The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Election Results

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2010, 12:32 am

megadoc1 wrote:I believe all scripture should be taken literally unless where it is figurative

LOL :lol: :lol: :lol:

that was funny!
I think you have just outdone bluefete!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2010, 12:37 am

lemme ask you something then

is there some kinda code to tell you what should be figurative?
like I dunno [figurative]forty days and forty nights[/figurative]???

Postby Chimera » June 17th, 2010, 12:54 am

Sorry about the random graphic images I just posting these days, but I more or less give up, you can't try to make sense with the senseless.

Everything is "Jesus said so in the bible, the bible is fact, Jesus said the bible is fact, the bible says Jesus was real...bla bla bla bla"

Toyo names Buddha/Kali as evil spirits, yet from what you Jesus followers are saying, Jesus is the tyrant to be feared, as if you don't do things his way, you going to hell.
(I thought he was all about forgiveness? my mistake)

As well as so much other contradictions

“If I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid (John 8:14)
“If I testify about myself, my testimony is not valid. (John 5:31)

"For I am merciful, saith the Lord, and I will not keep anger forever." (Jeremiah 3:12)
"Ye have kindled a fire in mine anger, which shall burn forever." (Jeremiah 17:4)

"And Jesus coming, spoke to them, saying: All power is given to me in heaven and in earth." (Matthew 28:18)
"the whole world is under control of the evil one." (1 John 5:19)

And Jesus said, "For judgement I am come into this world." (John 9:39)
"I came not to judge the world" (John 12:47)

"Jacob said, 'I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved.'" (Genesis 32:30)
"No man hath seen God at any time." (John 1:18)

Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. (John 13:34)
My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. (John 15:12)
"If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters—yes, even his own life—he cannot be my disciple. (Luke 14:26)

In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:16)
TAKE CARE not to do your good deeds publicly or before men, in order to be seen by them; otherwise you will have no reward reserved for and awaiting you] with and from your Father Who is in heaven. (Matthew 6:1, Amplified Bible)

We should fear God (Matthew 10:28)
We should love God (Matthew 22:37)
There is no fear in love (1 John 4:18)

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 17th, 2010, 1:02 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think your poor and illogical arguements are working against the very point you are trying to prove

how does that have anything to do with faith?
do you understand what the term blind-faith means?

duane forget the blind faith
lets clear up what you posted
Honestly, after reading some of the claims of exorcism and exegesis here of the devout Christians in this thread, I think they do more damage to Christianity than the most committed atheist. MG Man eh want nuttin.

first there is nothing humans (no matter how they try) can do to cause damage to the body of christ.
some call it "christianity" ....take me for example do you think i want to be associated with a group that is known for raping little boys ? ....... never but i saw something greater that draws me to this group.
and that is the love of God.
now,
i can lay hands on sick people and heal them and
i can cast out demons in the name of jesus (not that exorcist crap eh)
all this by the will of God over my life
now when i do these things for people ,all they can see is the love of God
and every thing that claims to "damage" his image is quickly forgotten
because the love of God, overcomes.

naturally , the world hates followers of christ but if one member is caught in a compromise position,
you only give them(the world) a reason to hate.
Last edited by megadoc1 on June 17th, 2010, 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 17th, 2010, 1:04 am

megadoc1 wrote:I believe all scripture should be taken literally unless where it is figurative

that was funny!

I serious jed

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 17th, 2010, 1:09 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:lemme ask you something then

is there some kinda code to tell you what should be figurative?
like I dunno [figurative]forty days and forty nights[/figurative]???

lol no oh gosh lol
let me work on an example for you give some time ...lol

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 17th, 2010, 1:39 am

megadoc1 wrote:now,
i can cast out demons in the name of Jesus (not that exorcist crap eh)
all this by the will of God over my life.

PROVE IT !!!

Guy i really pity the way you thrash about your 'faith' like ur the best sh1t since kiss sliced lemon loaf yunno, but yuh reach an all time low with that one... Do you hear yourself? this is beyond the realm of sanity yes..

earlier yuh say yuh without sin

then yuh does do lil pj and ting casting out demons

then yuh come back and say yuh does walk in de supernatural

now yuh sayin yuh does heal ppl too?

WTF??!?! yuh issa holy-ghost quickshoppe or sum?
Yuh makin a mockery of this whole thing ALL BY YOUR SAD LITTLE SELF.

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 1:43 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:easy with the name calling there d spike

Sorry, lad. It is admittedly a childish reaction that I resorted to in response to being called a liar repeatedly by one person who never explained his accusation, and proceeded to rebuke and condemn me publicly on this same forum. Respect is hard to give where it isn't earned - for this same reason, I will comply with your wish.

