COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 60984 (+509) cases, 1818 (+12) deaths, 6299 active, 52867 recovered in T&T

Postby Les Bain » November 15th, 2021, 12:07 pm

The Express reported on Austria's lockdown for non vaccinated people and their comment section rife with people bawling "de Tird Rike come full circle" and one even asking the Express why they reporting Austria news cause this is Trinidad.

Better they arrest everybody that was responsible for every incarnation of the dollar for dollar scheme cause it clear that money was wasted on a bunch of mouth breathing c*nts.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 60984 (+509) cases, 1818 (+12) deaths, 6299 active, 52867 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » November 15th, 2021, 12:14 pm

katiedido wrote:Why are ppl being deliberately obtuse about this? If the vaccine isn’t preventing transmission then how is anyone getting to herd immunity with a highly transmissible virus? A vaccine doesn’t need to be sterilizing to reach herd immunity but it definitely needs to be higher than Pfizer’s 20-40%, J&J’s 13%, AZ 40%. Read Fauci’s interview from last week… they are seeing drop offs in efficacy for hospitalization as well. Ppl are really being delusional and fooling themselves thinking we can vaccinate our way out of this with the current vaccines available.

Sigh, this why we need boosters, new updated, vaccines and for everyone to get vaccinated. But simply dismissing the existing vaccines is monumentally stupid and playing russian roulette with your health.

Those that get infected after being vaccinated don't get the virus bad. Secondly they develop a hybrid (studies will soon tell us how good this immunity is) immunity which builds our overall herd immunity.

Postby adnj » November 15th, 2021, 12:17 pm

katiedido wrote:Why are ppl being deliberately obtuse about this? If the vaccine isn’t preventing transmission then how is anyone getting to herd immunity with a highly transmissible virus? A vaccine doesn’t need to be sterilizing to reach herd immunity but it definitely needs to be higher than Pfizer’s 20-40%, J&J’s 13%, AZ 40%. Read Fauci’s interview from last week… they are seeing drop offs in efficacy for hospitalization as well. Ppl are really being delusional and fooling themselves thinking we can vaccinate our way out of this with the current vaccines available.
What We Know So Far About Waning Vaccine Effectiveness

Public health experts say this decline does not mean that the vaccines are not working.

In fact, many studies show that the vaccines remain more than 50 percent effective at preventing infection, the level that all Covid vaccines had to meet or exceed to be authorized by the Food and Drug Administration back in 2020. But the significance of these declines in effectiveness — and whether they suggest all adults should be eligible for a booster shot — is still up for debate.

A study in England examined the vaccines’ effectiveness against the Delta variant over time. It found that the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is about 90 percent effective at preventing symptomatic infection two weeks after the second dose but drops to 70 percent effective after five months.

The same study found that the Moderna vaccine’s protection also drops over time.

A study in the U.S. and another in Canada looked at the vaccines’ effectiveness at preventing any infection from Delta, symptomatic or not. Although they found different levels of decline, both studies found that the vaccines’ protection dropped over time.

But both the English and Canadian studies found that even after several months, the Pfizer-BioNTech and Moderna vaccines remain highly effective at preventing hospitalization.

Each of the three studies showed a different rate of decline in vaccine effectiveness, which can vary in studies depending on factors including location, the study’s methods and any behavior differences between those who have been vaccinated and the unvaccinated. While one of the above studies has been published, the other two have not yet been peer reviewed. Still, experts say that the research generally shows consistent trends.

“The main objective of the Covid vaccine is to prevent severe disease and death, and they are still doing a good job at that,” said Melissa Higdon, a faculty member at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, who leads a project to compile research on Covid vaccine performance.

But the decline in protection against infection will have an impact, she added.

“With true declines in vaccine effectiveness, we’ll likely see more cases overall,” said Ms. Higdon.

Data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention show similar trends for the mRNA vaccines, and they also suggest that the single-dose Johnson & Johnson vaccine is less effective against severe outcomes and infection than Pfizer or Moderna.

These results have helped to shape current booster recommendations in the U.S.: Among Pfizer and Moderna recipients, those 65 and older are eligible six months after their second shots, as are adults at high risk. Any adult immunized with Johnson & Johnson may also elect to get a booster after two months.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/202 ... unity.html

Postby adnj » November 15th, 2021, 12:18 pm

Postby Chimera » November 15th, 2021, 12:20 pm

im 100% good since yesterday or so

the amount of mucus and the thickness of it for the last few days was amazing though

i think thats what they say f#%ks up peoples lungs and breathing ability?

in any event on wednesday or thursday ill go pay for a private PCR before and get the results before i decide to integrate with the world

feeling for a bake and shark long time now

not going hospital for a PCR because they hitting you a mandatory 14 day quarantine while they wait for results

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 60984 (+509) cases, 1818 (+12) deaths, 6299 active, 52867 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » November 15th, 2021, 12:29 pm

matr1x wrote:I have a question. When we had beaten it last year, where did the 2nd wave come from? Borders were closed, and you couldn't come in without quarantine. Where was the persistent source of the 2nd wave?

