

For scratches and this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008UQ ... 02_s00_i00

For drops.

wait, is one cent the case sellin for

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 26th, 2012, 6:49 pm

Plus $3 shipping lol

Postby S_2NR » December 26th, 2012, 6:51 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Got it sando, I ordered

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008VQ ... 00_s00_i01

For scratches and this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008UQ ... 02_s00_i00

For drops.

wait, is one cent the case sellin for

shady third party sellers. dont trust all of them.
you might get a case that lookin like it worth one cent :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 26th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Strange enough eh, that shipped out first and they provided tracking.

I just bought it for the hell of it.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 26th, 2012, 8:57 pm

Anyone got parts for a 9900? Good friend bought one used from someone and it was working, but he said when he got it, he found it to be taking long to start and well realized when you press the delete key or keys close to it, it would freeze or just reboot. That went on the entire day yesterday and next day it showed a battery sign with a red X then had red light blinking twice every 10 seconds. He got it to start up once more and since then, no light, no power nothing. New battery and still nothing.

Been doing some reading and heard it could be the power ic.....

He is looking for a board to just replace or if anyone repairs it.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 26th, 2012, 9:00 pm

Also i got an issue with a phone....9800....used my backup from my 8520 and got bbm plan and it worked etc....everything works still, except facebook app and such does not work, says im on a plan that does not support this application.

However, recently i noticed bbm asking to reinvite some contacts and it just never adds....just says pending authorization. The other people on my list, works like normal, pics, files, music, bbm works perfect.

Anyone got any info on what could cause this?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 27th, 2012, 12:13 am

What's the average cost of replacing the slider strip for the 9800?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 27th, 2012, 7:17 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:What's the average cost of replacing the slider strip for the 9800?

500$

Postby tr1ad » December 27th, 2012, 9:12 am

747 you'll need to reinstall the facebook app and confirm with whoever you with bmobile / digicel that data is active, seems most of the contacts that you need to re-add either they didnt confirm, or they no longer on bbm

Postby foss » December 27th, 2012, 9:14 am

kevinknr wrote:

Even with a new battery.

Am I the only one?

yea boi.... steupsss

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 27th, 2012, 10:12 am

tr1ad wrote:747 you'll need to reinstall the facebook app and confirm with whoever you with bmobile / digicel that data is active, seems most of the contacts that you need to re-add either they didnt confirm, or they no longer on bbm

Digicel says the data is active. I wiped and reinstalled and loaded my backup, and well contacts are there, i added some people i dont know and they added, some did not, the ones that did not called and say it says pending

Postby S_2NR » December 27th, 2012, 6:27 pm

foss wrote:
kevinknr wrote:

Even with a new battery.

Am I the only one?

yea boi.... steupsss

the upside to having a bb is better battery life than an android/iphone because it doesnt have the big ass screen and can do less (app wise).

bess allyu get an iphone/android. :lol:

is bbm that important to yall?

Postby ismithx » December 27th, 2012, 6:33 pm

S_2NR wrote:
foss wrote:
kevinknr wrote:

Even with a new battery.

Am I the only one?

yea boi.... steupsss

the upside to having a bb is better battery life than an android/iphone because it doesnt have the big ass screen and can do less (app wise).

bess allyu get an iphone/android. :lol:

is bbm that important to yall?

better battery life
Better Battery Life
BETTER BATTERY LIFE

:shock: :crazyeyes: :crazyeyes: :shocked!: :faint:

sigh.... unlike android and iPhone, BB is designed to be useful by using a lot of data services, which can really eat into your battery...

Postby S_2NR » December 27th, 2012, 6:36 pm

better than iphone/android...yes.
i got better battery life with my bb bolds simply because the phone can do less hardware and software wise.

Postby tr1ad » December 27th, 2012, 6:37 pm

I get practically a day out of the 9900, with a lot of calls, and heavy email usage

Postby ismithx » December 27th, 2012, 6:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:better than iphone/android...yes.
i got better battery life with my bb bolds simply because the phone can do less hardware and software wise.

with data off most of the times, and moderate usage, i got 3 days out of my android phone.... it reached 25%

Postby S_2NR » December 27th, 2012, 6:43 pm

this new wave of bbs just cant measure up battery wise to the past lineup.

Postby S_2NR » December 27th, 2012, 6:44 pm

ismithx wrote:
S_2NR wrote:better than iphone/android...yes.

with data off most of the times, and moderate usage, i got 3 days out of my android phone.... it reached 25%

without data the phone is just a phone. best u get a me2/nokia1100

Postby Rooki3 » December 27th, 2012, 11:18 pm

wtf i jus read, dunno bout d iphone, but android devices have wayyyy better battery life than bb's eh, downside wid android is that they takr forever to be fully charged & phone wudnt make take much charge if any at all, if u use it while its being charged, get ridiculously hot also

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 28th, 2012, 8:08 am

tr1ad wrote:I get practically a day out of the 9900, with a lot of calls, and heavy email usage

Smaller screen so less power, less rich email, no endless background apps and LaunchDaemons running, no location polling like iOS nor Android.