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 2:55 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote: I more or less give up, you can't try to make sense with the senseless.
I don't blame you... I don't even know why I am back here with my manure-shovel... despite the advice of my peers and my betters...

Everything is "Jesus said so in the bible, the bible is fact, Jesus said the bible is fact, the bible says Jesus was real...bla bla bla bla"
If you listen to ducks, all you will hear is quacking. If you listen only to fundamentalist 'christians', all you will hear is fundamentalist beliefs. It is unfortunate, but it seems that this sort of belief has taken root in our society. Even orthodox christians tend to pick up bits and pieces of fundamentalism these days, mainly due to their not being knowledgeable about their faith. Fundamentalism, by its very nature, is loud and strident, and draws a lot of attention to itself, while shouting down the other voices around.

Toyo names Buddha/Kali as evil spirits, yet from what you Jesus followers are saying, Jesus is the tyrant to be feared, as if you don't do things his way, you going to hell.
Fundamentalists treat religion as a football match - either you are kicking the same ball with them going down the field, or you are on the opposing side. (This is one major reason why Megadoc is uncomfortable with my writing. He can't understand how I could appreciate the same teachings and scripture he does, but I refuse to condemn, blast and rebuke the evil he perceives in every corner, and I 'blaspheme' by appreciating the fact that we each have to find our own way back to God, by whatever path we find ourselves on.)
In order to accept that their way is right, it means that all else must be wrong. This myopic way of viewing man's journey to, yet with, his Creator, means that any concept that is new to the group is wrong - despite that concept being around much longer than the group (which mainly tends to exist due to the group's founder's disagreement with a pre-existing group).
Like many christians, you too have a misunderstanding of the use of the word "fear" as used in scripture. I know whatever I say here at this point, will be pounced on by the hordes, and I will be accused of misinterpretation and lying - because of the same points mentioned earlier. Say what, Duane is watching. :lol: To make it short, let me say that the use of "fear" is akin to "awe". Hope that is good enough to help your understanding, but too short to attract the hyenas.

The bible is full of contradictions, mainly because it is full of many different books and view-points. Also, thanks to differing translations, passages that are actually in agreement with each other, or are not connected in any way, seem to be in conflict. I will deal with a few pet ones of mine that you identified:

"And Jesus coming, spoke to them, saying: All power is given to me in heaven and in earth." (Matthew 28:18)
"the whole world is under control of the evil one." (1 John 5:19)
The problem here is the meaning of the "world". I dealt with that shortly before, so let me just say that it is an old Christian concept that is the same as 'materialism', not the place we inhabit, or the people therein.

And Jesus said, "For judgement I am come into this world." (John 9:39)
"I came not to judge the world" (John 12:47)
Another interesting usage. The first quote refers to God's plan (by pointing out its finale, perhaps? :lol: ), while the second means he didn't come to condemn, but to save mankind.

"Jacob said, 'I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved.'" (Genesis 32:30)
"No man hath seen God at any time." (John 1:18)
These two quotes span hundreds of years, as well as two religions - both of which were only now being formulated, especially the first. According to the first quote, Jacob had just wrestled with an angel. In this early belief stage of the religion that was to become Judaism, anything that could either be linked to the supernatural, or rather, could not be explained, was God - or His doing. (Kinda like the belief system touted in this thread regarding earthquakes, election victories, doncha think?) This was a time of sacred tamarind trees and holy mountains. So Jacob referred to this being he encountered as God. John, however was referring to the God we refer to, yunno, the Boss.

Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. (John 13:34)
My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. (John 15:12)
"If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters—yes, even his own life—he cannot be my disciple. (Luke 14:26)
"Hate" in this usage is greatly misunderstood. "Everything is relative", we say, and Jesus was just trying to show a comparison between how one should feel regarding accepted family relationships, and the zeal to follow the way of love for all.

In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:16)
TAKE CARE not to do your good deeds publicly or before men, in order to be seen by them; otherwise you will have no reward reserved for and awaiting you] with and from your Father Who is in heaven. (Matthew 6:1, Amplified Bible)
The first quote has to do with witnessing - something fundamentalists do not understand, for it means demonstrating one's faith - not cramming it down the throats of others, Mother Packer style. The other quote is aimed at those whose religion is for others to see, the ones who like to make a great show of it all.

We should fear God (Matthew 10:28)
We should love God (Matthew 22:37)
There is no fear in love (1 John 4:18)
I think I explained the "fear" bit well enough to cover this one :lol: no fear, huh?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 17th, 2010, 9:51 am

illumin@ti wrote:

PROVE IT !!!