LMAO @ “we had beaten it last year”

In what country are you living in?

Beat what??

Trinis were irresponsible before the pandemic, during the pandemic and they continue to do so till this day.

“We” didnt “beat” anything padna, don’t try to make Trinis look good here.

If your WOFT countrymen did “beat” it, then we would have opened fully due to their oh so outstanding performance….but they didnt did they?

Try again.

katiedido

Postby katiedido » November 15th, 2021, 12:36 pm

I’m no anti vaxer. I am fully vaccinated. But I recognize that what we want and what actually is are 2 different things. Pro vaxers want everyone to get the shot and their boosters on time to maintain durable immunity . Well duh of course that’s how we get out of this( both things must happen). I’m just saying realistically that’s not going to happen. You struggling to get ppl to take a first dose you really think that same cohort gonna take boosters twice a year? What’s the plan for getting to the 90% vaccinated needed for normalcy? Pleading, begging? Why are we yammering on about vaccines only like it’s the only thing possible that can be done right now? Everyone just needs to be realistic and think about plan B since you cannot control human behaviour.

Postby j.o.e » November 15th, 2021, 12:40 pm

katiedido wrote:I’m no anti vaxer. I am fully vaccinated. But I recognize that what we want and what actually is are 2 different things. Pro vaxers want everyone to get the shot and their boosters on time to maintain durable immunity . Well duh of course that’s how we get out of this( both things must happen). I’m just saying realistically that’s not going to happen. You struggling to get ppl to take a first dose you really think that same cohort gonna take boosters twice a year? What’s the plan for getting to the 90% vaccinated needed for normalcy? Pleading, begging? Why are we yammering on about vaccines only like it’s the only thing possible that can be done right now? Everyone just needs to be realistic and think about plan B since you cannot control human behaviour.

Plan B is what we doing now. Opening up and who hadda dead go dead

Postby redmanjp » November 15th, 2021, 12:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:im 100% good since yesterday or so

the amount of mucus and the thickness of it for the last few days was amazing though

in any event on wednesday or thursday ill go pay for a private PCR before and get the results before i decide to integrate with the world

not going hospital for a PCR because they hitting you a mandatory 14 day quarantine while they wait for results

Aren't you already under quarantine or they don't issue that for private pcr positive results?

Also are you checking your oxygen levels with an oximeter? You can still have lower levels despite not being short breath even if you feel OK.
Last edited by redmanjp on November 15th, 2021, 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2021, 12:48 pm

what "they" want is for this covid to go away on its own and for other people be the ones to be responsible for getting it done.
Of course when a friend or relative succumbs they suddenly change their tune......

katiedido wrote:I’m no anti vaxer. I am fully vaccinated. But I recognize that what we want and what actually is are 2 different things. Pro vaxers want everyone to get the shot and their boosters on time to maintain durable immunity . Well duh of course that’s how we get out of this( both things must happen). I’m just saying realistically that’s not going to happen. You struggling to get ppl to take a first dose you really think that same cohort gonna take boosters twice a year? What’s the plan for getting to the 90% vaccinated needed for normalcy? Pleading, begging? Why are we yammering on about vaccines only like it’s the only thing possible that can be done right now? Everyone just needs to be realistic and think about plan B since you cannot control human behaviour.

Postby st7 » November 15th, 2021, 12:52 pm

excellent man. hopefully you came out unscathed

Postby st7 » November 15th, 2021, 12:54 pm

pugboy wrote:what "they" want is for this covid to go away on its own and for other people be the ones to be responsible for getting it done.
Of course when a friend or relative succumbs they suddenly change their tune......

they want things to change for the better, but they dont want to change

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2021, 1:00 pm

so still no phone call from the authorities ?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 15th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Just come from High Street. The amount of people wearing masks under their chins..smh
RIP Trinidad.

Postby redmanjp » November 15th, 2021, 1:07 pm

wtf wrote:Just come from High Street. The amount of people wearing masks under their chins..smh
RIP Trinidad.

Not too worried about outdoors although with Delta there could be some small spread but the real concern is if it's that way indoors with no enforcement.

Postby Kenjo » November 15th, 2021, 1:13 pm

Why are you going back so fast ? No medical input to advise you on when you should repeat it ? You still a bit symptomatic

Postby Chimera » November 15th, 2021, 1:13 pm

pugboy wrote:so still no phone call from the authorities ?

apparently they only call if its a positive PCR test in a public health

private test they not reporting/calling

Postby Kenjo » November 15th, 2021, 1:16 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:so still no phone call from the authorities ?

apparently they only call if its a positive PCR test in a public health

private test they not reporting/calling

I think they are overwhelmed with that followup actually but the private places are suppose to forward the Information

Postby Chimera » November 15th, 2021, 1:20 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Why are you going back so fast ? No medical input to advise you on when you should repeat it ? You still a bit symptomatic

i checking 14 days after testing positive

Postby redmanjp » November 15th, 2021, 1:23 pm

If private not calling how travelers out of the country who have flights making out? My mom who flew out in September got her private test results same day she did the test though.

