Swisha wrote:Internet Explorer Still on Top, But Chrome Is Winning the Browser War
Microsoft’s Internet Explorer is still the world’s most popular browser, but it and Mozilla’s Firefox lost a lot of market share to Google’s Chrome in 2011, which is now firmly in second place.
According to StatCounter’s 2011 data, Internet Explorer currently has a 39% market share, Chrome is at 27%, while Firefox holds 25% of the market.
Safari and Opera follow with 6% and 2% market share, respectively.
These numbers alone don’t tell the whole story, however. Internet Explorer started 2011 with a 46% share of the market, and Firefox was over 30%. Both browsers steadily lost their share throughout the year, and almost all of it went to Chrome, which is clearly the year’s biggest gainer.
Net Applications’ numbers for 2011 are very different, with Internet Explorer having a much bigger lead (52%), but the trends are similar: Chrome was the only clear winner in 2011, having jumped from 10% to 19% market share.
Interestingly, Net Applications sees Firefox’ current market share almost exactly where it started 2011: at 22%.
Regardless of whose number you believe, it seems that Chrome is on a roll, and its steep upward trajectory shows that other browser makers should take notice. Otherwise, we may have a new king of the browser market in a year or two.
Mashable
Strauss wrote:vrampersad14 wrote:Sale on X10 Mini Pros @ Amazon guys, if anyone's interested.
Thinking about it... a step backward in ways but I kinda love the X10.
But I don't want the pro. Don't do "keyboards" anymore. I'm too spoiled by touch screens.
vrampersad14 wrote:Strauss wrote:vrampersad14 wrote:Sale on X10 Mini Pros @ Amazon guys, if anyone's interested.
Thinking about it... a step backward in ways but I kinda love the X10.
But I don't want the pro. Don't do "keyboards" anymore. I'm too spoiled by touch screens.
There's a descent price drop on the Xperia Play as well, not bad if you're in need of a PSP and a phone right now.
stev wrote:@Strauss, im sure a lot of internet explorer users dont know better. some probably just accustomed and never tried chrome or firefox. also, there are thousands of businesses around the world that use only internet explorer because it works best when using microsoft online services like sharepoint etc.
i use chrome but i never liked how it operates on youtube or with any web pages that have interactive flash content. maybe its just me or my PC.
sharkman121 wrote:Has anyone successfully rooted their sgs2?
cant seem to find the insecure kernel file for my I9100
sharkman121 wrote:Not sure if i wanna do it yet, are there really that many benefits?
Swisha wrote:scroll down to post #6. it shouldnt matter that the CSC is different.
once u finish root, the stock UHKI2 kernel is in the other thread
sharkman121 wrote:my model is UHKI2, not seeing that one there
bess almera wrote:sharkman doh play no hero and go bricking the s2 soldier...
Lenovo's 55-inch IdeaTV K91 is the world's first Android Ice Cream Sandwich TV
Back in late November last year, Lenovo's Chinese folks teased a certain IdeaTV or LeTV for launch this year, and now we finally get to see it in its full glory. Dubbed the K91, we're looking at a 55-inch IPS 3D HDTV running Android Ice Cream Sandwich (a first for smart TVs, yet not quite a Google TV), and inside it sits a 1.5GHz dual-core Snapdragon APQ8060. Dig a little deeper and you'll also find 1GB of RAM, 8GB storage, SD card expansion, 802.11b/g/n WiFi, 10M/100M Ethernet, HDMI and USB 2.0 connectivity (which is much needed for an external hard drive to store video content). As you can see in the pictures, the K91 will come with some Lenovo cloud services, including an app store (but the TV will have over 100 apps preloaded, anyway) and video-on-demand, along with voice control and facial recognition (mainly for child lock, we presume) using its five-megapixel webcam. As always, we'll get back to you as soon as we get information on dates and prices.
Engadget
Sony set to launch gorgeous Xperia S at CES?
Hot on the heels of the Xperia Ion launch chez AT&T this morning, it would seem Sony may have yet another trick up its sleeve in the form of the Xperia S. While nothing is official until Sony tells us so, the newest -- and if looks alone count -- and nicest Xperia packs a 1280 x 720 4.3-inch display, MSM8260 dual-core thrumming away at 1.5Gz, and a 12 megapixel shooter that'll capture at 1080p. Sadly the word is that it'll launch in the second quarter running Android 2.3 and not our beloved Ice Cream Sandwich. Design-wise, the Xperia S looks like others in its family with the gentle curve in the back but what immediately caught our eye is the small translucent lit -- notification with this would look brilliant -- bar toward the bottom. Here's hoping this is the real deal, and if so we'll be back in a few hours with a load of vids and pics of it in action.
Engadget
Sony announces Xperia S with a 12MP camera and HD screen![]()
The Sony Xperia S features a 4.3" display of HD resolution (720x1280 pixels). The heavy-lifting is done by a MSM8260 chipset with a 1.5GHz dual-core processor and 1GB of RAM. The Xperia S offers 16GB or 32GB of internal storage but there's no expansion option.
At the back of the Xperia S resides a 12-megapixel camera with Sony's Exmor R backlit sensor, while at the front there's a 1.3MP camera for video calling purposes.
Sadly, the Xperia S will come with Android 2.3 Gingerbread out of the box, but don't fret as it will get an Ice Cream Sandwich update in the second half of 2012.
The Sony Xperia S will be available in two colors - silver and black and should hit stores at the end of the first quarter of 2012.
GSM Arena
NVIDIA and ASUS confirm 7-inch Tegra 3 tablet with ICS and $249 price tag
You know things are about to get crazy when NVIDIA CEO Jen-Hsun Huang and ASUS Chairman Jerry Shen are onstage at the same time. Here at NVIDIA's CES press conference, the two men just flashed a 7-inch Tegra 3 tablet with Ice Cream Sandwich. And guess what? It's going to cost $249 price! Got that? The same price as the much-slower, lesser-specced Nook Tablet. Given that the point of this brief tease was to prove how inexpensive tablets with current-gen innards can be, the men didn't dally with details like availability or even a product name. If these price wars continue, though, we'd almost rather ASUS take its time before sending this to market -- who knows what else we're going to see in the $250 range over the coming months?
Update: It seems to be the MeMO 370T we saw earlier today, which means this slab is sporting an 8 megapixel camera, to boot.
Engadget