Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby hover11 » October 9th, 2022, 3:13 pm

DMan7 wrote:Why do Trini's like to double pay for things? They paying WASA bill and still buying drinking water. They paying Health Surcharge but still going to private hospitals. Makes no sense and I'll probably never understand this mentality.
You ever watched the colour of WASA water and then do ppl get water everyday in their taps? Probably you do which is good for you but some ppl prefer to conserve the tank water for other important things than just drinking it.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 9th, 2022, 3:16 pm

Naaah I ain't talking about the ones who not getting water everyday, it's obvious they would have no choice but to buy bottled water to drink. Obviously I talking about the ones who getting wasa water most of the time and still double paying for WASA bill and then buying drinking water. Same goes for the Health Surcharge issue as well.

Postby paid_influencer » October 9th, 2022, 4:04 pm

pnm taking we back to the days before bottle water

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2022, 4:06 pm

our water might be brown at times but it certainly is a lot safer to drink than many developed countries

Postby Dave » October 9th, 2022, 4:32 pm

Love my Brita water!
If you know how those dispenser bottles are "cleaned" you may reconsider drinking it.
pugboy wrote:i hate the taste, we boil or filter in a brita jug

Postby paid_influencer » October 9th, 2022, 4:36 pm

Dave wrote:Love my Brita water!
If you know how those dispenser bottles are "cleaned" you may reconsider drinking it.

dais extra nutrients

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2022, 5:37 pm

I actually rather not drink bottled water.Why make my body weaker?

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » October 10th, 2022, 7:38 am

pugboy wrote:where you getting duck fat to buy ?
duck fat added to roast potatoes is great too.

I normally make my own by rendering down the skin from the foreign ducks I roast chinese style.
the skin cracklings better than cripsy pork too.

Here is your medal sir.

Have you ever tried Magret de Canard? That background sweetness of duck is straight magic.

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2022, 7:44 am

had it once abroad, equivalent to a good steak.

shame that most ppl locally have never really tasted duck :lol: :lol:

MDtuner70 wrote:Have you ever tried Magret de Canard? That background sweetness of duck is straight magic.

Postby timelapse » October 10th, 2022, 7:51 am

pugboy wrote:had it once abroad, equivalent to a good steak.

shame that most ppl locally have never really tasted duck

MDtuner70 wrote:Have you ever tried Magret de Canard? That background sweetness of duck is straight magic.
Abroad?lol
I had a roasted duck breast at the restaurant in Coco Reef in Tobago.Very enjoyable.I've been trying to replicate it ever since.It was served with a black currant sauce.
I've had Chinese styled duck right here in Chaguanas.Very nice.
My aunt makes a lovely canard d'orange almost every Christmas.
My dad does a slow roast duck in the grill with chenette wood.Then murders it with a tamarind/pepper sauce.He seems to like it,me not so much.

So many nice options,yet we ruin things with curry.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 10th, 2022, 9:20 am

88sins wrote:Replace margarine with duck fat. If you want to know why, understand this.

I swear to God and all that's holy, you should try a cheese omelet with a little chives, sweet pepper, tomatoes and pimento (ideally cheese must be grated parm, but shredded cheddar will work in a pinch) and you add a teaspoon or so of duck fat to whatever frying medium you using.

Be forewarned, you may want to eat the frying pan after. Make sure you got enough dental coverage. If making for multiple people, there may be some theft of plates and their contents, some moreish mouths, and incessant requests for seconds, thirds, fourths, and omelets for lunch. Figure that out on your own

Yeah, it more expensive. But I swear, what you pay for in price will be made up for in flavor and deliciousness

Replace margarine with anything hoss.

I went thru a phase where I was pressed for time and all i cud make was bread and margarine.... Started gaining weight like MAD and getting short breath + heart palpitations an ting.

Now I use LEVEL Butter/Ghee/Beef Tallow/olive oil and I actually lose weight.....

Sometimes u gotta distrust the scientists.

"Oh margarine has less trans fats and is heart healthy! it says right so on the package!"- Experts

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2022, 10:10 am

Must some of allyuh suffer this much?

We really arguing over bottle water vs tap?

I mean a case of water is $20.

If you must complain, complain about yourself and not the personal choices of others.

But WO, pilsner and L&M cigarette selling like hot hops.

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2022, 10:11 am

because allyuh dumping the plastic and causing environmental problems

Postby adnj » October 10th, 2022, 11:18 am

pugboy wrote:our water might be brown at times but it certainly is a lot safer to drink than many developed countries
It's the shitt that you can't see in the water that can be really dangerous - like in Flint, Michigan.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » October 10th, 2022, 11:41 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Dave wrote:Love my Brita water!

dais extra nutrients

merde, i did not need to read this right now. Details?

Postby timelapse » October 10th, 2022, 12:52 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
88sins wrote:Replace margarine with duck fat. If you want to know why, understand this.

I swear to God and all that's holy, you should try a cheese omelet with a little chives, sweet pepper, tomatoes and pimento (ideally cheese must be grated parm, but shredded cheddar will work in a pinch) and you add a teaspoon or so of duck fat to whatever frying medium you using.

