Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Yodins

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Yodins » July 8th, 2011, 9:45 am

streaminhonda wrote:This is my setup, nuttin too fancy thanks to the fish i got he basically picks things up from where i put them and places them where ever he likes... He's about 11-12 inches in length and about 2 1/2 - 3 inches thick, had two of them from about 1 1/2 inches in length at first but when they got to about 5 - 6 inches in length they started fighting and one jumped out when i wasn't home... I originally wanted to dig a pond for him but my yard aint fence so dat outtta d question, my next option was using a half tank but i really dont know how to setup something like this... Any suggestions???

me, meh bros and dad used to mine fish and sell and we only used half barrels (viking and tufftank). they worked fine and can hold a great amout of water without bursting. i had a HUGE tilapia in one of them, around 20 -22 inches, she lived in it fine.....until the cold froze her. even Fishy Bizniz keeps giant gouramis in the thousand gallon tanks.

We actually have some left in the back in great condition. if you wanna organise something.......

streaminhonda

Postby streaminhonda » July 8th, 2011, 1:15 pm

Yodins if you can post some pics na an we will move on from there... but with regards to filtration and stuff, i was lookin at some videos on youtube on diy filtration systems and it seems to be easy to setup... I noticed though that they were using a pump to circulate the water through the filters and stuff, is that a normal water pump or is there any special equipment i should be looking for???

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » July 8th, 2011, 6:54 pm

sharkman121 wrote:glass looking frosty cuz i had jus wipe it down, it was looking normal wen i take it out but apparently it came out in the pic.

I think it looks good with the black background, trust me the pics do it no justice, it was taken with my berry. I really need to get a good camera for some detailed microshots especially for coral.

I ordered my digital thermometer online.

U need to darken the room as much as you can and don't use flash. Flash really spoils the pics through the glass. Use just ur tank lights.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 8th, 2011, 8:10 pm

I see d petshop in grand bazzar has mono sebae's, ruby scats, snake fish, and he binging in green scats and figure 8 puffers next wk

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2011, 9:23 pm

ARES0610 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:glass looking frosty cuz i had jus wipe it down, it was looking normal wen i take it out but apparently it came out in the pic.

I think it looks good with the black background, trust me the pics do it no justice, it was taken with my berry. I really need to get a good camera for some detailed microshots especially for coral.

I ordered my digital thermometer online.

U need to darken the room as much as you can and don't use flash. Flash really spoils the pics through the glass. Use just ur tank lights.

k ill try again soon... with a real camera this time.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 8th, 2011, 11:37 pm

use news papers and shine the glass....works wonders...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 9th, 2011, 1:47 am

so shark-man, you got any idea what type of fish and inverts you end up wanting to have in your tank? It already looking like yuh going with stony coral

Postby sharkman121 » July 9th, 2011, 2:31 am

ryan99tt wrote:use news papers and shine the glass....works wonders...

i use windex (ammonia free) with newspaper, yeh it works great.

HondaB20B wrote:so shark-man, you got any idea what type of fish and inverts you end up wanting to have in your tank? It already looking like yuh going with stony coral

i almost done stocking fish more or less, jus hadda get my mandarin, sailfin tang, hippo tang and maybe one or two others and ill be good

for the coral, i definitely want some montipora, definitely lots of acropora, i want an anemone, frogspawn, hammer coral and a birdsnest maybe. But i real stickin to buy the chiller though.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 9th, 2011, 8:14 am

trust me, when you have all pumps and refugium lights running, you will get real heat. my temps was ok until i started to run de refugium lights full time as of last night. hoping to get mine up and running today. need de brackets

Postby sharkman121 » July 9th, 2011, 11:03 am

U run the refugium lights full time? i thought they run in reverse to the display tank lights (in the night) to fuel the growth of the chaetomorpha. what light u using for the fuge