I'm lucky to get 7 hrs out of my iPhone doing the same. It's just doing a lot more in the background even if you only make calls. Even newer BB and Nokia can't boast with more things smartphones are doing.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » December 28th, 2012, 12:24 pm

need a recommendation for someone reputable to check a 9300

The phone was working when I left it charging. Came back and it ain't coming on. Tried changing battery etc...real failure

Postby Stephon. » December 28th, 2012, 12:53 pm

This thread still alive? lmfao blackberrys still exist? lmfao what even? never fear bb children, the bb10 is near!

RIM CEO: 'We are very very confident in BlackBerry 10'

Following up on yesterdays earnings report, RIM CEO Thorsten Heins sat down for an interview with CNBC. We're still moving forward to the BlackBerry 10 launch at full force, however RIM is being analyzed on all levels regarding their financials and what's next before the launch. During the interview, Heins first talked a bit about service revenue and reitterated that they're not going anywhere. (Service revenues are the fees to which carriers and companies are charged for BIS/BES use.) While RIM will be offering new services with BlackBerry 10, the current service revenues won't be going away.

"We are transitioning. We are not stopping, we are not halting, we are not disrupting. We are transitionng .. towards the next generation of BlackBerry devices and services". Heins stated that he's very satisifed with the reported results and feels that the transition to BlackBerry 10 is "prepared well and is going to be executed well".

While he notes that the transition is going to take one-and-a-half to two years to execute, Heins also says that sales of BlackBerry 7 devices are still very strong in many regions. A full transition from BlackBerry 7 to BlackBerry 10 could take "several quarters" and BlackBerry 7 devices will still remain a large part of the BlackBerry portfolio as well as the service revenues that come with them.

BES 10 will be rolled out with the first devices in fiscal Q1, and the QWERTY device (N-series) will be rolled out "as quickly as possible" as well. "Expect the time difference between the QWERTY device and full touch to be a few weeks probably". The first BlackBerry 10 devices (the BlackBerry Z10) will be shipped in fiscal Q4 "in volume" into the US and global markets following the January 30th launch event.

On the topic of apps, Heins says that RIM feels good about both the quality and quantity of applications that will populate BlackBerry World for BlackBerry 10.

I actually have some hope for them even though I wish they kind of pushed to have it out in November in time for the Christmas kiddies, but I guess they know what they're doing. Blackberries are still the best when it comes to pushing emails tho I hope they keep that same push with their emails and the security with their new lineups. We all thought that Nokia died a few years ago when Apple and Droid basically took over the market and now the 920 came out and put them back on the map, so we can't count RIM out of the game just yet, there is still hope. Not to mention that RIM has hired the QUEEN (Lady Gaga) to help with the promo of their new lineup!

Re: I does feel like "rockey " the world champion

Postby Rooki3 » December 28th, 2012, 1:33 pm

wud buy the 10, jus bcuz i miss bbm

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 28th, 2012, 3:48 pm

Hi guys,
I put my BB 9900 down to charge after using it all morning, the screen timed out as usual and when I picked it up 15 minutes later, the screen wouldn't come alive, and there was absolutely no activity on the phone. I've had it a little less than a year now, and I've never had any real issues with it until recently when I tried to upgrade to bundle 2108 of version 7.1

My 9900 shows no sign of life, no red led light, no keypad lighting, no screen coming on, nothing. I have tried batteries from 2 other BB 9900 and that did not help. I have had the phone wall charging for two days and still nothing. I have tried plugging it up to my pc without the battery in and the PC does not even recognise a phone is there. DM or BBSAK doesn't recognise any phone there.

I called one repair guy who says it sounds like the circuit board has gone through.
REALLYY!!??!?!?!

Can anyone suggest something for me to try?! Or a sound repair guy, who you trust to open a 9900??

Thanks much,
Sanch.

Postby Chimera » December 28th, 2012, 3:57 pm

have a read.

http://mobilesyrup.com/2011/11/19/rim-c ... customers/

A limited number of customers have reported an issue where their device does not power on”, and they are “actively working on a software update to resolve this issue”. There’s no word on how many users are included in the “limited number of customers”, nor how or when a fix can be expected.

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry ... -a-714269/

http://www.theverge.com/2011/11/18/2572 ... fix-coming

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 28th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Anyone know of a good tourch light app?

Most of the free ones just end up being free for a time being

Postby foss » December 28th, 2012, 5:34 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Anyone know of a good tourch light app?

Most of the free ones just end up being free for a time being

I have --- Flashlight 2 for 1 FREE
Vendor: Motek Americas Inc.

I got it after I downloaded Screen muncher

Free everything...