Be forewarned, you may want to eat the frying pan after. Make sure you got enough dental coverage. If making for multiple people, there may be some theft of plates and their contents, some moreish mouths, and incessant requests for seconds, thirds, fourths, and omelets for lunch. Figure that out on your own

Yeah, it more expensive. But I swear, what you pay for in price will be made up for in flavor and deliciousness

Replace margarine with anything hoss.

I went thru a phase where I was pressed for time and all i cud make was bread and margarine.... Started gaining weight like MAD and getting short breath + heart palpitations an ting.

Now I use LEVEL Butter/Ghee/Beef Tallow/olive oil and I actually lose weight.....

Sometimes u gotta distrust the scientists.

"Oh margarine has less trans fats and is heart healthy! it says right so on the package!"- Experts
Infused olive oil is the ting self.

Postby bluefete » October 10th, 2022, 1:01 pm

pugboy wrote:our water might be brown at times but it certainly is a lot safer to drink than many developed countries

100% approve this comment.

Postby bluefete » October 10th, 2022, 1:03 pm

hover11 wrote:Can you believe it?FB_IMG_1665142558533.jpg

Max favourite store (Massy)- $66.10

At least Persad's is $10.00 less.

death365

Postby death365 » October 10th, 2022, 1:29 pm

but yuh could buy real butter at that price.

bluefete wrote:

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2022, 1:44 pm

butter cheaper than that

death365 wrote:but yuh could buy real butter at that price.

bluefete wrote:

Postby Rovin » October 10th, 2022, 1:59 pm

is not food but even paper towel rolls recently went up , no more 3 or 4 rolls for $20, now is 3 rolls for 21.50 & 7-8\roll ...

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » October 10th, 2022, 2:04 pm

Rovin wrote:is not food but even paper towel rolls recently went up , no more 3 or 4 rolls for $20, now is 3 rolls for 21.50 & 7-8\roll ...

And also if you notice, they making the sheet smaller now. I realized that with the soft and pretty and snuggle

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2022, 2:07 pm

bluefete wrote:Max favourite store (Massy)- $66.10

A small price to pay for convenience and excellent service.

Makes no sense bashing Massy prices bluez….let the people make their own choice. If you have a issue, then Persad’s is the way to go.

You have to be mindful that there are those that can afford the higher prices and have no problem paying it.

Postby bluefete » October 10th, 2022, 2:36 pm

Makes no sense bashing Massy prices bluez….let the people make their own choice. If you have a issue, then Persad’s is the way to go.

You have to be mindful that there are those that can afford the higher prices and have no problem paying it.

Fully agree with you there Max. One of the advantages of living in a democracy.

But it is strange that in foreign, even people who can afford to pay the higher prices will come together with the lower income groups to protest higher food prices.

Not in T&T though. We are all about, I could pay it, so I will buy it.

I guess that is why we have a Sufferer's thread. https://trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewto ... 4&t=540707

Postby 88sins » October 10th, 2022, 5:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:Naaah I ain't talking about the ones who not getting water everyday, it's obvious they would have no choice but to buy bottled water to drink. Obviously I talking about the ones who getting wasa water most of the time and still double paying for WASA bill and then buying drinking water. Same goes for the Health Surcharge issue as well.

Bear in mind, these same people use wasa water to cook their food, brush teeth, and make ice for their drinks. Even when they go out to eat and the drinks they buying comes with ice, they somehow fail to realize the ice factory and restaurants eh using bottled water in d freezer.

u feel ppl in dis place chupid in joke

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2022, 5:23 pm

All this beat up about how other ppl spend their $$$

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 10th, 2022, 5:55 pm

DMan7 wrote:Naaah I ain't talking about the ones who not getting water everyday, it's obvious they would have no choice but to buy bottled water to drink. Obviously I talking about the ones who getting wasa water most of the time and still double paying for WASA bill and then buying drinking water. Same goes for the Health Surcharge issue as well.

Bear in mind, these same people use wasa water to cook their food, brush teeth, and make ice for their drinks. Even when they go out to eat and the drinks they buying comes with ice, they somehow fail to realize the ice factory and restaurants eh using bottled water in d freezer.

u feel ppl in dis place chupid in joke

I was going to mention that as well about the WASA water for everything else in life yet still buying drinking water. :lol:

The Dunce-ness is REAL for trute.

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2022, 6:13 pm

bluefete wrote:

Fully agree with you there Max. One of the advantages of living in a democracy.

But it is strange that in foreign, even people who can afford to pay the higher prices will come together with the lower income groups to protest higher food prices.

Not in T&T though. We are all about, I could pay it, so I will buy it.

I guess that is why we have a Sufferer's thread. viewtopic.php?f=4&t=540707

Yeh mate, it’s a culture issue!

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2022, 6:49 pm

it’s not a culture issue
it’s a hater issue

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2022, 7:00 pm

Wasa water in certain places does taste reallll bad.