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2011, 11:06 am

HondaB20B, u got a chiller? i recently gave mine a service since i had my tank down for a wile...got sum new fishes i caught...a bluehead wrasse, 2 tangs, 5 filefish, a red lip goby, 2 damsels and a few joshuas...will take a vid wen i get home and post it up...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 9th, 2011, 1:25 pm

sharkman121 wrote:U run the refugium lights full time? i thought they run in reverse to the display tank lights (in the night) to fuel the growth of the chaetomorpha. what light u using for the fuge

Using the dusk to dawn floodlight from pricesmart..................the plant i have in the fuge absorbs all the phosphates and other stuff................ its a type of fern (forgot the name). yup, lights running 24hrs.

yeah ryan, got back a 1/2 Sea line chiller. when i was still setting up my tank a few mths back, one of raj clients needed one ASAP, so i gave it to him and he bought one back for me

Postby sharkman121 » July 9th, 2011, 9:27 pm

Chemi-pure elite is a boss!!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 9th, 2011, 9:52 pm

you now know that? using that mths now

Postby sharkman121 » July 9th, 2011, 9:59 pm

HondaB20B wrote:you now know that? using that mths now

Image?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » July 9th, 2011, 10:00 pm

streaminhonda wrote:Yodins if you can post some pics na an we will move on from there... but with regards to filtration and stuff, i was lookin at some videos on youtube on diy filtration systems and it seems to be easy to setup... I noticed though that they were using a pump to circulate the water through the filters and stuff, is that a normal water pump or is there any special equipment i should be looking for???

pics of what?...fishy bizniz tank?, or mines?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 9th, 2011, 11:35 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:you now know that? using that mths now

Image?

how dat looking like d rock in your tank so................ :lol: :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 10th, 2011, 11:26 am

anybody see any digital thermometers in any petshop down here?

Postby sharkman121 » July 10th, 2011, 11:34 am

if yuh did order d ting online yuh woulda get it arredy..

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 10th, 2011, 12:38 pm

yeah ah realize dat...................... going on amazon and get it.
how d reef octopus working................... my ASM G3 skimmer working real good. no regrets

Postby sharkman121 » July 10th, 2011, 1:19 pm

pulling out alot of gunk, my water was rel dirty which i knew before because i didnt have any fitration in the tank for a while before i got it. I just have to get accustomed to the adjustment of the water flow etc.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 10th, 2011, 4:36 pm

so all your rock and stuff in your refuge, pump running and everything filtering?

ey ARES0610, what stuff you feed your coral

Postby sharkman121 » July 10th, 2011, 5:12 pm

yep, but i need to add more live rock and more chaetomorpha to the fuge. I only have the little piece i get from raj... :|

but he say it does multiply rel fast

Postby sharkman121 » July 10th, 2011, 5:15 pm

chaetomorpha

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » July 10th, 2011, 7:30 pm

HondaB20B wrote:so all your rock and stuff in your refuge, pump running and everything filtering?

ey ARES0610, what stuff you feed your coral

Nothing really, occasional shrimp for the LPS and a little phytoplex when I remember. The phyto is really for pods though. I want to try one of the foods like Rod's or reef chilli but they not available here AFAIK.

I saw Boyu digital thermometers in a pet store near to me in Freeport. Not sure of the name though, A's glass shop and pet store, something like that. If you want directions give me a call. $45 for the thermometer.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 10th, 2011, 9:26 pm

cool, now order 2 online.............. will still call you to get directions

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » July 11th, 2011, 6:47 am

Fellas, I'm looking to organize a planted discus tank. What do you use for your substrate and where do you get it?

Postby sharkman121 » July 12th, 2011, 1:58 am

one of my clown fish went missing jusso :|

looked everywhere to see if he jumped out and no sign of him in the sump or behind the rocks. Right now the number one suspect is the snowflake eel but ive had the eel for 10 months (yeh dean & ryan 10 months pass already) and "Earl" has never eaten any of his tankmates, so idk.

Missing since 3pm monday, hoping when i put on the lights tom i miraculously see him

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 12th, 2011, 6:18 am

which fish went missing?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 12th, 2011, 7:26 am

Call in Magnum P.I.