Guy i really pity the way you thrash about your 'faith' like ur the best sh1t since kiss sliced lemon loaf yunno, but yuh reach an all time low with that one... Do you hear yourself? this is beyond the realm of sanity yes..

well lets make yourself available to prove it wrong thats all,
understand this, while we are here beating up on jesus ,he is doing his work with or without us
all i can tell you is come and see, i am begging you for your own sake come and see.

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 10:56 am

megadoc1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think your poor and illogical arguements are working against the very point you are trying to prove

Why? Why not answer his query? Is it that you don't know the answer... or more likely, both are the same to you?

Honestly, after reading some of the claims of exorcism and exegesis here of the devout Christians in this thread, I think they do more damage to Christianity than the most committed atheist. MG Man eh want nuttin.

first there is nothing humans (no matter how they try) can do to cause damage to the body of christ.
"Christianity" is NOT the "body of Christ". Christianity is the name given to a type of religion. The body of Christ refers to one of three things:
1. The actual physical body of Jesus;
2. Communion (This reference is only accepted by its practitioners);
3. The complete group of believers, sometimes referred to as the "mystical" body of Christ.
Duane is obviously referring to the concept of a particular religion as viewed by non-members of said religion. A 'proclaimed' member spouting nonsense about his faith will certainly sully the perception of such a faith far more than negative criticism from an outsider.

As far as humans trying to "cause damage to the body of Christ", that is downright silly. You are obviously referring to the third concept of the body of Christ. (To even contemplate that you meant one of the other two, is to cross into the realm of the ridiculous.) How can humans attempt to damage what they themselves are?

do you think i want to be associated with a group that is known for raping little boys ?
No christian religious group is known for raping little boys. Certainly there are many high-profile cases concerning members of a particular faith, but that doesn't make this reprehensible behaviour part of their make-up... Would you consider suicide a 'pentecostal' thing after Jim Jones' Kool-Aid fest in Guyana? Pleeease...

naturally , the world hates followers of christ but if one member is caught in a compromise position,
You need to communicate with greater clarity. If the "world" is evil, then catching a 'follower of Christ' in a compromising position would give the "world" a reason for rejoicing, not hate. You are confusing the old Christian concept of the materialistic society's ideals (the "world") with the vast body of people who are not christians (your fellow-man).

megadoc1 wrote: lets clear up what you posted

I would strongly advise you (once again) to find your way to a place where you can study your faith under proper guidance of a teacher who follows whatever faith you do - before you attempt to "clear" up misconceptions and errors, many of which you seemingly accept willingly and blindly. Remove the beam before you tackle the public's mote.
Last edited by d spike on June 17th, 2010, 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 17th, 2010, 11:01 am

megadoc1 wrote:
illumin@ti wrote:

PROVE IT !!!

understand this, while we are here beating up on jesus ,he is doing his work with or without us
all i can tell you is come and see, i am begging you for your own sake come and see.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Soldier, no eh ,,lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2010, 11:21 am

word for today : MYOPIC

Postby MG Man » June 17th, 2010, 11:25 am

megadoc1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and do YOU know which scripture we should take literally?

I believe all scripture should be taken literally unless where it is figurative

well he convinced me! I'm now reborn as a bigger cynic than before

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 17th, 2010, 11:33 am

does anyone else here think that this man has a god complex?? :lol:

Matter of fact Magadoc... just tell meh which tent yuh under bussin spirit lash on ppl

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 12:12 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and do YOU know which scripture we should take literally?

I believe all scripture should be taken literally unless where it is figurative

well he convinced me! I'm now reborn as a bigger cynic than before

That is just pseudo-intellectual babble. That's like saying "all truths should be considered as true, except where proved false", or "this bar is closed due to the fact that it is no longer open".

What would be interesting would be an explanation on his part as to how he differentiates the two (literal/figurative writing) and on which authority does he do so... as their only accepted source of information is the self-same scripture. Will he state that the scriptures reveal themselves to him? Whatever answer he gives, it will either be someone else told him, or he was divinely inspired to do so. This could get very interesting...

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 12:24 pm

megadoc1 wrote:understand this, while we are here beating up on jesus

Really now... where is this being done in this thread?
Who is the "we"? You are beating up on jesus? My boy, what you do in the privacy of your home is your business, but that's too much info, I think... :lol:

Nati is just pointing out the erratic nature of your burblings, not its focus (Christ, I sincerely would hope.) The problem isn't Him, it's you. However you solve whatever it is that afflicts you is your choice. The methods you use, as long as they work for you, that's great. Don't assume that ego-swelling, self-inflicted idea that, having dealt with your problem, you are now qualified to deal with others. That's like having had your appendix removed qualifies you to go out and operate on other folks.