Postby redmanjp » November 15th, 2021, 1:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

i checking 14 days after testing positive

But u should also be symptom free as well. but keep both the negative and positive results as proof of recovery as who knows in the future you may be exempted from a booster shot to enter safe zones or to travel.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 15th, 2021, 1:46 pm

Was awaiting my PCR test results before doing my cool story here.

My wife got sick last week Monday and she did a covid test at St Joseph Health Centre on the Wednesday. I didn't know that its an automatic quarantine for the household but I mean it helped me as I get to work from home for about 3 weeks.

We paid privately on Thursday for a test for which we got the results Thursday night. She was covid positive.
The CMOH's office called her on Friday and indicated that based on the private test they are contacting her. They added a 5 days onto the original 14 day quarantine order (CMOH sent two quarantine orders on letter heads, the original health centre issued quarantine was a generic page, signed and stamped).

My wife has been isolating by her parents who have 2 Airbnb apts since the Wednesday so she's not home here main reason being our son is 5 and not vaxxed so we trying to shield him from any potential exposure.

My work asked that I do a PCR test as well which I did yesterday and got my results now. I'm negative (I never had any symptoms)

My wife's symptoms were mild fever on the 1st two days, headaches and body pains for a few days and runny nose and mild coughing since. She has a persistent feeling of tiredness.
In my household my mother is vaxxed with AZ having both her shots by May.
I'm AZ fully vaxxed since Aug and my wife is Sinopharm fully vaxxed since Aug.

Covid CS/

Postby hover11 » November 15th, 2021, 1:54 pm

st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Vaxxed or unvaxxed when it's your time it's your time, he took the vaccine to protect himself and his family yet he still died with no comorbidities to boot

well if you think daz the case, close yuh eye and cross the road. if u suppose to dead in 2030, then u go be fine.

*shrug
I say when is your time is your time , you talking about walking in the road with your eyes closed, you issa kinda dunce yes. Breaking it down as simple as possible even a retard like you could understand, when it is your time bro, NOTHING could stop that vax , unvax nada nothing zip....cromprende ?

so the 5million people who die from corona in the last 2 years, it was their time?

hover, why yuh quiet?

narrator: and it was then hover realised he was the dunce and retard, so he ignored Phone Surgeon's question to cry more about no lockdowns and removing SoE because he was not allowed in the places everyone were in.
Phone Surgeon to answer your question sorry for the reply was conducting business , the same said question could be asked for one third of Europe that died from the black plague, when it's your time it's your time like I said similar circumstances to today's climate but deadlier

Postby adnj » November 15th, 2021, 2:13 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Vaxxed or unvaxxed when it's your time it's your time, he took the vaccine to protect himself and his family yet he still died with no comorbidities to boot

well if you think daz the case, close yuh eye and cross the road. if u suppose to dead in 2030, then u go be fine.

*shrug
I say when is your time is your time , you talking about walking in the road with your eyes closed, you issa kinda dunce yes. Breaking it down as simple as possible even a retard like you could understand, when it is your time bro, NOTHING could stop that vax , unvax nada nothing zip....cromprende ?

so the 5million people who die from corona in the last 2 years, it was their time?

hover, why yuh quiet?

narrator: and it was then hover realised he was the dunce and retard, so he ignored Phone Surgeon's question to cry more about no lockdowns and removing SoE because he was not allowed in the places everyone were in.
Phone Surgeon to answer your question sorry for the reply was conducting business , the same said question could be asked for one third of Europe that died from the black plague, when it's your time it's your time like I said similar circumstances to today's climate but deadlier

Black plague 1350.
First vaccine 1796.

Try harder.

Postby hover11 » November 15th, 2021, 2:14 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

*shrug

hover, why yuh quiet?

Black plague 1350.
First vaccine 1796.

Try harder.
Try harder? No need because vaccination does not prevent death but just reduces your chances but ok

Postby st7 » November 15th, 2021, 2:16 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

*shrug

hover, why yuh quiet?

why you referencing something that happened centuries ago? i get it - ur trolling. u cannot be this dotish. u got me

Postby hover11 » November 15th, 2021, 2:16 pm

New outbreak prompts China to lock down university campus

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-out ... 9115b62bf2

Wonder why they didn't lock down for just the vaccinated ? Or right because that's BS

Postby adnj » November 15th, 2021, 2:17 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

*shrug

hover, why yuh quiet?

Black plague 1350.
First vaccine 1796.

Try harder.
Try harder? No need because vaccination does not prevent death but just reduces your chances but ok

To what? 99.5% vs. 97%?

Try harder.

Postby st7 » November 15th, 2021, 2:18 pm

aye go back and do some business. u bringing down the baseline of intelligence on tuner every post you make.

Postby st7 » November 15th, 2021, 2:21 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

*shrug

hover, why yuh quiet?

Black plague 1350.
First vaccine 1796.

Try harder.

To what? 99.5% vs. 97%?

Try harder.

his thinking is that doctors and hospitals should not exist. if you inflicted with something, do nothing and if it's ur time, it's ur time. gahdamn his mother is a lucky one now. it was her time.