Postby Sky » June 17th, 2010, 12:45 pm

megadoc1 wrote:

that was funny!

I serious jed

:shock: ..........................BAAAAAAAAAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAHAHAHAHA!!!!
OMG AAHAHAHAHAHAA!!
YOU SIR, ARE A CERTIFIED MORON! I am sure of it. I'm not name calling. I'm saying this man has to be a legal moron. . His IQ is between 50 and 70. I'm suprised he can type.
If anyone can't believe that's a miracle something wrong with them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 17th, 2010, 12:49 pm

megadoc1 wrote:understand this, while we are here beating up on jesus

no one here is beating up on Jesus
its YOUR comments they are beating up on.

Postby Sky » June 17th, 2010, 1:03 pm

I should print some of these pages and mail it to the vattican. They would have him assasinated.
1. Openly judging others when IT IS NOT HIS PLACE!!
2. Spreading mass misinformation about christianity and Jesus.
3. Bringing shame to christians worldwide.
4. Ignoring those that aren't saved, and not offering wise words, instead bickering.
5. LYING about his accomplishments to make Jesus seem more believable.
6. Browsing NWS threads (this is a serious one, the devil might have a special seat for him for this one)

megadoc, I don't know who YOU are worshipping, but it's not Jesus.

Postby buzz » June 17th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Jesus will make this thread reach 100 pages

Wait and see the miracle

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 1:30 pm

Sky wrote:1. Openly judging others when IT IS NOT HIS PLACE!!
2. Spreading mass misinformation about christianity and Jesus.
3. Bringing shame to christians worldwide.
4. Ignoring those that aren't saved, and not offering wise words, instead bickering.
5. LYING about his accomplishments to make Jesus seem more believable.
6. Browsing NWS threads (this is a serious one, the devil might have a special seat for him for this one)

megadoc, I don't know who YOU are worshipping, but it's not Jesus.

By their fruits you will know them.
Last edited by d spike on June 17th, 2010, 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » June 17th, 2010, 1:34 pm

buzz wrote:Jesus will make this thread reach 100 pages

Wait and see the miracle

Postby buzz » June 17th, 2010, 1:35 pm

Postby wagonrunner » June 17th, 2010, 4:17 pm

d spike wrote:By their fruits you will know them.

more of the same ilk.
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=318913

Postby Rainman » June 17th, 2010, 4:37 pm

Soundwave wrote:bears > humans...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 17th, 2010, 5:49 pm

illumin@ti wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
illumin@ti wrote:

PROVE IT !!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Soldier, no eh ,,lol

why not ? take one for the boys, what do you have to loose?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 17th, 2010, 5:57 pm

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

Why? Why not answer his query? Is it that you don't know the answer... or more likely, both are the same to you?

"Christianity" is NOT the "body of Christ". Christianity is the name given to a type of religion. The body of Christ refers to one of three things:
1. The actual physical body of Jesus;
2. Communion (This reference is only accepted by its practitioners);
3. The complete group of believers, sometimes referred to as the "mystical" body of Christ.
Duane is obviously referring to the concept of a particular religion as viewed by non-members of said religion. A 'proclaimed' member spouting nonsense about his faith will certainly sully the perception of such a faith far more than negative criticism from an outsider.

As far as humans trying to "cause damage to the body of Christ", that is downright silly. You are obviously referring to the third concept of the body of Christ. (To even contemplate that you meant one of the other two, is to cross into the realm of the ridiculous.) How can humans attempt to damage what they themselves are?

do you think i want to be associated with a group that is known for raping little boys ?
No christian religious group is known for raping little boys. Certainly there are many high-profile cases concerning members of a particular faith, but that doesn't make this reprehensible behaviour part of their make-up... Would you consider suicide a 'pentecostal' thing after Jim Jones' Kool-Aid fest in Guyana? Pleeease...

You need to communicate with greater clarity. If the "world" is evil, then catching a 'follower of Christ' in a compromising position would give the "world" a reason for rejoicing, not hate. You are confusing the old Christian concept of the materialistic society's ideals (the "world") with the vast body of people who are not christians (your fellow-man).

megadoc1 wrote: lets clear up what you posted

I would strongly advise you (once again) to find your way to a place where you can study your faith under proper guidance of a teacher who follows whatever faith you do - before you attempt to "clear" up misconceptions and errors, many of which you seemingly accept willingly and blindly. Remove the beam before you tackle the public's mote.

D spike keep your advice,I do not want it , it is very much corrupted.
i working with the advice from jesus, thank you

Postby Rainman » June 17th, 2010, 6:06 pm

Megadoc, I saw you in church on Sunday, I Haz videotapez